DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/11/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ a sampling circuit coupled between the sensing circuit and the processing circuit” in Claim 2, the “sampling circuit having a….control terminal” in Claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 2A discloses a current sensing circuit comprising a processing circuit which further comprises a sampling circuit. However Fig. 2A fails to show a sampling circuit coupled between a current sensing circuit. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Sung et al. “Mixed-Mode Chip Implementation of Digital Space SVPWMWithSimplified-CPU and 12-Bit 2.56 Ms/s Switched-Current Delta-Sigma ADC in Motor Drive”, 2012, hereinafter ‘Sung’.
Regarding Claim 1, Sung discloses an apparatus comprising: a driver circuit having a driver output, the driver circuit including a pulse width modulation (PWM) circuit (Fig. 1, PWM) configured to provide a PWM signal at the driver output at a frequency (Fig. 1, PWM); a sensing circuit having a sense input and a sense output (Fig. 2, hall effect sensor with input of driving current and output of analog current signal); and a processing circuit having a processing input and a processing output, the processing input coupled to the sense output (Fig. 2, Delta Sigma ADC input from Hall effect sensor and output of digital voltage signals to CPU; Delta Sigma ADC include modulator/decimator filter), the processing circuit including a filter having zeros at the frequency and multiples of the frequency (Fig. 10, decimator filter comprising COMB filter, FIR1, FIR2 with frequency rates of 16, 2, 2 per Page 922 first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2, Sung further discloses wherein the frequency is a first frequency (Fig. 10, decimator filter comprising COMB filter, FIR1, FIR2 with frequency rates of 16, 2, 2 per Page 922 first paragraph), and the apparatus further comprises a sampling circuit (Fig. 2, delta sigma ADC) coupled between the sensing circuit (Fig. 2, hall effect sensor) and the processing circuit (Fig. 2, delta sigma ADC with a filter; The second order delta sigma (Δ-Σ) ADC, which includes both modulator and decimator filter, converts the analog current signal that is sensed by the Hall sensor into the digital voltage signal Page 917), the sampling circuit configured to provide samples at a second frequency (Figs. 8 and 9; Page 921, first paragraph; Page 922, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 3, Sung further discloses wherein the first frequency is an integer multiple of the second frequency (Page 922 frequency rates of 16, 2, 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Sung further discloses wherein the filter includes a comb section and an integrator section, the comb section configured to operate at a third frequency, and the integrator section configured to operate at the second frequency (Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 5, Sung further discloses wherein the filter implements a sinc function (Fig. 10, FIR filters; known in the art in digital signal processing, the ideal impulse response of a perfect low-pass FIR filter is a sinc function).
Regarding Claim 6, Sung further discloses wherein the sampling circuit includes a sigma-delta analog to digital converter (ADC) having a quantizer configured to provide the samples at the third frequency, the third frequency being related to the second frequency by an oversampling ratio (Abstract disclosing oversampling ratio; Page 916 last paragraph disclosing oversampling ADC; Fig. 2, delta sigma ADC comprises modulator; Fig. 12 delta sigma modulator having quantizer).
Regarding Claim 7, Sung further discloses wherein the sampling circuit includes a successive approximation ADC (Page 917, last paragraph disclosing 8 bit sampling rate).
Regarding Claim 8, Sung further discloses wherein the sense input is coupled to a battery terminal or a motor terminal (Fig. 2, sensor coupled to IM motor).
Regarding Claim 10, Sung further discloses wherein the filter is a digital filter (Page 921, disclosing decimator as digital filter).
Regarding Claim 11, Sung discloses a system comprising: a device (Fig. 2, IM motor); a sampling circuit having a sampling input, a sampling output, and a control terminal, the sampling input coupled to the device (Fig. 2, hall effect sensor with input of driving current and output of analog current signal); a driver circuit having a driver output coupled to the control terminal of the sampling circuit, the driver circuit including a pulse width modulation (PWM) circuit (Fig. 1, PWM) configured to provide a PWM signal at the driver output at a frequency (Fig. 1, PWM); a sensing circuit having a sense input and a sense output, the sense input coupled to the sampling output (Fig. 2, hall effect sensor with input of driving current and output of analog current signal); and a processing circuit having a processing input and a processing output, the processing input coupled to the sense output (Fig. 2, Delta Sigma ADC input from Hall effect sensor and output of digital voltage signals to CPU; Delta Sigma ADC include modulator/decimator filter), the processing circuit including a filter having zeros at the frequency and multiples of the frequency (Fig. 10, decimator filter comprising COMB filter, FIR1, FIR2 with frequency rates of 16, 2, 2 per Page 922 first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 12, Sung further discloses wherein the device Includes a battery or a motor device (Fig. 2, IM motor).
Regarding Claim 13, Sung further discloses wherein the frequency is a first frequency, and the sampling circuit is configured to provide samples at a second frequency, and the filter is configured to provide a filtered version of the samples at the second frequency (Figs. 8 and 9; Page 921, first paragraph; Page 922, first paragraph; Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 14, Sung further discloses wherein the first frequency is an integer multiple of the second frequency (Page 922 frequency rates of 16, 2, 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Sung further discloses wherein the filter includes at least one of an analog filter or a digital filter (Page 921, disclosing decimator as digital filter).
Regarding Claim 16, Sung further discloses wherein the filter includes a comb section with a downconverter and an integrator section, the comb section configured to operate at a third frequency, and the integrator section configured to operate at the second frequency (Fig. 10, Page 922, filters having a down rate).
Regarding Claim 17, Sung further discloses wherein the sampling circuit includes a sigma-delta analog to digital converter (ADC) having a quantizer configured to provide the samples at the third frequency, the third frequency being related to the second frequency by an oversampling ratio (Abstract disclosing oversampling ratio; Page 916 last paragraph disclosing oversampling ADC; Fig. 2, delta sigma ADC comprises modulator; Fig. 12 delta sigma modulator having quantizer).
Regarding Claim 18, Sung further discloses wherein the sampling circuit includes a successive approximation register (SAR) ADC (Page 917, last paragraph disclosing 8 bit sampling rate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. “Mixed-Mode Chip Implementation of Digital Space SVPWMWithSimplified-CPU and 12-Bit 2.56 Ms/s Switched-Current Delta-Sigma ADC in Motor Drive”, 2012, hereinafter ‘Sung’ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martinez Perez et al. (US 20210028691), hereinafter ‘Martinez Perez’.
Regarding Claim 9, Sung fails to explicitly disclose wherein the filter is an analog filter.
Martinez Perez discloses an on board charger comprising an analog filter coupled to sensing device, PWM controller, A/D and PI controller for the benefit of locally enhancing the current ripple of the output current, at the sensing feedback from current sensor and generating a filtered version of the sensed value of the output current in which component of the sensed value of the output current is relatively enhanced (Para [0047-0048]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine and provide the filter as an analog filter for the benefit of locally enhancing the current ripple of the output current, at the sensing feedback from current sensor and generating a filtered version of the sensed value of the output current in which component of the sensed value of the output current is relatively enhanced as taught by Martinez Perez in Para [0047-0048].
Conclusion
/ALESA ALLGOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858