DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s claim for domestic benefit corresponding to the
U.S. provisional application 63/531,473 filed 08 August 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 29 May 2024 and 31 March 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-37 are pending in the application.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5, 9-10, 20, 23, and 27-28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2, 9, 20, 27, line 1 of each of these claims recite the limitation “wherein generate the transfer matrix dataset” which should be amended to recite “wherein generating the transfer matrix dataset” to improve grammatical clarity. Claim 10 depends on claim 9 is therefore also objected to. Claim 28 depends on claim 27 and is therefore also objected to.
Regarding claims 5 and 23, lines 4-5 of each of these claims recite the limitation “the one or more imaging lenses of the illumination sub-system” which should be amended to recite “the one or more illumination lenses of the illumination sub-system”
Further regarding claims 9 and 27, the term “Matrix” recited on line 9 of each of these claims should not be capitalized. Claim 10 depends on claim 9 is therefore also objected to. Claim 28 depends on claim 27 and is therefore also objected to.
Regarding claims 10 and 28, line 4 of each of these claims recite the limitation “wherein generate the transfer matrix dataset” which should be amended to recite “wherein generating the transfer matrix dataset” to improve grammatical clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 13 recites the limitation “one or more coding optical elements”. This limitation limits the measurement system of claim 1 by requiring, at minimum, one coding optical element to be present. However, lines 14-16 of claim 1 recite the limitations “wherein at least one of the one or more coding optical elements is in the illumination sub-system, wherein at least one of the one or more coding optical elements is in the imaging sub-system”. The limitations recited on lines 14-16 require a minimum of two coding optical elements to be present in the measurement system of claim 1, at least one coding optical element included in the illumination subsystem and at least one coding optical element included in the imaging subsystem. Thus, it is unclear whether the measurement system of claim 1 requires a minimum of one coding optical element to be present, or if a minimum of two coding optical elements are required to be present in the measurement system. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b). Claims 2-18 depend on claim 1 and are therefore also rejected to under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b). The examiner assumes the limitation “one or more coding optical elements” recited on lines 13, 14, 15, and 16 of claim 1, and in dependent claims 8, 11, and 13, is meant to recite ‘a plurality of coding optical elements’. If this is applicant’s intent, please amend accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-12, 16-22, 29-30, and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui et al. (JP 2022129276 A), hereinafter Yasui, in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0350261 A1, of record), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Yasui teaches a measurement system (abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph 0009) comprising:
a first frequency comb source (Fig. 1 first optical frequency comb source 12) configured to generate a first frequency comb (paragraphs 0022-0023);
a second frequency comb source (Fig. 1 second optical frequency comb source 13) configured to generate a second frequency comb (paragraph 0043) with a different repetition rate than the first frequency comb (paragraphs 0043-0044, claims 1-3), wherein the second frequency comb source is at least one of frequency or phase-locked to the first frequency comb source (Fig. 1 discrete spectrum control unit 45, paragraph 0043);
an illumination sub-system (Fig. 1 every element used to direct beam 11E onto sample 100 or onto second superposition section 21 is part of the illumination subsystem, including irradiation unit 20) to direct an illumination beam including at least one of the first frequency comb or the second frequency comb to a sample (Fig. 1 sample 100, abstract, paragraphs 0009, 0039-0040);
an imaging sub-system (Fig. 1 second superposition section 21 and detection section 40, paragraph 0042) including a detector (Fig. 1 detector 40) configured to generate a sequence of images of the sample based on the first frequency comb and the second frequency comb (paragraphs 0009, 0045-0047);
a plurality of coding optical elements (Fig. 1 polarization control units 15, 16, and 36, and polarizing prism 42) including at least one of one or more optical retarders or one or more polarizers (Fig. 1 polarizers 22, 25, 37, and polarizing prism 42), wherein at least one of the plurality of coding optical elements is in the illumination sub-system (see Fig. 1 polarization control units 15, 16, and 36 all residing in the illumination sub-system), wherein at least one of the plurality of coding optical elements is in the imaging sub-system (see Fig. 1 polarizing prism 42 residing in the imaging sub-system), wherein the plurality of coding optical elements encode data associated with one or more transfer matrix elements into the sequence of images of the sample (paragraphs 0020, 0039, 0047, 0052, claim 8), wherein the data associated with the one or more transfer matrix elements is encoded into at least one of a spatial domain, a spectral domain, or a time domain of the sequence of images (abstract, paragraphs 0009-0011, 0037, 0047, 0051-0052, 0085-0086, 0090-0091); and
a controller (Fig. 1 signal processing unit 44, paragraph 0047) including one or more processors (the signal processing unit 44 inherently has one or more processors) configured to execute program instructions (the signal processing unit 44 inherently executes program instructions) causing the one or more processors to:
generate a transfer matrix dataset (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082 discussing the calculation of the Jones matrix of the sample) including measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements associated with the sample based on at least one of spatial, spectral, or temporal analysis of the sequence of images (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082), wherein the transfer matrix dataset is at least one of spatially, spectrally, or temporally resolved (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082, 0085-0086, 0090-0091); and
generate one or more measurements of the sample based on the transfer matrix dataset (see paragraphs 0016-0017, 0047, 0085-0087, 0092 and claims 8-10, abstract).
Yasui does not teach the illumination sub-system including one or more illumination lenses and the imaging sub-system including one or more imaging lenses.
Chen, which relates to measurement systems comprising a plurality of coding optical elements, teaches a measurement system comprising an illumination sub-system including one or more illumination lenses (Chen: Fig. 2 polarization state generator 120 including first lens group 123) and at least one optical coding element (Chen: Fig. 2 polarizer 121), and an imaging sub-system including one or more imaging lenses (Chen: Fig. 2 polarization state analyzer 130 having second lens group 131, and detection system 140 having third lens group 141) and at least one optical coding element (Chen: Fig. 2 analyzer 133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement system of Yasui to have the illumination sub-system include one or more illumination lenses and the imaging sub-system include one or more imaging lenses, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of converging polarized light onto the sample to achieve a small detection spot (see Chen paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 2, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches generating the transfer matrix dataset including the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements associated with the sample based on at least one of spatial, spectral, or temporal analysis of the sequence of images comprises: decoding the at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements from the sequence of images based on at least one of spatial, spectral, or frequency analysis of the sequence of images (Yasui: paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082).
Regarding claim 3, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches the one or more transfer matrix elements comprise: Mueller matrix elements (Yasui: paragraph 0047 reciting that either Jones matrix elements or Mueller matrix elements can be derived).
Regarding claim 4, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches the one or more transfer matrix elements comprise: Jones matrix elements (Yasui: paragraph 0047 reciting that either Jones matrix elements or Mueller matrix elements can be derived).
Regarding claim 11, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches the plurality of coding optical elements comprise: a series of cascaded spectrally-dependent phase retarders to encode the data associated with the one or more transfer matrix elements into the spectral domain of the series of images (Yasui: Fig. 1 half-wave plates 23, 26, and 38, and quarter-wave plates 24, 27, and 39, paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 12, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 11, as outlined above, and further teaches the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements for each location on the sample are decoded by spectral analysis of the sequence of images (Yasui: paragraphs 0047, 0086-0087, 0092).
Regarding claim 16, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches the imaging sub-system provides the sequence of images through electro-optical sampling (see Yasui paragraphs 0009, 0023, 0029-0030, 0044-0047; it is the examiner’s position Yasui describes an electro-optical sampling process).
Regarding claim 17, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches the one or more measurements comprise: one or more metrology measurements (see Yasui abstract, 0087-0088, 0091, 0098).
Regarding claim 18, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 1, wherein the one or more measurements comprise: one or more inspection measurements (see Yasui abstract, 0087-0088, 0091, 0098).
Regarding claim 19, Yasui teaches a measurement system (abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph 0009) comprising:
a controller (Fig. 1 signal processing unit 44, paragraph 0047) including one or more processors (the signal processing unit 44 inherently has one or more processors) configured to execute program instructions (the signal processing unit 44 inherently executes program instructions) causing the one or more processors to:
generate a transfer matrix dataset (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082 discussing the calculation of the Jones matrix of the sample) including measurements of one or more transfer matrix elements associated with a sample (Fig. 1 sample 100) based on at least one of spatial, spectral or temporal analysis of a sequence of images (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082 describing the analysis of interferograms to measure components of the Jones matrix), wherein the transfer matrix dataset is at least one of spatially resolved or spectrally resolved (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082, 0085-0087, 0090-0091), wherein the sequence of images is generated by a measurement sub-system (Fig. 1 measurement device 10A) comprising:
a first frequency comb source (Fig. 1 first optical frequency comb source 12) configured to generate a first frequency comb (paragraphs 0022-0023);
a second frequency comb source (Fig. 1 second optical frequency comb source 13) configured to generate a second frequency comb (paragraph 0043) with a different repetition rate than the first frequency comb (paragraphs 0043-0044, claims 1-3), wherein the second frequency comb source is at least one of frequency or phase-locked to the first frequency comb source (Fig. 1 discrete spectrum control unit 45, paragraph 0043);
an illumination sub-system (Fig. 1 every element used to direct beam 11E onto sample 100 or onto second superposition section 21 is part of the illumination subsystem, including irradiation unit 20) to direct an illumination beam including at least one of the first frequency comb or the second frequency comb to the sample (Fig. 1 sample 100, abstract, paragraphs 0009, 0039-0040);
an imaging sub-system (Fig. 1 second superposition section 21 and detection section 40, paragraph 0042) including a detector (Fig. 1 detector 40) configured to generate the sequence of images of the sample based on the first frequency comb and the second frequency comb (paragraphs 0009, 0045-0047); and
one or more coding optical elements (Fig. 1 polarization control units 15, 16, and 36, and polarizing prism 42) including one or more optical retarders (Fig. 1 half-wave plates 23, 26, and 38, and quarter-wave plates 24, 27, and 39, paragraph 0018), wherein the one or more coding optical elements encode data associated with the one or more transfer matrix elements into the sequence of images of the sample (paragraphs 0020, 0039, 0047, 0052, claim 8), wherein the data associated with the one or more transfer matrix elements is encoded into at least one of a spatial domain, a spectral domain, or a time domain of the sequence of images (abstract, paragraphs 0009-0011, 0037, 0047, 0051-0052, 0085-0086, 0090-0091); and
generate one or more measurements of the sample based on the transfer matrix dataset (see paragraphs 0016-0017, 0047, 0085-0087, 0092 and claims 8-10, abstract).
Yasui does not teach the illumination sub-system including one or more illumination lenses and the imaging sub-system including one or more imaging lenses.
Chen, which relates to measurement systems comprising a plurality of coding optical elements, teaches a measurement system comprising an illumination sub-system including one or more illumination lenses (Chen: Fig. 2 polarization state generator 120 including first lens group 123) and at least one optical coding element (Chen: Fig. 2 polarizer 121), and an imaging sub-system including one or more imaging lenses (Chen: Fig. 2 polarization state analyzer 130 having second lens group 131, and detection system 140 having third lens group 141) and at least one optical coding element (Chen: Fig. 2 analyzer 133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement system of Yasui to have the illumination sub-system include one or more illumination lenses and the imaging sub-system include one or more imaging lenses, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of converging polarized light onto the sample to achieve a small detection spot (see Chen paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 20, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 19, as outlined above, and further teaches generating the transfer matrix dataset including the measurements of the one or more transfer matrix elements associated with the sample based on at least one of spatial, spectral, or temporal analysis of the sequence of images comprises: decoding the one or more transfer matrix elements from the sequence of images based on at least one of spatial, spectral, or frequency analysis of the sequence of images (Yasui: paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082).
Regarding claim 21, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 19, as outlined above, and further teaches the one or more transfer matrix elements comprise: Mueller matrix elements (Yasui: paragraph 0047 reciting that either Jones matrix elements or Mueller matrix elements can be derived).
Regarding claim 22, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 19, as outlined above, and further teaches the one or more transfer matrix elements comprise: Jones matrix elements (Yasui: paragraph 0047 reciting that either Jones matrix elements or Mueller matrix elements can be derived).
Regarding claim 29, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 19, as outlined above, and further teaches the one or more coding optical elements comprise: a series of cascaded spectrally-dependent phase retarders to encode the data associated with the one or more transfer matrix elements into the spectral domain of the series of images (Yasui: Fig. 1 half-wave plates 23, 26, and 38, and quarter-wave plates 24, 27, and 39, paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 30, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 29, as outlined above, and further teaches the one or more transfer matrix elements for each location on the sample are decoded by spectral analysis of the sequence of images (Yasui: paragraphs 0047, 0086-0087, 0092).
Regarding claim 34, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 19, wherein the imaging sub-system provides the sequence of images through electro-optical sampling (see Yasui paragraphs 0009, 0023, 0029-0030, 0044-0047; it is the examiner’s position Yasui describes an electro-optical sampling process).
Regarding claim 35, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 19, wherein the one or more measurements comprise: one or more metrology measurements (see Yasui abstract, 0087-0088, 0091, 0098).
Regarding claim 36, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement system of claim 19, wherein the one or more measurements comprise: one or more inspection measurements (see Yasui abstract, 0087-0088, 0091, 0098).
Regarding claim 37, Yasui teaches a measurement method (abstract, Fig. 1, paragraphs 0001, 0009) comprising:
generating a transfer matrix dataset (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082 discussing the calculation of the Jones matrix of the sample) including measurements of one or more transfer matrix elements associated with a sample (Fig. 1 sample 100) based on at least one of spatial, spectral, or temporal analysis of a sequence of images of the sample (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082 describing the analysis of interferograms to measure components of the Jones matrix), wherein the transfer matrix dataset is at least one of spatially, spectrally, or temporally resolved (paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082, 0085-0087, 0090-0091), wherein the sequence of images is generated by a measurement sub-system (Fig. 1 measurement device 10A) comprising:
a first frequency comb source (Fig. 1 first optical frequency comb source 12) configured to generate a first frequency comb (paragraphs 0022-0023);
a second frequency comb source (Fig. 1 second optical frequency comb source 13) configured to generate a second frequency comb (paragraph 0043) with a different repetition rate than the first frequency comb (paragraphs 0043-0044, claims 1-3), wherein the second frequency comb source is at least one of frequency or phase-locked to the first frequency comb source (Fig. 1 discrete spectrum control unit 45, paragraph 0043);
an illumination sub-system (Fig. 1 every element used to direct beam 11E onto sample 100 or onto second superposition section 21 is part of the illumination subsystem, including irradiation unit 20) to direct an illumination beam including at least one of the first frequency comb or the second frequency comb to the sample (Fig. 1 sample 100, abstract, paragraphs 0009, 0039-0040);
an imaging sub-system (Fig. 1 second superposition section 21 and detection section 40, paragraph 0042) including a detector (Fig. 1 detector 40) configured to generate the sequence of images of the sample based on the first frequency comb and the second frequency comb (paragraphs 0009, 0045-0047); and
one or more coding optical elements (Fig. 1 polarization control units 15, 16, and 36, and polarizing prism 42) including one or more optical retarders (Fig. 1 half-wave plates 23, 26, and 38, and quarter-wave plates 24, 27, and 39, paragraph 0018), wherein the one or more coding optical elements encode data associated with the one or more transfer matrix elements into the sequence of images of the sample (paragraphs 0020, 0039, 0047, 0052, claim 8), wherein the data associated with the one or more transfer matrix elements is encoded into at least one of a spatial domain, a spectral domain, or a time domain of the sequence of images (abstract, paragraphs 0009-0011, 0037, 0047, 0051-0052, 0085-0086, 0090-0091); and
generating one or more measurements of the sample based on the transfer matrix dataset (see paragraphs 0016-0017, 0047, 0085-0087, 0092 and claims 8-10, abstract).
Yasui does not teach the illumination sub-system including one or more illumination lenses and the imaging sub-system including one or more imaging lenses.
Chen, which relates to measurement systems comprising a plurality of coding optical elements, teaches a measurement system comprising an illumination sub-system including one or more illumination lenses (Chen: Fig. 2 polarization state generator 120 including first lens group 123) and at least one optical coding element (Chen: Fig. 2 polarizer 121), and an imaging sub-system including one or more imaging lenses (Chen: Fig. 2 polarization state analyzer 130 having second lens group 131, and detection system 140 having third lens group 141) and at least one optical coding element (Chen: Fig. 2 analyzer 133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement sub-system of Yasui to have the illumination sub-system include one or more illumination lenses and the imaging sub-system include one or more imaging lenses, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of converging polarized light onto the sample to achieve a small detection spot (see Chen paragraph 0059).
Claims 5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui in view of Chen as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Lopez et al. (US 2018/0309941 A1, of record), hereinafter Lopez.
Regarding claims 5 and 23, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement systems of claims 1 and 19, as outlined above, but do not teach the illumination sub-system further comprises: a beam combiner configured to combine the first frequency comb and the second frequency comb into a single illumination beam, wherein the one or more illumination lenses of the illumination sub-system direct the single illumination beam to the sample.
Lopez, which relates to dual frequency comb spectroscopy, teaches a beam combiner (Lopez: Fig. 2 beam combiner 230) configured to combine the first frequency comb and the second frequency comb into a single illumination beam (Lopez: Fig. 2, paragraphs 0036-0037, 0081), wherein one or more illumination lenses of the illumination sub-system direct the single illumination beam to the sample (Lopez: paragraph 0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the illumination sub-system of Yasui (as modified by Chen) to include a beam combiner configured to combine the first frequency comb and the second frequency comb into a single illumination beam, wherein the one or more illumination lenses of the illumination sub-system direct the single illumination beam to the sample, as taught by Lopez, for the benefit of enhancing measurement of the sample in the frequency domain (see Lopez paragraphs 0068, 0081).
Claims 6 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui in view of Chen as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Boosalis (US 2021/0262921 A1, of record).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement systems of claims 1 and 19, as outlined above, but does not teach the sequence of images correspond to multi-pixel images of the sample, wherein the transfer matrix dataset includes the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements as a function of wavelength and spatial location on the sample.
Boosalis, which relates to measurement systems using multiple frequency combs, teaches a sequence of images that correspond to multi-pixel images of the sample (Boosalis: paragraphs 0007, 0047, 0053, 0078-0079), wherein a transfer matrix dataset includes the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements as a function of wavelength and spatial location on the sample (Boosalis: paragraphs 0004-0005, 0047-0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement system of Yasui (as modified by Chen) to have the sequence of images correspond to multi-pixel images of the sample, wherein the transfer matrix dataset includes the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements as a function of wavelength and spatial location on the sample, as taught by Boosalis, as doing so beneficially reduces the time needed to generate the transfer matrix dataset based on the transfer matrix elements (see Boosalis paragraph 0032 and 0047).
Claims 7 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui in view of Chen as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Antonelli et al. (US 2020/0363332 A), hereinafter Antonelli.
Regarding claims 7 and 25, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement systems of claims 1 and 19, as outlined above, but does not teach the sequence of images correspond to single-pixel images of the sample, wherein the transfer matrix dataset includes the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements as a function of wavelength for a single spatial location on the sample.
Antonelli, which relates to measuring systems using frequency comb radiation, teaches a sequence of images that correspond to single-pixel images of the sample (Antonelli: paragraphs 0033 and 0042), wherein a transfer matrix dataset includes the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements as a function of wavelength for a single spatial location on the sample (Antonelli: paragraphs 0040-0045; a skilled artisan would recognize the data obtained from the measurements of the matrix elements of the Mueller matrix as being of a function of wavelength for the position of the sample).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify measurement system of Yasui (as modified by Chen) to have the sequence of images correspond to single-pixel images of the sample, wherein the transfer matrix dataset includes the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements as a function of wavelength for a single spatial location on the sample, as taught by Antonelli, for the benefit enhancing the image generation of a sample when using infrared wavelengths of light, such as those used in Yasui (see Yasui paragraph 0090).
Claims 8-10 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui in view of Chen as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Hovorka et al. (US Patent No. 10,634,607 B1), hereinafter Hovorka.
Regarding claims 8 and 26, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement systems of claims 1 and 19, as outlined above, but does not teach the plurality of coding optical elements (one or more coding optical elements in claim 19) comprise: a generator in the illumination sub-system, the generator comprising one or more beam-shearing plates to generate two or more sheared beams with different polarization states, wherein the one or more illumination lenses of the illumination sub-system direct the two or more sheared beams to a common spot on the sample; and an analyzer in the imaging sub-system, the analyzer comprising one or more additional beam-shearing plates to shear the two or more sheared beams into additional sheared beams with different polarization states, wherein the one or more imaging lenses of the imaging sub-system interfere the additional sheared beams on the detector.
Hovorka, which relates to spectral polarization measurement systems, teaches a measurement system comprising coding optical elements (Hovorka: Fig. 4A-B ellipsometer 1, polarization state generator 4 and polarization state analyzer 6) that comprise a generator in an illumination sub-system (Hovorka: Fig. 4A-B polarization state generator 4 in illumination sub-system including lenses 12 and source 2), the generator comprising one or more beam-shearing plates (Hovorka: Fig. 4A-B beam shearing plate 10 in generator 4, col. 12 line 64-col. 13 line 3, col. 14 lines 25-65) to generate two or more sheared beams with different polarization states (Hovorka: see Fig. 4A-B, col. 8 lines 44-64, this is the effect of birefringent crystals), wherein the one or more illumination lenses of the illumination sub-system direct the two or more sheared beams to a common spot on the sample (see Hovorka Fig. 4A-B, col. 16 lines 31-34); and an analyzer in an imaging sub-system (Hovorka: Fig. 4A-B polarization state analyzer 6 in an imaging sub-system including lenses 12, prism 7, and detector 8), the analyzer comprising one or more additional beam-shearing plates (Hovorka: Fig. 4A-B beam shearing plate 10 in analyzer 6, col. 12 line 64-col. 13 line 3, col. 14 lines 25-65, col. 16 lines 14-23) to shear the two or more sheared beams into additional sheared beams with different polarization states (Hovorka: see Fig. 4A-B, col. 8 lines 44-64, this is the effect of birefringent crystals), wherein one or more imaging lenses of the imaging sub-system interfere the additional sheared beams on a detector (see Hovorka Fig. 4A-B, col. 16 lines 14-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement system of Yasui (as modified by Chen) to have the coding optical elements comprise a generator in the illumination sub-system, the generator comprising one or more beam-shearing plates to generate two or more sheared beams with different polarization states, wherein the one or more illumination lenses of the illumination sub-system direct the two or more sheared beams to a common spot on the sample; and an analyzer in the imaging sub-system, the analyzer comprising one or more additional beam-shearing plates to shear the two or more sheared beams into additional sheared beams with different polarization states, wherein the one or more imaging lenses of the imaging sub-system interfere the additional sheared beams on the detector, as taught by Hovorka, for the benefit of reducing effects that sample misalignment and non-uniformity have on data quality (see Hovorka col. 16 lines 9-13).
Regarding claims 9 and 27, Yasui, as modified by Chen and Hovorka, teaches the measurement systems of claims 8 and 26, as outlined above, but does not teach generating the transfer matrix dataset including the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements associated with the sample based on at least one of spectral or spatial frequency analysis of the sequence of images comprises: generate, for a particular image of the sequence of images, one or more channel images based on a spatial frequency filtering technique; and generate one or more transfer matrix element datasets based on the one or more channel images, wherein the transfer matrix dataset includes the one or more transfer matrix element datasets.
Chen, which relates to transfer matrix generation, teaches generate, for a particular image of a sequence of images, one or more channel images based on a spatial frequency filtering technique (Chen: abstract, paragraphs 0007-0009, 0049); and generate one or more transfer matrix element datasets based on the one or more channel images (Chen: paragraphs 0009-0012, 0038, 0049), wherein the transfer matrix dataset includes the one or more transfer matrix element datasets (Chen: paragraphs 0019, 0038-0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement system of Yasui (as modified by Chen and Hovorka) to generate the transfer matrix dataset including the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements associated with the sample based on at least one of spectral or spatial frequency analysis of the sequence of images comprises: generate, for a particular image of the sequence of images, one or more channel images based on a spatial frequency filtering technique; and generate one or more transfer matrix element datasets based on the one or more channel images, wherein the transfer matrix dataset includes the one or more transfer matrix element datasets, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of reducing crosstalk and providing measurements in a wider spectral range (Chen: paragraph 0019).
Regarding claims 10 and 28, Yasui, as modified by Chen and Hovorka, teaches the measurement systems of claims 9 and 27, but does not teach the sequence of images comprises multi-pixel images, wherein the one or more transfer matrix element datasets comprise a sequence of spatially-resolved transfer matrix element images.
However, Hovorka teaches a sequence of images comprises multi-pixel images (Hovorka: col. 8 line 57-col. 9 line 3), wherein one or more transfer matrix element datasets comprise a sequence of spatially-resolved transfer matrix element images (Hovorka: col. 8 line 57-col. 9 line 3; see also col. 13 line 4-col. 16 line 4 which discuss the generation of a spatially resolved Mueller matrix for the sample).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement system of Yasui (as modified by Chen and Hovorka) to have the sequence of images comprises multi-pixel images, wherein the one or more transfer matrix element datasets comprise a sequence of spatially-resolved transfer matrix element images, as taught by Hovorka, for the benefit of enhancing the spatial resolution of the sequence of images collected by the measurement system.
Yet remaining, Yasui, as modified by Chen and Hovorka, teaches generating the transfer matrix dataset including the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements associated with the sample based on at least one of a spatial, spectral, or temporal analysis of the sequence of images further comprises: extract, for at least some pixels in the sequence of images (multi-pixel images taught by Hovorka as outlined above), spectrally-resolved transfer matrix element data using a temporal frequency analysis technique (Yasui: paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082, 0086-0087), wherein the transfer matrix dataset includes the spectrally-resolved transfer matrix element data (Yasui: paragraphs 0047, 0051-0082, 0086-0087).
Claims 13-15 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui in view of Chen as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 103134592 A), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claims 13 and 31, Yasui, as modified by Chen, teaches the measurement systems of claims 1 and 19, as outlined above, but does not teach the plurality of coding optical elements (one or more coding elements in claim 31) comprise: one or more rotating optical elements in at least one of the illumination sub-system or the imaging sub-system.
Liu, which relates to spectral polarization measurement systems, teaches a measurement system comprising a plurality of optical coding elements (Liu: Fig. 1 first rotating compensator 5 and second rotating compensator 7) comprising one or more rotating optical elements in at least one of an illumination subsystem or an imaging subsystem (Liu: Fig. 1 first rotating compensator 5 in the illumination system and second rotating compensator 7 in the imaging system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement system of Yasui (as modified by Chen) to have the optical coding elements comprise one or more rotating optical elements in at least one of the illumination sub-system or the imaging sub-system, as taught by Liu, for the benefit of generating every element of a transfer matrix dataset in a single measurement with enhanced speed (see Liu paragraphs 0005-0006).
Regarding claims 14 and 32, Yasui, as modified by Chen and Liu, teaches the measurement systems of claims 13 and 31, as outlined above, and further teaches the one or more rotating optical elements comprise: a first rotating quarter waveplate in the illumination sub-system (Liu: paragraph 0036, claim 6, see Fig. 1 first rotating compensator 5 in the illumination system); and a second rotating quarter waveplate in the imaging sub-system (Liu: paragraph 0036, claim 6, see Fig. 1 second rotating compensator 7 in the imaging system), wherein the first rotating quarter waveplate and the second rotating quarter waveplate rotate at different speeds (Liu: paragraphs 0043-0044), where the data associated with the one or more transfer matrix elements is encoded into the time domain of the sequence of images (Yasui: paragraphs 0085 and 0090).
Regarding claims 15 and 33, Yasui, as modified by Chen and Liu, teaches the measurement systems of claims 13 and 31, as outlined above, and further teaches the measurements of at least one of the one or more transfer matrix elements for each location on the sample are decoded by temporal frequency analysis of the sequence of images (Liu: paragraphs 0023, 0047, 0052).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference is made to the remaining references cited on the PTO-892 form that were not specifically mentioned above by the examiner.
/NOAH J. HANEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 /MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877