DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 9-12, lines 1-2 respectively recite “champing recess”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al (US 20250261316; “Tseng” hereinafter), in view of Xu et al (US 20210168959; “Xu” hereinafter), and further in view of Wang et al (US 20220316508; “Wang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng discloses: an electronic card retaining device base structure, comprising:
a base (4, fig. 10) for mounting on a substrate (8, fig. 12), which has an elongated hollow-out slot (810) provided thereon; the base (4) including a column-like support section (432, fig. 11) extended downward from a bottom side (see annotated fig. 11 below) thereof, and an elongated coupling section (annotated as ‘ECS’, in annotated fig. 11 below, fig. 11) transversely connected to a lower end of the support section (fig. 11); the coupling section having an end being a primary retaining end (433), which is provided at one side closer to the base with a protruded retaining section (4331, fig. 10) and can be obliquely extended through the elongated hollow-out slot to a lower side thereof (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-12, and ¶[0039]), and another end being a secondary retaining end (second instance of 433, ¶[0039]) also extended through the elongated hollow-out slot (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-12, and ¶[0039]); and the coupling section being movable horizontally in a direction away from the primary retaining end for the secondary retaining end (second instance of 433), while the protruded retaining section (4331) on the primary retaining end (433) is moved a lower surface of the substrate to be held thereto (as disclosed upon examination of figure 12 and ¶[0039], where ECS is rotated horizontally away from the first instance of 433, and thus allowing the protruded retaining section (4331) on the primary retaining end (433) to contact the lower surface of the substrate).
Tseng does not explicitly disclose:
the coupling section being movable horizontally in a direction away from the primary retaining end for the secondary retaining end to abut against the lower side of the elongated hollow-out slot at an end thereof,
the protruded retaining section on the primary retaining end is moved into another end of the elongated hollow-out slot to be held thereto.
However, Xu discloses:
a coupling section (413, fig. 2) being movable horizontally in a direction away from an inner side (see annotated fig. 6 below) of a substrate (1, figs. 6, 8) for a retaining end (418) to abut against a lower side (see fig. 8) of an elongated hollow-out slot (11) at an end (see annotated fig. 6 below) thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tseng’s base and elongated hollow-out slot with Xu’s teaching, such that the coupling section is movable horizontally in a direction away from the primary retaining end for the secondary retaining end to abut against the lower side of the elongated hollow-out slot at an end thereof, in order to provide a toolless engagement securing feature for the electronic card retaining device base structure (¶[0024]). The modification would include 90 degree rotation of Tseng’s elongated hollow-out slot. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (retaining means for substrates) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Xu. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Tseng in view of Xu does not explicitly teach
the protruded retaining section on the primary retaining end is moved into another end of the elongated hollow-out slot to be held thereto.
However, Wang teaches
a coupling section (221, 220, 219, 2211, fig. 17) comprising a primary retaining end (a first instance of 221) provided with a protruding retaining section (2211), where after the coupling section is horizontally rotated (fig. 19, ¶[0073]), the protruded retaining section on the primary retaining end is moved into an end of an elongated hollow-out slot (13, fig. 18) to be held thereto (fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang into Tseng in view of Xu, such that the protruded retaining section on the primary retaining end is moved into another end of the elongated hollow-out slot to be held thereto, since the claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (retaining portions and cavities) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Wang. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the elongated hollow-out slot (810) on the substrate (8) has a middle part formed into an intermediate passage (annotated as ‘IP’ in annotated fig. 12 below) that has two outward expanded lateral sides (annotated as ‘OES’ in annotated fig. 12 below) to facilitate convenient adjustment of a direction in which the primary retaining end (433) of the coupling section of the base (4) is obliquely extended into the elongated hollow-out slot (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-12, where the shape of the slot’s intermediate passage relative to the primary retaining end of the coupling section of the base, allows for oblique insertion of the primary retaining end into elongated hollow-out slot).
Regarding claim 5, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the base (4) has an open top formed into a recessed receiving space (40, fig. 10) for receiving a swingable clamp (5, figs. 9-10) therein; and the swingable clamp received in the receiving space being pivotally connected to the base via a pivot shaft (7, fig. 10) extended through a middle section (53, fig. 10, ¶[0040]) of the swingable clamp.
Regarding claim 7, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang teaches the limitations of claim 3, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the base (4) has an open top formed into a recessed receiving space (40, fig. 10) for receiving a swingable clamp (5, figs. 9-10) therein; and the swingable clamp received in the receiving space being pivotally connected to the base via a pivot shaft (7, fig. 10) extended through a middle section (53, fig. 10, ¶[0040]-[0041]) of the swingable clamp.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al (US 20250261316; “Tseng” hereinafter), in view of Xu, Wang, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Chi (US 20170090527; “Chi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the substrate further includes a locating bore located on an area outside an end of the elongated hollow-out slot, and the base is provided on its bottom side with a spring plate, which is located to one side of the support section; and the spring plate being provided with a protruded locating section for snapping into the locating bore.
However, Chi teaches:
a substrate (20, fig. 1) further includes a locating bore (26, fig. 2) located on an area outside an end (25, fig. 2) of an elongated hollow-out slot ( 22, fig. 2), and a base (50, fig. 2) is provided with a spring plate (92), which is located to one side of a support section (66); and the spring plate (92) being provided with a protruded locating section (94) for snapping into the locating bore (due to the elastic properties of element 92, ¶[0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chi into Tseng in view of Xu and Wang, such that the substrate further includes a locating bore located on an area outside an end of the elongated hollow-out slot, and the base is provided on its bottom side with a spring plate, which is located to one side of the support section; and the spring plate being provided with a protruded locating section for snapping into the locating bore, in order to provide a locking / securing feature for electronic card retaining device base structure (¶[0014]). The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (elastic retaining portions and cavities) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Chi. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 4, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang and Chi teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the elongated hollow-out slot (810) on the substrate (8) has a middle part formed into an intermediate passage (annotated as ‘IP’ in annotated fig. 12 below) that has two outward expanded lateral sides (annotated as ‘OES’ in annotated fig. 12 below) to facilitate convenient adjustment of a direction in which the primary retaining end (433) of the coupling section of the base (4) is obliquely extended into the elongated hollow-out slot (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 10-12, where the shape of the slot’s intermediate passage relative to the primary retaining end of the coupling section of the base, allows for oblique insertion of the primary retaining end into elongated hollow-out slot).
Regarding claim 6, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang and Chi teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the base (4) has an open top formed into a recessed receiving space (40, fig. 10) for receiving a swingable clamp (5, figs. 9-10) therein; and the swingable clamp received in the receiving space being pivotally connected to the base via a pivot shaft (7, fig. 10) extended through a middle section (53, fig. 10, ¶[0040]) of the swingable clamp.
Regarding claim 8, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang and Chi teaches the limitations of claim 4, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the base (4) has an open top formed into a recessed receiving space (40, fig. 10) for receiving a swingable clamp (5, figs. 9-10) therein; and the swingable clamp received in the receiving space being pivotally connected to the base via a pivot shaft (7, fig. 10) extended through a middle section (53, fig. 10, ¶[0040]-[0041]) of the swingable clamp.
Claims 9, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al (US 20250261316; “Tseng” hereinafter), in view of Xu, Wang, as applied to claims 5 and 7, and further in view of Zhang et al (CN 109659727; “Zhang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang teaches the limitations of claim 5, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the swingable clamp (5) has an end provided with a clamping surface (5112, fig. 11) for clamping an edge of an electronic card (83, fig. 12, ¶[0040]) thereto, and another end opposite to the clamping surface provided with a push section (512, fig. 10); and the base (4) further including a stopper section (403, ¶[0041]) transversely located at a middle portion of the open top of the receiving space (fig. 10) to rest on the swingable clamp (5) between the clamping surface (5112) and the push section (512).
Tseng in view of Xu and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the swingable clamp has an end provided with a clamping recess for clamping an edge of an electronic card thereto.
However, Zhang teaches:
wherein a swingable clamp (2, fig. 15) has an end (21, fig. 15) provided with a clamping recess (24) for clamping an edge of an electronic card (62, figs. 18) thereto.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tseng’s clampable surface in view of Xu and Wang, to include a clamping recess as taught by Zhang, such that the swingable clamp has an end provided with a clamping recess for clamping an edge of an electronic card, since the claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (recess, notches, cavities for retaining/clamping electronic cards) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Zhang. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 11, Tseng in view of Xu and Wang teaches the limitations of claim 7, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the swingable clamp (5) has an end provided with a clamping surface (5112, fig. 11) for clamping an edge of an electronic card (83, fig. 12, ¶[0040]) thereto, and another end opposite to the clamping surface provided with a push section (512, fig. 10); and the base (4) further including a stopper section (403, ¶[0041]) transversely located at a middle portion of the open top of the receiving space (fig. 10) to rest on the swingable clamp (5) between the clamping surface (5112) and the push section (512).
Tseng in view of Xu and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the swingable clamp has an end provided with a clamping recess for clamping an edge of an electronic card thereto.
However, Zhang teaches:
wherein a swingable clamp (2, fig. 15) has an end (21, fig. 15) provided with a clamping recess (24) for clamping an edge of an electronic card (62, figs. 18) thereto.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tseng’s clampable surface in view of Xu and Wang, to include a clamping recess as taught by Zhang, such that the swingable clamp has an end provided with a clamping recess for clamping an edge of an electronic card, since the claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (recess, notches, cavities for retaining/clamping electronic cards) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Zhang. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13 Tseng in view of Xu, Wang and Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 9, and Tseng further teaches: wherein the swingable clamp further includes a pressing section (511) located above the clamping recess (as per the combination of Tseng, Wang and Zheng), and the pressing section being pressed on a top of the edge of the electronic card that is clamped to the clamping recess (¶[0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Tseng in view of Xu, Wang and Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 11, and Tseng further teaches: wherein the swingable clamp further includes a pressing section (511) located above the clamping recess (as per the combination of Tseng, Wang and Zheng), and the pressing section being pressed on a top of the edge of the electronic card that is clamped to the clamping recess (¶[0038]-[0039]).
Claims 10, 12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al (US 20250261316; “Tseng” hereinafter), in view of Xu, Wang, Chi as applied to claims 6 and 8, and further in view of Zhang et al (CN 109659727; “Zhang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Tseng in view of Xu, Wang, and Chi, teaches the limitations claim 6, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the swingable clamp (5) has an end provided with a clamping surface (5112, fig. 11) for clamping an edge of an electronic card (83, fig. 12, ¶[0040]) thereto, and another end opposite to the clamping surface provided with a push section (512, fig. 10); and the base (4) further including a stopper section (403, ¶ [0041]) transversely located at a middle portion of the open top of the receiving space (fig. 10) to rest on the swingable clamp (5) between the clamping surface (5112) and the push section (512).
Tseng in view of Xu, Wang and Chi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the swingable clamp has an end provided with a clamping recess for clamping an edge of an electronic card thereto.
However, Zhang teaches:
wherein a swingable clamp (2, fig. 15) has an end (21, fig. 15) provided with a clamping recess (24) for clamping an edge of an electronic card (62, figs. 18) thereto.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tseng’s clampable surface in view of Xu, Wang and Chi, to include a clamping recess as taught by Zhang, such that the swingable clamp has an end provided with a clamping recess for clamping an edge of an electronic card, since the claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (recess, notches, cavities for retaining/clamping electronic cards) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Zhang. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Tseng in view of Xu, Wang and Chi teaches the limitations claim 8, and Tseng further teaches:
wherein the swingable clamp (5) has an end provided with a clamping surface (5112, fig. 11) for clamping an edge of an electronic card (83, fig. 12, ¶[0040]) thereto, and another end opposite to the clamping surface provided with a push section (512, fig. 10); and the base (4) further including a stopper section (403, ¶[0041]) transversely located at a middle portion of the open top of the receiving space (fig. 10) to rest on the swingable clamp (5) between the clamping surface (5112) and the push section (512).
Tseng in view of Xu, Wang and Chi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the swingable clamp has an end provided with a clamping recess for clamping an edge of an electronic card thereto.
However, Zhang teaches:
wherein a swingable clamp (2, fig. 15) has an end (21, fig. 15) provided with a clamping recess (24) for clamping an edge of an electronic card (62, figs. 18) thereto.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tseng’s clampable surface in view of Xu, Wang and Chi, to include a clamping recess as taught by Zhang, such that the swingable clamp has an end provided with a clamping recess for clamping an edge of an electronic card, since the claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (recess, notches, cavities for retaining/clamping electronic cards) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Zhang. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 14, Tseng in view of Xu, Wang, Chi, and Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 10, and Tseng further teaches: wherein the swingable clamp further includes a pressing section (511) located above the clamping recess (as per the combination of Tseng, Xu, Wang and Zheng), and the pressing section being pressed on a top of the edge of the electronic card that is clamped to the clamping recess (¶[0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 16, Tseng in view of Xu, Wang, Chi, and Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Tseng further teaches: wherein the swingable clamp further includes a pressing section (511) located above the clamping recess (as per the combination of Tseng, Wang and Zheng), and the pressing section being pressed on a top of the edge of the electronic card that is clamped to the clamping recess (¶[0038]-[0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 11484099 A1 Fastening Device. This invention relates generally to at least one base portion and at least one fastener portion. The base portion is connected to a first object and the fastener portion is slidably assembled to the base portion.
US 11372459 A1 Fastener for Securing Interface Card. This invention generally relates to a fastener including a base having a joint plate extended therefrom toward a first direction, a joint plate extended from the joint plate toward a second direction and configured to secure to an electronic base board, and a fastening member protruded thereon toward a third direction.
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841