DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on May 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-21 are withdrawn from consideration as directed toward a non-elected invention.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2019/0177840 to Eldridge et al. (Eldridge).
Regarding claim 1, Eldridge discloses a method, comprising: coupling a delivery vessel (155) disposed at a first location on a substrate processing platform (150) to a remote refill vessel (115, 116) disposed in a second location (101) remote from the substrate processing platform (see Fig. 1 and [0023]) via a first chemical delivery line (105); storing a chemical in the remote refill vessel in a first phase ([0024] and [0041]); changing the chemical in the remote refill vessel to a second phase ([0024] and [0041]); transporting the chemical in the second phase, to the delivery vessel via the first chemical delivery line (line 105 transports the chemical in vapor form to chamber 155); heating the first chemical delivery line to a first temperature equal to or above a phase change temperature of the chemical (line 105 is heated to above the phase change temperature; see [0024]; and coupling the delivery vessel to an accumulator (160) via a second chemical delivery line (the line running between 155 and 160).
Regarding claim 2, Eldridge discloses the first phase is solid and the second phase is liquid and wherein the changing the phase of the chemical further comprises melting the chemical by applying heat to the chemical or applying pressure to the chemical, or a combination thereof (see [0041]; the embodiment where the chemical is a solid with is melted to a liquid).
Regarding claim 3, Eldridge discloses the first phase is solid and the second phase is gas and wherein the changing the phase of the chemical further comprises sublimating the chemical by applying heat to the chemical or reducing a pressure applied to the chemical, or a combination thereof (see [0024]; embodiment where the chemical is a solid which is sublimated to a vapor).
Regarding claim 4, Eldridge discloses disposing the remote refill vessel in a sub-fab (101).
Regarding claim 9, Eldridge discloses sublimating the chemical within the delivery vessel ([0025]); transporting the sublimated chemical from the delivery vessel to the accumulator via the second chemical delivery line ([0025]); heating the second chemical delivery line to a second temperature sufficient to maintain the chemical in a gaseous state (the gas entering the second delivery line will heat the second delivery line to a temperature which maintains the chemical as a gas [i.e., the chemical arrives in chamber 160 as a gas]); coupling the accumulator to a reaction chamber (the chamber holding the substrate); and transporting the chemical from the accumulator to the reaction chamber (the chemical is deposited onto the substrate in the chamber).
Regarding claim 10, Eldridge discloses maintaining a temperature gradient between a first inner volume of the delivery vessel (155) and a second inner volume of the remote refill vessel (115; as the chemical is returned to the first phase in chamber 155 because of cooling, a temperature gradient must exist between 155 and 115); and returning the chemical to the first phase within the first inner volume ([0025]).
Regarding claim 11, Eldridge discloses maintaining the temperature gradient further comprises actively cooling the delivery vessel via a plurality of cooling projections disposed within the first inner volume (when using a Peltier cooling device; see [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldridge in view of US Patent 7,428,373 to Sandhu (Sandhu).
Regarding claim 12, Eldridge discloses the method of claim 1 (see above), but does not disclose transporting the chemical in the second phase further comprises pumping the chemical through the first chemical delivery line via a pump coupled to the first chemical delivery line. Sandhu teaches the delivery of a vaporized chemical precursor through a delivery line using a pump (184) coupled to the delivery line. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a pump as taught by Sandhu for delivering the chemical via the delivery line in the system of Eldridge to ensure that a desired flow rate can be maintained and adjusted as needed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited documents do not disclose “wherein transporting the chemical in the second phase further comprises: coupling the remote refill vessel and the delivery vessel via a third chemical delivery line to provide a closed-loop circuit with the first chemical delivery line between the delivery vessel and the remote refill vessel; providing a supply of an inert gas via an inert gas supply vessel coupled to the third chemical delivery line via a gas valve to prime the closed-loop circuit with the inert gas; and closing the gas valve subsequent to the priming.” The examiner finds no evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the cited documents to include the recited steps absent the teachings of Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, the cited documents do not disclose or render obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention. US Patent Application Publications 2010/0136772 and 2012/0240858 disclose methods for supplying a chemical in a remote refill vessel to a delivery vessel while changing the phase of the chemical.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 July 15, 2026