DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 7-8, it is unclear what is illustrated and described herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotta (U.S. Patent No.6,886,647) in view of Jahshan (U.S. Pub No. 20150318772).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 7, 8 Gotta discloses an electric vehicle drive train (See col. 8, lines 10-25), comprising: a coil driver system (See col, lines 4, lines 10-24) operable to configure a set of coils or windings of an electric machine based at least in part on speed and torque demands (See col. 5, lines 6-20); at least one of: a power source control system (See col. 4, lines 54-67) operable to perform cell switching, implementing cell selection, active balancing, and/or a variable DC link voltage between a battery and the coil driver system; or a fuel cell system (See col. 4, lines 54-67) operable supply a variable DC link voltage between at least one fuel cell and the coil driver system. In an analogous art, Jahshan more specifically disclose a coil driver (0062) and traction electric motors (0005). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system of Gotta and Jahshan by having a traction motor and coil driver system
Regarding claim 2, Gotta discloses wherein the coil driver system is operable to configure the coils or windings of the electric machine as a power converter to at least one of: invert, rectify, boost voltage or reduce voltage (See col. 4, lines 10-24).
Regarding claim 3, Jahshan discloses a traction battery electrically coupled to the power source control system (See paragraph 0005, 0006).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotta (U.S. Patent No.6,886,647) in view of Jahshan (U.S. Pub No. 20150318772) and Cheng et al. (U.S. Pub No. 20230264605).
Regarding claims 5-6, Gott and Jahshan disclose all but Cheng et al. disclose wherein adjusting a DC link voltage includes: reconfiguring, by a controller of a power source or cell control system, a set of power source cells electrically coupled to provide a voltage to the DC voltage link; and wherein adjusting a DC link voltage includes: controlling a fuel cell system electrically coupled to provide a voltage to the DC voltage link (See abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system of Gotta and Jahshan with that of Cheng to have a DC voltage link since it would have achieved a desired result for improving the electric machine efficiency to improve the overall vehicle efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oyobe et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,008,888) disclose an electrical powered vehicle includes a secondary self-resonant coil, a secondary coil, a rectifier, and a power storage device. The secondary self-resonant coil is configured to be magnetically coupled with a primary self-resonant coil of a power feeding device by magnetic field resonance, and allow reception of high frequency power from the primary self-resonant coil. The secondary coil is configured to allow reception of electric power from the secondary self-resonant coil by electromagnetic induction. The rectifier rectifies the electric power received by the secondary coil. The power storage device stores the electric power rectified by the rectifier.
/GERTRUDE ARTHUR JEANGLAUDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661