DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office Action on the merits for U.S. App. 18/676,824. Receipt of the amendments and arguments filed on 07/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 and 13-25 are pending.
Claim 12 is cancelled.
Claims 1-11 and 13-25 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-11, and 15-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kling (U.S. Patent 11,060,344).
Regarding claim 1, Kling discloses a sealing system for a fenestration unit, the sealing system comprising:
a fenestration frame comprising a side frame member (#14) comprising a cavity (#400) and connected to a sill (#23), wherein the sill and the side frame member comprise an interior side (the right side of figure 2) and an exterior side (the left side of figure 2), wherein the side frame member extends along a side frame member axis extending away from the sill (see figure 2, where the side frame member extends along a vertical axis that extends away from the sill);
a panel (#600) retained in the fenestration frame (see figure 6), the panel positioned above the sill (see figure 6), the panel comprising an interior face (the left major vertical face of figure 6 that is to face the interior side of the frame when it is closed), an exterior face (the right major vertical face of figure 6 which is to face the exterior side of the frame when it is closed), a first edge (the edge with hinges #602), a second edge (the edge that is to comprise of a door handle and engage a latch on the doorway frame), a top edge (the top edge of figure 6), and a bottom edge (the bottom edge as depicted in figure 6), wherein, when the panel is in a closed configuration in the fenestration frame, the first edge faces the side frame member and the bottom edge faces the sill (see figure 6);
a side frame member weatherstrip (#17) attached to the side frame member (see figure 4), wherein, when the panel is in a closed configuration in the fenestration frame, the first edge of the panel faces the side frame member, the bottom edge of the panel faces the sill, and the exterior face of the panel contacts the side frame member weather strip (see figures 4 and 6, where the exterior surface of the door is to contact the weatherstrip #17 when the door is closed), wherein the side frame member weatherstrip comprises a cantilevered leg (#39) that, when the exterior face of the panel is not in contact with the side frame weatherstrip, defines a channel aligned with the side frame member axis (the channel which element #310 is inserted within in figure 4, which the channel extends vertically and thus parallel to the vertical side frame member axis), the first channel located between the side frame member and the cantilevered leg (see figure 4), and wherein, when the panel is in the closed configuration, the exterior face of the panel displaces the cantilevered leg towards the side frame member to reduce a size of the channel (the door is configured to close and contact the leg #39 so as to reduce the side of the channel, see col. 3, ll. 10-14); and
a dust plug (#27) comprising:
a base (#300) attached to the side frame member proximate the sill (see figures 2 and 6), the base comprising an interior edge (#308) facing away from the side frame member weatherstrip (see figure 4, where the bottom edge of element #308 faces away from the weatherstrip #17) and recessed within the cavity such that the interior edge is obscured by the side frame member when viewed along an interior-exterior axis extending between the interior side and the exterior side of the side frame member (see figure 4, where the interior edge #308 is hidden from view when viewed from downwardly to upwardly direction along the vertical axis of the figure),
a support member (#310) attached to the base (see figure 3), the support member located in the channel between the side frame member and the cantilevered leg proximate the sill (see figures 2 and 6),
an exterior weather strip member (#306) attached to the base (see figure 3), wherein a portion of the exterior weatherstrip member is located in a panel-sill gap measured along the side frame member axis between the bottom edge of the panel and a top of the sill at a junction between the bottom edge, the exterior face, and the first edge of the panel when the panel is in the closed configuration (see figure 6, where the exterior weather strip member #306 extends from the top of the sill upward along the side frame member axis so as to extend between the top of the sill and the bottom edge of the door panel as well as between the exterior face and at the junction between the bottom edge, exterior face, and the first edge of the door panel), and
an interior weatherstrip member (#302) attached to the base (see figure 3), the interior weatherstrip member located proximate an interior edge of the base such that the exterior weatherstrip member is located between the support member and the interior weatherstrip member (see figure 4) and wherein the interior weatherstrip member contacts the first edge of the panel when the panel is in the closed configured (see figure 6, where the door panel #600 is configured to contact the interior member #302 when in the closed position).
Regarding claim 2, Kling discloses the exterior weatherstrip member is located in the channel between the support member and the cantilever leg when the exterior face of the panel is not in the closed configuration such that the panel is not in contact with the cantilevered leg of the side frame member weatherstrip (see figure 4, where the exterior member #306 is located within the channel between the leg #39 and the jamb #14 when the door panel #600 is not closed).
Regarding claim 4, Kling discloses the exterior weatherstrip member is aligned with the side frame member axis (see figures 2 and 6, where the exterior member #306 extends vertically and thus aligned with the vertical axis of member #14).
Regarding claim 5, Kling discloses the interior weather strip member is aligned with the side frame member axis (see figures 2 and 6, where the interior member #302 extends vertically and thus aligned with the vertical side frame axis).
Regarding claim 6, Kling discloses the support member comprises a support height measured along the side frame member axis, and wherein the support member height is greater than the panel-sill gap (see figures 2, 5A, and 6, where the support member extends the entire height of the plug #27 and thus comprises of a height that extends from the top of the sill to a position above the bottom edge of the panel).
Regarding claim 7, Kling discloses the dust plug comprises a drain channel aligned with the side frame member axis, the drain channel located between the support member and the interior weatherstrip member such that the drain is located between the first edge of the panel and the side frame member when the panel is in the closed configured (the drain channel can be considered to extend between the exterior surfaces of members #304 and #302, which forms a channel with the base #300 that is configured to allow liquids to flow therebetween, where such a channel is thus located between the support member and interior member #302 and between the first edge of the panel and the side frame member #14 during use).
Regarding claim 8, Kling discloses the drain channel is located between the exterior weatherstrip member and the interior weatherstrip member (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kling discloses the exterior weatherstrip member comprises an exterior weatherstrip member height measured along the side frame member axis, and wherein the exterior weatherstrip member height is greater than the panel-sill gap (see figures 2, 5A, and 6, where the exterior member #306 extends the entire height of the plug #27 and thus comprises of a height that extends from the top of the sill to a position above the bottom edge of the panel so as to be greater than the panel-sill gap, which is typically in the range of 0.09 and 0.2 inches, see col. 3, ll. 55-58).
Regarding claim 10, Kling discloses the support member height is equal to the exterior weatherstrip member height (see figure 5A, where the vertical height of the support member #310 and the exterior weatherstrip member #306 are the same).
Regarding claim 11, Kling discloses the interior weatherstrip member comprises an interior weatherstrip member height measured along the side frame member axis, and wherein the interior weatherstrip member height is greater than the panel-sill gap (see figures 2, 5A, and 6, where the interior member #302 extends the entire height of the plug #27 and thus comprises of a height that extends from the top of the sill to a position above the bottom edge of the panel so as to be greater than the panel-sill gap, which is typically in the range of 0.09 and 0.2 inches, see col. 3, ll. 55-58).
Regarding claim 15, Kling discloses the dust plug comprises an intermediate weatherstrip member (#304) attached to the base (see figure 5A), the intermediate weatherstrip member located between the exterior weatherstrip member and the interior weatherstrip member (see figure 5A), and wherein the intermediate weatherstrip member contacts the first edge of the panel when the panel is in the closed configured (see figure 6 and col. 3, ll. 55-57).
Regarding claim 16, Kling discloses the intermediate weatherstrip member is aligned with the side frame member axis (see figures 2 and 5A, where the intermediate member #304 extends vertically and thus aligned with the vertical axis of the frame member #14).
Regarding claim 17, Kling discloses the intermediate weatherstrip member comprises an intermediate weatherstrip member height measured along the side frame member axis, and wherein the intermediate weatherstrip member height is greater than the panel-sill gap (see figures 2, 5A, and 6, where the intermediate member #304 extends the entire height of the plug #27 and thus comprises of a height that extends from the top of the sill to a position above the bottom edge of the panel so as to be greater than the panel-sill gap, which is typically in the range of 0.09 and 0.2 inches, see col. 3, ll. 55-58).
Regarding claim 18, Kling discloses the intermediate weatherstrip member height is equal to or greater than the interior weather strip member height (the intermediate and interior members comprise of the same vertical height as depicted in figure 5A).
Regarding claim 19, Kling discloses the dust plug comprises a drain channel aligned with the side frame member axis, the drain channel located between the intermediate weatherstrip member and the interior weatherstrip member such that the drain is located between the first edge of the panel and the side frame member when the panel is in the closed configured (the drain channel can be considered to extend between the exterior surfaces of members #304 and #302, which forms a channel with the base #300 that is configured to allow liquids to flow therebetween, where such a channel is thus located between the support member and interior member #302 and between the first edge of the panel and the side frame member #14 during use).
Regarding claim 20, Kling discloses as measured along an interior-exterior axis extending between the interior side and the exterior side of the side frame member, a first distance between the intermediate weatherstrip member and the exterior face of the panel is less than a second distance between the interior weatherstrip member and the interior face of the panel (See figure 6, where the distance between the intermediate #304 and exterior #308 members is much smaller than the distance between the interior member #302 and the exterior face of the door panel #600 facing to the right of the figure and which is positioned at least the thickness of the door relative to the interior weatherstrip member).
Regarding claim 21, Kling discloses a sealing system for a fenestration unit, the sealing system comprising:
a fenestration frame comprising a side frame member (#14) comprising a cavity (#400) and connected to a sill (#23), wherein the sill and the side frame member comprise an interior side (the right side of figure 2) and an exterior side (the left side of figure 2), and wherein the side frame member extends along a side frame member axis extending away from the sill (see figure 2, where the side frame member extends along a vertical axis that extends away from the sill);
a panel (#600) retained in the fenestration frame (see figure 6), the panel positioned above the sill (see figure 6), the panel comprising an interior face (the left major vertical face of figure 6 that is to face the interior side of the frame when it is closed), an exterior face (the right major vertical face of figure 6 which is to face the exterior side of the frame when it is closed), a first edge (the edge with hinges #602), a second edge (the edge that is to comprise of a door handle and engage a latch on the doorway frame), a top edge (the top edge of figure 6), and a bottom edge (the bottom edge as depicted in figure 6), wherein, when the panel is in a closed configuration in the fenestration frame, the first edge faces the side frame member and the bottom edge faces the sill (see figure 6);
a side frame member weatherstrip (#17) attached to the side frame member (see figure 4), wherein, when the panel is in a closed configuration in the fenestration frame, the first edge of the panel faces the side frame member, the bottom edge of the panel faces the sill, and the exterior face of the panel contacts the side frame member weather strip (see figures 4 and 6, where the exterior surface of the door is to contact the weatherstrip #17 when the door is closed), wherein the side frame member weatherstrip comprises a cantilevered leg (#39) that, when the exterior face of the panel is not in contact with the side frame weatherstrip, defines a channel aligned with the side frame member axis (the channel which element #310 is inserted within in figure 4, which the channel extends vertically and thus parallel to the vertical side frame member axis), the first channel located between the side frame member and the cantilevered leg (see figure 4), and wherein, when the panel is in the closed configuration, the exterior face of the panel displaces the cantilevered leg towards the side frame member to reduce a size of the channel (the door is configured to close and contact the leg #39 so as to reduce the side of the channel, see col. 3, ll. 10-14); and
a dust plug (#27) comprising:
a base (#300) attached to the side frame member proximate the sill (see figures 2 and 6), the base comprising an interior edge (#308) facing away from the side frame member weatherstrip (see figure 4, where the bottom edge of element #308 faces away from the weatherstrip #17) and recessed within the cavity such that the interior edge is obscured by the side frame member when viewed along an interior-exterior axis extending between the interior side and the exterior side of the side frame member (see figure 4, where the interior edge #308 is hidden from view when viewed from downwardly to upwardly direction along the vertical axis of the figure)
a support member (#310) attached to the base (see figure 3), the support member located in the channel between the side frame member and the cantilevered leg proximate the sill (see figures 2 and 6),
an exterior weather strip member (#306) attached to the base (see figure 3), wherein a portion of the exterior weatherstrip member is located in a panel-sill gap measured along the side frame member axis between the bottom edge of the panel and a top of the sill at a junction between the bottom edge, the exterior face, and the first edge of the panel when the panel is in the closed configuration (see figure 6, where the exterior weather strip member #306 extends from the top of the sill upward along the side frame member axis so as to extend between the top of the sill and the bottom edge of the door panel as well as between the exterior face and at the junction between the bottom edge, exterior face, and the first edge of the door panel), and
an interior weatherstrip member (#302) attached to the base (see figure 3), the interior weather strip member located proximate an interior edge of the base such that the exterior weatherstrip member is located between the support member and the interior weatherstrip member (see figure 4) and wherein the interior weatherstrip member contacts the first edge of the panel when the panel is in the closed configuration (see figure 6, where the door panel #600 is configured to contact the interior member #302 when in the closed position);
wherein the exterior weatherstrip member is located in the channel between the support member and the cantilevered leg when the exterior face of the panel is not in the closed configuration such that the panel is not in contact with the cantilevered leg of the side frame member weatherstrip (see figure 4, where the exterior member #306 is located within the channel between the leg #39 and the jamb #14 when the door panel #600 is not closed);
wherein the support member comprises a support height measured along the side frame member axis, and wherein the support member height is greater than the panel-sill gap (see figures 2, 5A, and 6, where the support member extends the entire height of the plug #27 and thus comprises of a height that extends from the top of the sill to a position above the bottom edge of the panel);
wherein the dust plug comprises a drain channel aligned with the side frame member axis, the drain channel located between the support member and the interior weatherstrip member such that the drain is located between the first edge of the panel and the side frame member when the panel is in the closed configured (the drain channel can be considered to extend between the exterior surfaces of members #304 and #302, which forms a channel with the base #300 that is configured to allow liquids to flow therebetween, where such a channel is thus located between the support member and interior member #302 and between the first edge of the panel and the side frame member #14 during use);
and wherein the base comprises an interior edge (#308) facing away from the side frame member weatherstrip (see figure 4, where the bottom edge of element #308 faces away from the weatherstrip #17) and the side frame member comprises a cavity (#400), wherein the interior edge of the base is recessed within the cavity such that the interior edge is obscured by the side frame member when viewed along an interior-exterior axis extending between the interior side and the exterior side of the side frame member (see figure 4, where the interior edge #308 is hidden from view when viewed from downwardly to upwardly direction along the vertical axis of the figure).
Regarding claim 22, Kling discloses the dust plug comprises an intermediate weatherstrip member (#304) attached to the base (see figure 5A), the intermediate weatherstrip member located between the exterior weatherstrip member and the interior weatherstrip member (see figure 5A), and wherein the intermediate weatherstrip member contacts the first edge of the panel when the panel is in the closed configured (see figure 6 and col. 3, ll. 55-57).
Regarding claim 23, Kling discloses a method of sealing an interface between a panel (#600) and a side frame member (#14) of a fenestration unit, the method comprising:
positioning a dust plug (#27) on a side frame member (#14) of a fenestration panel (#600), wherein the dust plug comprises:
a base (#300) attached to the side frame member proximate a sill (#23) of the fenestration unit (see figures 2 and 6), the side frame member comprising a cavity (#400) and having a side frame weather strip (#17) attached thereto, the base comprising an interior edge (#308) facing away from the side frame member weatherstrip (see figure 4, where the bottom edge of element #308 faces away from the weatherstrip #17) and recessed within the cavity such that the interior edge is obscured by the side frame member when viewed along an interior-exterior axis extending between the interior side and the exterior side of the side frame member (see figure 4, where the interior edge #308 is hidden from view when viewed from downwardly to upwardly direction along the vertical axis of the figure)
a support member (#310) attached to the base (see figure 3),
an exterior weather strip member (#306) attached to the base (see figure 3), wherein a portion of the exterior weatherstrip member is located in a panel-sill gap measured along a side frame member axis between a bottom edge of the panel and a top of the sill of the fenestration unit at a junction between a bottom edge of the panel, an exterior face of the panel, and a first edge of the panel when the panel is in a closed configuration in which the first edge of the panel displaces the cantilevered leg of the side frame weatherstrip member towards the side frame member (see figure 6, where the exterior weather strip member #306 extends from the top of the sill upward along the side frame member axis so as to extend between the top of the sill and the bottom edge of the door panel as well as between the exterior face and at the junction between the bottom edge, exterior face, and the first edge of the door panel), and
an interior weatherstrip member (#302) attached to the base (see figure 3), the interior weatherstrip member located proximate an interior edge of the base such that the exterior weatherstrip member is located between the support member and the interior weatherstrip member (see figure 4), and wherein the interior weatherstrip member contacts the first edge of the panel when the panel is in the closed configured (see figure 6, where the door panel #600 is configured to contact the interior member #302 when in the closed position);
wherein positioning the dust plug on the side frame member comprises locating the support member of the dust plug between the side frame member and the cantilevered leg (#39) of the side frame weatherstrip member (#17) attached to the side frame member (see figure 4), wherein the support member forces the cantilevered leg away from the side frame member proximate the sill when the panel is not in the closed configuration (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 24, Kling discloses the dust plug directs water passing along the side frame member towards the sill through a drain channel (the channel formed between the exterior surfaces of elements #304 and #302) aligned with a side frame member axis of the side frame member (the drain channel is depicted in figure 5a as extending vertically, which is aligned with the vertical axis of the member #14) when the panel is in the closed configuration (see figure 6), the drain channel located between the interior weatherstrip member and the support member (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 25, Kling discloses the dust plug comprises an intermediate weatherstrip member (#304) attached to the base (see figure 5A), the intermediate weatherstrip member located between the exterior weatherstrip member and the interior weatherstrip member (see figure 5A), and wherein the intermediate weatherstrip member contacts the first edge of the panel when the panel is in the closed configuration (see figure 6 and col. 3, ll. 55-57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Kling or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kling in view of Rissone (U.S. Publication 2010/0058670).
Regarding claim 14, Kling discloses the base of the dust plug is adhesively attached to the side frame member (though Kling teaches the use of a tail #308 to attach the base to the side frame member to allow for sliding of the base along the frame member, col. 1, ll. 22-28 disclose that adhesive was the typical, prior art method of attaching such dust plugs to the corners of a door frame and thus anticipates such limitations).
Kling is considered to anticipate the use of adhesive to attach such a dust plug to the side frame member since Kling teaches the tail feature is used in place of the prior method of adhesive of attaching such dust plugs in place and thus teach such features as defined. However, if the Examiner is considered to over broadly interpret Kling as anticipating such limitations, col. 1, ll. 22-46 of Kling disclose that adhesive has been used in the past but comes with the downside of not being easily removable as when a tail is used as depicted in the figures. Though Kling teaches use of a tail connection to overcome the deficiencies of an adhesive connection, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the drawbacks between the use of either connection method and chose either connection method based on the needs of the end user. Furthermore, Rissone teaches the obviousness of using both a tail #10/12 and adhesive #24 connection together on a single dust cover #20 to attach the element to a frame member. See figures 2a and 2b. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used adhesive in place of the tail connection or in combination with the tail connection, as taught in Rissone, in order to provide a strong connection between the dust plug and the frame member when repositioning or removal is not required and also since the simple substitution of one connection for another would have yielded the same predictable result of attaching the dust plug to the frame member as needed. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kling in view of Braun (U.S. Publication 2007/0227076).
Regarding claim 3, Kling discloses the claimed invention except for a sweep attached to the bottom edge as defined. However, it is highly well known in the art, as evidenced by Braun, that fenestration units can comprise of a door panel #310 with a sweep #322 attached at a bottom end thereof, where the sweep extends between the first and second longitudinal ends of the panel and is configured to contact a dust plug #326 positioned in a panel sill gap between the door and a sill #320. See figures 3, 4, and 5B. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a sweep upon the door panel of Kling which extends between longitudinal ends of the panel and is configured to contact the dust plug, as taught in Braun, in order to further prevent dust and other debris from entering through the fenestration opening when the door is closed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that “Kling distinguishes its base from its tail such that the Office Action’s interpretation takes Kling’s base as well as the claimed base of the instant application out of context,” the presently claimed invention does not further limit the structure, shape, or function of such a base of the dust plug other than that such a base is to be attached to the side frame member proximate the sill and the base comprises an interior edge as defined. Though Kling discloses a base #300 with a tail #308, nothing within the presently claimed invention prevents one from interpreting the L-shaped element of Kling as being a base. The L-shaped base of Kling comprises of an interior edge formed by the tail #308 which is obscured from view when attached to the assembly and thus meets such limitations as broadly defined. The rejections are considered proper and are upheld.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that “the Office Action has therefore not established that Kling corresponds to aspects of claim 1 directed to an exterior weatherstrip member located between a support member and an interior weather strip member,” Applicant does not provide any arguments or other supporting information which shows how the features presented by the Examiner do not meet the structural and functional limitations of the claimed features as presently defined. Applicant only provides a claimed element, i.e. the support member, with its location without further defining the structure or function of such an element. Element #310 of Kling is located as defined and provides a support function so as to meet such limitations as broadly defined. Element #306 of Kling similarly meets the broad structural and locational limitations for the exterior weatherstrip member as broadly defined. Therefore, Kling is considered to anticipate such limitations as broadly defined and thus the rejections are considered proper.
Applicant does not argue the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection of claim 14 or the modifications taken therein or the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 and the modifications taken therein other than that such claims depend upon an alleged allowable independent claim. Thus, such modification and rejections are also considered proper for the same reasons as explained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE V ADAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635