DETAILED ACTION
The claims dated 5/28/2024 are under consideration.
Priority
The present application is a continuation of US 17/412,376 (filed 8/26/2021), which is a divisional of US 16/543,421 (file 8/16/2019), which claims benefit of provisional application 62/719,567 (filed 8/17/2018).
Priority is recognized.
Drawings
High resolution copies of the drawings may be accessed via PAIR/Patent Center Retrieval using the Supplemental Content tab.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification does not provide the patent number of issued US application 17/412,376, which is 11,998,910.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is drawn to a cartridge. The cartridge comprises the following structural features:
a housing having first and second major surfaces and defining a guide mechanism; and
a plurality of containers disposed in the housing;
each container of the plurality of containers having a receptacle and a lid;
the lid formed of a clip and a seal;
a frit disposed in the receptacle in an enclosed space defined by the receptacle and the seal;
the seal having an inlet and an outlet in fluid communication with an enclosed space; and
the frit including a nucleotide concentrate.
The term “frit” is not defined in the claims other that it includes a nucleotide concentrate. The term is interpreted as an art recognized term in the laboratory and industrial chemical field as a filter made by the sintering together of glass particles.
Claim 13 is drawn to a cartridge. The cartridge comprises the following structural features:
a housing having first and second major surfaces and defining a guide mechanism; and
a plurality of containers disposed in the housing;
each container of the plurality of containers having a receptacle and a lid;
the lid formed of a clip and a seal;
a frit disposed in the receptacle in an enclosed space defined by the receptacle and the seal; and
the seal having an inlet and an outlet in fluid communication with an enclosed space.
The term “frit” is not defined in the claims other that it includes a nucleotide concentrate. The term is interpreted as an art recognized term in the laboratory and industrial chemical field as a filter made by the sintering together of glass particles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 11, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “the receiver”. The recitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “the receiver”. The recitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “the receiver”. The recitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites “the receiver”. The recitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schultz (US 2015/0361488 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 5, Schultz teaches “housing” 1900 having “major surfaces” that define a guide mechanism (protrusions extending from 1902 that run nearly the length of 1902 of Fig. 12). The housing includes a plurality of containers (Fig. 12) and the containers include nucleotides (para. 37) disposed on a frit (para. 60, 71 and 80).
A frit is a known porous or sponge-like material (para. 60) and while a solution flows into the container, it collects the nucleotide by flowing through the pores of the frit, making it fluid preamble.
The containers include an enclosure as a reagent storage container.
Schultz teaches the container has a receptacle or first portion, a seal or second portion and a clip in the form of a locking mechanism or suitable attachment mechanism (para. 54; Fig. 5). The frit may be within the first or second portion and because the two portions define the internal cavity of the container, together they enclose the frit.
Schultz further teaches a seal or second portion has opening on the side to allow fluid into the container and the frit and a central bore around which a ringed wall is positioned. See Fig. 7
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Schultz teaches the nucleotide reagents may be concentrated liquid solutions (para. 32, 50) or lyophilized concentrate (para. 32, 50, 71).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Schultz teaches a “ridge” or flange for engaging with a receiver’s lip within an enclosure (para. 62; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Schultz teaches a receiver includes a ridge to engage with a lip or overhang of the housing (Fig. 12 and 15).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Schultz teaches “housing” 1900 having “major surfaces” that define a guide mechanism (protrusions extending from 1902 that run nearly the length of 1902 of Fig. 12). The housing includes a plurality of containers (Fig. 12) and the containers contain a frit (para. 60, 71 and 80).
A frit is a known porous or sponge-like material (para. 60) and while a solution flows into the container, it collects the nucleotide by flowing through the pores of the frit, making it fluid preamble.
The containers include an enclosure a reagent storage container.
Schultz teaches the container has a receptacle or first portion, a seal or second portion and a clip in the form of a locking mechanism or suitable attachment mechanism (para. 54; Fig. 5). The frit may be within the first or second portion and because the two portions define the internal cavity of the container, together they enclose the frit.
Schultz further teaches a seal or second portion has opening on the side to allow fluid into the container and the frit and a central bore around which a ringed wall is positioned. See Fig. 7
Regarding claim 15, Schultz teaches the container has a receptacle or first portion, a seal or second portion and a clip in the form of a locking mechanism or suitable attachment mechanism (para. 54; Fig. 5). The frit may be within the first or second portion and because the two portions define the internal cavity of the container, together they enclose the frit.
Regarding claim 20, Schultz teaches a “ridge” or flange for engaging with a receiver’s lip within an enclosure (para. 62; Fig. 7).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,998,910 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 13 encompass the “cartridge” of the system of the ‘910 claims.
Claims 2-5, 10-12, 14-15 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,998,910 B2 in view of Shultz (US 2015/0361488 A1).
The claim sets differ in regards to present claims 2, 3
However, Shultz teaches the nucleotide concentrates of claims 2 and 3 were known (para. 32).
Shultz teaches that porous frits were known (para. 60), which makes the frit fluid permeable as encompassed by claims 4 and 14.
Schultz teaches a seal has opening on the side to allow fluid into the container and the frit and a central bore around which a ringed wall is positioned to provide fluidic access to a first as encompassed by claims 5 and 15. See Fig. 7.
Shultz teaches the elements of claims 10-12 and 20 as noted in the above rejections.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing to have modified the ’910 claims in view of Shultz based on design preferences.
Conclusion
Claims 6-9 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682