DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on March 16, 2026 has been entered. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been amended. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 8, and 15 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Li et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2014/0341370 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Li discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: identifying, by a processor, available agents to receive calls from a plurality of callers within a network (See pg. 1, paragraph [0012]); arranging, by the processor, the available agents based on a number of ringing calls after a last call among the agents is answered, wherein the available agents not receiving the ringing calls are identified to receive incoming calls (See pg. 2, paragraph [0024]); inserting, by the processor, the available agents into a plurality of groups or batches (i.e., available agents or unavailable agents) to receive calls from the plurality callers (See pg. 3, paragraph [0032]); and providing, by the processor, one or more of the calls to the available agents in the plurality of groups or batches not receiving the ringing calls (See pg. 3, paragraph [0035]).
In regards to claim 2, Li discloses the computer-implemented method, further comprising: arranging, by the processor, the available agents based on idle time (See pg. 1, paragraph [0013]).
In regards to claim 3, Li discloses the computer-implemented method, further comprising: providing, by the processor, the one or more calls to the available agents within a same group or batch among the plurality of groups or batches (See pg. 1, paragraph [0014]).
In regards to claim 4, Li discloses the computer-implemented method, further comprising: sending, by the processor, a notification to the available agents that are offered the one or more calls (See pg. 3, paragraph [0031] [0032]).
In regards to claim 5, Li discloses the computer-implemented method, further comprising: assigning, by the processor, an additional call to another group or batch of agents after a previous call has been offered to a first group or batch of agents (See pg. 3, paragraph [0035]).
In regards to claim 6, Li discloses the computer-implemented method, further comprising: identifying, by the processor, an idleness level of the available agents before offering the one or more calls (See pg. 1, paragraph [0013]).
In regards to claim 7, Li discloses the computer-implemented process, further comprising: identifying, by the processor, a number of ringing calls before the one or more calls are offered (See pg. 1, paragraph [0014]). 10.
In regards to claim 8, Li discloses a system comprising: at least one processor; and a memory comprising a set of instructions (See pg. 2, paragraph [0016]), wherein the set of instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to: arrange agents based on a number of ringing calls received by each of the agents, wherein the number of ringing calls are identified in an increasing order (See pg. 2, paragraph [0024]); determine based on the number of ringing calls, which of the agents in a call center are not receiving the ringing calls, wherein the agents are identified to be given preference to receive one or more new calls (See pg. 3, paragraph [0032]); and provide the one or more new calls to batches of the agents (i.e., available agents or unavailable agents) not receiving the ringing calls (See pg. 3, paragraph [0035]).
In regards to claim 9, Li discloses the system, wherein the set of instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to arrange the agents within the identified batches based on a last call answered (See pg. 1, paragraph [0013]).
In regards to claim 10, Li discloses the system, wherein the set of instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to reduce a load of the number of ringing calls to the batches of agents (See pg. 2, paragraph [0024]).
In regards to claim 11, Li discloses the system, wherein the set of instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to identify idle time for at least one of the agents within the identified batches (See pg. 1, paragraph [0013]).
In regards to claim 12, Li discloses the system, wherein the set of instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to identify each agent not occupied with the number of ringing calls (See pg. 3, paragraph [0032]).
In regards to claim 13, Li discloses the system, wherein the set of instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to identify multiple agents within the identified batches of agents to receive the one or more new calls based on the identified number of ringing calls (See pg. 3, paragraph [0032] [0033]).
In regards to claim 14, Li discloses the system, wherein the set of instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to provide the preference to the one or more new calls based on an idle time of one or more agents within the identified batches of agents (See pg. 2, paragraph [0024]).
In regards to claim 15, Li discloses a computer program embodied on a non transitory computer readable medium (See pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), the computer program configured to cause a processor to: identify calls incoming from a wait queue in a network (See pg. 1, paragraph [0012]); arrange agents based on a last call answered among the agents (See pg. 1, paragraph [0013]); arrange the agents based on a number of ringing calls after arranging the agents based on the last call answered, wherein an idle time of the agents not receiving a call is identified to provide preference to the agents with the idle time to receive the incoming calls (See pg. 2, paragraph [0024]); and provide the incoming calls to the agents given the preference based on the idle time (See pg. 3, paragraph [0035]).
In regards to claim 16, Li discloses the computer program, wherein the processor is configured to provide the preference to the agents receiving fewer ringing calls to receive the incoming calls (See pg. 1, paragraph [0014]).
In regards to claim 17, Li discloses the computer program, wherein the processor is configured to reroute incoming calls to a different batch of agents based on the number of ringing calls (See pg. 1, paragraph [0014]).
In regards to claim 18, Li discloses the computer program, wherein the processor is configured to arrange the agents based on an increasing order of the number of ringing calls (See pg. 1, paragraph [0014]).
In regards to claim 19, Li discloses the computer program, wherein the processor is configured to identify a number of calls for each agent before the incoming calls are provided (See pg. 2, paragraph [0020]).
In regards to claim 20, Li discloses the computer program, wherein the processor is configured to reroute incoming calls to the agents with a lesser number of the ringing calls (See pg. 2, paragraph [0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s argument that there is no disclosure of grouping agents into batches, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Li discloses inserting … the available agents into a plurality of groups or batches (i.e., available agents or unavailable agents) to receive calls from the plurality callers (See pg. 3, paragraph [0032]). The current claims indicate that the agents are in a plurality of groups or batches. The current claims do not specifically indicate batches. Furthermore, groups and batches can be read as the same.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693