DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 3/06/2026. The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Accordingly, claims 1-9 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
This Office Action contains a New Grounds of Rejection. Since these new grounds of rejection did not result from an amendment to the claims, this Office Action is being made non- final to afford the applicant the opportunity to respond to the new grounds of rejection.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on 12/09/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese Patent Application No. 2021-200279 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio et al. (US20200262013A1) in view of Chellis (US3312239A) and Jiménez et al. (Jiménez, V., et al., Reparación cabeza refrigeradora: CTI 350, Feb 2014, Informe Técnico IT, [retrieved on 12/15/2025]. Retrieved from Internet <https://icts-yebes.oan.es/reports/reports.php?year=2014 >).
Regarding Claim 1, Nishio teaches a method for disassembling a cryocooler [a method for disassembling a cold head of a cryocooler; 0002; 0003] where the cryocooler includes a housing [displacer driver unit 42, Figure 1] which includes a lower opening [where displacer 40 extends from inside displacer drive unit 42, Figure 1 and Figure 9], a scotch yoke shaft [although not shown a scotch yoke mechanism connects to output shaft of motor 42a; 0036] that is accommodated in the housing [where the scotch yoke mechanism is accommodated in the drive unit housing 42b, Figure 4]
Nishio does not disclose a lower cover that closes the lower opening and where the scotch yoke extends out of the housing by penetrating the lower cover, and a scotch yoke guide that is removably provided in the housing and guides axial movement of the scotch yoke shaft.
However, Chellis teaches a crosshead assembly for use in controlling fluid flow in a refrigerator [col. 1, lines 36-42] including a lower cover [crankcase block 11, Figure 1] that closes the lower opening [of crankcase 32, Figure 1] and where the scotch yoke [yoke 24, Figure 1] extends out of the housing by penetrating the lower cover [where rod 22 extends through block 11, Figure 1], and a scotch yoke guide [where yoke 24 is provided with a groove 56 that accommodates guide pin 57 to prevent rotation; col. 3, lines 31-35] that is removably provided in the housing [where pin 57 is mounted in housing 10, Figure 1; col. 4, lines 31-35] and guides axial movement of the scotch yoke shaft [where the pin 57 engages groove 56 to prevent rotational movement, Figure 1; col. 4, lines 31-35], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing fluid control with a relatively simple to build apparatus that lends itself readily to fine adjustments [Chellis, col. 1, line 60- col. 2, line 3]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Nishio to have a lower cover that closes the lower opening and where the scotch yoke extends out of the housing by penetrating the lower cover, and a scotch yoke guide that is removably provided in the housing and guides axial movement of the scotch yoke shaft in view of the teachings of Chellis where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing fluid control with a relatively simple to build apparatus that lends itself readily to fine adjustments [Chellis, col. 1, line 60- col. 2, line 3].
The combined teachings do not teach the method comprising: removing the lower cover from the housing and taking the scotch yoke guide out of the housing from the lower opening.
However, Jiménez teaches the maintenance of a cryocooler head [Introduction, p.2] including removing the lower cover [annotated Figure from p.3 of Jiménez, referred to as valve system flange in Jiménez] from the housing [annotated Figure from p.3 of Jiménez] and taking the scotch yoke guide [where the scotch yoke is removed and the scotch yoke has a groove that can act as a guide for the scotch yoke plate, annotated Figures from p. 3 and 16; where all screws on the crankcase are removed and cleaned or replaced; p.8] out of the housing [annotated Figure from p.5 of Jiménez, referred to as crankcase in Jiménez] from the lower opening [annotated Figure from p.5 of Jiménez] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., dismantling the cold head for necessary maintenance and tuning [Jiménez, Introduction, p.2]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings have the method of removing the lower cover from the housing and taking the scotch yoke guide out of the housing from the lower opening in view of the teachings of Jiménez where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., dismantling the cold head for necessary maintenance and tuning [Jiménez, Introduction, p.2]
Regarding Claim 2, Nishio, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach wherein the scotch yoke guide is configured to restrict rotation around an axis of the scotch yoke shaft.
However, Chellis teaches a crosshead assembly for use in controlling fluid flow in a refrigerator [col. 1, lines 36-42] where the scotch yoke guide [pin 57, Figure 1] is configured to restrict rotation [where the pin 57 engages groove 56 to prevent rotational movement, Figure 1; col. 4, lines 31-35] around an axis of the scotch yoke shaft [where rod 22 extends from yoke 24, Figure 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing fluid control with a relatively simple to build apparatus that lends itself readily to fine adjustments [Chellis, col. 1, line 60 - col. 2, line 3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have a wherein the scotch yoke guide is configured to restrict rotation around an axis of the scotch yoke shaft in view of the teachings of Chellis where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing fluid control with a relatively simple to build apparatus that lends itself readily to fine adjustments [Chellis, col. 1, line 60- col. 2, line 3].
Regarding Claim 3, Nishio, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach where the scotch yoke shaft includes a scotch yoke plate that is accommodated in the housing, and a rod extending out of the housing by penetrating the lower cover from the scotch yoke plate, and wherein the scotch yoke guide is disposed at a position different from a position of the rod with respect to a direction of a motor rotary shaft that drives the axial movement of the scotch yoke shaft, and is adjacent to the scotch yoke plate.
However, Chellis teaches a crosshead assembly for use in controlling fluid flow in a refrigerator [col. 1, lines 36-42] where the scotch yoke shaft includes a scotch yoke plate [where displacer rod 22 is positioned in yoke 24, Figure 1; col. 2, lines 54-59] that is accommodated in the housing [housing 10, Figure 1], and a rod [rod 22, Figure 1] extending out of the housing by penetrating the lower cover from the scotch yoke plate [where rod 22 extends through block 11, Figure 1], and wherein the scotch yoke guide [pin 57, Figure 1] is disposed at a position different from a position of the rod [where the groove 56 with pin 57 is disposed on the side of yoke 108, Figure 1; col. 4, lines 31-35] with respect to a direction of a motor rotary shaft that drives the axial movement of the scotch yoke shaft [shaft 21, Figure 1], and is adjacent to the scotch yoke plate [where the groove 56 with pin 57 is disposed on the side of yoke 108, Figure 1; col. 4, lines 31-35] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., minimizing rotation of the scotch yoke [Chellis, col. 4, lines 31-35]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the scotch yoke shaft includes a scotch yoke plate that is accommodated in the housing, and a rod extending out of the housing by penetrating the lower cover from the scotch yoke plate, and wherein the scotch yoke guide is disposed at a position different from a position of the rod with respect to a direction of a motor rotary shaft that drives the axial movement of the scotch yoke shaft, and is adjacent to the scotch yoke plate in view of the teachings of Chellis where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., minimizing rotation of the scotch yoke [Chellis, col. 4, lines 31-35]
Regarding Claim 5, Nishio, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach: pulling the scotch yoke shaft out of the housing from the lower opening before taking out the scotch yoke guide.
However, Jiménez teaches the maintenance of a cryocooler head [Introduction, p.2] including pulling the scotch yoke shaft out of the housing [where the lower cover is removed from the housing and the scotch yoke shaft and scotch yoke are attached to the lower cover in annotated Figure from p.5 of Jiménez] from the lower opening [annotated Figure from p.5 of Jiménez] before taking out the scotch yoke guide [where the scotch yoke shaft would inherently pass through the lower opening before the scotch yoke and the scotch yoke includes the guide on its side in annotated Figure from p.5 and p.16 of Jiménez] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., dismantling the cold head for necessary maintenance and tuning [Jiménez, Introduction, p.2]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings pulling the scotch yoke shaft out of the housing from the lower opening before taking out the scotch yoke guide in view of the teachings of Jiménez where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., dismantling the cold head for necessary maintenance and tuning [Jiménez, Introduction, p.2]
Regarding Claim 6, Nishio, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the cryocooler [cryocooler 10, Figure 1] includes a displacer [displacer 40, Figure 1] attached to the scotch yoke shaft [where Although not shown, the displacer drive unit 42 includes a scotch yoke mechanism that is connected to an output shaft; 0036], and the method further comprises removing the displacer from the scotch yoke shaft [where the displacer 40 us detached from the displacer drive unit 42; 0080] but does not explicitly teach removing the displacer from the scotch yoke shaft before removing the lower cover from the housing.
However, Jiménez teaches the maintenance of a cryocooler head [Introduction, p.2] including removing the displacer [upper piston or displacer 2, p.3] from the scotch yoke shaft [where the two pistons are removed, p.4] before removing the lower cover from the housing [where the crank case assembly is disassembled, annotated Figure from p.5 of Jiménez] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., dismantling the cold head for necessary maintenance and tuning [Jiménez, Introduction, p.2]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings pulling the scotch yoke shaft out of the housing from the lower opening before taking out the scotch yoke guide in view of the teachings of Jiménez where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., dismantling the cold head for necessary maintenance and tuning [Jiménez, Introduction, p.2]
Regarding Claim 7, Nishio, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the cryocooler [cryocooler 10, Figure 1] includes a cylinder [cylinder 36, Figure 1] fixed to the housing [where cylinder is fixed to of displacer drive unit 42 via fastening members 43, Figure 1] and accommodating the displacer [displacer 40, Figure 1], and the method further comprises releasing the fixation between the housing and the cylinder [where cylinder 36 and displacer drive unit 42 are unfastened from each other; 0076], and pulling out the displacer from the cylinder together with the housing [where the displacer drive unit and displacer are lifted from the cylinder 36 after the cylinder is unfastened from the displacer drive unit; 0077].
Regarding Claim 8, Nishio, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the cryocooler [cryocooler 10, Figure 1] includes a motor [motor 42a, Figure 3] that is attached to the housing [displacer drive unit 42, Figure 3] and drives the axial movement of the scotch yoke shaft [where rotation of the output shaft of the motor 42 a is converted into axial reciprocation of the displacer driving shaft by the scotch yoke mechanism such that the displacer 40 reciprocates in the axial direction; 0036], and the method further comprises removing the motor from the housing [where the motor is detached, Figure 3;0075].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio in view of Chellis and Jiménez as applied in claim 1 above and in further view of Goto et al. (JP2017142036A).
Regarding Claim 4, Nishio teaches the invention of claim 1, and does not teach wherein the scotch yoke guide includes a plurality of pins extending in an axial direction of the scotch yoke shaft, and the housing includes a plurality of pin insertion holes into which the plurality of pins is removably inserted, respectively.
However, Goto teaches a GM (Gifford-McMahon) refrigerator [0001] where the scotch yoke guide [at guide holes with cylindrical sliding member 71o, 71p, Figure 1; 0016] includes a plurality of pins [guide pins 11 and 12, Figure 1] extending in an axial direction of the scotch yoke shaft [rod 72, Figure 1], and the housing [housing body 81, Figure 1] includes a plurality of pin insertion holes into which the plurality of pins are removably inserted, respectively [where guide pins 11 and 12 are press-fitted into support holes 811, 812, 821 and 822, respectively, Figure 1;0045] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying the substitution of known elements, screw for guide pins, for another and yield predictable results, i.e., reducing stress applied to the scotch yoke guide by distributing resisting force across the length of multiple pins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the scotch yoke guide includes a plurality of pins extending in an axial direction of the scotch yoke shaft, and the housing includes a plurality of pin insertion holes into which the plurality of pins is removably inserted, respectively in view of the teachings of Goto where the substitution of two elements for another would have yielded predictable results i.e., reducing stress applied to the scotch yoke guide by distributing resisting force across the length of multiple pins.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/06/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chellis (US3312239A).
Conclusion
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763