DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US PG Pub No. 20140323017) in view of HASEGAWA (JP 2016221640).
In regards to claim 1, Tang discloses
a method, comprising:
rotating a chemical mechanical planarization (CMP) pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) positioned on a platen (platen 108, fig. 1-4; [0019]);
supplying a rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) onto the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) while the CMP pad rotates;
energizing the rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) with ultrasonic waves (fluid acoustically energized ultrasonically; [0022-0023]); and
dressing ([0018]: used for pad cleaning, pad conditioning) the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) with a CMP pad dresser (fluid delivery unit 212, fig. 2; [0023-0026]) while the rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) is energized.
Tang fails to disclose that nanobubbles are generated within the cleaning liquid. However, it does teach exposing the cleaning to ultrasonic frequencies in order to energize the liquid.
Hasegawa, which also discloses a chemical mechanical polishing system and method, teaches that applying ultrasonic vibrations to a liquid will result in nanobubbles:Since the release of the gas in the micro / nano bubbles can be realized uniformly and into a minute space or a minute gap by applying ultrasonic vibration, it may greatly contribute to the modification of the metal surface. If the vibration frequency when applying the ultrasonic vibration is 10 kHz to 3 MHz, the effects of the present invention can be sufficiently achieved.
Therefore, in view of Hasegawa as a teaching reference, a skilled artisan would consider it obvious that resultant of applying ultrasonic waves to the cleaning fluid of Tang, nano-bubbles would result.
In regards to claim 4, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 1, wherein dressing ([0018]) the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) includes sweeping ([0024]: fluid delivery arm 114 sweeps fluid delivery unit 212) the CMP pad dresser (fluid delivery unit 212, fig. 2; [0023-0026]) across the CMP pad with a dresser arm (fluid delivery arm 114, fig. 1; [0024]), the method comprising supplying the rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) onto the CMP pad via one or more outlets ([0025]: slot or plurality of nozzles aimed at the polishing pad) in the dresser arm.
In regards to claim 5,
the method of claim 1, comprising: generating the nanobubbles in the rinsing fluid while the rinsing fluid is in an ultrasonic tank (the tube within the dresser head is considered a tank as it is a holding container for the fluid before distribution); and
supplying the rinsing fluid with the nanobubbles onto the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) from the ultrasonic tank.
In regards to claim 6, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 1, comprising generating the nanobubbles in the rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) while (sound affects the fluid as it passed out of the dispenser and onto the surface of the pad) the rinsing fluid is on the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]).
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Hasegawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kennedy (US Patent No. 6139406).
In regards to claim 2, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 1, comprising:
performing a CMP process on a wafer with the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) after dressing ([0018]) the CMP pad
But, fails to disclose explicitly “supplying, with a slurry arm, a slurry onto the” CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) while performing the CMP process on the wafer.
Tang discloses cleaning slurry off of the polishing pad (abstract), but is silent to the slurry being supplied.
Kennedy discloses a method and apparatus for delivering one or more rinse agents to a surface, such as a polishing pad surface and preferably one or more polishing fluids.
Kennedy teaches an arm within a polishing pad system that dispends both a slurry and a cleaning liquid.
Col. 4 lines 5-14: The arm… includes two slurry delivery lines 30, 32 mounted on or disposed within the fluid delivery arm 24…. A central rinse agent delivery line 38 delivers one or more rinse agents to a plurality of nozzles 34, 36 mounted to the lower surface 44 of the fluid delivery arm.
Col. 6 lines 19-34: FIG. 6 is a cross sectional view showing one of the slurry delivery lines 32 disposed on the arm 24 and through the shaft 40…The ends 59 of the slurry delivery lines 30, 32 are routed through a pair of channels 63 formed in the cover 61 and out of the end of the arm 24 to deliver the slurry to the pad.
Tang and Kennedy are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing pad systems that include a means and method for cleaning and dressing the polishing pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang in view of Kennedy and provide a slurry dispenser within the cleaning fluid dispenser arm, providing the mechanical means necessary in order to supply polishing slurry for effective wafer production, consolidating the space occupied and reducing in material costs.
In regards to claim 3, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 2, comprising supplying the rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) onto the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) with the slurry arm (see arm 26 taught by Kennedy).
Claim(s) 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Hasegawa as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hakata (US PG Pub No. 20050026425).
In regards to claim 7, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 6, comprising generating the nanobubbles with a dresser head of the CMP pad dresser (fluid delivery unit 212, fig. 2; [0023-0026]) while the rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) is on the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]).
Tang as modified fails to disclose the dresser head being “rotating”.
However, Hakata discloses a chemical mechanical polishing system and teaches a conditioning head that rotates:
[0055] Meanwhile, a pad conditioner 17 is provided to hold vertical-movably a rotatable dresser 17a at a tip of an arm 17b. In conditioning the polishing pad 13, the dresser 17a can be moved, by the arm 17b, from a waiting position on a side of the polishing pad 13, to the polishing pad 13.
Tang and Hakata are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing pad systems that include a means and method for cleaning and dressing the polishing pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang in view of Hakata and provide a pad conditioner head that rotates in order to effectively condition the polishing pad.
In regards to claim 8, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 7, wherein generating the nanobubbles includes generating ultrasonic waves (fluid acoustically energized ultrasonically; [0022-0023]) with an ultrasonic generator (piezoelectric transducer (PZT); [0023], [0025]) embedded in the rotating dresser head.
In regards to claim 9, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 7, wherein generating the nanobubbles includes generating ultrasonic waves (fluid acoustically energized ultrasonically; [0022-0023]), but fails to disclose a “plurality of ultrasonic generators” embedded in the rotating dresser head.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a plurality of piezoelectric transducers in the dresser head, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
In regards to claim 10, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 9, comprising selectively generating ultrasonic waves (fluid acoustically energized ultrasonically; [0022-0023]) with multiple frequencies with the ultrasonic generators ([0023]: the acoustically energized fluid delivery unit 212 can include a piezoelectric transducer (PZT) operating in the frequency range from the lower ultrasonic range (approximately 20 KHz) to the upper megasonic range (approximately 2 MHz.) Other frequency ranges can be used).
In regards to claim 11, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 9, comprising: generating ultrasonic waves (fluid acoustically energized ultrasonically; [0022-0023]) of a first frequency ([0023]: between 2KHz and 2MHz) with a first ultrasonic generator of the plurality of ultrasonic generators; and
generating ultrasonic waves of a second frequency ([0023]: between 2KHz and 2MHz) different from the first frequency with a second ultrasonic generator of the plurality of ultrasonic generators.
Claim(s) 13, 15, and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US PG Pub No. 20140323017) in view of HASEGAWA (JP 2016221640) and Soundararajan et al. (US PG Pub No. 20220355440).
In regards to claim 13, Tang discloses
a system, comprising:
a chemical mechanical planarization (CMP) platen (platen 108, fig. 1-4; [0019]);
a CMP pad dresser (at least fluid delivery unit 212, fig. 2; [0023-0026]) head configured to dress a CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) on the CMP platen (platen 108, fig. 1-4; [0019]);
a dispensing arm (fluid delivery arm 114, fig. 1; [0024]) configured to dispense the rinsing fluid onto the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) while the CMP pad dresser head dresses the CMP pad; and
an ultrasonic generator (piezoelectric transducer (PZT); [0023], [0025]) configured to energize rinsing fluid while the CMP pad dresser head dresses the CMP pad.
Tang fails to disclose that nanobubbles are generated within the cleaning liquid. However, it does teach exposing the cleaning to ultrasonic frequencies in order to energize the liquid.
Hasegawa, which also discloses a chemical mechanical polishing system and method, teaches that applying ultrasonic vibrations to a liquid will result in nanobubbles:Since the release of the gas in the micro / nano bubbles can be realized uniformly and into a minute space or a minute gap by applying ultrasonic vibration, it may greatly contribute to the modification of the metal surface. If the vibration frequency when applying the ultrasonic vibration is 10 kHz to 3 MHz, the effects of the present invention can be sufficiently achieved.
Therefore, in view of Hasegawa as a teaching reference, a skilled artisan would consider it obvious that resultant of applying ultrasonic waves to the cleaning fluid of Tang, nano-bubbles would result.
Tang fails to explicitly disclose a rinsing fluid tank configured to hold a rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]).
However, Soundararajan, which also discloses a chemical mechanical polishing system with means for cleaning the pad, discloses a rinsing fluid tank:
[0044] FIG. 2, shows an example conditioning head cleaning assembly 250 that includes a housing 255. The housing 255 can form a “cup” to receive a conditioner disk 92 and conditioner head 93. Cleaning fluid, e.g., heated water from a DI water tank 300 (see FIG. 1), is circulated through a supply line 280 in the housing 255 to one or more nozzles 275….
Tang and Soundararajan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing pad systems that include a means and method for cleaning and dressing the polishing pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang in view of Soundararajan and provide a cleaning fluid tank for operational purposes and providing ready access and supply of cleaning fluid to supply to the polishing pad during conditioning.
In regards to claim 15, Tang as modified discloses
the system of claim 13, wherein the dispensing arm (fluid delivery arm 114, fig. 1; [0024]) is coupled to the CMP dresser head and is configured to sweep the CMP dresser head across the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]).
In regards to claim 16, Tang as modified discloses
the system of claim 13, wherein the ultrasonic generator is part of or is coupled (through connection to the dispenser arm) to the rinsing fluid tank.
In regards to claim 17, Tang as modified discloses
the system of claim 13, wherein the ultrasonic generator (embedded PZTs, [0022-0023]) is part of the CMP pad dresser head.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Kordic (US PG Pub No. 20080287041).
In regards to claim 12, Tang as modified discloses
the method of claim 1, wherein the rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) includes water (DIW) but fails to disclose “a surfactant.”
Kordic, which discloses a system for removing particles from a polishing pad to improve the efficiency of the removal of material, teaches employing a surfactant:
[0028] … above the polishing pad 102 is a first conduit 200 that is arranged to dispense a rinsing fluid, for example deionised water, and/or a chemical reagent onto the polishing pad 102 where typically the rinsing fluid also contains the chemical reagent. ..The chemical reagent is a chemical solution that is suitable to remove slurry by products such as ammonia, carboxylic acids (for example citric acid or commercially available chemicals such as electraclean) or Ammonium hydroxide. Ideally the characteristics of the chemical reagent are chosen to have an appropriate pH and redox potential with reactive entities such as surfactant or ligand to solubilize the generated polishing by-products disposed on the polishing pad 102, where the contaminants will depend upon the material being polished and the chemical used.
Tang and Kordic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing pad systems that include a means and method for cleaning and dressing the polishing pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang in view of Kordic and provide a surfactant within the cleaning liquid as it’s effective in solubilizing left over polishing by-products when cleaning chemical mechanical pads (Kordic [0028]).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Hasegawa and Soundararajan as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kennedy (US Patent No. 6139406).
In regards to claim 14, Tang as modified
the system of claim 13, comprising
but fails to disclose explicitly a “slurry supply system including a slurry tank”, wherein the dispensing arm (fluid delivery arm 114, fig. 1; [0024]) is configured to supply a slurry onto the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) during a CMP process and to supply the rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) onto the CMP pad while the CMP pad dresser head dresses the CMP pad.
Tang discloses cleaning slurry off of the polishing pad (abstract), but is silent to the slurry being supplied.
Kennedy discloses a method and apparatus for delivering one or more rinse agents to a surface, such as a polishing pad surface and preferably one or more polishing fluids.
Kennedy teaches an arm within a polishing pad system that dispends both a slurry and a cleaning liquid, while having a slurry supply source.
Col. 4 lines 5-14: The arm… includes two slurry delivery lines 30, 32 mounted on or disposed within the fluid delivery arm 24…. Preferably, tubing is used as the slurry delivery lines and one or more slurries are pumped from one or more slurry sources using a diastolic pump or some other type of pump out through the end of the tubing. A central rinse agent delivery line 38 delivers one or more rinse agents to a plurality of nozzles 34, 36 mounted to the lower surface 44 of the fluid delivery arm.
Col. 6 lines 19-34: FIG. 6 is a cross sectional view showing one of the slurry delivery lines 32 disposed on the arm 24 and through the shaft 40…The ends 59 of the slurry delivery lines 30, 32 are routed through a pair of channels 63 formed in the cover 61 and out of the end of the arm 24 to deliver the slurry to the pad.
Tang and Kennedy are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing pad systems that include a means and method for cleaning and dressing the polishing pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang in view of Kennedy and provide a slurry dispenser and slurry supply source (tank), along with the cleaning fluid dispenser being on the slurry dispenser arm, providing the mechanical means necessary in order to supply polishing slurry for effective wafer production, consolidating the space occupied and reducing in material costs.
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US PG Pub No. 20140323017) in view of Kordic (US Patent No. 20080287041).
In regards to claim 18, Tang discloses
a device comprising:
a chemical mechanical planarization (CMP) dresser head (delivery unit 212, fig. 1-2) including:
an ultrasonic generator (PZT, [0022-0023]) configured to generate ultrasonic waves (fluid acoustically energized ultrasonically; [0022-0023]) during the CMP pad dressing process.
Tang fails to disclose “a plurality of hard particles configured to” dress a CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) during a CMP pad dressing ([0018]) process.
Kordic, which discloses a system for removing particles from a polishing pad to improve the efficiency of the removal of material, teaches employing abrasive particles on the conditioning pad:
[0025] The polishing pad conditioning system 100 further includes an optional conditioning device 103 having a conditioning arm 104 that is pivoted to allow the conditioning arm 104 to be disposed either away from the polishing pad 102, as shown by dotted line, or above the polishing pad 102. Attached to the conditioning arm 104, at the opposite end to the pivot, is a conditioning disk 105, for example a diamond disk. The conditioning disk 105 includes a conditioning surface that during conditioning of the polishing pad 102 is in abrasive contact with the polishing pad 102, where the conditioning surface includes an abrasive surface in order to facilitate removal of glaze that may be present on the polishing pad 102. The abrasive surface will typically include periodic protrusions, for example diamonds, that extend partially into the surface of the polishing pad 102 during the conditioning of the polishing pad 102 by the conditioning device 103.
Tang and Kordic are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing pad systems that include a means and method for cleaning and dressing the polishing pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang in view of Kordic and provide a provide abrasives (hard particles) to improve the removing glaze on a polishing pad, making the dressing operation more effective and efficient (Kordic [0025]).
In regards to claim 19, Tang as modified discloses
the device of claim 18, comprising a dresser arm (fluid delivery arm 114, fig. 1; [0024]) configured to sweep the CMP dresser head across the CMP pad (polishing pad 106, fig. 1-4; [0019-0020], [0024-0026]) during the CMP pad dressing ([0018]) process and
to supply a rinsing fluid (energized fluid, [0020-0028]) onto the CMP pad during the CMP pad dressing process.
In regards to claim 20, Tang as modified discloses
the device of claim 18, but fails to disclose a “plurality of ultrasonic generators”, each configured to generate ultrasonic waves (fluid acoustically energized ultrasonically; [0022-0023]) during the CMP pad dressing ([0018]) process.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a plurality of piezoelectric transducers in the dresser head, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723