DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 08/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/18/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weber et al. (US-20250294795-A1 – hereinafter Weber).
Regarding claim 1, Weber teaches a semiconductive device (Fig.9; ¶0085) comprising successively, stacked along a direction z,
a support layer (Fig.9 902; ¶0085),
an insulating layer (Fig.9 920; ¶0085), and
a semiconductive layer (Fig.9 908; ¶0085) wherein an active zone (center portion of 908) is defined,
wherein the device further comprises a first lateral gate (Fig.9 910; ¶0085) on a first edge (left edge) of the active zone (center of 908), configured to electrostatically control a distribution of charge carriers (¶0085) in the semiconductive layer (908) perpendicularly to the direction z, and a vertical gate (Fig.9 914; ¶0085) above the active zone (center of 908), configured to electrostatically control the distribution of charge carriers (¶0085) in the semiconductive layer in the direction z,
the device further comprises a second lateral gate (Fig.9 912; ¶0085) on a second edge (right edge) of the active zone (center of 908), configured to electrostatically control a distribution of charge carriers (¶0085) in the semiconductive layer (908) perpendicularly to the direction z, said second lateral gate (912) being electrically insulated with respect to the first lateral gate (910), and
the vertical gate (914) is electrically insulated with respect to the first (910) and second (912) lateral gates, and the device further comprising a dielectric material (Fig.9 916; ¶0085) encapsulating said first (910) and second (912) lateral gates.
Regarding claim 2, Weber teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the distribution of charge carriers is localized at a quantum dot, the device being a quantum device (¶0085).
Regarding claim 3, Weber teaches the device according to claim 2, wherein the first (910) and second (912) lateral gates and the vertical gate (914) are metal or conductive at temperatures less than or equal to 50mK (¶0025).
Regarding claim 7, Weber teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductive layer (908) has, projecting in the direction z, a shape comprising a first and a second closed contour which share a common section, and wherein the active zone is located in said common section, the first and second lateral gates being located respectively inside the first and second closed contours (908 has sidewalls and a middle area which is the active zone).
Regarding claim 9, Weber teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising several vertical gates (Fig.9 918; ¶0085), certain vertical gates (918) covering at least partially the active zone (center area of 908), and certain other vertical gates not covering the active zone.
Regarding claim 10, Weber teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising at least one charge reservoir (Fig.9 904 and 906; ¶0085) on either side of the active zone (center area of 908), in line with the vertical gate (914).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber in view of Xie et al (US-20230055297-A1 – hereinafter Xie).
Regarding claim 4, Weber teaches the device according to claim 1.
Weber does not teach wherein the vertical gate comprises first and second parts not electrically connected to one another and partially covering the active zone.
Xie teaches a gate (Fig.11 142; ¶0085 of Xie) that comprises multiple parts with an insulator (Fig.11 122; ¶0031 of Xie) disposed therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the gate design of Xie (142 of Xie) where a vertical gate has multiple parts with the vertical gate of Weber (114 of Weber) to arrive at the claimed invention. This modification is obvious because it is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 5, Weber teaches the device according to claim 1.
Weber does not teach wherein the first and second lateral gates each have an L-shaped profile, in a plane parallel to the direction z.
Xie teaches an L-shaped gate (Fig.11 142; ¶0085 of Xie).
Shape differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular shape of the first or second gate is anything more than one of numerous shapes a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of controlling distribution of charge carriers (In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976)). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the most relevant prior art reference US-20250294795-A1 to Weber et al. teaches most of the limitations of claim 6, but not the limitations of “wherein the L-shaped profile of each of the first and second lateral gates is formed by a lateral portion of each of the first and second lateral gates extending respectively on the first and the second edge of the active zone, and by a basal portion extending within the insulating layer, said basal portion extending under a plane passing through a lower face of the active zone” as recited. Therefore, claim 6 is deemed patentable over the prior art.
Regarding claim 8, the most relevant prior art reference US-20250294795-A1 to Weber et al. teaches most of the limitations of claim 8, but not the limitations of “secondary gates above the semi conductive layer on either side of the common section, said secondary gates being configured to electrically insulate source and drain regions located at the ends of the common section” as recited. Therefore, claim 8 is deemed patentable over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US-20250384318-A1 and US-20220190135-A1).
/T.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817