DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 22 APR 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 22 APR 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims of Group I and the claims of Group II define a single invention, with the method of making being a special technical feature which links both sets of claims. This is not found persuasive because the application is filed under US practice, not international practice. Special technical features being a condition for unity is an international practice requirement and not applicable in the instant application under US practice.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR ‘030 (KR 20110127030, citations from attached machine translation).
Claim 1 – KR ‘030 teaches a method for manufacturing a palm trunk-like hierarchical nanostructure, the method comprising the steps of: sequentially depositing metal and zinc oxide onto a substrate (page 4, paragraph 6, beginning “Looking in reference to Figure 4,…), ; and heating the substrate coated with metal and zinc oxide in an aqueous solution of zinc nitrate hydrate and a heterocyclic compound to grow zinc oxide (page 4, paragraph 7, beginning “to form the nanorods grown…).
Claim 2 – KR ‘030 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the substrate is prepared from glass (page 4, paragraph 6) or silicon (page 2, paragraph 4, beginning with “transparent substrate 101…”).
Claim 3 – KR ‘030 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the zinc nitrate hydrate is at least one selected from the group consisting of zinc nitrate dihydrate, zinc nitrate tetrahydrate, zinc nitrate hexahydrate, and zinc nitrate nonahydrate (page 4, paragraph 7; aqueous zinc nitrate will form hydrate stabilization structures).
Claim 4 – KR ‘030 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the heterocyclic compound may be hexamethylenetetramine (HMTA) (page 4, paragraph 7).
Claim 5 – KR ‘030 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the deposition may be performed using physical vapor deposition (PVD) (page 4, paragraph 6, thermal evaporation deposition is PVD).
Claim 6 – KR ‘030 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the heating is carried out at 90 to 95 degrees C (page 4, paragraph 7).
Claim 7 – KR ‘030 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the heating is carried out for 3 to 12 hours (page 4, paragraph 7).
Claim 8 – KR ‘030 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising a step of immobilizing a bioreceptor after the growth of zinc oxide (page 2, paragraph 8, beginning with “case of coating a biomolecule…”).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712