DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/30/2024. These drawings are considered acceptable by Examiner.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0219946 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ryu et al., teaches a display device comprising: a first-first line (311, a first-first gate pattern, ¶ [0085]-¶ [0095]; see at least Fig. 5) extending in a first direction; a first-second line (331, a second-first data pattern) extending in a second direction crossing the first direction and connected to the first-first line (311); a data line (DL1, a data line, ¶ [0132]-¶ [0134]) extending in the first direction and connected to the first-second line (331); a pixel (PX1) connected to the data line (DL1); a receiving line (SL1) extending in the first direction; a sensor (810, optical sensor, ¶ [0166]) connected to the receiving line (SL1); and a shielding electrode (PX2, a light blocking pixel via a conductive electrode) disposed above the first-second line (331) and overlapping the first-second line (331) and the receiving line (SL1).
Regarding Claim 2, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first-first line (311) and the data line (DL1) are disposed in the same layer, and the receiving line (SL1) is disposed on a layer below the first-first line (311) and the data line (DL1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first-second line (331) is disposed below the receiving line (SL1).
Regarding Claim 4, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the shielding electrode (PX2) is disposed in a layer located between the receiving line (SL1) and the first-second line (331).
Regarding Claim 5, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of first-first connecting electrodes (of 311) disposed over the first-second line (331) and connected to the first-second line (331); and a plurality of second-first connecting electrodes (of 333) disposed above the first-first connecting electrodes (of 311) and connected to the first-first connecting electrodes (of 311), wherein the data line (DL1) and the first-first line (311) are connected to the second-first connecting electrodes (of 333).
Regarding Claim 6, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 5, further comprising: a plurality of first-second connecting electrodes (of 331) disposed above the first-second line (331) and connected to the first-second line (331); a plurality of second-second connecting electrodes (of 331nth) disposed above the first-second connecting electrodes (of 331) and connected to the first-second connecting electrodes (of 331); a plurality of third-first connecting electrodes (of 313) extending from the data line (DL1) and the first-first line (311), the plurality of third-first connecting electrodes (of 313) being disposed above the second-first connecting electrodes (of 333) and connected to the second-first connecting electrodes (of 333); and a plurality of third-second connecting electrodes (of 315) disposed above the second-second connecting electrodes (of 331nth) and connected to the second-second connecting electrodes (of 331nth).
Regarding Claim 7, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 6, further comprising: a plurality of first-third connecting electrodes disposed above the first-second line (331) and connected to the first-second line (331), wherein the second-first and second-second connecting electrodes (of 331nth) and the third-first and third-second connecting electrodes (of 315) are not disposed above the first-third connecting electrodes.
Examiner notes that the phrase “not disposed” does not recite a positive limitation and instead attempts to claim the disclosed invention by excluding what the applicants did not disclose or invent, rather than distinctly and particularly pointing out what the applicants did disclose or invent. Essentially this claim language fails to provide any structural element or concrete component and therefore is improper [MPEP 2173.05(i)].
Regarding Claim 8, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the shielding electrode (PX2) is disposed in the same layer as the first-first, first-second, and first-third connecting electrodes (of electrodes), the receiving line (SL1) is disposed in the same layer as the second-first and second-second connecting electrodes (of 331nth), and the data line (DL1) and the first-first line (311) are disposed in the same layer as the third-first and third-second connecting electrodes (of 315).
Regarding Claim 9, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the shielding electrode (PX2) includes a plurality of first shielding electrodes (PX2s) disposed between the first-first, first-second, and first-third connecting electrodes (of electrodes).
Regarding Claim 10, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: an initialization line connected to the pixel (PX1), wherein the shielding electrode (PX2) protrudes from the initialization line (¶ [0019]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a reset line (reset of 1, Fig. 5) disposed above the receiving line (SL1) and adjacent to the data line (DL1).
Regarding Claim 12, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of first-first connecting electrodes (of 311) disposed above the first-second line (331) and connected to the first-second line (331); a plurality of first-second connecting electrodes (of 331) disposed above the first-second line (331); a plurality of second-first connecting electrodes (of 333) disposed above the first-first connecting electrodes (of 311) and connected to the first-first connecting electrodes (of 311); a plurality of second-second connecting electrodes (of 335) disposed above the first-second connecting electrodes (of 331) and connected to the first-second connecting electrodes (of 331); and a first power line adjacent to the second-second connecting electrodes (of 331nth), the first power line being integrally formed with the second-second connecting electrodes (of 331nth), wherein the data line (DL1) and the first-first line (311) are connected to the second-first connecting electrodes (of 333).
Regarding Claim 13, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the first-second connecting electrodes (of 331) are spaced apart from the first-second line (331).
Regarding Claim 14, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a second-first line (333) extending in the first direction; and a second-second line (335) extending in the second direction and connected to the second-first line (333), wherein the second-second line (335) is connected to the receiving line (SL1).
Regarding Claim 15, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 14, further comprising: a plurality of first-fourth connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 1st-1st to 1st - 6th electrodes) disposed above the second-second line (335) and connected to the second-second line (335); and a plurality of second-third connecting electrodes disposed above the first-fourth connecting electrodes and connected to the first-fourth connecting electrodes, wherein the receiving line (SL1) is disposed in the same layer as the second-third connecting electrodes, and wherein among the second-third connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 1st-1st to 1st - 6th electrodes), a second-third connecting electrode corresponding to the receiving line (SL1) extends from the receiving line (SL1).
Regarding Claim 16, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 15, further comprising: a plurality of first-fifth connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 1st-1st to 1st - 6th electrodes) disposed above the second-second line (335) and connected to the second-second line (335); a plurality of first-sixth connecting electrodes disposed above the second-second line (335) and connected to the second-second line (335); a plurality of second-fourth connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 1st-1st to 1st - 6th electrodes) disposed above the first-fifth connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 1st-1st to 1st - 6th electrodes) and connected to the first-fifth connecting electrodes; a plurality of third-third connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 3rd -1st to 3rd - 6th electrodes) disposed above the second-third connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 2nd -1st to 2nd - 6th electrodes) and connected to the second-third connecting electrodes; and a plurality of third-fourth connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 3rd -1st to 3rd - 6th electrodes) disposed above the second-fourth connecting electrodes and connected to the second-fourth connecting electrodes, wherein the second-first line (333) is disposed in the same layer as the third-third connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 3rd -1st to 3rd - 6th electrodes), and wherein among the third-third connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 3rd -1st to 3rd - 6th electrodes), a third-third connecting electrode connected to a second-third connecting electrode not extending from the receiving line (SL1) extends from the second-first line (333).
Regarding Claim 17, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 16, wherein the shielding electrode (PX2) includes a plurality of second shielding electrodes (PX2) disposed between the first-fourth, first-fifth, and first-sixth connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 1st-1st to 1st - 6th electrodes).
Regarding Claim 18, Ryu et al., teaches the display device of claim 14, further comprising: a plurality of first-fourth connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 1st-1st to 1st - 6th electrodes) disposed above the second-second line (335) and connected to the second-second line (335); a plurality of first-fifth connecting electrodes disposed above the second-second line (335) and spaced apart from the second-second line (335); a plurality of second-third connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 2nd -1st to 2nd - 6th electrodes) disposed above the first-fourth connecting electrodes and connected to the first-fourth connecting electrodes; a plurality of second-fourth connecting electrodes (continuation of pixelation, 2nd -1st to 2nd - 6th electrodes) disposed above the first-fifth connecting electrodes and connected to the first-fifth connecting electrodes; and a first power line (power line of 1, Fig. 5) adjacent to the second-fourth connecting electrodes, the first power line being integrally formed with the second-fourth connecting electrodes, wherein the receiving line (SL1) is disposed in the same layer as the second-third connecting electrodes, wherein among the second-third connecting electrodes, a second-third connecting electrode corresponding to the receiving line (SL1) extends from the receiving line (SL1), and wherein the second-first line (333) is connected to a second-third connecting electrode that is spaced apart from the receiving line (SL1).
Regarding Claim 19, Ryu et al., teaches a display device comprising: a first-first line (311) extending in a first direction; a first-second line (331) extending in a second direction crossing the first direction, the first-second line (331) being disposed below the first-first line (311) and connected to the first-first line (311); a data line (DL1) extending in the first direction, the data line (DL1) being disposed in the same layer as the first-first line (311) and connected to the first-second line (331); a pixel (PX1) connected to the data line (DL1); a receiving line (SL1) extending in the first direction and disposed in a layer different (as depicted to be separate and distinct layers) from the layer in which the data line (DL1) is disposed; a sensor (810) connected to the receiving line (SL1); and a shielding electrode (PX2) disposed above the first-second line (331) and overlapping the first-second line (331).
Regarding Claim 20, Ryu et al., teaches a display device comprising: a first-first line (311); a first-second line (331) crossing the first-first line (311) and connected to the first-first line (311); a data line (DL1) crossing the first-second line (331) and connected to the first-second line (331); a pixel (PX1) connected to the data line (DL1); a receiving line (SL1) disposed in a layer different from a layer in which the first-second line (331) is disposed; a sensor (810) connected to the receiving line (SL1); and a plurality of shielding electrodes (PX2n) disposed in a layer between the first-second line (331) and the receiving line (SL1) and overlapping the first-second line (331).
Examiner's Note
The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/H. Featherly/
Examiner Featherly
Art Unit 2875 Patent Examiner
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875