DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments/arguments, filed April 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (PARK – US 2022/0001859 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of CHEN and LIU.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (PARK – US 2022/0001859 A1), in view of (CHEN – CN 109559532 A), further in view of (LIU – CN 114241754 A).
Regarding claim 1, PARK discloses:
An apparatus for preventing a brake response delay of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Computer with computer-readable medium: [0105]); and
a non-transitory memory (computer-readable medium: [0105]) storing computer-executable instructions executable by the at least one processor to carry out the operations comprising:
determining whether a host vehicle (host vehicle 100: Fig. 2 and [0045-0051]) is located within a risk section (expected collision area: [0015, 0024, 0051-0077, 0081-0083]) with reference to position information ([0060-0075]: “Next, the location of the collision end 510 of the collision area 501 may be determined (S104); because the location of the collision end 501 is behind PA0, that is, because there is a possibility of the collision between the surrounding vehicle 500 and the rear portion of the host vehicle 100 when the host vehicle 100 drives at the constant speed V0 and then reaches PA0, the host vehicle 100 may avoid the collision with the surrounding vehicle 500 by driving at the increased speed (S106)”), by a risk section determination device (collision calculation device 133 may determine that the collision area of the surrounding vehicle invading the safety area 101 of the host vehicle 100 is a collision: Fig. 1 and [0051]); and
outputting first required acceleration with reference to a current speed of the host vehicle (host vehicle 100: Fig. 2 and [0045-0051]) and a setting speed range (Figs. 2-6 and [0048]: “an arrival location according to the speed may be designated at regular intervals in the traveling direction of the host vehicle 100 on each avoidance route. For example, in the case of the center line (A), a location capable of being reached upon driving at a constant speed V0 for ‘t’ seconds at the current location of the host vehicle 100 may be designated as PA0; a location capable of being reached upon driving for ‘t’ seconds at a speed V4, which has accelerated by 5% from the constant speed V0, may be designated as PA4; a location capable of being reached upon driving for ‘t’ seconds at a speed V5, which has accelerated by 10% from the constant speed V0, may be designated as PA5; a location capable of being reached upon driving for ‘t’ seconds at a speed V3, which has decelerated by 5% from the constant speed V0, may be designated as PA3; a location capable of being reached upon driving for ‘t’ seconds at a speed V2, which has decelerated by 10% from the constant speed V0, may be designated as PA2; a location capable of being reached upon driving for ‘t’ seconds at a speed V1, which has decelerated by 15% from the constant speed V0, may be designated as PA1”), based on determination that the host vehicle (host vehicle 100: Fig. 2 and [0045-0051]) is located within the risk section (expected collision area: [0015, 0024, 0051-0077, 0081-0083]), by an acceleration output device, and outputting second required acceleration corresponding to a deceleration trigger signal, based on obtainment of the deceleration trigger signal, by the acceleration output device ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Examiner Notes:
The Examiner is interpreting the required limitation “…risk section…” as “expected collision area” in PARK above.
The above interpretation by the Examiner is consistent with Present Application Written Specification in at least Paragraphs [0010, 0116]: “Another aspect of the present disclosure provides an apparatus and a method for reducing a possibility of a rear-end collision capable of occurring due to a zone with a high risk of accident occurrence or a sensor blind spot”.
But PARK does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) wherein the risk section includes a section set as having a high risk of accident occurrence; and wherein the risk section is a part of a driving route.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, CHEN ([0045, 0063]) discloses/teaches the following:
The area selected a certain area range judged as dangerous driving behavior, driving behavior risk in the range of possibility of traffic accident caused by larger. if the set judgement range, belongs to the normal driving behavior change is small; the safety influence if the range is too small, there will be missing the abnormal driving behaviour so as to bring safety risk. after analyzing the flow splitting region accident risk, the patent selected range of 150 meters from the shunt point F as the dangerous area judging range, namely S=150 meter, as shown in FIG. 2.
The local control host to obtain vehicle information, the position with the host vehicle A is electronic map dividing area matching method, judging the area where the vehicle if the vehicle is not in danger of range 150 before the separation point, the vehicle A will generate a security risk area traffic, returning to step two; if the vehicle in the shunt region, it is necessary to further judge and record the current vehicle A according to distance, executing the next step.
Further on, regarding limitation (A) above, LIU ([0023-0039]) discloses/teaches the following:
P (x) is the probability of accident; g (x) is the function of traffic safety factor obtained by using regression analysis method, x is the obvious traffic safety influence factor at 0.05 level.
Collecting the continuous 24h traffic flow data in the electromagnetic induction coil in the I-80 confluence influence area, as the data of establishing real-time accident risk prediction model; collecting the traffic flow data of continuous 15 min in the electromagnetic induction coil in the I-80 confluence influence area, the traffic flow data comprises average speed of each lane each 30 seconds, average occupancy and average flow.
The invention uses the measured data of the traffic flow detection device as the base, the accident risk factor in the range of the traffic flow influence area is filter; the real-time accident risk prediction model is established, according to the model, the accident precursor characteristic and the traffic accident type which is easy to be induced are established. The invention judges whether there is accident front sign characteristic in the range of the confluence influence area according to the real-time traffic flow parameter in 15 minutes. if so, the intelligent control system will automatically call the lane-dividing speed limit, continuously reducing the main line upstream speed limit value and other control policy, so as to improve the highway confluence influence area traffic safety The invention has the advantages of real time, intelligent, without human intervention and so on, with actual application value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the control system of PARK incorporating additional controller communications/calculation-unit modules as taught by CHEN and LIU to solve the traffic problem, reducing the accident frequency and severity, so as to improve the safety of freeway ramp influence area has important meaning.
Regarding claim 11, PARK discloses:
A method, comprising:
determining, by a risk section determination device (collision calculation device 133 may determine that the collision area of the surrounding vehicle invading the safety area 101 of the host vehicle 100 is a collision: Fig. 1 and [0051]), whether a host vehicle is located within a risk section (expected collision area: [0015, 0024, 0051-0077, 0081-0083]) with reference to position information ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]);
outputting, by an acceleration output device, first required acceleration with reference to a current speed of the host vehicle and a setting speed range, based on determination that the host vehicle is located within the risk section ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]); and
outputting, by the acceleration output device, second required acceleration corresponding to a deceleration trigger signal, based on obtainment of the deceleration trigger signal ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
But PARK does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) wherein the risk section includes a section set as having a high risk of accident occurrence; and wherein the risk section is a part of a driving route.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, CHEN ([0045, 0063]) discloses/teaches the following:
The area selected a certain area range judged as dangerous driving behavior, driving behavior risk in the range of possibility of traffic accident caused by larger. if the set judgement range, belongs to the normal driving behavior change is small; the safety influence if the range is too small, there will be missing the abnormal driving behaviour so as to bring safety risk. after analyzing the flow splitting region accident risk, the patent selected range of 150 meters from the shunt point F as the dangerous area judging range, namely S=150 meter, as shown in FIG. 2.
The local control host to obtain vehicle information, the position with the host vehicle A is electronic map dividing area matching method, judging the area where the vehicle if the vehicle is not in danger of range 150 before the separation point, the vehicle A will generate a security risk area traffic, returning to step two; if the vehicle in the shunt region, it is necessary to further judge and record the current vehicle A according to distance, executing the next step.
Further on, regarding limitation (A) above, LIU ([0023-0039]) discloses/teaches the following:
P (x) is the probability of accident; g (x) is the function of traffic safety factor obtained by using regression analysis method, x is the obvious traffic safety influence factor at 0.05 level.
Collecting the continuous 24h traffic flow data in the electromagnetic induction coil in the I-80 confluence influence area, as the data of establishing real-time accident risk prediction model; collecting the traffic flow data of continuous 15 min in the electromagnetic induction coil in the I-80 confluence influence area, the traffic flow data comprises average speed of each lane each 30 seconds, average occupancy and average flow.
The invention uses the measured data of the traffic flow detection device as the base, the accident risk factor in the range of the traffic flow influence area is filter; the real-time accident risk prediction model is established, according to the model, the accident precursor characteristic and the traffic accident type which is easy to be induced are established. The invention judges whether there is accident front sign characteristic in the range of the confluence influence area according to the real-time traffic flow parameter in 15 minutes. if so, the intelligent control system will automatically call the lane-dividing speed limit, continuously reducing the main line upstream speed limit value and other control policy, so as to improve the highway confluence influence area traffic safety The invention has the advantages of real time, intelligent, without human intervention and so on, with actual application value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the control system of PARK incorporating additional controller communications/calculation-unit modules as taught by CHEN and LIU to solve the traffic problem, reducing the accident frequency and severity, so as to improve the safety of freeway ramp influence area has important meaning.
Regarding claim 2, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise:
outputting a 1_1st required acceleration for performing deceleration of the host vehicle, via the acceleration output device, based on the current speed of the host vehicle being within the setting speed range ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 3, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 2, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise: performing any one of a process of outputting 2_1st required acceleration corresponding to first deceleration trigger signal corresponding to a first driving situation, based on obtainment of the first deceleration trigger signal, or a process of outputting 2_2nd required acceleration corresponding to a second deceleration trigger signal corresponding to a second driving situation, based on obtainment of the second deceleration trigger signal, by the acceleration output device ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 4, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 3, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein a 2_1st slope, which is an amount of change per unit time of the 2_1st required acceleration, is smaller in magnitude than a 2_2nd slope, which is an amount of change per unit time of the 2_2nd required acceleration ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 5, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 2, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the 1_1st required acceleration is “0” (Zero Acceleration is interpreted as constant velocity) ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 6, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise: outputting 1_2nd required acceleration for performing acceleration of the host vehicle, via the acceleration output device, based on the current speed of the host vehicle being less than a lower limit setting speed in the setting speed range ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 7, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 6, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise: performing any one of a process of outputting 2_3rd required acceleration corresponding to third deceleration trigger signal corresponding to a third driving situation, based on obtainment of the third deceleration trigger signal, or a process of outputting 2_4th required acceleration corresponding to a fourth deceleration trigger signal corresponding to a fourth driving situation, based on obtaining of the fourth deceleration trigger signal, by the acceleration output device ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 8, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 6, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the 1_2nd required acceleration is less than a threshold acceleration and a magnitude of a 1_2nd slope, which is an amount of change per unit time of the 1_2nd required acceleration, is less than a threshold slope value ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 9, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 8, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the threshold slope value is set based on the current speed of the host vehicle ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 10, PARK as combined above disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise: outputting a third required acceleration for allowing the current speed of the host vehicle to meet the setting speed range, via an acceleration output device, based on determination that the host vehicle is located out of the risk section ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 12, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 11, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the outputting of the first required acceleration comprises:
outputting, by the acceleration output device, 1_1st required acceleration for performing deceleration of the host vehicle, based on the current speed of the host vehicle being within the setting speed range ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 13, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 12, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the outputting of the second required acceleration comprises: performing any one of a process of outputting 2_1st required acceleration corresponding to first deceleration trigger signal corresponding to a first driving situation, based on obtainment of the first deceleration trigger signal, or a process of outputting 2_2nd required acceleration corresponding to a second deceleration trigger signal corresponding to a second driving situation, based on obtainment of the second deceleration trigger signal ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 14, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 13, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein a 2_1st slope, which is an amount of change per unit time of the 2_1st required acceleration, is smaller in magnitude than a 2_2nd slope, which is an amount of change per unit time of the 2_2nd required acceleration ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 15, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 12, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the 1_1st required acceleration is “0” ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 16, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 11, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the outputting of the first required acceleration comprises:
outputting, by the acceleration output device, 1_2nd required acceleration for performing acceleration of the host vehicle, based on the current speed of the host vehicle being less than a lower limit setting speed in the setting speed range ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 17, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 16, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the outputting of the second required acceleration comprises:
performing, by the acceleration output device, any one of a process of outputting 2_3rd required acceleration corresponding to third deceleration trigger signal corresponding to a third driving situation, based on obtainment of the third deceleration trigger signal ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]), or
a process of outputting 2_4th required acceleration corresponding to a fourth deceleration trigger signal corresponding to a fourth driving situation, based on obtainment of the fourth deceleration trigger signal ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 18, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 16, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the 1_2nd required acceleration is less than a threshold acceleration and a magnitude of a 1_2nd slope, which is an amount of change per unit time of the 1_2nd required acceleration, is less than a threshold slope value ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 19, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 18, and further on PARK also discloses:
wherein the threshold slope value is set based on the current speed of the host vehicle ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Regarding claim 20, PARK as combined above disclose the method according to claim 11, and further on PARK also discloses:
outputting, by the acceleration output device, a third required acceleration for allowing the current speed of the host vehicle to meet the setting speed range, based on the determination that the host vehicle is located out of the risk section, after outputting the second required acceleration ([0048, 0059, 0063, 0069, 0075, 0078-0079, 0086-0087, 0094, 0097, 0098]).
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747