DETAILED ACTION
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1 – 7 of the current application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 13 of US Patent Application 11,651,547 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the current application claims are essentially covered by the limitations of the patent claims.
Claims 8 – 14 of the current application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 – 27 of US Patent Application 11,651,547 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the current application claims are essentially covered by the limitations of the patent claims.
Claims 15 – 20 of the current application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 – 27 of US Patent Application 11,651,547 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the current application claims are essentially covered by the limitations of the patent claims.
Also, shown below is a mapping between the limitations of independent claim 1 of current application U.S. Patent Application 17/324438 and independent claim 1 of U.S. Patent Application 11,651,547 B2.
Claims
Current Application
Claims
Patent Application
1
A computer-implemented method, comprising: performing, based at least on one or more motion vectors representing movement of one or more features between a previous frame and a current frame, a backward projection pass to locate at least one pixel in a current frame having correlated pixel values relative to the previous frame in a sequence of frames; updating, based on the at least one pixel and the correlated pixel values, at least one surface parameter of a geometry buffer (G-buffer) for the current frame; and rendering an image using the G-buffer
1
A computer-implemented method, comprising: generating one or more motion vectors for a current frame; executing a backward projection pass for a set of two or more adjacent pixels in the current frame, using at least one previous frame of one or more previous frames; locating, from the backward projection pass, one or more matching surfaces in common between the current frame and the one or more previous frames using the motion vectors; patching a G-buffer of the current frame based, at least in part, upon information corresponding to the one or more matching surfaces; determining, based at least in part on the patched G-buffer, one or more differences in light between the current frame and the at least one previous frame; rendering an image based at least in part on the one or more differences in light; and outputting the rendered image for display on a display device.
8
A processor, comprising: one or more circuits to: perform, based at least on one or more motion vectors representing movement of one or more features between a previous frame and a current frame, a backward projection pass to locate at least one pixel in a current frame having correlated pixel values relative to the previous frame in a sequence of frames; update, based on the at least one pixel and the correlated pixel values, at least one surface parameter of a geometry buffer (G-buffer) for the current frame; and render an image using the G-buffer.
14
A computer-implemented system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memory devices that store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute operations comprising: generating motion vectors for a current frame; executing a backward projection pass for a set of two or more adjacent pixels in the current frame, using at least one previous frame of one or more previous frames; locating, from the backward projection pass, one or more matching surfaces in common between the current frame and the one or more previous frames using the motion vectors; patching a G-buffer of the current frame based on information corresponding to the one or more matching surfaces; determining, based at least in part on the patched G-buffer, one or more differences in light between the current frame and the at least one previous frame; rendering an image based at least in part on the one or more differences in light; and outputting the rendered image for display on a display device.
15
A system comprising: at least one processor; and memory including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, perform, based at least on one or more motion vectors representing movement of one or more features between a previous frame and a current frame, one or more operations including: performing a backward projection pass to locate at least one pixel in a current frame having correlated pixel values relative to the previous frame in a sequence of frames; updating, based on the at least one pixel and the correlated pixel values, at least one surface parameter of a geometry buffer (G-buffer) for the current frame; and rendering an image using the G-buffer.
14
A computer-implemented system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memory devices that store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute operations comprising: generating motion vectors for a current frame; executing a backward projection pass for a set of two or more adjacent pixels in the current frame, using at least one previous frame of one or more previous frames; locating, from the backward projection pass, one or more matching surfaces in common between the current frame and the one or more previous frames using the motion vectors; patching a G-buffer of the current frame based on information corresponding to the one or more matching surfaces; determining, based at least in part on the patched G-buffer, one or more differences in light between the current frame and the at least one previous frame; rendering an image based at least in part on the one or more differences in light; and outputting the rendered image for display on a display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 12, and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (NPL: CN 112258600 A) in view of Kerzner et al. (Publication: US 2015/0279089 A1), Kim et al. (Publication: US 2009/0058991 A1).
Regarding claim 1, see rejection on claim 8.
Regarding claim 2, see rejection on claim 9.
Regarding claim 3, see rejection on claim 10.
Regarding claim 4, see rejection on claim 11.
Regarding claim 5, see rejection on claim 12.
Regarding claim 6, see rejection on claim 13.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection on claim 14.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a processor, comprising: one or more circuits to (Page 2 paragraph 2 – computer with SLAM technology. It is known that computer has CPU and instruction stored the memory to perform the following:):
perform a backward projection pass to locate at least one pixel in a current frame having correlated pixel values relative to a previous frame in a sequence of frames (Page 4, last paragraph, page 5 paragraph 7 - Step 2.2.1: extracting and matching the characteristics of the previous frame image and the current frame image;
π -1 is the back projection function of the pixel coordinate and the corresponding depth information is restored to the three-dimensional coordinate point;
φ -1 is a back projection function, for projecting the pixel point into a three-dimensional ray,
Step 3.3: further optimizing the result of the step 3.2, extracting the edge point feature and the surface point feature to match, calculating the error term, wherein the error term of the side point feature is:
the feature point matched with the last key frame is less than Nmax, avoiding redundant storage; Nmax is the maximum matching threshold value;
[00094]
Page 5 paragraph 8 - the subscript k and k-1 represent the current frame and the previous frame ; T represents the relative pose between two frames “in a sequence of frames”.);
Update, based on the at least one pixel and the correlated pixel values (Page 4, paragraph 1 - matching the visual characteristic points of the previous frame to the current frame in the image data.
page 4 paragraph 10, page 15 paragraph 5 - uses the laser radar to emit laser and receives the reflected light of the object to be measured to measure the distance; obtaining the laser point cloud data; step 2: using the external reference result of laser radar and camera combined calibration; projecting the laser point cloud to the pixel plane; converting into the depth information of the image; taking the depth information as the scale constraint of the visual distance meter; matching the visual characteristic points of the previous frame to the current frame in the image data; and calculating the visual motion information.).
Zhang does not Kerzner discloses
update, based on the at least one pixel, at least one surface parameter of a geometry buffer (G-buffer) for the current frame ([0017] - One or more surfaces may be identified in the pixel at block 36 based on the fragment data, wherein illustrated block 38 provides for storing each identified surface as an entry in a G-buffer corresponding to the pixel if a memory overflow condition (e.g., maximum of two or three surfaces) for the G-buffer is not met. Additionally, a weight may be assigned to each surface in the G-buffer at block 40 based on the coverage of the pixel by the surface and the occlusion status (e.g., occluded by another surface, not occluded by another surface) of the surface. In the illustrated example, block 42 resolves a color for the pixel based on the assigned); and
render an image using the G-buffer ([0061] – output the visual content based on the G-buffer.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with update, based on the at least one pixel, at least one surface parameter of a geometry buffer (G-buffer) for the current frame; and render an image using the G-buffer as taught by Kerzner. The motivation for doing is to improve performance as taught by Kerzner.
Bao in view of Kerzner do not Kim discloses performing, based at least on one or more motion vectors representing movement of one or more features between a previous frame and a current frame, a backward projection([0064] - back-projection scheme is used.
[0018] – confirming matching image blocks, location of image blocks, between input frame and previous frame according to an average value of a corresponding image and a motion vector.
[0048] - the motion vector between the blocks can be obtained by comparing and matching image blocks, which have a properly set size, of the current frame and the previous frame with each other. For example, the motion vector between the blocks can be obtained through a method similar to a method used in the conventional motion estimation and motion compensation technique when a moving picture is encoded and decoded. In the description of the present invention, the motion vector corresponding to a transverse direction, i.e. an X axis, is defined as m.sub.i,x and a motion vector corresponding to a vertical direction, i.e. a y axis, is defined as m.sub.i,y (herein, i is a frame number).).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang in view of Kerzner with performing, based at least on one or more motion vectors representing movement of one or more features between a previous frame and a current frame, a backward projection as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing is to as taught by Kim .
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Kerzner, Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Zhang discloses wherein the correlated pixel values represent correlations in at least one feature of the current frame and of the previous frame (Page 4, paragraph 1 - matching the visual characteristic points of the previous frame to the current frame in the image data.).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Kerzner, Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Zhang discloses wherein the correlated pixel values represent correlations in one or more of reflections, refractions, or shading affecting at least one feature subject to movement between the current frame and the previous frame (page 4 paragraph 10, page 15 paragraph 5 - uses the laser radar to emit laser and receives the reflected light of the object to be measured to measure the distance; obtaining the laser point cloud data; step 2: using the external reference result of laser radar and camera combined calibration; projecting the laser point cloud to the pixel plane; converting into the depth information of the image; taking the depth information as the scale constraint of the visual distance meter; matching the visual characteristic points of the previous frame to the current frame in the image data; and calculating the visual motion information;).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Kerzner, Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Zhang discloses wherein the correlated pixel values represent correlations in locations of at least one feature of the current frame and of the previous frame (Page 4, paragraph 1 - matching the visual characteristic points of the previous frame to the current frame in the image data.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Kerzner, Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Kerzner discloses generate the correlated pixel values from temporal gradients representing differences between shading of one or more features from the current frame with respect to the previous frame ([0063] wherein the deferred shader stage further includes a merge module to merge two or more identified surfaces together if the two or more identified surfaces have one or more of mutually exclusive coverage of the pixel, a common alignment in the pixel or substantially equal depths in the pixel.
[0024] - the first blue fragment 24b and the second blue fragment 24c might be merged into the same second surface 28b (e.g., subject to other pixel coverage and/or depth conditions being met) and the second surface 28b may be saved to the G-buffer at block 58. If, on the other hand, the alignment for the green fragment 24a is compared to the alignment for the first blue fragment 24b, it may be determined at block 54 that the green fragment 24a and the first blue fragment 24b do not have a common alignment thus "current and previous frame" can be read on. In such a case, the first surface 28a may be created from the green fragment 24a .).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang in view Kerzner with generate the correlated pixel values from temporal gradients representing differences between shading of one or more features from the current frame with respect to the previous frame; as taught by Kerzner. The motivation for doing is to improve performance as taught by Kerzner.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Kerzner, Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Zhang discloses wherein the correlated pixel values comprise one or more of depth and normals of a feature that comprises at least one surface in the current frame relative to the previous frame or visibility buffer data between the current frame and the previous frame (Page 3 paragraphs 1 and 2 - extracting the edge point feature and the surface point feature to match, calculating the error term.
Page 5 paragraph 2 - step 2.2.3: counting the number of the characteristic point of the depth information in the previous frame ; if less than thethreshold value, returning the error information; using the uniform motion hypothesis; otherwise, performing PnP calculation to the feature point of the depthinformation in the previous frame and the feature point of the non-depth information in the current frame.).
Regarding claim 15, see rejection on claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection on claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection on claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection on claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, see rejection on claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection on claim 14.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (NPL: CN 112258600 A) in view of Kerzner et al. (Publication: US 2015/0279089 A1), Kim et al. (Publication: 2009/0058991 A1) and ULUDAG Y (NPL: CN 110874858 A).
Regarding claim 13, 13. The processor of claim 8, wherein the one or more circuits are further to:
Zhang discloses determine the correlated pixel values for the current frame and using further pixel values that are determined (Page 4, last paragraph, page 5 paragraph 7 - Step 2.2.1: extracting and matching the characteristics of the previous frame image and the current frame image;
Step 3.3: further optimizing the result of the step 3.2, extracting the edge point feature and the surface point feature to match, calculating the error term,
the feature point matched with the last key frame is less than Nmax, avoiding redundant storage; Nmax is the maximum matching threshold value;).
ULUDAG discloses determine a set of light rays projected or traced from a light source in a plurality of directions in the current frame and in the previous frames (Page 11 paragraph 2- FIG. 14B and 14A, there are plurality of ray directions in current and previous frame.);
determine a first one of pixel values from a location having incidence of at least one light ray from the set of light rays against a surface of a feature in the current frame (Page 11 paragraph 2- FIG. 14B a block diagram of a 3D scene representation of FIG. 14A, be reused wherein some rays from the neighbour pixel. As described above, when attempting to determine reflection information for a given pixel (e.g., pixel 1402B), some reflection information from nearby pixels from the previous frame can be reused. In the example shown, pixel 1402A and 1402C within a threshold radius of the pixel 1402B. The threshold radius can be configured. In one implementation, the threshold radius is from about 6-8 pixel radius is the center pixel of the examination. when calculating the time (in the previous frame or the current frame) of pixel 1402A of reflection information of the ray projection from pixel 1402A, and identified as intersecting with the object at the point 1406A. The method of FIG. 13, can already use ray or ray tracing to find intersection. In the example shown in FIG. 14B, via a ray travelling and finding intersection, because the object of intersection in the viewport. Similarly, when calculating the pixel 1402C (which in the previous frame or in the current frame) of the reflecting information when the ray projected from the pixel 1402C and identified as intersecting with the object at the point 1406C.);
determine a second one of the pixel values from the at least one light ray being traced or from a second light ray of the set of light rays being projected after the surface of the feature, wherein the first one of the pixel values is associated with a direct illumination at the surface and the second one of the pixel values is associated with a shadow illumination after the surface (Page 11 paragraph 2- FIG. 14B a block diagram of a 3D scene representation of FIG. 14A, be reused wherein some rays from the neighbour pixel. As described above, when attempting to determine reflection information for a given pixel (e.g., pixel 1402B), some reflection information from nearby pixels from the previous frame can be reused. In the example shown, pixel 1402A and 1402C within a threshold radius of the pixel 1402B. The threshold radius can be configured. In one implementation, the threshold radius is from about 6-8 pixel radius is the center pixel of the examination. when calculating the time (in the previous frame or the current frame) of pixel 1402A of reflection information of the ray projection from pixel 1402A, and identified as intersecting with the object at the point 1406A. The method of FIG. 13, can already use ray or ray tracing to find intersection. In the example shown in FIG. 14B, via a ray travelling and finding intersection, because the object of intersection in the viewport. Similarly, when calculating the pixel 1402C (which in the previous frame or in the current frame) of the reflecting information when the ray projected from the pixel 1402C and identified as intersecting with the object at the point 1406C.); and
using the first one of pixel values and the second one of pixel values for the current frame and, for the previous frame, in a manner associated with the first one of pixel values and the second one of pixel values of the current frame (Page 11 paragraph 2- FIG. 14B a block diagram of a 3D scene representation of FIG. 14A, be reused wherein some rays from the neighbour pixel. As described above, when attempting to determine reflection information for a given pixel (e.g., pixel 1402B), some reflection information from nearby pixels from the previous frame can be reused. In the example shown, pixel 1402A and 1402C within a threshold radius of the pixel 1402B. The threshold radius can be configured. In one implementation, the threshold radius is from about 6-8 pixel radius is the center pixel of the examination. when calculating the time (in the previous frame or the current frame) of pixel 1402A of reflection information of the ray projection from pixel 1402A, and identified as intersecting with the object at the point 1406A. The method of FIG. 13, can already use ray or ray tracing to find intersection. In the example shown in FIG. 14B, via a ray travelling and finding intersection, because the object of intersection in the viewport. Similarly, when calculating the pixel 1402C (which in the previous frame or in the current frame) of the reflecting information when the ray projected from the pixel 1402C and identified as intersecting with the object at the point 1406C.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang in view of Kerzner, Kim with determine a set of light rays projected or traced from a light source in a plurality of directions in the current frame and in the previous frames; determine a first one of pixel values from a location having incidence of at least one light ray from the set of light rays against a surface of a feature in the current frame; determine a second one of the pixel values from the at least one light ray being traced or from a second light ray of the set of light rays being projected after the surface of the feature, wherein the first one of the pixel values is associated with a direct illumination at the surface and the second one of the pixel values is associated with a shadow illumination after the surface; and using the first one of pixel values and the second one of pixel values for the current frame and, for the previous frame, in a manner associated with the first one of pixel values and the second one of pixel values of the current frame as taught by ULUDAG. The motivation for doing is to improve efficiency as taught by ULUDAG.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 16, the applicant asserts “Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited references, taken alone or in hypothetical combination, at least fail to teach or suggest "performing, based at least on one or more motion vectors representing movement of one or more features between a previous frame and a current frame, a backward projection pass to locate at least one pixel in the current frame having correlated pixel values relative to the previous frame in a sequence of frames," and "updating, based on the at least one pixel and the correlated pixel values, at least one surface parameter of a geometry buffer (G-buffer) for the current frame," as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1.The Office states that Zhang (cited as Bao in the previous Office Action) discloses "perform [ ... ] a backward projection pass to locate at least one pixel in the current frame having correlated pixel values relative to a previous frame in a sequence of frames," citing to Zhang's Step 2.2.1 and Step 3.3. See Non-Final Office Action, p. 9. Applicant respectfully disagrees. The claim language requires that a "backward projection pass" is used specifically to "locate at least one pixel in the current frame having correlated pixel values relative to a previous frame in a sequence of frames" - not for any other purpose. The Office cites to Zhang's "n -1" and "cp -1." However, "n -1" refers to a "back projection function that restores the pixel coordinates and the corresponding depth information into three-dimensional coordinate points. And "cp -1" refers to a "back projection function, which is used to project the pixel point into a three-dimensional [r]ay." Thus, these two elements do not specifically refer to "locat[ing] at least one pixel in the current frame having correlated pixel values relative to a previous frame in a sequence of frames." Instead, they refer to restoring and/or projecting pixels into a threedimensional form (e.g., coordinates or a ray). Even assuming arguendo that Zhang discloses the elements as alleged in the NonFinal Office Action, Kerzner and Kim are still deficient. For example, the Office alleges that Kerzner discloses "updat[ing], based on the at least one pixel, at least one surface parameter of a geometry buffer (G-buffer) for the current frame," citing to Kerzner's paragraphs [0017] and [0061]. See Non-Final Office Action, pp. 9-10. However, Kerzner discloses only that its system may "stor[ e] each identified surface as an entry in a G-buffer corresponding to the pixel if a memory overflow condition (e.g., maximum of two or three surfaces) for the G-buffer is not met." Thus, Kerzner discloses saving data as a G-buffer only if a memory threshold is met (i.e., Kerzner saves information as G-buffers to save on memory space). Therefore, Kerzner discloses only generally determining G-buffer data, and it does not specifically disclose determining a Gbuffer "based on the at least one pixel" that has "correlated pixel values relative to a previous frame." For at least these reasons, Kerzner does not disclose the elements discussed herein. Furthermore, the Office alleges that Kim discloses "perform[ing], based at least on one or more motion vectors of a current frame, a backward projection pass," citing to Kim's paragraph [0064]. See Non-Final Office Action, p. 11. Although Kim discloses a "motion vector" between a current frame and a previous frame, Kim does not describe using this motion vector to perform a "backward projection pass." Kim discloses only converting a frame "so as to be projected to a curved surface having the same focal distance (e.g., a cylindrical surface, a spherical surface, etc.)." See Kim, paragraph [0046]. Therefore, Kim does not disclose performing a "backward projection pass," let alone "based at least on one or more motion vectors." For at least this reason, Kim does not disclose the claim elements discussed herein.”
Examiner disagrees.
Kim discloses [0064] - back-projection scheme is used. During patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. Further, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See also MPEP § 2145(VI).
[0018] – confirming matching image blocks, location of image blocks, between input frame and previous frame according to an average value of a corresponding image and a motion vector.
[0048] - the motion vector between the blocks can be obtained by comparing and matching image blocks, which have a properly set size, of the current frame and the previous frame with each other. For example, the motion vector between the blocks can be obtained through a method similar to a method used in the conventional motion estimation and motion compensation technique when a moving picture is encoded and decoded. In the description of the present invention, the motion vector corresponding to a transverse direction, i.e. an X axis, is defined as m.sub.i,x and a motion vector corresponding to a vertical direction, i.e. a y axis, is defined as m.sub.i,y (herein, i is a frame number.
b. Regarding dependent claims 2 – 7, 9 – 14, and 16 – 20, the Applicant asserts that they are not obvious over based on their dependency from independent claim 1, 8, and 15 respectively. The examiner cannot concur with the Applicant respectfully from same reason noted in the examiner’s response to argument asserted from claim 1, 8, and 15 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ming Wu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618