DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filling of the Amendment on 06/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-17, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corti et al. (M. Corti et al. , “DC Networks Including Multiport DC/DC Converters: Fault Analysis”, IEEE Transactions on Industry, 09-01-2016.), hereinafter Corti, in view of Takeo et al. (US 9,982,416), hereinafter Takeo.
Regarding claim 1, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) a DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part multi-port DC/DC converter), comprising: first and second input terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower input terminals of the batteries) for connecting to a DC voltage supply (figures 1(b) and 2, part DC voltage supply generated by batteries); first and second output terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower output terminals of DC loads) for connecting to an electrical load (figures 1(b) and 2, part load generated by DC loads); a first capacitor (figures 1(b) and 2, part C1) having first and second terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part C1; upper and lower terminals) connected to the respective first and second input terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower input terminals of the batteries; through port#1); a second capacitor (figures 1(b) and 2, part C4) having first and second terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part C4; upper and lower terminals) connected to the respective first and second output terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower output terminals of DC loads; through port#4); first and second switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S11 and S12) connected in series (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S11 and S12) between the first input terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper input terminal of the batteries; through port#1) and a common line (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S12 and S42), a first node (figures 1(b) and 2, part first node connecting S11 and S12) connecting the first and second switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S11 and S12) ; third and fourth switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S41 and S42) connected in series (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S41 and S42) between the first output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper output terminal of DC loads; through port#4) and the common line (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S12 and S42), a second node (figures 1(b) and 2, part second node connecting S41 and S42) connecting the third and fourth output switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S41 and S42); an inductor (figures 1(b) and 2, part inductor generated by L1/L4) connected between the first (figures 1(b) and 2, part first node connecting S11 and S12) and second nodes (figures 1(b) and 2, part second node connecting S41 and S42); a fifth switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part fifth switch in lower side of PR1) connected between the second input terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower input terminal of the batteries) and the common line (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S12 and S42; through port #1); and a sixth switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part sixth switch in lower side of PR4) connected between the second output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower output terminal of DC loads) and the common line (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S12 and S42; through port #4) (pages 3656-3657; II. MULTIPORT DC/DC CONVERTER).
Corti does not expressly disclose the fifth switch is further connected between the second terminal of the first capacitor and the first switch.
Takeo teaches (see figures 1-7) the fifth switch (figure 3, part 130_2) is further connected between the second terminal of the first capacitor (figure 3, part 19; lower terminal) and the first switch (figure 3, part 102A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the fifth switch of Corti with the location of the fifth switch as taught by Takeo and obtain a DC-DC electric power converter, comprising: first and second input terminals for connecting to a DC voltage supply; first and second output terminals for connecting to an electrical load; a first capacitor having first and second terminals connected to the respective first and second input terminals; a second capacitor having first and second terminals connected to the respective first and second output terminals; first and second switches connected in series between the first input terminal and a common line, a first node connecting the first and second switches; third and fourth switches connected in series between the first output terminal and the common line, a second node connecting the third and fourth output switches; an inductor connected between the first and second nodes; a fifth switch connected between the second input terminal and the common line, wherein the fifth switch is further connected between the second terminal of the first capacitor and the first switch; and a sixth switch connected between the second output terminal and the common line, because it provides another efficient alternative to shutting off the circuit (column 6; lines 26-54). Additional, the applicant presented both locations of the fifth switch (figure 9 and 10, parts SA1/SA2) as similar alternative for the DC-DC converter (Specification; paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 3, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the sixth switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part sixth switch in lower side of PR4) is connected between the second output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower output terminal of DC loads) and the second terminal of the second capacitor (figures 1(b) and 2, part C4; lower terminal). However, Corti does not expressly disclose the sixth switch is connected between the second terminal of the second capacitor and the third switch.
Takeo teaches (see figures 1-7) the sixth switch (figure 3, part 130_2) is connected between the second terminal of the second capacitor (figure 3, part 19; lower terminal) and the third switch (figure 3, part 102A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the sixth switch of Corti with the location of the sixth switch as taught by Takeo and obtain the sixth switch is connected between the second terminal of the second capacitor and the third switch, because it provides another efficient alternative to shutting off the circuit (column 6; lines 26-54). Additional, the applicant presented both locations of the fifth switch (figure 9 and 10, parts SA1/SA2) as similar alternative for the DC-DC converter (Specification; paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 4, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the fifth switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part fifth switch in lower side of PR1) is connected between the second input terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower input terminal of the batteries) and the second terminal of the first capacitor (figures 1(b) and 2, part C1; lower terminal).
Regarding claim 5, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the sixth switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part sixth switch in lower side of PR4) is connected between the second output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower output terminal of DC loads) and the second terminal of the second capacitor (figures 1(b) and 2, part C4; lower terminal).
Regarding claim 6, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) each switch comprises a transistor connected in parallel with a diode (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S11/S12, S41/S42, fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4) (page 3658; B. Solution B; a static or a hybrid bidirectional switch (SHBS) can be installed on both poles of MPDCC port number 0 (up-stream of the capacitor C0 ) to act as a bipolar circuit breaker).
Regarding claim 7, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the transistor is a MOSFET, IGBT or HFET (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S11/S12, S41/S42, fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4) (page 3656; A. Structure; The IGBT).
Regarding claim 8, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) a controller (figures 1(b) and 2, part controller [not shown] that operate each switches S11/S12, S41/S42, fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4) configured to operate each of the switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S11/S12, S41/S42, fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4) (page 3657; B. Normal Condition Control Strategy).
Regarding claim 9, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) a first current sensor (figure 2, part upper current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4) configured to measure current through the first terminal (figure 2, part upper current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4; upper terminal) and a second current sensor (figure 2, part lower current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4) configured to measure current through the second terminal (figure 2, part lower current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4; lower terminal), wherein the controller (figures 1(b) and 2, part controller [not shown] that operate each switches S11/S12, S41/S42, fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4) is configured to receive current readings from the first (figure 2, part upper current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4) and second current sensors (figure 2, part lower current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4; lower terminal) (page 3657; IV. GROUND FAULT; Differential current protection sensors, illustrated in blue in Fig. 2, can be used to detect ground faults). However, Corti does not expressly disclose through the first output terminal and through the second output terminal.
Takeo teaches (see figures 1-7) a first current sensor (figure 3, part 113) configured to measure current through the first output terminal (figure 3, part 115; at buck operation to 19) and a second current sensor (figure 3, part 116) configured to measure current through the second output terminal (figure 3, part 118; at buck operation to 19), wherein the controller (figure 3, part 30) is configured to receive current readings from the first (figure 3, part 113) and second current sensors (figure 3, part 116).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second current sensors of Corti with the features of the first and second current sensors as taught by Takeo and obtain a first current sensor configured to measure current through the first output terminal and a second current sensor configured to measure current through the second output terminal, wherein the controller is configured to receive current readings from the first and second current sensors, because it provides more efficient and accurate current detection.
Regarding claim 10, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the controller (figures 1(b) and 2, part controller [not shown] that operate each switches S11/S12, S41/S42, fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4) is configured to close the fifth and sixth switches (figures 1(b), 2 and 3, parts fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4; closed) (page 3657; IV. GROUND FAULT; Differential current protection sensors, illustrated in blue in Fig. 2, can be used to detect ground faults. Three scenarios are considered for dc ground faults… the system can continue working) if the current readings from the first (figure 2, part upper current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4) and second current sensors (figure 2, part lower current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4) differ by more than a predetermined difference threshold (page 3659; V. SIMULATION RESULTS; paragraph four; the ground fault identification was achieved by a differential current sensor with a threshold equal to 30 mA).
Regarding claim 11, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the controller (figures 1(b) and 2, part controller [not shown] that operate each switches S11/S12, S41/S42, fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4) is configured to open the fifth and sixth switches (figures 1(b), 2 and 3, parts fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4; open) (page 3658; B. Solution B; third paragraph; this is not sufficient to clear the fault in terms of safety, and it is necessary to open the traditional circuit breaker) if the current readings from at least one of the first (figure 2, part upper current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4) or second current sensors (figure 2, part lower current sensor of differential current sensor ∆IL4) exceed a predetermined magnitude threshold (page 3659; V. SIMULATION RESULTS; paragraph four; the ground fault identification was achieved by a differential current sensor with a threshold equal to 30 mA).
Regarding claim 12, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part multi-port DC/DC converter) is a first DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part first DC-DC converter in the multi-port DC/DC converter between ports #1 and #4), the DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part multi-port DC/DC converter) comprising a second DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part second DC-DC converter in the multi-port DC/DC converter between ports #2 and #n) comprising: first and second input terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower input terminals of the super capacitors) for connecting to a second DC voltage supply (figures 1(b) and 2, part super capacitors); first and second output terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower output terminals of DC loads) for connecting to an electrical load (figures 1(b) and 2, part DC loads); a first capacitor (figures 1(b) and 2, part C2) having first and second terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part C2; upper and lower terminals) connected to the respective first and second input terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower input terminals of the super capacitors); a second capacitor (figures 1(b) and 2, part Cn) having first and second terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part Cn; upper and lower terminals) connected to the respective first and second output terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower output terminals of DC loads); first and second switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S21 and S22) connected in series between the first input terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper input terminal of the super capacitors; through port#2) and a common line (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S22 and Sn2), a first node (figures 1(b) and 2, part first node connecting S21 and S22) connecting the first and second switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S21 and S22); third and fourth switches connected in series (figures 1(b) and 2, parts Sn1 and Sn2) between the first output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper output terminal of DC loads) and the common line (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S22 and Sn2), a second node (figures 1(b) and 2, part second node connecting Sn1 and Sn2) connecting the third and fourth output switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts Sn1 and Sn2); and an inductor (figures 1(b) and 2, part inductor generated by L2 and Ln) connected between the first (figures 1(b) and 2, part first node connecting S21 and S22) and second nodes (figures 1(b) and 2, part second node connecting Sn1 and Sn2), wherein the first output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper output terminal of DC loads) of the first DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part first DC-DC converter in the multi-port DC/DC converter between ports #1 and #4) is connected to the second output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper output terminal of DC loads) of the second DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part second DC-DC converter in the multi-port DC/DC converter between ports #2 and #n).
Regarding claim 13, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the electrical load (figures 1(b) and 2, part DC loads) is connected between the first output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower output terminal of DC loads) of the second DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part second DC-DC converter in the multi-port DC/DC converter between ports #2 and #n) and the second output terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower output terminal of DC loads) of the first DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part first DC-DC converter in the multi-port DC/DC converter between ports #1 and #4).
Regarding claim 14, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) a seventh switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part seventh switch in lower side of PR2) connected between the second input terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower input terminal of the super capacitors) and the common line of the second DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S22 and Sn2).
Regarding claim 15, claim 1 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, claims 9 and 10 in combination have the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, claims 9 and 11 in combination have the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) the controller (figures 1(b) and 2, part controller [not shown] that operate each switches S11/S12, S41/S42, fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4) is configured to maintain the fifth and sixth switches in a closed state (figures 1(b) and 2, part fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4; closed state) during a operation of the first, second, third, and fourth switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts normal operation of switches S11/S12 and S41/S42), such that the fifth and sixth switches (figures 1(b) and 2, part fifth switch in lower side of PR1 and sixth switch in lower side of PR4; closed state) do not participate in the operation (figures 1(b) and 2, parts normal operation of switches S11/S12 and S41/S42) (page 3657; B. Normal Condition Control Strategy). However, Corti does not expressly disclose a pulse-width modulation operation.
Takeo teaches (see figures 1-7) the controller (figure 3, part controller 30) is configured to maintain the fifth and sixth switches in a closed (figure 3, part 130_2 and 130_1; closed) during a pulse-width modulation operation of the switches (figure 3, parts 102A/102B; PWM operation at normal operation), such that the fifth and sixth switches (figure 3, part 130_2 and 130_1; closed) do not participate in the pulse-width modulation operation (figure 3, parts 102A/102B; PWM operation at normal operation) (columns 5 and 6; lines 30-67 and 1-25; The boost IGBT 102A and the buck IGBT 102B are driven when a PWM voltage is applied to the gate terminals of the boost IGBT 102A and the buck IGBT 102B by the controller 30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of Corti with the controller features as taught by Takeo and obtain the controller is configured to maintain the fifth and sixth switches in a closed state during a pulse-width modulation operation of the first, second, third, and fourth switches, such that the fifth and sixth switches do not participate in the pulse-width modulation operation, because it provides more efficient switching operation.
Regarding claim 21, claim 20 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corti et al. (M. Corti et al. , “DC Networks Including Multiport DC/DC Converters: Fault Analysis”, IEEE Transactions on Industry, 09-01-2016.), hereinafter Corti, in view of Takeo et al. (US 9,982,416), hereinafter Takeo, and further in view of Barraco et al. (US 2025/0112559), hereinafter Barraco.
Regarding claim 18, Corti and Takeo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Corti discloses (figures 1-9) a battery pack (figures 1(b) and 2, part batteries at port#1); a DC bus (figure 2, part dc bus at A/B); an AC-DC converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part fec); and the DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part multi-port DC/DC converter), wherein the first and second input terminals are connected to the battery pack (figures 1(b) and 2, part batteries at port#1; upper and lower input terminals) and the first and second output terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower output terminals of DC loads) . However, Corti does not expressly disclose an aircraft propulsion system comprising: an electrical machine; an AC-DC converter connected between the electrical machine and the DC bus; the first and second output terminals are connected to the DC bus.
Barraco teaches (see figures 1-11) an aircraft propulsion system (figures 1 and 2) (Abstract; A DC-to-DC converter for an electrical aircraft propulsion system designed to be connected in series with an electrical energy storage unit of the electrical propulsion system) comprising: an electrical machine (figure 2, part 203b); a battery pack (figure 2, part 205); a DC bus (figure 2, part 207); an AC-DC converter (figure 2, part 203c) connected between the electrical machine (figure 2, part 203b) and the DC bus (figure 2, part 207); and a DC-DC electric power converter (figure 2, part 209), wherein the first and second input terminals (figure 2, part 209; left upper and lower input terminals) are connected to the battery pack (figure 2, part 205)and the first and second output terminals (figure 2, part 209; right upper and lower output terminals) are connected to the DC bus (figure 2, part 207) (paragraphs [0066]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the DC-DC electric power converter of Corti to the aircraft propulsion system (as intended use application) as taught by Barraco and obtain an aircraft propulsion system comprising: an electrical machine; a battery pack; a DC bus; an AC-DC converter connected between the electrical machine and the DC bus; and the DC-DC electric power converter according to claim 1, wherein the first and second input terminals are connected to the battery pack and the first and second output terminals are connected to the DC bus, because the combination results in more reliable and efficient DC-DC electric power converter for an aircraft propulsion system (paragraphs [0105]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 19, Corti, Takeo and Barraco discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 18). However, Corti does not expressly disclose the aircraft propulsion system, comprising a gas turbine engine connected to the electrical machine.
Barraco teaches (see figures 1-11) the aircraft propulsion system (figures 1 and 2) (Abstract; A DC-to-DC converter for an electrical aircraft propulsion system designed to be connected in series with an electrical energy storage unit of the electrical propulsion system), comprising a gas turbine engine (figure 2, part 203a) connected to the electrical machine (figure 2, part 203b) (paragraphs [0066]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the DC-DC electric power converter of Corti to the aircraft propulsion system (as intended use application) as taught by Barraco and obtain the aircraft propulsion system, comprising a gas turbine engine connected to the electrical machine, because the combination results in more reliable and efficient DC-DC electric power converter for an aircraft propulsion system (paragraphs [0105]-[0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argues on pages 9-10 of the Applicant's Response (“The combination fails to teach or suggest the internal switch topology required by amended claim 1, specifically where "the fifth switch is connected between the second terminal of the first capacitor and the first switch."… Moreover, modifying Corti as proposed by the Examiner would physically destroy the intended function of Corti's own components”).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because the rejection is 103 combination between Corti and Takeo. The primary reference Corti discloses all the stages of the DC-DC electric power converter (figures 1(b) and 2, part multi-port DC/DC converter) with the first capacitor (figures 1(b) and 2, part C1) having first and second terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part C1; upper and lower terminals) connected to the respective first and second input terminals (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper and lower input terminals of the batteries; through port#1); the first and second switches (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S11 and S12) connected in series (figures 1(b) and 2, parts S11 and S12) between the first input terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part upper input terminal of the batteries; through port#1) and a common line (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S12 and S42); the fifth switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part fifth switch in lower side of PR1) connected between the second input terminal (figures 1(b) and 2, part lower input terminal of the batteries) and the common line (figures 1(b) and 2, part common line connected at lower terminals of S12 and S42; through port #1). Takeo teaches the fifth switch (figure 3, part 130_2) is further connected between the second terminal of the first capacitor (figure 3, part 19; lower terminal) and the first switch (figure 3, part 102A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the fifth switch of Corti with the location of the fifth switch as taught by Takeo and obtain a DC-DC electric power converter, comprising: first and second input terminals for connecting to a DC voltage supply; first and second output terminals for connecting to an electrical load; a first capacitor having first and second terminals connected to the respective first and second input terminals; a second capacitor having first and second terminals connected to the respective first and second output terminals; first and second switches connected in series between the first input terminal and a common line, a first node connecting the first and second switches; third and fourth switches connected in series between the first output terminal and the common line, a second node connecting the third and fourth output switches; an inductor connected between the first and second nodes; a fifth switch connected between the second input terminal and the common line, wherein the fifth switch is further connected between the second terminal of the first capacitor and the first switch; and a sixth switch connected between the second output terminal and the common line, because it provides another efficient alternative to shutting off the circuit (column 6; lines 26-54). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, the 103 combination (as discussed above) is regarding configure the fifth switch of Corti with the location of the fifth switch as taught by Takeo in order to obtain the claimed limitation. More specific, locate the fifth switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part fifth switch in lower side of PR1) between the second terminal of the first capacitor (figures1(b) and 2, part C1; lower terminal) and the first switch (figures 1(b) and 2, part S12) as suggested by Takeo. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the DC-DC electric power converter of Corti with the location features as taught Takeo and obtain the claimed limitation. Furthermore, the applicant presented both locations of the fifth switch (figure 9 and 10, parts SA1/SA2) as similar alternative for the DC-DC converter (Specification; paragraph [0106]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838