DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2024 considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the control unit " in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5,14-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Sugimoto US2003/0030442A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sugimoto discloses a battery management apparatus (fig. 1, par. [0019]-[0023]) comprising: a communication device (fig. 1, serial communication, par. [0020]) configured to communicate with one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 1, elm. CC1-CC12, par. [0018]); a voltage sensor (fig. 1, elm. 30, par. [0023]) configured for measuring a voltage value of one or more battery cells (fig. 1, C1 to C96, par. [0018]) in a battery pack (fig. 1, elm. M1-M12, par. [0018]); a control circuit (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0019]) configured to diagnose a defect in the battery pack by use of the voltage value of the one or more battery cells measured by the voltage sensor (par. [0026]-[0027]), a battery pack voltage value across the battery pack measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 1, elm. CC1-CC12, par. [0019]) and a value of a current flowing (fig. 1, elm. 20, par. [0023], [0025]) through the battery pack (par. [0027]); and a storage (fig. 1, ROM, RAM, par. [0020]) communicatively connected to the control unit (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0019]) and configured to store data and algorithms driven by the control circuit (fig. 2A, par. [0024]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 2, Sugimoto discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuit (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0019]) is further configured to determine whether at least one of a system state condition (fig. 2A, S10, par. [0024]), a current magnitude condition (fig. 2A, S30-S40, par. [0024]-[0025]), a time duration condition (fig. 2A, S30-S40, par. [0024]-[0025]), or a combination thereof is satisfied.
Regarding claim 4, Sugimoto discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 2, wherein the current magnitude condition includes whether a magnitude of the current exceeds a predetermined reference value (fig. 2a, S40, par. [0026]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Sugimoto discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 4, wherein the time duration condition includes whether a magnitude condition of the current is maintained for a predetermined time period (fig. 2a, S30, par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Sugimoto discloses a system comprising: a battery management apparatus (fig. 1, par. [0019]-[0023]) configured to diagnose a defect in a battery pack (fig. 1, elm. M1-M12, par. [0018]) by use of a voltage value of one or more battery cells (fig. 1, C1 to C96, par. [0018]) in the battery pack, a battery pack voltage value across the battery pack measured by one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 1, elm. CC1-CC12, par. [0019]), and a current flowing (fig. 1, elm. 20, par. [0023], [0025], [0027]) through the battery pack; and a server (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0020]) configured to diagnose a defect in the one or more battery cells using the voltage value of the one or more battery cells (par. [0023]), the battery pack voltage value and the current flowing (fig. 1, elm. 20, par. [0023]) through the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. 30, par. [0023]), and to transmit (fig. 1, serial communication, par. [0020]) a result of the diagnosing to the battery management apparatus (par. [0019]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Sugimoto discloses the system of claim 14, Sugimoto discloses wherein the battery management apparatus (fig. 1, par. [0019]-[0023]) includes: a voltage sensor (fig. 1, elm. 30, par. [0023]) configured for measuring the voltage value of the one or more battery cells (fig. 1, C1 to C96, par. [0018]) in the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. M1-M12, par. [0018]); and a current sensor (fig. 1, elm. 20, par. [0023], [0025], [0027]) configured for measuring the current flowing in the battery pack.
Regarding claim 20, Sugimoto discloses a battery management (fig. 1, par. [0019]-[0023]) method comprising: measuring, by a control circuit (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0019]), a voltage value (fig. 1, elm. CC1-CC12, par. [0018]) of one or more battery cells (fig. 1, C1 to C96, par. [0018]) in a battery pack (fig. 1, elm. M1-M12, par. [0018]); measuring, by the control circuit, a current flowing (fig. 1, elm. 20, par. [0023], [0025]) in the battery pack; receiving, by the control circuit, a battery pack voltage value across the battery pack measured by one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 1, elm. CC1-CC12, par. [0018]); and diagnosing, by the control circuit, a defect in the battery pack by use of the voltage value of the one or more battery cells, the battery pack voltage value across the battery pack measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers, and a value of the current flowing through the battery pack(fig. 2b, s100-s190, par. [0029]-[0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee US 2023/0369660 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Lee’78).
Regarding claim 3, Sugimoto discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 2, wherein the system state condition includes whether a vehicle is in an ignition ON state (fig. 2A, S10, par. [0024]), whether the one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 1, elm. CC1-CC12, par. [0018]) are in a normal state.
Sugimoto does not disclose a relay is in an ON state.
Lee’78 discloses a relay (fig. 1, elm. 20, par. [0020]) is in an ON state (par. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein a relay is electrically connected in series to the battery module through a power path connecting the battery module to an inverter, as taught in Lee’78 in modifying the apparatus of Sugimoto. The motivation would be to protect the control circuit from the battery module and inverter. (see Lee’78, par. [0049]).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto as applied to claim 1/14 above, and further in view of Nakada US 2005/0212481 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Sugimoto discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 1, Sugimoto does not disclose wherein the control circuit is further configured to determine integrity of the battery pack voltage value by determining whether the battery pack voltage value measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers is within a predetermined error range.
Nakada discloses the control circuit (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0016]) is further configured to determine integrity of the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. 1, par. [0016]) voltage value (par. [0019]), (clm. 1) by determining whether the battery pack voltage value measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 2, voltage detection circuits Vt1 to Vt8, par. [0019]) is within a predetermined error range (fig. 5, par. [0028]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a battery pack ,a cell voltage detection device that detects cell voltages at the plurality of cells, a first voltage decision-making device that makes a decision as to whether or not there is any cell with a voltage lower than a predetermined low-voltage decision-making voltage among the cell voltages detected by the cell voltage detection device, a second voltage decision-making device that makes a decision as to whether or not a voltage value determined based upon the voltages at the individual cells is higher than a predetermined threshold value, as taught in Nakada in modifying the apparatus of Sugimoto. The motivation would be to determine if the capacity adjustment for the plurality of cells is necessary. (see Nakada: par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Sugimoto discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 1, Sugimoto does not disclose wherein the control circuit is further configured to determine a representative value of the battery pack voltage value by determining an average value of one or more battery pack voltage values measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers.
Nakada discloses wherein the control circuit (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0016]) is further configured to determine a representative value of the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. 1, par. [0016]) voltage value (par. [0019]) by determining an average value (par. [0028]) (clm. 2) of one or more battery pack voltage values measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 2, voltage detection circuits Vt1 to Vt8, par. [0019]) .
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, Sugimoto discloses the system of claim 14, Sugimoto does not disclose wherein the server is further configured to determine integrity of the battery pack voltage value by determining whether the battery pack voltage value measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers is within a predetermined error range.
Nakada discloses the server is further configured to determine integrity of the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. 1, par. [0016]) voltage value (par. [0019]), (clm. 1) by determining whether the battery pack voltage value measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 2, voltage detection circuits Vt1 to Vt8, par. [0019])is within a predetermined error range (fig. 5, par. [0028]-[0030]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, Sugimoto discloses the system of claim 14, Sugimoto does not disclose wherein the server is further configured to determine a representative value of the battery pack voltage value by determining an average value of one or more battery pack voltage values measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers.
Nakada discloses wherein the server (fig. 1, elm. 3, par. [0016]) is further configured to determine a representative value of the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. 1, par. [0016]) voltage value (par. [0019]) by determining an average value (par. [0028]) (clm. 2) of one or more battery pack voltage values measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 2, voltage detection circuits Vt1 to Vt8, par. [0019]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 8-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto as applied to claim 1 or 14 above, and further in view of Lee US 2022/0155378 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Sugimoto discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 1, Sugimoto does not disclose wherein the control circuit is further configured to determine a voltage value across an external series resistance element by use of a sum of voltage values of the one or more battery cells measured by the voltage sensor.
Lee discloses wherein the control circuit (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0045]) is further configured to determine a voltage value (fig. 2, elm. 120, par. [0045]) across an external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) by use of a sum of voltage values of the one or more battery cells (fig. 3, battery cell 31, par. [0061]) measured by the voltage sensor (fig. 2, elm. 120, par. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a battery resistance diagnosis device and method for detecting the resistance of the battery cells when each battery cell has the same voltage and current, as taught in Lee in modifying the apparatus of Sugimoto. The motivation would be to accurately diagnose the sudden change in resistance of the battery cell, and diagnose resistance due to cell voltage measurement errors to contribute to more accurate cell voltage measurements. (see Lee: par. [023]).
Regarding claim 9, Sugimoto and Lee discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the control circuit (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0045]) is further configured to determine a resistance value (fig. 2, elm. 130, par. [0045]) of the external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) using the voltage value (par. [0051]) of the external series resistance element and the value of the current flowing (fig. 2, current supplied by the current supply unit, par. [0051]) through the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. 10, par. [0037]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Sugimoto and Lee discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 9, Lee discloses wherein the control circuit (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0045]) is further configured to diagnose a defect (fig. 2, elm. 140, [0054]-[0055]) in the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. 10, par. [0037]) by determining whether the resistance value (fig. 2, elm. 130, par. [0045]) of the external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) exceeds a predetermined threshold (par. [0081]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Sugimoto and Lee discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 9, Lee discloses wherein the control circuit (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0045]) is further configured for: determining the resistance value (fig. 3, elm. 33, par. [0063]) of the external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) a predetermined number of times (par. [0019]); and determining a final value among a plurality of resistance values determined the predetermined number of times (par. [0056]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, Sugimoto and Lee discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 9, Lee discloses wherein the control circuit (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0045]) is further configured to store the resistance value (par. [0053]) of the external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) in the storage along with date (fig. 2, elm. 150, par. [0053]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, Sugimoto and Lee discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) includes at least one of contact resistance (fig. 3, lead resistance, par. [0062]), between the one or more battery cells (fig. 3, elm. 31, par. [0062]) and a bus bar joint (fig. 3, busbar resistance, par. [0062]), contact resistance between a battery module terminal and the bus bar joint, internal conduction resistance of a bus bar, contact resistance of the bus bar (fig. 3, elm. 32, par. [0061]) and joints of relays, contact resistance of the relays, contact resistance of the bus bar and fuses, internal conduction resistance of the fuses, contact resistance of the bus bar and plugs, contact resistance of the plugs, or a combination thereof (par. [0062]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, Sugimoto discloses the system of claim 14, Sugimoto does not disclose wherein the server is further configured to determine a voltage value across an external series resistance element by use of voltage values of the one or more battery cells measured by the battery management apparatus and the battery pack voltage value measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers.
Lee discloses the server (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0045]) is further configured to determine a voltage value (fig. 2, elm. 120, par. [0045]) across an external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) by use of voltage values of the one or more battery cells (fig. 3, battery cell 31, par. [0061]) measured by the battery management apparatus (fig. 2, elm. 120, par. [0049]) and the battery pack voltage value measured by the one or more in-vehicle controllers (fig. 3, elm. CMC, par. [0061]-[0063]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, Sugimoto and Lee discloses the system of claim 18, Lee discloses wherein the server (fig. 2, elm. 100, par. [0045]) is further configured for: determining a resistance value (fig. 2, elm. 130, par. [0045]) of the external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) using the voltage value (fig. 2, elm. 120, par. [0045]) of the external series resistance element and a value of the current flowing (fig. 2, current supplied by the current supply unit, par. [0051]) through battery pack(fig. 1, elm. 10, par. [0037])., and diagnosing a defect (fig. 2, elm. 140, [0054]-[0055]) in the battery pack (fig. 1, elm. 10, par. [0037]) by determining whether the resistance value of the external series resistance element (fig. 2, elm. external resistance, par. [0052]) exceeds a predetermined threshold (par. [0081]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858