DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication mailed on 5/6/2026 and applicant has submitted an amendment, filed on 8/1/2026.
Claims 1-27 are pending, with claims 16 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-27 filed on 8/1/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Mysore fails to disclose or suggest searching for a suitable cell in another tracking area directly triggered by the received rejection conditions as recited in independent claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 (see page 22).
Examiner very kindly directs the applicant to “User Equipment (UE) (100) gets a rejected Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) from a network entity (e.g., AMF entity (200)). …when NSSAI rejected is maintained for whole TAI list. At step-1, the UEs context stores TAI-1, TAI-2, and TAI-3 (i.e., TAI list) as a current registration area. At step-2, the UE (100) sends a registration request on the TAI-3 to the AMF entity (200). At step-3, the UE (100) receives a registration reject with cause #62 and indicates S-NSSAI-1, “S-NSSAI not available in the current registration area”. ”[0037], and “The reject cause indicates a S-NSSAI is not available in a subset of a current registration area where the reject cause is applied for a S-NSSAI and a subset of a current registration area where the S-NSSAI is not allowed or allowed” and “a S-NSSAI is allowed in the current area based on the stored information and triggering at least one of the registration procedure with requested NSSAI including the S-NSSAI … to receive the services associated with S-NSSAI based on determination that S-NSSAI is allowed in the current area” [0045]. Therefore, based on the teaching of the above are disclosed all the limitations cited in independent claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 and all these claims are maintained as rejected claims. Because all dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-21, and 23-27 are dependent on all the rejected independent claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 are also maintained as rejected.
Examiner suggests that Applicant amend all independent as intend inventions to overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 14-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 20260059435 (hereinafter referred to as Mysore).
Consider claim 1, Mysore teaches a method to recover from a forbidden tracking area identity (FTAI) after no slices available in a network, applied to user equipment (UE) (see at least ¶ [0036], “…The network slice recovery engine 235 may perform operations related to allowing the UE 110 to access network slices…”), comprising:
receiving a reject cause #62 (no network slices available) in a message from the network (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 NR RAN 120 a mobility REGISTRATION REJECT message having a cause #62 with rejected NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1…”);
having an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) or configured NSSAI in the message (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the UE 110 disables the N1 mode for the 5GC 130 and initiates a registration with the EPC 135…” and see at least ¶ [0057], “…the UE 110 sends a PDN connectivity request to the EPC 135. In 430, the EPC 135 activates an EPS activate bearer context request including ePCO with S-NSSAI_1 for PLMN_1…”);
wherein all single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI) in the allowed NSSAI and the configured NSSAI are rejected (see at least ¶ [0057], “…based on receiving the S-NSSAI_1 for PLMN_1, the UE 110, in 435, re-enables the N1 mode for the 5GC 130. …, the UE 110 will also remove the S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list…”), and
at least one S-NSSAI is rejected due to “S-NSSAI not available in a current registration area” (see at least ¶ [0060], “…the UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 a mobility REGISTRATION REJECT message having a cause #62 “S-NSSAI not available in the current registration area” with rejected NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1…”), and
searching for a suitable cell in another tracking area (see at least ¶ [0062], “…the UE 110 sends a PDN connectivity request to the EPC 135. … the LTE-RAN 122 activates an EPS activate bearer context request including ePCO with S-NSSAI_1 for PLMN_1. Thus, based on receiving the S-NSSAI_1 for PLMN_1, the UE 110, … removes the TAI_1 from the forbidden TAI list for the 5GC 130. … the UE 110 will also remove the S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list…” and further see at least ¶ [0062], “…when the UE 110 sends a mobility REGISTRATION REQUEST to the 5GC 130 with requested NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1, the UE 110 will be able to connect to the S-NSSAI 1 because the TAI_1 is no longer on the forbidden list. This is shown in 545 where UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 a mobility REGISTRATION ACCEPT message with allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1…”).
Consider claim 8, Mysore teaches a method to recover from a forbidden tracking area identity (FTAI) after no slices available in a network, applied to user equipment (UE) (see at least ¶ [0036], “…The network slice recovery engine 235 may perform operations related to allowing the UE 110 to access network slices…”), comprising:
receiving a reject cause #62 (no network slices available) in a message from the network (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 NR RAN 120 a mobility REGISTRATION REJECT message having a cause #62 with rejected NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1…”);
having neither allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) for a current public land mobile network (PLMN) nor configured NSSAI for the current PLMN in the message (see at least ¶ [0047], “…The UE 110 receives cause #62 with S-NSSAI_1 part of rejected NSSAI with cause “S-NSSAI not available in the current registration area.” The UE 110 adds TAI_1 to the forbidden 5G TAI list and registers with the EPC 130. The UE 110 receives S-NSSAI_1 associated with PLMN_1 during the PDN connection establishment procedure in EPS and removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list. The UE 110 also adds S-NSSAI_1 to the configured NSSAI list for PLMN_1. However, the UE 110 is unable to register to S-NSSAI_1 until TAI_1 is removed from the forbidden TAI list via other triggers…”);
wherein all single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI) in a default configured NSSAI are rejected, and at least one S-NSSAI is rejected due to “S-NSSAI not available in a current registration area” (see at least ¶ [0048], “…the UE 110 is registered in PLMN_1 on the 5GC 130 with S-NSSAI_1 as one of the registered slices. The UE 110 receives cause #62 with S-NSSAI_1 part of rejected NSSAI with cause “S-NSSAI not available in the current PLMN or SNPN.” …. removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list …” and see at least ¶ [0050], “…if N1 mode was disabled due to cause #62 “no network slices available.” … the UE 110 removes TAI_1 from the forbidden 5G TAI list if TAI_1 was marked as forbidden due to cause #62 “no network slices available.” Furthermore, the UE 110 removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list of PLMN_1…”), and
searching for a suitable cell in another tracking area (see at least ¶ [0048], “…The UE 110 attaches to PLMN_2 on the LTE-RAN 122. The UE receives S-NSSAI_1 associated with PLMN_1 during the PDN connection establishment procedure in EPS and removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list for PLMN_2 instead of PLMN_1…” and see at least ¶ [0050], “…upon receiving S-NSSAI_1 with associated PLMN_1 in ePCO via the EPC 135, the UE 110 will re-enable N1 mode for this PLMN_1 if N1 mode was disabled due to cause #62 “no network slices available.” …the UE 110 removes TAI_1 from the forbidden 5G TAI list if TAI_1 was marked as forbidden due to cause #62 “no network slices available.” Furthermore, the UE 110 removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list of PLMN_1 even if it was received from the EPC 135 in PLMN_2…”).
Consider claim 15, Mysore teaches an electronic device (see at least ¶ [0036], “…The network slice recovery engine 235 may perform operations related to allowing the UE 110 to access network slices…”), comprising:
a processor (see at least ¶ [0036], “…The processor 205 may be configured to execute a plurality of engines of the UE 110…”), configured to:
receive a reject cause #62 (no network slices available) in a message from a network (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 NR RAN 120 a mobility REGISTRATION REJECT message having a cause #62 with rejected NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1…”);
have an allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) or configured NSSAI in the message (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the UE 110 disables the N1 mode for the 5GC 130 and initiates a registration with the EPC 135…” and see at least ¶ [0057], “…the UE 110 sends a PDN connectivity request to the EPC 135. In 430, the EPC 135 activates an EPS activate bearer context request including ePCO with S-NSSAI_1 for PLMN_1…”);
wherein all single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI) in the allowed NSSAI and the configured NSSAI are rejected (see at least ¶ [0057], “…based on receiving the S-NSSAI_1 for PLMN_1, the UE 110, in 435, re-enables the N1 mode for the 5GC 130. …, the UE 110 will also remove the S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list…”), and
at least one S-NSSAI is rejected due to “S-NSSAI not available in a current registration area” (see at least ¶ [0060], “…the UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 a mobility REGISTRATION REJECT message having a cause #62 “S-NSSAI not available in the current registration area” with rejected NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1…”), and
search for a suitable cell in another tracking area (see at least ¶ [0062], “…the UE 110 sends a PDN connectivity request to the EPC 135. … the LTE-RAN 122 activates an EPS activate bearer context request including ePCO with S-NSSAI_1 for PLMN_1. Thus, based on receiving the S-NSSAI_1 for PLMN_1, the UE 110, … removes the TAI_1 from the forbidden TAI list for the 5GC 130. … the UE 110 will also remove the S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list…” and further see at least ¶ [0062], “…when the UE 110 sends a mobility REGISTRATION REQUEST to the 5GC 130 with requested NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1, the UE 110 will be able to connect to the S-NSSAI 1 because the TAI_1 is no longer on the forbidden list. This is shown in 545 where UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 a mobility REGISTRATION ACCEPT message with allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1…”).
Consider claim 22, Mysore teaches an electronic device (see at least ¶ [0036], “…The network slice recovery engine 235 may perform operations related to allowing the UE 110 to access network slices…”), comprising:
a processor (see at least ¶ [0036], “…The processor 205 may be configured to execute a plurality of engines of the UE 110…”), configured to:
receive a reject cause #62 (no network slices available) in a message from a network (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 NR RAN 120 a mobility REGISTRATION REJECT message having a cause #62 with rejected NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1…”);
have neither allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) for a current public land mobile network (PLMN) nor configured NSSAI for the current PLMN in the message (see at least ¶ [0047], “…The UE 110 receives cause #62 with S-NSSAI_1 part of rejected NSSAI with cause “S-NSSAI not available in the current registration area.” The UE 110 adds TAI_1 to the forbidden 5G TAI list and registers with the EPC 130. The UE 110 receives S-NSSAI_1 associated with PLMN_1 during the PDN connection establishment procedure in EPS and removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list. The UE 110 also adds S-NSSAI_1 to the configured NSSAI list for PLMN_1. However, the UE 110 is unable to register to S-NSSAI_1 until TAI_1 is removed from the forbidden TAI list via other triggers…”);
wherein all single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI) in a default configured NSSAI are rejected, and at least one S-NSSAI is rejected due to “S-NSSAI not available in a current registration area” (see at least ¶ [0048], “…the UE 110 is registered in PLMN_1 on the 5GC 130 with S-NSSAI_1 as one of the registered slices. The UE 110 receives cause #62 with S-NSSAI_1 part of rejected NSSAI with cause “S-NSSAI not available in the current PLMN or SNPN.” …. removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list …” and see at least ¶ [0050], “…if N1 mode was disabled due to cause #62 “no network slices available.” … the UE 110 removes TAI_1 from the forbidden 5G TAI list if TAI_1 was marked as forbidden due to cause #62 “no network slices available.” Furthermore, the UE 110 removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list of PLMN_1…”), and
search for a suitable cell in another tracking area (see at least ¶ [0048], “…The UE 110 attaches to PLMN_2 on the LTE-RAN 122. The UE receives S-NSSAI_1 associated with PLMN_1 during the PDN connection establishment procedure in EPS and removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list for PLMN_2 instead of PLMN_1…” and see at least ¶ [0050], “…upon receiving S-NSSAI_1 with associated PLMN_1 in ePCO via the EPC 135, the UE 110 will re-enable N1 mode for this PLMN_1 if N1 mode was disabled due to cause #62 “no network slices available.” …the UE 110 removes TAI_1 from the forbidden 5G TAI list if TAI_1 was marked as forbidden due to cause #62 “no network slices available.” Furthermore, the UE 110 removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list of PLMN_1 even if it was received from the EPC 135 in PLMN_2…”).
Consider claims 2, 9, 16, 23 (depending on at least claims 1, 8, 15, 22), Mysore discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8, 15, 22 as applied to claim rejection 1, 8, 15, 22 above and further discloses:
Mysore teaches wherein the message from the network is either a REGISTRATION REJECT message or a DEREGISTRATION REQUEST message (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the UE 110 receives from the 5GC 130 NR RAN 120 a mobility REGISTRATION REJECT message having a cause #62 with rejected NSSAI including S-NSSAI_1. Thus, in 420, the UE 110 disables the N1 mode for the 5GC 130 and initiates a registration with the EPC 135 …”).
Consider claims 3, 10, 17, 24 (depends on at least claims 1, 8, 15, 22), Mysore discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8, 15, 22 as applied to claim rejection 1, 8, 15, 22 above and further discloses:
Mysore teaches not searching for a public land mobile network (PLMN); and staying in the same tracking area identity (TAI) for a limited service (see at least ¶ [0047], “…The UE 110 receives S-NSSAI_1 associated with PLMN_1 during the PDN connection establishment procedure in EPS and removes S-NSSAI_1 from the rejected NSSAI list. The UE 110 also adds S-NSSAI_1 to the configured NSSAI list for PLMN_1. However, the UE 110 is unable to register to S-NSSAI_1 until TAI_1 is removed from the forbidden TAI list…”).
Consider claims 4, 11, 18, 25 (depending on at least claims 1, 8, 15, 22), Mysore discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8, 15, 22 as applied to claim rejection 1, 8, 15, 22 above and further discloses:
Mysore teaches searching for the suitable cell in the same public land mobile network (PLMN) but belonging to a tracking area which is not on a list of “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming” (see at least ¶ [0053], “…a tracking area was added to the “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming” due to cause #62 “no network slices available” and the received S-NSSAI was part of rejected NSSAI with cause “S-NSSAI not available in the current registration area,” the UE shall remove that tracking area from the “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming.”…”) .
Consider claims 5, 12, 19, 26 (depends on at least claims 1, 8, 15, 22), Mysore discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8, 15, 22 as applied to claim rejection 1, 8, 15, 22 above and further discloses:
Mysore teaches further comprising: supporting access to a stand-alone non-Public network (SNPN) using credentials from a credentials holder, equivalent SNPNs or both, a selected entry of a “list of subscriber data” or a selected same public land mobile network (PLMN) subscription; and searching for the suitable cell in the same PLMN but belonging to a tracking area which is not on a list of “5GS forbidden tracking areas for roaming” (see at least ¶ [0003], “…a UE camped on a New Radio (NR) radio network and connected to the 5G core (5GC) tries to use a network slice, the network may reject its use for a variety of reasons, e.g., the current network slice (S-NSSAI) is not available for the current public land mobile network (PLMN) or Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) or in the current registration area. In such cases the network returns cause code #62 (No network slices available). The network slice is then added to the rejected network slice list…”).
Consider claims 6, 13, 20, 27 (depends on at least claims 1, 8, 15, 22), Mysore discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8, 15, 22 as applied to claim rejection 1, 8, 15, 22 above and further discloses:
Mysore teaches performing a public land mobile network (PLMN) selection or a stand-alone non-Public network (SNPN) selection for 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access; and performing a network selection for non-3GPP access (see at least ¶ [0003], “…a UE camped on a New Radio (NR) radio network and connected to the 5G core (5GC) tries to use a network slice, the network may reject its use for a variety of reasons, e.g., the current network slice (S-NSSAI) is not available for the current public land mobile network (PLMN) or Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) or in the current registration area. In such cases the network returns cause code #62 (No network slices available). The network slice is then added to the rejected network slice list…” and see at least ¶ [0021], “…3GPP Specifications may limit the maximum number of allowed NSSAI to a length of 8 S-NSSAI…” and see at least ¶ [0022], “…3GPP Specifications may limit the maximum number of configured NSSAI to a length of 16 S-NSSAI…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20260059435 (hereinafter referred to as Mysore) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20210258857 (hereinafter referred to as Won).
Consider claim 7, 14 (depends on at least claims 3, 9), Mysore in view of Won discloses the limitations of claims 3, 9 as applied to claim rejection 3, 9 above and further discloses:
Mysore discloses all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Mysore does not particularly disclose entering a state of 5GMM-DEREGISTERED.LIMITED-SERVICE. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Won, which teaches entering a state of 5GMM-DEREGISTERED.LIMITED-SERVICE (see Won, at least ¶ [0138], “…the UE 102 can or shall reset the registration attempt counter and can or shall enter the state “5GMM-DEREGISTERED.LIMITED-SERVICE.”…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Mysore disclosed invention, and have entering a state of 5GMM-DEREGISTERED.LIMITED-SERVICE, as taught by Won, thereby, to provide a communication system can be seen as a facility that enables communication sessions between two or more entities such as user terminals, base stations/access points and/or other nodes by providing carriers between the various entities involved in the communications path, as discussed by Won, (see at least ¶ [0003]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG A NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645