Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khalil et al. (US 11,923,424, hereinafter Khalil).
Regarding claim 1, Figures 4-10A of Khalil disclose a method of fabricating a high electron mobility transistor, comprising: providing a substrate 102 having a semiconductor channel layer 106, a semiconductor barrier layer 108, and a passivation layer 130 disposed thereon; forming a gate field plate 150 (portions of 150 overlying 130) and at least one first field plate 160, wherein the gate field plate 150 and the at least one first field plate 160 are laterally spaced apart from each other, and the step of forming the gate field plate 150 and the at least one first field plate 160 comprises: forming a conformal first metal layer on a surface of the passivation layer and patterning the conformal first metal layer (col. 13, lines 44-47); forming a first interlayer dielectric layer 170, conformally covering the gate field plate and the at least one first field plate; and forming a source electrode 185 and a second field plate 180, wherein the second field plate 180 conformally covers the first interlayer dielectric layer 170 and extends over the gate field plate 150 and the at least one first field plate 160, a top surface of the second field plate comprises a first portion and a second portion (see annotated Fig. 10A below), which are disposed directly above the gate field plate and the at least one first field plate, respectively, and a third portion (see annotated Fig. 10A below), which is disposed directly above a gap between the gate field plate and the at least one first field plate, and the first portion and second portion of the top surface of the second field plate are higher than the third portion of the top surface of the second field plate (see annotated Fig. 10A below).
Regarding claim 2, Figures 4-10A of Khalil disclose the method of fabricating the high electron mobility transistor of claim 1, wherein the passivation layer 130 comprises a gate contact hole (hole in which gate electrode 150 resides), and a portion of the conformal first metal layer fills in the gate contact hole (col. 13, lines 44-47 discloses the conformal deposition process which would inherently result in the conformal layer deposited in the gate contact hole).
Regarding claim 3, Figures 4-10A of Khalil disclose the method of fabricating the high electron mobility transistor of claim 1, wherein the step of forming the source electrode 185 and the second field plate 180 comprises: forming a conformal second metal layer on a surface of the first interlayer dielectric layer 170; and patterning the conformal second metal layer (col. 15, lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 5, Figures 4-10A of Khalil disclose the method of fabricating the high electron mobility transistor of claim 1, wherein: the at least one first field plate 160 is electrically connected to the source electrode 185 (col. 9, lines 53-57); and the second field plate 180 is electrically connected to the source electrode 185 (col. 8, lines 39-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalil.
Regarding claim 4, Khalil discloses in Fig. 1 and 10A the second field plate 180 is longer than a sum of the length of the gate field plate 150 and the first field plate 160. Khalil does not show a top view of the device, so it does not specifically disclose the area of the second field plate is larger than a sum of the area of the gate field plate and the first field plate when perceived from a top-down perspective. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the area of the second field plate larger than a sum of the area of the gate field plate and the first field plate when perceived from a top-down perspective, since doing so would increase the surface area of the electrode and increase the field reduction potential.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MATTHEW C. LANDAU
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891