DETAILED ACTION
This application, 18/677,190, attorney docket T92588US02DIV, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This application is assigned to Texas Instruments Inc, and is a Divisional of 17490950, filed 09/30/2021. Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-9 are pending and are considered below. Note that examiner will use numbers in parentheses to indicate numbered elements in prior art figures, and brackets to point to paragraph numbers where quoted material or specific teachings can be found.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Aoki et al. (U.S. 4,001,762).
As for claim 1,
Aoki teaches in figure 1, an integrated circuit comprising:
a resistor 13 located on an insulating feature 9 above a substrate (1) wherein the resistor is formed of polysilicon ([co3 ln14]) comprising a dopant oxygen ([co3 ln16]), and wherein the dopant is one of oxygen and carbon.(oxygen)
As for claim 2,
Aoki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1 wherein the dopant is oxygen at a concentration of 1.5-2.5 mole percent (mol%). (2-45%, [co3 ln16])
As for claim 3,
Aoki teaches integrated circuit of claim 1 wherein the dopant is oxygen at a concentration of 4.5-5.5 mole percent (mol%). (2-45%, [co3 ln16]).
As for claim 9,
Aoki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1 and teaches that the dopant has a three-dimensionally uniform distribution throughout the polysilicon. [co3 ln16].
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Baldwin et al. (U.S. 2012/0108020).
As for claim 1,
Baldwin teaches in figure 4d, an integrated circuit comprising:
a resistor 82 located on an insulating feature 102 above a substrate wherein the resistor is formed of polysilicon (75, [0035]) comprising a dopant wherein the dopant is one of oxygen and carbon.(carbon, [0036])
As for claim 4,
Baldwin teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1 and that the dopant is carbon at a concentration of 1.5-2.5 mole percent (mol%) (5e14 to 2e15) [0036]).
As for claim 6,
Baldwin teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1 further comprising a transistor (84) having a gate (138) located above the substrate, wherein the resistor and the gate are coplanar, and wherein the resistor and the gate both comprise the dopant (they are simultaneously doped [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki in view of Baldwin.
As for claim 5,
Aoki teaches integrated circuit of claim 1 wherein the dopant is oxygen, but does not teach that the polysilicon further comprises a carbon dopant.,
However, Baldwin teach that carbon can additionally be doped into the resistor [0036]
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application to add the carbon dopant as taught by Baldwin “ to adjust the resistance and TCR without changing the n-type doping density.” One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki in view of Ku et al. (U.S. 2020/0105861)
As for claim 7,
Aoki teaches the device of claim 1 but does not teach a transistor having a gate (6) located above the substrate, wherein the resistor and the gate are not coplanar, and wherein the gate does not comprise the dopant.
However, Ku teaches in figure 1, a transistor (102) having a gate (114) located above the substrate, wherein the resistor and the gate are not coplanar (resistor is above the transistors in the ILD) and wherein the gate does not comprise the dopant (the gate is a metal gate, so will have a different composition).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application to arrange the resistor above the gates as taught by Ku to reduce footprint of the device and use a gate with a without the resistor dopant (oxygen) to increase conductivity of the gate relative to the resistor. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for claim 8,
The prior art does not teach a transistor having a gate located above the substrate, wherein the resistor and the gate are coplanar; and an additional resistor formed of polysilicon doped with oxygen or carbon, and wherein the first and second resistors are not coplanar.
Conclusion
/JOHN A BODNAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893