DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 09/05/2024. In the instant amendment, claims 1-15 were amended; claim 16 is new; claims 1, 14 and 15 are independent claims. Claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2024 and 09/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a control system for monitoring and controlling (claim 1); a monitoring unit for monitoring (claim 1); a control unit for controlling (claim 1); a sensor unit for acquiring (claim 2); a sensor unit to transmit (claim 3); a conversion unit to convert (claim 6);
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for carrying out the method comprising: receiving/checking/granting/transmitting (Claim 15).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed computer program is directed to software per se. The claimed “computer program” is not stored on any non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Therefore, the claim is non-statutory. See Warmerdam, 33 F.3d at 1361, 31 USPQ2d at 1760.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) as being indefinite for failing for particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a device. However, the claim does not positively any embodiment; the claim only recites means for carrying out a method to perform (i.e., receiving [], checking [], granting [] and transmitting []). It's unclear as to how the device could be built without at least an embodiment and what is inside the claimed device. As a result, metes and bound of the claim are not clearly defined as being incomplete for omitting essential elements. See MPEP § 2172.01 for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lonati et al (“Lonati,” WO2012127409) and further in view of Schmitt et al (“Schmitt,” US 20230323571).
Regarding claim 1, Lonati discloses a system for access control comprising:
a textile machine and a control system for monitoring and controlling the textile machine, the control system comprising a monitoring unit and a control unit for monitoring and controlling the textile machine; (Lonati describes a textile machine (Page 1, Line 5) and a control system (Page 3, Line 27) for monitoring (Page 1, Line 30) and controlling the textile machine (Page 1, Line 5), the control system (Page 3, Line 27) comprising a monitoring unit (Page 1, Line 30) and a control unit (Page 3, Line 27) for monitoring (Page 3, Line 27) and controlling the textile machine (Page 1, Line 5; Page 3, Line 27))
the textile machine and the control system being arranged in a first communication network for transmitting control commands for monitoring and controlling the textile machine; (Lonati describes a textile machine (Page 1, Line 5) and a control system (Page 3, Line 27) for monitoring (Page 1, Line 30) and controlling (Page 3, Line 27) the textile machine (Page 1, Line 5), the control system (Page 3, Line 27) comprising a monitoring unit (Page 1, Line 30) and a control unit (Page 3, Line 27) for monitoring and controlling the textile machine (Page 1, Line 5; Page 3, Line 27))
Lonati fails to explicitly disclose and an authentication system being arranged in a second communication network, and the authentication system being designed to authenticate at least one user in order to enable access for controlling the textile machine in the first communication network.
However, in an analogous art, Schmitt discloses and an authentication system being arranged in a second communication network, and the authentication system being designed to authenticate at least one user in order to enable access for controlling the textile machine in the first communication network, (Schmitt describes and an authentication system [0016] being arranged in a second communication network [0071], and the authentication system [0016] being designed to authenticate at least one user in order to enable access [0094] for controlling the textile machine [0016] in the first communication network [0016], [0071])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmitt with the method/system of Lonati to include and an authentication system being arranged in a second communication network, and the authentication system being designed to authenticate at least one user in order to enable access for controlling the textile machine in the first communication network. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmidt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 5, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the system according to claim 1.
Lonati further discloses further including: an interface which communicatively connects the textile machine and/or the control system in the first communication network to the authentication system in the second communication network, and the interface is designed to transmit authentication information from the authentication system to the textile machine and/or to the control system in order to enable or block control access for the at least one user, (Lonati discloses further including: an interface (Page 19, Line 14) which communicatively connects the textile machine (Page 1, Line 5; Page 3, Line 27) and/or the control system (Page 3, Line 27) in the first communication network (Page 19, Lines 19-20) to the authentication system (Page 17, Lines 2-7) in the second communication network (Page 19, Lines 19-20), and the interface (Page 19, Line 14) is designed to transmit authentication information (Page 17, Lines 2-7) from the authentication system (Page 17, Lines 2-7) to the textile machine (Page 1, Line 5; Page 3, Line 27) and/or to the control system (Page 3, Line 27) in order to enable (Page 6, Lines 11-13) or block (Page 4, Lines 14-21) control access for the at least one user (Page 4, Lines 14-21))
Regarding claim 6, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the system according to claim 5.
Lonati further discloses wherein: the interface has a conversion unit which is designed to convert a data format and/or a network protocol of the authentication information when transmitted between the first communication network and the second communication network for setting production parameters for the textile machine, (Lonati describes wherein: the interface (Page 19, Line 14) has a conversion unit which is designed to convert a data format (Page 14, Lines 3-15) and/or a network protocol (Page 12, Lines 13-20) of the authentication information (Page 17, Lines 2-7) when transmitted between the first communication network (Page 19, Lines 19-20) and the second communication network (Page 19, Lines 19-20) for setting production parameters (Page 17, Line 18) for the textile machine (Page 1, Line 5; Page 3, Line 27))
Regarding claim 7, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the system according to claim 5.
Schmitt further discloses wherein: the authentication information comprises a communication message relating to enabling or blocking access of the at least one user for controlling the textile machine and/or a communication message comprising one or more authorization profiles for the at least one user for an access, each authorization profile defining a scope and/or configuration of the access for the at least one user, (Schmidt describes wherein: the authentication information [0066] comprises a communication message [0087] relating to enabling [0094] or blocking access of the at least one user [0087] for controlling the textile machine [0014] and/or a communication message [0087] comprising one or more authorization profiles [0081] for the at least one user for an access [0053], each authorization profile [0081] defining a scope and/or configuration [0065], [0071] of the access for the at least one user [0060], [0081])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmidt with the method/system of Lonati to include wherein: the authentication information comprises a communication message relating to enabling or blocking access of the at least one user for controlling the textile machine and/or a communication message comprising one or more authorization profiles for the at least one user for an access, each authorization profile defining a scope and/or configuration of the access for the at least one user. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmidt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 8, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the system according to claim 1.
Lonati and Schmitt fail to explicitly disclose wherein: the authentication system has a database which comprises data for authenticating the at least one user for access.
However, in an analogous art, Schmitt discloses wherein: the authentication system has a database which comprises data for authenticating the at least one user for access, (Schmidt describes wherein: the authentication system [0087] has a database [0026], [0071] which comprises data for authenticating [0087] the at least one user for access [0094])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmitt with the method/system of Lonati to include wherein: the authentication system has a database which comprises data for authenticating the at least one user for access. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmitt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 9, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the system according to claim 1.
Lonati further discloses the textile machine having a plurality of work stations arranged side by side, which are each designed to carry out at least one production step for producing a textile product, (Lonati describes the textile machine (Page 1, Lines 1-2) having a plurality of work stations (Page 22, Lines 15-16) arranged side by side, which are each designed to carry out at least one production step for producing a textile product (Page 1, Lines 11-12))
control of the textile machine by the control system comprising at least one of the following actions in order to make the at least one of the following actions available to the at least one user in event of access being enabled: (Lonati describes control of the textile machine (Page 1, Lines 1-2; Page 4, Lines 14-21) having by the control system comprising at least one of the following actions in order to make the at least one of the following actions available to the at least one user in event of access being enabled (Page 4, Lines 14-21))
setting at least one parameter of the textile machine; setting at least one parameter of the work stations; (Lonati describes setting at least one parameter of the work stations (Page 17, Lines 8-22)
setting at least one parameter for production; (Lonati describes setting at least one parameter for production (Page 17, Lines 8-22))
starting the textile machine; (Lonati, Page 18, Lines 17-22 describes starting the knitting machine)
setting a spinning means,
a yarn parameter, (Lonati, Page 21, Lines 3-10 describes a yarn parameter)
a piecing parameter,
a winding parameter
or a cleaner parameter of the textile machine;
displaying measurement results from at least one sensor of the textile machinery;
activating or deactivating individual work stations;
and calling up a graphical user interface for the textile machine, (Lonati describes and calling up a graphical user interface for the knitting machine (Page 10, Lines 29-33; Page 11, Lines 1-13)
Schmidt further discloses wherein:
the textile machine is a spooler or spinning machine, (Schmidt describes the textile machine is a spooler or spinning machine [0089])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmitt with the method/system of Lonati to include the textile machine is a spooler or spinning machine. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmitt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the system according to claim 1.
Schmitt further discloses wherein: the first communication network is a higher level communication network, and the second communication network is a machine communication network of the textile machine, the machine communication network being designed as a separate communication network to the first communication network and/or being subordinate to the first communication network and/or being designed as a sub-network of the first communication network, and/or the first and/or the second communication network comprises a wired and/or wireless communication network, (Schmitt describes wherein: the first communication network is a higher level communication network [0071], and the second communication network is a machine communication network [0071] of the textile machine [0071], the machine communication network [0071] being designed as a separate communication network to the first communication network [0071] and/or being subordinate to the first communication network [0071] and/or being designed as a sub-network of the first communication network, and/or the first and/or the second communication network comprises a wired and/or wireless communication network [0071])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmitt with the method/system of Lonati to include wherein: the first communication network is a higher level communication network, and the second communication network is a machine communication network of the textile machine, the machine communication network being designed as a separate communication network to the first communication network and/or being subordinate to the first communication network and/or being designed as a sub-network of the first communication network, and/or the first and/or the second communication network comprises a wired and/or wireless communication network. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmitt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 11, Lonati and Schmitt disclose a method for accessing control for the system according to claim 1.
Lonati further discloses comprising the following steps: receiving an authentication request by the authentication system in the second communication network, the authentication request being used to request authentication of the at least one user in order to enable access to the textile machine for the at least one user; checking the received authentication request with respect to an access authorization of the at least one user; granting access for the at least one user if the access authorization is confirmed by a check; and transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to a sensor unit the granting of access of the at least one user, (Lonati discloses comprising the following steps: receiving an authentication request (Page 19, Line 23) by the authentication system in the second communication network (Col. 19, Line 19), the authentication request being used to request authentication of the at least one user in order to enable access to the textile machine (Page 1, Lines 5-8) for the at least one user (Page 10, Line 24);
checking (Page 2, Lines 10-11) the received authentication request (Page 16, Lines 8-15; Page 19, Line 23) with respect to an access authorization (Page 16, Lines 8-9) of the at least one user (Page 10, Line 24);
Schmitt further disclose granting access for the at least one user if the access authorization is confirmed by a check; (Schmitt further discloses granting access [0094]-[0095] for the at least one user if the access authorization [0095] is confirmed by a check [0020])
and transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to a sensor unit the granting of access of the at least one user, (Schmitt further discloses and transmitting to the textile machine [0014], [0085] and/or to the control system [0081] and/or to a sensor unit [0065] the granting of access of the at least one user [0094])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmitt with the method/system of Lonati to include granting access for the at least one user if the access authorization is confirmed by a check; and transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to a sensor unit the granting of access of the at least one user. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmitt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 12, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the method according to claim 11.
Schmitt further discloses comprising the following steps:
denying access for the at least one user for controlling the textile machine if the access authorization was rejected by the check; the following step being carried out in event of denial: transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to the sensor unit a blocking of access for the at least one user, (Schmitt describes comprising the following steps: denying access [0087] for the at least one user for controlling the textile machine [0081] if the access authorization [0087] was rejected by the check [0087]; the following step being carried out in event of denial [0087]:
transmitting [0085] to the textile machine [0081] and/or to the control system [0081] and/or to the sensor unit [0065] a blocking of access for the at least one user [0087])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmidt with the method/system of Lonati to include comprising the following steps:
denying access for the at least one user for controlling the textile machine if the access authorization was rejected by the check; the following step being carried out in event of denial: transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to the sensor unit a blocking of access for the at least one user. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmitt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 13, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the method according to claim 11.
Schmitt further discloses comprising at least one of the following steps: transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to the sensor unit authentication information for authenticating access of the at least one user, the authentication information comprising (Schmitt describes comprising at least one of the following steps: transmitting to the textile machine [0016] and/or to the control system [0016] and/or to the sensor unit [0065] authentication information [0066] for authenticating access of the at least one user [0066], the authentication information comprising [0066])
a communication message relating to enabling or blocking access of the at least one user to the textile machine; (Schmitt describes [0054] a communication message relating to enabling [0094] or blocking access [0087] of the at least one user to the textile machine [0016])
transmitting authentication information for authenticating the access of the at least one user to the control system, (Schmitt describes transmitting authentication information for authenticating the access [0066] of the at least one user to the control system [0081])
the authentication information comprising a communication message which comprises one or more access authorization profiles for the at least one user for evaluation by the control system; (Schmitt describes the authentication information [0066] comprising a communication message [0087] which comprises one or more access authorization profiles [0081] for the at least one user for evaluation by the control system [0081])
acquiring identification data of the at least one user by the sensor unit, the acquired identification data being specific to an identification of the at least one user to an authorization profile or access profile for controlling different functions of the textile machine and/or the control system; (Schmitt describes acquiring identification data of the at least one user [0011] by the sensor unit [0065], the acquired identification data [0011] being specific to an identification of the at least one user to an authorization profile [0081] or access profile [0081] for controlling different functions of the textile machine [0065], [0071] and/or the control system [0071])
and transmitting the acquired identification data to the authentication system for authentication, (Schmitt describes [0011] and transmitting the acquired identification data [0011] to the authentication system for authentication [0016])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmidt with the method/system of Lonati to include comprising at least one of the following steps: transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to the sensor unit authentication information for authenticating access of the at least one user, the authentication information comprising a communication message relating to enabling or blocking access of the at least one user to the textile machine; transmitting authentication information for authenticating the access of the at least one user to the control system, the authentication information comprising a communication message which comprises one or more access authorization profiles for the at least one user for evaluation by the control system; acquiring identification data of the at least one user by the sensor unit, the acquired identification data being specific to an identification of the at least one user to an authorization profile or access profile for controlling different functions of the textile machine and/or the control system; and transmitting the acquired identification data to the authentication system for authentication. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmitt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 14, Lonati and Schmitt disclose a computer program, comprising commands which, when the computer program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method according to claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, Lonati and Schmitt disclose a device for data processing, in arranged at least partly in an authentication system and/or in a control system of the system according to claim 1.
Lonati further discloses comprising means for carrying out a method comprising: receiving an authentication request by the authentication system in the second communication network, the authentication request being used to request authentication of at least one user in order to enable access to the textile machine for the at least one user; checking the received authentication request with respect to an access authorization of the at least one user (Lonati discloses comprising means for carrying out a method comprising: receiving an authentication request (Page 19, Line 23) by the authentication system (Page 17, Lines 2-7) in the second communication network (Col. 19, Line 23), the authentication request (Page 19, Line 23) being used to request authentication of at least one user in order to enable access (Page 19, Line 23) to the textile machine (Page 1, Line 5) for the at least one user (Page 17, Line 14);
checking the received authentication request (Page 19, Line 23) with respect to an access authorization of the at least one user (Page 17, Lines 31-33))
Schmitt further discloses granting access for the at least one user if the access authorization is confirmed by the check; and transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to a sensor unit the granting of access of the at least one user, (Schmitt further discloses granting access [0094]-[0095] for the at least one user if the access authorization [0095] is confirmed by a check [0020])
and transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to a sensor unit the granting of access of the at least one user (Schmitt further discloses and transmitting to the textile machine [0014], [0085] and/or to the control system [0081] and/or to a sensor unit [0065] the granting of access of the at least one user [0094])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schmitt with the method/system of Lonati to include granting access for the at least one user if the access authorization is confirmed by the check; and transmitting to the textile machine and/or to the control system and/or to a sensor unit the granting of access of the at least one user. One would have been motivated to provide an operating device for operating textile machines and a method for operating textile machines (Schmitt, [0001]).
Regarding claim 16, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the system according to claim 1.
Lonati discloses wherein the authentication system is designed to authenticate the at least one user in order for the at least one user to set and/or configure production parameters for the textile machine, (Lonati describes wherein the authentication system (Page 17, Lines 2-7) is designed to authenticate (Page 17, Lines 2-7) the at least one user in order for the at least one user to set (Page 3, Lines 25-33) and/or configure production parameters (Page 17, Lines 8-22; Page 3, Lines 25-33) for the textile machine (Page 18, Lines 3-5))
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lonati et al (“Lonati,” WO2012127409) in view of Schmitt et al (“Schmitt,” US 20230323571) and further in view of Chahine et al (“Chachine,” US 20230038068).
Regarding claim 2, Lonati and Schmitt disclose the system according to claim 1, further including:
Lonati and Schmitt fail to explicitly disclose a sensor unit for acquiring identification data of the at least one user for authentication, the sensor unit being arranged in the first or in the second communication network.
However, in an analogous art, Chachine discloses a sensor unit for acquiring identification data of the at least one user for authentication, the sensor unit being arranged in the first or in the second communication network, (Chachine describes a sensor unit [0033] for acquiring identification data of the at least one user [0003] for authentication [0073], the sensor unit [0033] being arranged in the first [0062], [0068] or in the second communication network [0062], [0068])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chachine with the method/system of Lonati and Schmitt to include a sensor unit for acquiring identification data of the at least one user for authentication, the sensor unit being arranged in the first or in the second communication network. One would have been motivated to providing networks based on textiles (Chachine, [0001]).
Regarding claim 3, Lonati, Schmitt and Chachine disclose the system according to claim 2.
Chachine discloses wherein: the sensor unit is in the second communication network and is designed to transmit the acquired identification data to the authentication system for authentication, and/or the sensor unit is in the first communication network and is designed to transmit the acquired identification data to the authentication system for authentication or to the control system for authentication, (Chachine describes wherein: the sensor unit [0033] is in the second communication network and is designed to transmit the acquired identification data to the authentication system [0073] for authentication [0073], and/or the sensor unit [0033] is in the first communication network [0062], [0068] and is designed to transmit the acquired identification data to the authentication system [0073] for authentication [0073] or to the control system for authentication)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chachine with the method/system of Lonati and Schmitt to include wherein: the sensor unit is in the second communication network and is designed to transmit the acquired identification data to the authentication system for authentication, and/or the sensor unit is in the first communication network and is designed to transmit the acquired identification data to the authentication system for authentication or to the control system for authentication. One would have been motivated to providing networks based on textiles (Chachine, [0001]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lonati et al (“Lonati,” WO2012127409), Schmitt et al (“Schmitt,” US 20230323571) in view of Chahine et al (“Chachine,” US 20230038068) and further in view of Koh et al (“Koh,” US 20200375293).
Regarding claim 4, Lonati, Schmitt and Chachine disclose the system according to claim 2.
Lonati, Schmitt and Chachine fail to explicitly disclose wherein: the sensor unit has a card reader and/or a fingerprint scanner and/or a retina scanner and/or a camera having face recognition and/or voice recognition.
However, in an analogous art, Koh discloses wherein: the sensor unit has a card reader and/or
a fingerprint scanner and/or
a retina scanner and/or
a camera having face recognition
and/or voice recognition (Koh, [0221] describes voice recognition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koh with the method/system of Lonati, Schmitt and Chachine to include wherein: the sensor unit has a card reader and/or a fingerprint scanner and/or a retina scanner and/or a camera having face recognition and/or voice recognition. One would have been motivated to automatically generating customized new garment and/or outfit designs, and automatically delivering highly relevant and personalized style recommendations (Koh, [0002]).
Conclusion
/JAMES J WILCOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439