DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶ 0001 needs to state that parent application 16/783895 is now Patent No. 12,023,877.
Applicant indicated in the specification that 42 is a collimator in Fig. 7A and 7B when item 42 is shown as infrared heat directed to the layup surface/tows. Applicant discloses collimators as 70 in Fig. 10A and 10B.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites the limitation "fiber optic cables" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes et al. (US 6451152) in view of Moore (US 20160332434) and Hsu (US 20170072633).
As to claim 8, Holmes discloses an AFP machine comprising of a compaction roller 24, a controller 90 controlling the components of the machine/apparatus, and a laser heat source module 20 (Fig. 1 and 2). Holmes discloses that the laser heat source module may comprise of multiple laser diodes that form an array, that the individual diodes may be arranged so as to heat tapes independently of one another or to use multiple diodes on a tape material with is wider than the diode used (C7, L56-67; C8, L48-60). Holmes further discloses that the apparatus may use fiber optic elements and mirrors in conjunction with the lens to guide the laser energy to a desired position (C3, L29 – L45).
Holmes fails to teach or disclose that each laser heat source is infrared. Moore discloses that it is well-known and conventional to use infrared lasers to heat a fiber tow during fiber layup (paragraph 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the infrared laser of Moore in the system taught by Holmes because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known conventional and successful laser means for heating a fiber tow during layup. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Holmes fails to specifically teach that the mirror may be placed downstream of the lens (collimator) to direct the infrared energy to a desired point as currently claimed. Hsu discloses a method for laser preheating (Abstract). Hsu discloses that it is known and conventional in the art of laser heating to place a mirror downstream of a lens to direct laser energy to a desired surface (Fig. 2A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the mirror arrangement of Hsu in the apparatus taught by the references as combined because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional means of directing laser energy to a desired surface. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to the claim limitations that there are multiple fiber optic terminations and mirrors, it would have been obvious to use more than one set of laser heating elements if required because this would amount to a mere duplication of parts so as to provide multiple sources of laser energy to heat a desired surface. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As to claims 10 and 11, the apparatus of claim 8 is taught as seen above. It would have been obvious to use as many mirrors as needed (sixteen mirrors divided into two groups) to direct as streams of laser energy required to heat a desired surface, since this would amount to a mere duplication of parts. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As to claims 12 and 14, the apparatus of claim 8 is taught as seen above. It is the position of the Examiner that a chassis/support structure for the mirrors as well as actuators are well known and conventional in the art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because he would recognize that the position of the mirror needs to fairly exact and stable so as to direct laser energy to a desired point during the heating process, with the actuators allowing for the mirrors to be adjusted as needed to direct said energy on a potentially uneven surface.
As to claim 15, the apparatus of claim 8 is taught as seen above. It is the position of the Examiners that fused silica mirrors with a specialized coating to handle infrared/laser energy is known and conventional in the art and would have been obvious at the time of filing.
As to claims 16 and 17, the apparatus of claim 8 is taught seen above. The above references as combined uses a laser diode with fiberoptic which combines multiple infrared energy sources to produce a single infrared energy beam.
As to claim 18, the apparatus of claim 16 is taught as seen above. Holmes discloses that the energy sources are disposed distal from an AFP head.
As to claim 19, the apparatus of claim 18 is taught as seen above. The apparatus of the above references as combined would utilize bundles of fiber optic cables to traverse a required distance so as to connect infrared energy sources to the collimators to which would form a bundle of cables.
As to claim 20, the apparatus of claim 8 is taught as seen above. Claim 20 is rejected for the substantially the same reasons as claim 8 above since it is drawn to method limitations in an apparatus claim. It would be obvious to provide an equal energy output of the heating devices since the apparatus of the above references as combined has a duplication of parts as needed to heat a desired surface.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,023,877. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of ‘877 recites all of the same limitations as claim 1 in that the lens recited in claim 1 of ‘877 act as collimators
Claims 5 and 6 of ‘877 recites limitations that fall into the recited spacing of less than 0.5 inches.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9, 13 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 22 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 recites that the AFP machine further comprises a collimator block configured to secure the collimators in a plurality of rows, collimators in each row being transversely offset with respect to collimators in an adjacent row, the transvers offset orienting each row providing a substantially uniform pitch of the collimated infrared energy directed from the respective collimators; a plurality of first mirrors, each first mirror arranged to redirect the collimated infrared energy from a respective collimator toward a second mirror; and the second mirror oriented to direct the collimated infrared energy received from the plurality of first mirrors to the nip point of the respective associated tows. None of the prior art teaches or discloses the recited collimator block arrangement with mirrors for supplying infrared energy to a desired surface as currently claimed.
As to claim 9, none of the prior art teaches or discloses the recited optical assembly for an AFP machine with a plurality of optic terminations arranged in two staggered rows as currently claimed.
As to claim 13, none of the prior art teaches or discloses the recited optical assembly for an AFP machine with the recited small mirrors arranged so as to direct infrared energy to a long mirror which redirects said energy to a substrate as currently claimed.
As to claim 21, none of the prior art teaches or discloses the recited optical assembly for an AFP machine using collimator tubes for fiber optic terminations as currently claimed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 22 recites a method of using an optical assembly in an Automated Fiber Placement (AFP) machine, the method comprising: supplying the optical assembly, the optical assembly including a chassis, a plurality of fiber optic cables, a respective plurality of collimating devices arranged in at least two staggered rows, and a plurality of mirrors respectively arranged to direct infrared energy received from the collimating devices; fixing the optical assembly to the AFP machine and orienting the optical assembly to emit the infrared energy toward nip points of a plurality of fiber tow placement locations; attaching each of the fiber optic cables to a respective collimating device held within the chassis; providing infrared energy to at least one of the fiber optic cables; at least once, adjusting a position of at least a subset of the mirrors to direct infrared energy received from corresponding collimating devices within a predetermined threshold location range at the respective nip points; and independently controlling, with an automated controller, a supply of the infrared energy provided to at least one of the plurality of collimating devices based on whether or not the AFP machine is feeding a corresponding fiber tow to the corresponding nip point. None of the prior art teaches or discloses the recited method of operating an AFP machine with a step of independently controlling, with an automated controller, a supply of the infrared energy provided to at least one of the plurality of collimating devices based on whether or not the AFP machine is feeding a corresponding fiber tow to the corresponding nip point as currently claimed.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745