DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I in the reply filed on 8/5/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no undue burden on the Examiner to examine the claims of Group II and Species II-IV along with the claims of Group I and Species I. This is not found persuasive because Group II is directed to method and would require a search in a different subclass, and/or would at least employ different search queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. However, applicant is reminded that any claims that are dependent on an allowed claim are subject to rejoinder.
Claims 3-7, and 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/5/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In lines 3--7 of claim 11, the applicant states “a first height is defined as a distance
between an upper surface of one of the first photoresist structures and the carrier, a second height is defined as a distance between the first surface and the carrier, a third height is defined as a distance between the second surface and the carrier, and the first height is greater than or equal to the second height.”; however, the applicant does not specifically state which surface of the carrier the distance is being defined from and the Examiner is interpreting the distance from the carrier being any arbitrary area of the carrier. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 1, 2, and 8 thru 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gardner et al. US 2017/0373046 A1. Gardner discloses (see, for example, FIG. 7) a laser transfer structure, comprising: a carrier 300B; a release layer 20 disposed on the carrier 300B; a first chip 10B disposed on the release layer 20; and a plurality of first photoresist structures 17B disposed on the carrier 300B and surrounding the first chip 10B. In paragraph [0067], Gardner discloses the first photoresist structures 17B include photoresist material.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Gardner discloses one of the first
photoresist structures 17B being in contact with the first chip 10B.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Gardner discloses a second chip 10B disposed on the carrier 300B adjacent to the first chip 10B.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Gardner discloses the first photoresist structures 17B surround the second chip 10B, and one of the first photoresist structures 17B is in contact with the first chip 10B and the second chip 10B.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Gardner discloses a plurality of second photoresist structures 17B disposed on the carrier 300B and surrounding the second chip 10B, wherein the second photoresist structures 17B are separate from the first photoresist structures 17B.
Regarding claim 11, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Gardner discloses the first chip 10B has a first surface (i.e. bottom surface of first chip 10B) towards the carrier 300B and a second surface (i.e. top surface of first chip 10B) opposite to the first surface (i.e. bottom surface of first chip 10B), a first height is defined as a distance between an upper surface of one of the first photoresist structures 17B and the carrier 300B, a second height is defined as a distance between the first surface (i.e. bottom surface of the first chip 10B) and the carrier 300B, a third height is defined as a distance between the second surface (i.e. top surface of the first chip 10B) and the carrier 300B, and the first height is greater than or equal to the second height.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, FIG. 7 wherein Gardner discloses the first height is greater than the second height and less than the third height. Also, see, for example, paragraph [0067] wherein Gardner discloses the first photoresist protection structures 17B can be formed such that the outside surfaces of the devices 10 are not covered by the first photoresist protections structures 17B. Also see the 112 rejection above.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
August 26, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815