Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 28, 2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-21) in the reply filed on 08/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choung et al. (Patent No.: US 11,552,143 B1).
Regarding Claim 11, Choung et al. discloses a light emitting display device, comprising: a plurality of pixels on a substrate (Col. 4, L 65 - Col. 5, L 60; Figs. 1A-1D – substrate 102); a plurality of anode electrodes, each of the plurality of anode electrodes disposed at a corresponding one of the plurality of pixels (Col. 4, L 65 - Col. 5, L 60; Figs. 1A-1D – anode electrodes 104);
a first pixel defining layer between the plurality of anode electrodes (Col. 4, L 65 - Col. 5, L 60; Figs. 1A-1D – first pixel defining layer comprising layers 110 (non-conductive PDL structures) and 113 (inorganic layer)); a trench formed at a middle portion of the first pixel defining layer (Col. 5, L 61 - Col. 6, L 59; Figs. 1A-1D – trench 1106 (110B)); an emission layer disposed on the plurality of anode electrodes and the first pixel defining layer, the emission layer being separated between the plurality of anode electrodes by the trench (Col. 4, L 65 - Col. 5, L 60; Figs. 1A-1D – emission layer 106); and a cathode electrode disposed on the emission layer, the cathode electrode extending over all of the plurality of pixels and extending over the trench (Col. 4, L 65 - Col. 5, L 60; Figs. 1A-1D – cathode layer 108 disposed on emission layer 106, cathode layer 108 of all pixels are connected to a common cathode 120; cathode electrode at least partially extends over the trench 1106 (110B); see also Figs. 2A-2B which show more clearly that cathode 208, at least partially extends over the trench 210B)..
Regarding Claim 13, Choung et al., as applied to claim 11, discloses the light emitting display device, further comprising: an emission area defined by an area of an anode electrode of the plurality of anode electrodes, the area being not covered by the first pixel defining layer (Figs. 1A-1D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 20 and 21 are allowed. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 1: The prior art of record to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious the instant invention, particularly characterized by a light emitting display device, comprising: a lower anode electrode on a substrate; a first pixel defining layer covering middle areas of the lower anode electrode and exposing circumferential areas of the lower anode electrode; an anode electrode covering a top surface of the first pixel defining layer and connecting to the circumferential areas of the lower anode electrode; a second pixel defining layer exposing a top surface of the anode electrode and covering a side-wall surface of the anode electrode; a trench formed at the second pixel defining layer and disposed around the anode electrode; an emission layer on the anode electrode; and a cathode electrode on the emission layer.
The most relevant prior art reference due to IM et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0170246 A1) substantially discloses a light emitting display device, comprising: a lower anode electrode on a substrate (Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – lower anode electrode 180);
a first pixel defining layer Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – first pixel defining layer 172); an anode electrode covering a top surface of the first pixel defining layer and connecting to the Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – anode electrode 200); a second pixel defining layer exposing a top surface of the anode electrode and covering a side-wall surface of the anode electrode (Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – second pixel defining layer 220); a trench formed at the second pixel defining layer and disposed around the anode electrode (Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – trench 230); an emission layer on the anode electrode (Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – emission layer 240); and a cathode electrode on the emission layer (Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – cathode electrode 250).
This prior art, however, does not disclose a light emitting display device, comprising: a first pixel defining layer covering middle areas of the lower anode electrode and exposing circumferential areas of the lower anode electrode; an anode electrode covering a top surface of the first pixel defining layer and connecting to the circumferential areas of the lower anode electrode.
Additionally, the prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
However, none of these prior art references indicated above or the prior arts made of record in form PTO-892, disclose all the limitations of claim 1 (the individual limitations may be found in a plurality of prior arts but there is no motivation to combine). Because no reference alone teaches all the limitations, nor is there any motivation to combine the prior arts to construct all the limitations of this independent claim, claim 1 is deemed patentable over the prior arts.
Regarding Claims 2-5 and 7-10: these claims are allowed because of their dependency status from claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20: The prior art of record to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious the instant invention, particularly characterized by a light emitting display device, comprising: a lower anode electrode disposed on a substrate, the lower anode electrode having a central portion and a circumferential portion; an upper anode electrode disposed on the lower anode electrode, the upper anode electrode being in contact with the circumferential portion of the lower anode electrode; a first pixel defining layer disposed between the lower anode electrode and the upper anode electrode, the first pixel defining layer located at least at the central portion of the lower anode electrode without covering the circumferential portion of the lower anode electrode; an emission layer on the upper anode electrode; and a cathode electrode on the emission layer.
The most relevant prior art reference due to IM et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0170246 A1) substantially discloses a light emitting display device, comprising: a lower anode electrode disposed on a substrate, the lower anode electrode having a central portion and a circumferential portion (Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – lower anode electrode 180); an upper anode electrode disposed on the lower anode electrode, the upper anode electrode being in contact with Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – anode electrode 200); a first pixel defining layer disposed between the lower anode electrode and the upper anode electrode, the first pixel defining layer located at least at the central portion of the lower anode electrode Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – first pixel defining layer 172);
an emission layer on the upper anode electrode (Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – emission layer 240); and a cathode electrode on the emission layer (Par. 0040; Fig. 3 – cathode electrode 250).
This prior art, however, does not disclose a light emitting display device, comprising: a light emitting display device, comprising: an upper anode electrode disposed on the lower anode electrode, the upper anode electrode being in contact with the circumferential portion of the lower anode electrode; a first pixel defining layer disposed between the lower anode electrode and the upper anode electrode, the first pixel defining layer located at least at the central portion of the lower anode electrode without covering the circumferential portion of the lower anode electrode..
Additionally, the prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
However, none of these prior art references indicated above or the prior arts made of record in form PTO-892, disclose all the limitations of claim 20 (the individual limitations may be found in a plurality of prior arts but there is no motivation to combine). Because no reference alone teaches all the limitations, nor is there any motivation to combine the prior arts to construct all the limitations of this independent claim, claim 20 is deemed patentable over the prior arts.
Regarding Claim 21: this claim is allowed because of its dependency status from claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (Pub. No.: US 2018/0166517 A1 – This prior art teaches a light emitting display device, comprising: a lower anode electrode (214) on a substrate; a first pixel defining layer (250) covering middle areas of the lower anode electrode and exposing circumferential areas of the lower anode electrode; an anode electrode (261) covering a top surface of the first pixel defining layer and connecting to the circumferential areas of the lower anode electrode; a second pixel defining layer (270) exposing a top surface of the anode electrode and covering a side-wall surface of the anode electrode; 262) on the anode electrode; and a cathode electrode (263) on the emission layer (Fig. 7).
09/23/2026
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893