DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 5, 9, 11-19 were canceled and claims 1-4, 6-8, 10 and 20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(a) rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloop (U.S. Patent No. 5,375,973) in view of Blake (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0377029).
As per claim 1, Sloop discloses a component (11) for a gas turbine engine, comprising: at least one internal cavity (43, 44; figures 4a, 4b) defined by an outer wall (40) and an inner wall (37), the at least one internal cavity extending circumferentially across the component (as shown; figures 1-3) from a blade arrival edge (forward edge shown; figure 1) to a blade departure edge (rear edge shown; figure 1), the at least one internal cavity having at least one inlet opening (41, 42; figure 3) and at least one outlet opening (outlets formed at arrows 51; figures 4a, 4b) each being in fluid communication with the at least one internal cavity (as shown; figures 4a, 4b); wherein: the component is a blade outer air seal (as shown; figure 1), the outer wall defines the at least one inlet opening proximate to the blade arrival edge whereby cooling air flows into the at least one internal cavity radially inwardly, and the at least one outlet opening is formed at the blade departure edge whereby the cooling air flows out of the at least one internal cavity circumferentially (as shown; figures 3, 4a, 4b).
While Sloop does explicitly teach the internal surface of each of the cooling passages has trip strips (column 4, lines 63-66), Sloop does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of cooling features form the claimed features of a first plurality of cooling features extending from a surface of the outer wall, each of the first plurality of cooling features having a serpentine shape extending in a first direction; and a second plurality of cooling features extending from a surface of the inner wall, each of the second plurality of cooling features having a serpentine shape extending in the first direction, and the first plurality of cooling features being in a facing spaced relationship with respect to the second plurality of cooling features. However, Sloops specifically teaches that the geometry and number of trip-strips are dictated by the particular gas turbine engine application (column 5, lines 37-40).
Blake (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0377029) is an analogous prior art in that it teaches turbulators (trip strips) for a blade outer air seal. Blake teaches a component (50) for a gas turbine engine, comprising: at least one internal cavity (72; figure 2) defined by an outer wall and an inner wall (58, 60; figure 3), the at least one internal cavity extending circumferentially across the component from a blade arrival edge to a blade departure edge (component 50 is a blade outer air seal, i.e., the cavity extending in the circumferential direction from one edge to another edge; paragraph [0050]), the at least one internal cavity having at least one inlet opening and at least one outlet opening each being in fluid communication with the at least one internal cavity (cooling airflow 68 is supplied to cavities 72, i.e., inherently having an inlet and an outlet; paragraph [0047]); a first plurality of cooling features extending from a surface of the outer wall, each of the first plurality of cooling features having a serpentine shape extending in a first direction (serpentine shaped curved turbulators 80 (first plurality of cooling features) on first wall 58; figures 2-4); and a second plurality of cooling features extending from a surface of the inner wall, each of the second plurality of cooling features having a serpentine shape extending in the first direction (serpentine shaped curved turbulators 80 (first plurality of cooling features) on second wall 60; figures 2-4), and the first plurality of cooling features being in a facing spaced relationship with respect to the second plurality of cooling features (curved turbulators 80 on first wall 58 and second wall 60 face each other in a spaced relationship; figure 3).
Blake teaches the curved turbulators having the serpentine shapes incorporated in the walls of the internal cooling cavities of the gas turbine engine provides reduced stress concentration (paragraphs [0043], [0057]) and also increases the cooling effectiveness of the internal cooling circuit of the component by disrupting thermal boundary layer (paragraph [0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Sloop’s cooling cavity to incorporate Blake’s cooling cavity having curved turbulators in serpentine shape arranged on opposite internal wall surfaces of the cooling cavity because as Blake teaches this arrangement allows to increase the cooling effectiveness of the internal cooling passage of the component while reducing stress concentration.
As per claim 3, Sloop in view of Blake discloses the component as claim 1. Sloop further discloses wherein the first plurality of cooling features are axially offset from each other (trip-strips 46 shown to be axially offset from each other in the direction of the flow; figure 3).
As per claim 4, Sloop in view of Blake discloses the component as claim 1. Sloop does not explicitly teach wherein the first plurality of cooling features and the second plurality of cooling features define a serpentine channel. However, Blake teaches wherein the first plurality of cooling features and the second plurality of cooling features define a serpentine channel (as shown, two adjacent turbulators 80 form a serpentine channel; figure 3). By the modification of claim 1 above, incorporate Blake’s serpentine shaped turbulators, the modified structure would have all claimed features of claim 4.
As per claim 20, Sloop discloses a gas turbine engine, comprising; at least one component (11) configured to receive a cooling air flow; at least one internal cavity (43, 44; figures 4a, 4b) defined by an outer wall (40) and an inner wall (37), the at least one internal cavity extending circumferentially across the component (as shown; figures 1-3) from a blade arrival edge (forward edge shown; figure 1) to a blade departure edge (rear edge shown; figure 1), the at least one internal cavity having at least one inlet opening (41, 42; figure 3) and at least one outlet opening (outlets formed at arrows 51; figures 4a, 4b) each being in fluid communication with the at least one internal cavity (as shown; figures 4a, 4b); wherein: the component is a blade outer air seal (as shown; figure 1), the outer wall defines the at least one inlet opening proximate to the blade arrival edge whereby cooling air flows into the at least one internal cavity radially inwardly, and the at least one outlet opening is formed at the blade departure edge whereby the cooling air flows out of the at least one internal cavity circumferentially (as shown; figures 3, 4a, 4b).
While Sloop does explicitly teach the internal surface of each of the cooling passages has trip strips (column 4, lines 63-66), Sloop does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of cooling features form the claimed features of a first plurality of cooling features extending from a surface of the outer wall, each of the first plurality of cooling features having a serpentine shape extending in a first direction; and a second plurality of cooling features extending from a surface of the inner wall, each of the second plurality of cooling features having a serpentine shape extending in the first direction, and the first plurality of cooling features being in a facing spaced relationship with respect to the second plurality of cooling features. However, Sloops specifically teaches that the geometry and number of trip-strips are dictated by the particular gas turbine engine application (column 5, lines 37-40).
Blake (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0377029) is an analogous prior art in that it teaches turbulators (trip strips) for a blade outer air seal. Blake teaches a component (50) for a gas turbine engine, comprising: at least one internal cavity (72; figure 2) defined by an outer wall and an inner wall (58, 60; figure 3), the at least one internal cavity extending circumferentially across the component from a blade arrival edge to a blade departure edge (component 50 is a blade outer air seal, i.e., the cavity extending in the circumferential direction from one edge to another edge; paragraph [0050]), the at least one internal cavity having at least one inlet opening and at least one outlet opening each being in fluid communication with the at least one internal cavity (cooling airflow 68 is supplied to cavities 72, i.e., inherently having an inlet and an outlet; paragraph [0047]); a first plurality of cooling features extending from a surface of the outer wall, each of the first plurality of cooling features having a serpentine shape extending in a first direction (serpentine shaped curved turbulators 80 (first plurality of cooling features) on first wall 58; figures 2-4); and a second plurality of cooling features extending from a surface of the inner wall, each of the second plurality of cooling features having a serpentine shape extending in the first direction (serpentine shaped curved turbulators 80 (first plurality of cooling features) on second wall 60; figures 2-4), and the first plurality of cooling features being in a facing spaced relationship with respect to the second plurality of cooling features (curved turbulators 80 on first wall 58 and second wall 60 face each other in a spaced relationship; figure 3).
Blake teaches the curved turbulators having the serpentine shapes incorporated in the walls of the internal cooling cavities of the gas turbine engine provides reduced stress concentration (paragraphs [0043], [0057]) and also increases the cooling effectiveness of the internal cooling circuit of the component by disrupting thermal boundary layer (paragraph [0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Sloop’s cooling cavity to incorporate Blake’s cooling cavity having curved turbulators in serpentine shape arranged on opposite internal wall surfaces of the cooling cavity because as Blake teaches this arrangement allows to increase the cooling effectiveness of the internal cooling passage of the component while reducing stress concentration.
Claim(s) 2 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloops, in view of Blake and Davis (European Patent Document EP 3,460,190).
As per claim 2, Sloop in view of Blake, discloses the component as claim 1. Sloop does not explicitly teach wherein the first plurality of cooling features and/or the second plurality of cooling features have a triangular configuration.
Davis (European Patent Document EP 3,460,190) is related prior art in that it deals with heat transfer enhancement structure for a gas turbine component. Davis teaches cooling ribs or strips having a variety of different cross-sectional shapes including triangular shape (figure 12). It should be noted that Applicant’s disclosure fails to teach a criticality related to the triangular shape. Furthermore, the court held that the change in shape was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (see MPEP 2144.04 IV. Changes in size, shape, or sequence of adding ingredients). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Sloop’s cooling features to incorporate Davis’ triangular cross-sectional shape since change in shape is only a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.
As per claim 7, Sloop, in view of Blake and Davis, disclose the component as claim 2. Sloop further discloses wherein the first plurality of cooling features are axially offset from each other (trip-strips 46 shown to be axially offset from each other in the direction of the flow; figure 3).
As per claim 8, Sloop, in view of Blake and Davis, disclose the component as claim 7. Sloop does not explicitly teach wherein the first plurality of cooling features and the second plurality of cooling features define a serpentine channel. However, Blake teaches wherein the first plurality of cooling features and the second plurality of cooling features define a serpentine channel (as shown, two adjacent turbulators 80 form a serpentine channel; figure 3). By the modification of claim 1 above, incorporate Blake’s serpentine shaped turbulators, the modified structure would have all claimed features of claim 8.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloop in view of Blake and Slavens (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0041059).
As per claim 6, Sloop in view of Blake, discloses the component as claim 1. Sloop does not explicitly teach wherein at least some of the second plurality of cooling features have a cooling hole extending from a surface of the at least some of the second plurality cooling features in the at least one internal cavity and through the inner wall.
Slavens (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0041059) is a related prior art in that it deals with cooling of a gas turbine component. Slavens teaches serpentine shaped cooling features having a cooling hole extending from a surface through the inner wall (figure 15). Slavens teaches these cooling holes on the surface of the serpentine shaped cooling features allow cooling air to pass from the cavities to a hot side and thereby facilitate formation of a thin, relatively cool, film of cooling air along the hot side and augment the convective cooling (paragraphs [0056], [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Sloop’s cooling feature modified by Blake to have second plurality of cooling features to incorporate Slaves’ cooling holes because as Slavens teach, the cooling holes on the heat transfer ribs (cooling features) augment convective cooling (paragraph [0068]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloop in view of Blake, Davis and Slavens.
As per claim 10, Sloop, in view of Blake in view of Davis, disclose the component as claim 8. Blake does not explicitly teach wherein at least some of the second plurality of cooling features have a cooling hole extending from a surface of the at least some of the second plurality cooling features in the at least one internal cavity and through the inner wall.
Slavens (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0041059) is a related prior art in that it deals with cooling of a gas turbine component. Slavens teaches serpentine shaped cooling features having a cooling hole extending from a surface through the inner wall (figure 15). Slavens teaches these cooling holes on the surface of the serpentine shaped cooling features allow cooling air to pass from the cavities to a hot side and thereby facilitate formation of a thin, relatively cool, film of cooling air along the hot side and augment the convective cooling (paragraphs [0056], [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Sloop’s cooling feature modified by Blake to have second plurality of cooling features to incorporate Slaves’ cooling holes because as Slavens teach, the cooling holes on the heat transfer ribs (cooling features) augment convective cooling (paragraph [0068]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745