DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph should include that SN 18/299,320 is now US Patent Number 12,028,780.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 13, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Siomina et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2011/0250906 (hereinafter Siomina).
Regarding claim 1, Siomina discloses a method comprising: obtaining, by a processing system including a processor of a network device, timing advance data associated with a communication device operating in a mobility network, wherein the obtaining the timing advance data comprises using control-plane data probing to obtain the timing advance data [paragraphs 0018, 0088, 0090]; processing, by the processing system, the timing advance data to determine information about a geolocation of the communication device [paragraphs 0090-0091]; storing, by the processing system, the information about the geolocation of the communication device [inherent to store the geolocation]; and providing, by the processing system, the information about the geolocation of the communication device to equipment of a network customer [paragraph 0092].
Regarding claim 11, Siomina discloses a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: performing control-plane data probing to obtain timing advance data of a communication device operating in a control plane session on a mobility network [paragraphs 0018, 0088, 0090]; determining a geolocation of the communication device based on the timing advance data of the communication device [paragraph 0090-0091]; storing information about the geolocation of the communication device at a storage device associated with the mobility network [inherent to store the geolocation]; receiving, in the control plane session, a query about the geolocation of the communication device [paragraphs 0089-0090]; and providing, in the control plane session, the geolocation of the communication device to equipment of a network customer [paragraph 0092].
Regarding claim 13, Siomina discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving the query from an application server, the query requesting the information about the geolocation of the communication device, wherein the receiving the query comprises receiving the query via a secure application programming interface; and providing, by the processing system, the information about the geolocation of the communication device to the application server [paragraphs 0089-0090].
Regarding claim 17, Siomina discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: obtaining timing advance data of a communication device operating in a control plane session on a mobility network [paragraphs 0088, 0090]; determining a geolocation of the communication device based on the timing advance data of the communication device [paragraphs 0090-0091]; storing information about the geolocation of the communication device at a storage device associated with the mobility network [inherent to store the geolocation]; receiving, in the control plane session, a query about the geolocation of the communication device [paragraphs 0089-0090]; and providing, in the control plane session, the geolocation of the communication device to equipment of a network customer [paragraph 0092].
Regarding claim 18, Siomina discloses wherein the obtaining the timing advance data of the communication device comprises: performing control-plane data probing to obtain the timing advance data [paragraph 0018].
Regarding claim 20, Siomina discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a query from an application server, wherein the query includes a request for information about the geolocation of the communication device, wherein the receiving the query comprises receiving the query via a secure application programming interface; and providing, by the processing system, the information about the geolocation of the communication device to the application server [paragraphs 0089-0090].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,228,865. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claim 1 is taught in patented claim 12 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding not requiring the communication device to engage in a user-plane session. Instant independent claim 11 is taught in patented claim 1 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding accessing the secure portion of the network. Instant independent claim 17 is taught in patented claim 17 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding not requiring the communication device to engage in a user-plane session.
Claims 1, 11, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 15, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,659,357. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claim 1 is taught in patented claim 1 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding not requiring the communication device to engage in a user-plane session. Instant independent claim 11 is taught in patented claim 1 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding not requiring the communication device to engage in a user-plane session. Instant independent claim 17 is taught in patented claim 16 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding not requiring the communication device to engage in a user-plane session. Instant dependent claim 15 is taught in patented claim 15. Instant dependent claims 17 and 19 are taught in patented claim 16.
Claims 1, 9-14, 16 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,028,780. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claim 1 is taught in patented claim 1 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding avoiding entry into a user-plane session. Instant dependent claims 9 and 10 are taught in patented claims 8 and 9, respectively. Instant independent claim 11 is taught in patented claim 11 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding avoiding entry into a user-plane session. Instant dependent claim 12 is taught in patented claims 5 and 6. Instant dependent claim 13 is taught in patented claim 14. Instant dependent claim 14 is taught in patented claim 12. Instant dependent claim 16 is taught in patented claim 11. Instant independent claim 17 is taught in patented claim 16 but is broader as it omits the limitation regarding avoiding entry into a user-plane session.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EAW/
June 22, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644