DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on the date: August 20, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-15 and 19-20 have been amended. No claims have been canceled or are new.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. § 102 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitation a fault detection circuit” in line 4. This limitation appears to be referring back to the limitation in line 1. Thus, the limitation of line 4 should be amended to “the fault detection circuit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a storage device” in line 8. This limitation is not disclosed in the specification. The applicant points to element 168 as the claimed storage device (see REMARKS pages 9-10). However, element 168 is described in the specification as an auxiliary register. Thus, to overcome this rejection the limitation “storage device” should be amended to “auxiliary register” to match the naming of the limitation disclosed in the specification.
Claims 2-4 are rejected for inheriting the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wan et al. US2020/0200812 (called Wan hereinafter and newly cited).
Regarding independent claim 7, Wan teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 1; 100), comprising:
a semiconductor die (Fig. 1; integrated circuit package 102) including a plurality of input terminals (Fig. 1; IN- and IN+) each adapted for coupling to a non-switchable resistance network (Fig. 1; R1-R4); and
a fault detection circuit (Fig. 1; para [0023]; comparator 106) formed on the semiconductor die, and including a plurality of inputs (Fig. 1; VP and VN input to 106) respectively coupled to a plurality of outputs of the non-switchable resistance network (Fig. 1; VP and VN output from R1-R4) to detect a fault condition (para [0023]).
Regarding independent claim 14, Ramamurthy teaches a method of making a semiconductor device (Fig. 1; 100), comprising:
providing a semiconductor die (Fig. 1; integrated circuit package 102) including a plurality of input terminals (Fig. 1; IN- and IN+) each adapted for coupling to a non-switchable resistance network (Fig. 1; R1-R4); and
forming a fault detection circuit (Fig. 1; para [0023]; comparator 106) on the semiconductor die, and including a plurality of inputs (Fig. 1; VP and VN input to 106) respectively coupled to a plurality of outputs of the non-switchable resistance network (Fig. 1; VP and VN output from R1-R4) to detect a fault condition (para [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan in view of Telefus et al. US2020/0366079 (called Telefus hereinafter and newly cited).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wan teaches a fault detection circuit (Fig. 1; 100 with components inside 102), comprising:
a plurality of inputs (Fig. 1; IN- and IN+) each adapted for coupling to a non-switchable resistance network (Fig. 1; R1-R4); and
a fault detection circuit (Fig. 1; para [0023]; comparator 106) including a plurality of inputs (Fig. 1; VP and VN input to 106) respectively coupled to a plurality of outputs of the non-switchable resistance network (Fig. 1; VP and VN output from R1-R4) to detect a fault condition (para [0023]).
Wan fails to teach a storage device coupled to an output of the fault detection to store the fault condition.
Telefus teaches a storage device (Fig. 19; latch circuit 1960) coupled to an output of the fault detection to store the fault condition (para [0257]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as described by Wan with the latch circuit as described by Telefus to store a fault condition in memory to be used as needed until cleared by an external reset signal (para [0257]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 15-18 are indicated as allowable subject matter.
Claims 8-13 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“wherein the fault detection circuit includes: a first current source; a first switching circuit coupled between the first current source and a first node; a first resistor coupled between the first node and a first input of the plurality of inputs; a second switching circuit coupled between the first input and a power supply conductor; and a third switching circuit coupled between the first node and a second node.”
Claims 3 and 4 are indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 2.
Regarding independent claim 5, this claim was a dependent claim that has been amended to include limitations from original independent claim 1, which claim 5 was indicated as allowable subject matter in the previous Office Action mailed June 04, 2026.
Claim 6 is indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 5.
Regarding claim 8, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“wherein the fault detection circuit includes: a first current source; a first switching circuit coupled between the first current source and a first node; a first resistor coupled between the first node and a first input terminal of the plurality of input terminals; a second switching circuit coupled between the first input and a power supply conductor; and a third switching circuit coupled between the first node and a second node.”
Claims 9-11 and 13 are indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“wherein the fault detection circuit includes: a current source; a first switching circuit coupled between the current source and a first node; a first resistor coupled to a first input of the plurality of inputs; a second switching circuit coupled between the first input and a power supply conductor; and a third switching circuit coupled between the first resistor and the first node.”
Regarding independent claim 15, this claim was a dependent claim that has been amended to include limitations from original independent claim 14, which claim 15 was indicated as allowable subject matter in the previous Office Action mailed June 04, 2026.
Claims 16-18 are indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“wherein forming the fault detection circuit includes: providing a current source; providing a first switching circuit coupled between the current source and a first node; providing a first resistor coupled to a first input of the plurality of inputs; providing a second switching circuit coupled between the first input and a power supply conductor; and providing a third switching circuit coupled between the first resistor and the first node.”
Claim 20 is indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jyani et al. discloses “System and method for fault detection and protection on Vconn supply and configuration channel line in USB interface” (see US2021/0303048)
Ando et al. discloses “Load drive device” (see US2011/0051296)
Ellis discloses “Fault detection and prediction for data storage elements” (see US2015/0270014)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID B FREDERIKSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858