DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mekonnen et al (US 2015/0085969 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mekonnen et al discloses a medical imaging system (CT system) (10) (See Fig. 4 , Abstract, paragraph [0015]), comprising: an X-ray source (14) configured to emit X-rays (16) (paragraph [0020]); a high voltage generator (HVPS) (30)(322) (See Fig. 2 and paragraph [0026]) configured to provide power to the X-ray source; and a high efficiency power distribution unit configured to receive electrical power from an electrical grid (paragraph [0045]) and to store (311) the electrical power (paragraph [0029]), wherein the high efficiency power distribution unit (HFPDU) (400) comprises an active rectifier (424) configured to regulate a high voltage direct current outputted to components of the medical imaging system including the high voltage generator (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier is configured to enable the high efficiency power distribution unit to output a constant high voltage direct current (See Abstracta and paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier comprises a passive three-phase diode bridge (full bridge rectifier) (See Abstract and paragraph [0038]) and two capacitors (459) (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier is configured to regulate the high voltage direct current provided to the high voltage generator under all conditions (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier is 8. communicatively coupled to a controller on the medical imaging system to enable the controller both to monitor and to diagnose any issues with the high efficiency power distribution unit (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier is communicatively coupled to the controller via an Ethernet connection (i.e. one or more of a telephone network, a local area network ("LAN"), a wide area network ("WAN"), the Internet, and/or a wireless network) (paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the medical imaging system comprises a computed tomography imaging system (CT system) (10) (See Fig. 4 , Abstract, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Mekonnen et al discloses a high efficiency power distribution unit (HFPDU) (400) for a medical imaging system (CT system) (10) (See Fig. 4 , Abstract, paragraph [0015]), comprising: an X-ray source (14) configured to emit X-rays (16) (paragraph [0020]); an active rectifier (424) configured to regulate a high voltage direct current outputted to components of the medical imaging system including a high voltage generator configured to provide power to the X-ray source, wherein the active rectifier (424) is configured to enable the high efficiency power distribution unit (HFPDU) (400) to output a constant high voltage direct current (paragraph [0032]), and wherein the high efficiency power distribution unit is configured to receive electrical power from an electrical grid (paragraph [0045]) and to store (311) the electrical power (paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 12, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier comprises a passive three-phase diode bridge (full bridge rectifier) (See Abstract and paragraph [0038]) and two capacitors (459) (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 14, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier is configured to regulate the high voltage direct current provided to the high voltage generator under all conditions (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 16, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier is 8. communicatively coupled to a controller on the medical imaging system to enable the controller both to monitor and to diagnose any issues with the high efficiency power distribution unit (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier is communicatively coupled to the controller via an Ethernet connection (i.e. one or more of a telephone network, a local area network ("LAN"), a wide area network ("WAN"), the Internet, and/or a wireless network) (paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 18, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the medical imaging system comprises a computed tomography imaging system (CT system) (10) (See Fig. 4 , Abstract, paragraph [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mekonnen et al (US 2015/0085969 A1) in view of Nieberlein et al (US 9,595,883 B2).
Regarding claims 4, 13, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the active rectifier comprises a three-phase rectifier (412) (paragraph [0034]). Mekonnen et al is silent with regards to a three-phase Vienna rectifier topology. Nieberlein et al discloses a method for controlling a Vienna rectifier, comprising: an optimizing method for controlling a Vienna rectifier to balance DC-link voltage (col. 3, lines 54-65). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Mekonnen et al with the teaching of Nieberlein et al, so as to improve efficiency and lower voltage stress due to three-level operation.
Regarding claim 19, Mekonnen et al discloses a method for regulating use of electrical power by a medical imaging system (CT system) (10) (See Fig. 4 , Abstract, paragraph [0015]), comprising: an X-ray source (14) configured to emit X-rays (16) (paragraph [0020]); receiving, at a high efficiency power distribution unit (HFPDU) (400) for the medical imaging system (10) including a high voltage generator configured to provide power to the X-ray source, wherein the high efficiency power distribution unit comprises an active rectifier (424) that regulates the high voltage direct current, wherein the active rectifier comprises a passive three-phase diode bridge and two capacitors in a three-phase rectifier (412) (paragraph [0034]). Mekonnen et al is silent with regards to a three-phase Vienna rectifier topology. Nieberlein et al discloses a method for controlling a Vienna rectifier, comprising: an optimizing method for controlling a Vienna rectifier to balance DC-link voltage (col. 3, lines 54-65). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Mekonnen et al with the teaching of Nieberlein et al, so as to improve efficiency and lower voltage stress due to three-level operation.
Regarding claim 20, Mekonnen et al discloses wherein the medical imaging system comprises a computed tomography imaging system (CT system) (10) (See Fig. 4 , Abstract, paragraph [0015]).
Claim(s) 6, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mekonnen et al (US 2015/0085969 A1) in view of Mirzaei et al (WO 2024/049988 A1).
Regarding claims 6, 15, Mekonnen et al discloses all of the limitations of claims 5, 14, as described supra however, Mekonnen et al is silent with regards to condition as claimed. Mirzaei et al discloses a method and system for boosting power to a gantry of a medical imaging system comprising: conditions comprising sag voltage, low line (paragraph [0039]) at maximum gantry speed (paragraph [0021]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Mekonnen et al with the teaching of Mirzaei et al, so as to enable means to monitor for stable output voltage.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mekonnen et al (US 2015/0085969 A1) in view of Gordon et al (US 5,808,376 A).
Regarding claim 7, Mekonnen et al discloses all of the limitations of claim 5, as described supra however, Mekonnen et al is silent with regards to power efficiency as claimed. Gordon et al discloses a method of and apparatus for power management and distribution in a medical imaging system, comprising: a high efficiency power distribution unit has a power factor of 0.99 or greater at high power (i.e. greater than 94% overall efficiency) (col. 8, lines 36-46). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Mekonnen et al with the teaching of Gordon et al, so as to improve efficiency and lower voltage stress.
Conclusion
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884