DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 11, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0013643 A1), hereinafter “Kim”, and further in view of Hellmann et al. (US 2015/0354953 A1), hereinafter “Hellmann”.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method for measuring bond front propagation during bonding (abstract, Figs. 1, 5-7), the method comprising:
illuminating, using a first laser beam from a first horizonal optical sensor (ref 410, paragraphs [0044], [0101]-[0102]), a gap between a first wafer (ref 220, paragraph [0019]) and a second wafer (ref 210, paragraph [0019]), the second wafer held by a second platen over the first wafer (ref 110, paragraph [0016], as shown in Fig. 1);
propagating a bond front to eliminate the gap and forming a bonded region between the first and the second wafers (as shown in Figs 1 and 5, paragraphs [0056]-[0057]);
while propagating the bond front, collecting, using the first horizonal optical sensor, a first collected laser beam, the first collected laser beam comprising a portion of the first collected laser beam from the bond front (paragraphs [0044]-[0047], [0101]-[0102]);
determining, using the first collected laser beam, a first distance (paragraph [0103]); and
determining, using the first distance, a first position of the bond front during the propagating (paragraphs [0102]-[0103]).
Kim is silent regarding a scattered laser beam, and determining a first distance from the first horizontal optical sensor to the location.
However, Hellmann teaches a laser sensor (abstract, Figs. 1A,B) configured to use a scattered laser beam (paragraph [0023]), and determining a first distance from the first horizontal optical sensor to an object location (paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Hellmann by including a scattered laser beam, and determining a first distance from the first horizontal optical sensor to the location as Kim merely teaches the specifics of measuring a bond front, but is silent to the type of distance sensor used. Kim contemplates that other elements or embodiments can be used, paragraph [0109]. One would use the sensor of Hellmann as it is a common type of distance measurement sensor to perform the claimed step.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the second platen comprises a vacuum nozzle, wherein the second wafer is held by the second platen using the vacuum nozzle (paragraph [0056]), but is silent regarding a plurality of vacuum nozzles.
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of vacuum nozzles as it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would have a plurality of vacuum nozzles to be able to operate the device using lower pressure at any single nozzle.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches an apparatus for measuring bond front propagation during direct bonding (abstract, Figs. 1, 5-7), the apparatus comprising:
a first platen (ref 120) for supporting a first wafer (ref 220, paragraph [0019);
a second platen (ref 110) for holding a second wafer (ref 210, paragraph [0019]); and
one or more first optical sensors (ref 410) disposed around the first and the second platens (as shown in Fig. 5), each of the one or more first optical sensors being configured to measure propagation data comprising bond front propagating between the first and the second wafers held between the first and the second platens (paragraphs [0044]-[0047], [0101]-[0102]).
Kim is silent regarding the data comprising a horizontal distance to a first location from the sensor.
However, Hellmann teaches a laser sensor measurement (abstract, Figs. 1A,B) wherein data comprising a horizontal distance to a first location from the sensor (paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Hellmann by including the data comprising a horizontal distance to a first location from the sensor as Kim merely teaches the specifics of measuring a bond front, but is silent to the type of distance sensor used. Kim contemplates that other elements or embodiments can be used, paragraph [0109]. One would use the sensor of Hellmann as it is a common type of distance measurement sensor to perform the measurement.
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a bonding pin configured to move through a central through hole disposed in the second platen (paragraphs [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches one or more processors coupled to a memory storing a program to be executed in the one or more processors, the program comprising instructions to calculate, from the propagation data, a contour of the bond front for a position of the bond front (ref 420, paragraph [0043], a 3D sensor determines a contour).
Claims 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hellmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takasaki et al. (US 2007/0194438 A1), hereinafter “Takasaki”.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches determining a contour of the bond front during the propagating (paragraph [0043], a 3D sensor determines a contour) but is silent regarding illuminating, using a second laser beam from a second horizontal optical sensor, the gap between the first wafer and the second wafer; while propagating the bond front, collecting, using the second horizontal optical sensor, a second scattered laser beam, the second scattered laser beam comprising a portion of the second laser beam after being scattered from the bond front; and determining, using the second scattered laser beam, a second distance from the second horizontal optical sensor to the bond front; and based on the first distance and the second distance, determining a contour of the bond front during the propagating.
However, Takasaki teaches bond displacement measurement (abstract, Fig. 7) including illuminating, using a second laser beam from a second horizontal optical sensor, the gap between the first wafer and the second wafer; while propagating the bond front, collecting, using the second horizontal optical sensor, a second scattered laser beam, the second scattered laser beam comprising a portion of the second laser beam after being scattered from the bond front; and determining, using the second scattered laser beam, a second distance from the second horizontal optical sensor to the bond front; and based on the first distance and the second distance, determining a contour of the bond front during the propagating (Fig 7 shows a first horizontal sensor 102, Fig. 27, refs 171, 172, 173, show a second sensor emitting light to perform contour measurement, paragraph [0178]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Takasaki by including illuminating, using a second laser beam from a second horizontal optical sensor, the gap between the first wafer and the second wafer; while propagating the bond front, collecting, using the second horizontal optical sensor, a second scattered laser beam, the second scattered laser beam comprising a portion of the second laser beam after being scattered from the bond front; and determining, using the second scattered laser beam, a second distance from the second horizontal optical sensor to the bond front; and based on the first distance and the second distance, determining a contour of the bond front during the propagating in order to have additional information about the wafer, needed for substrate clearance and measuring the parallelism between the wafer and the glass substrate, paragraph [0178].
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the contour of the bond front comprises an eccentricity of a shape of the bond front (paragraph [0047], a deformation is an eccentricity of a shape).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hellmann and Takasaki as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0365001 A1), hereinafter “Wang”.
Regarding claim 4, Kim is silent regarding wherein determining the contour comprises comparing an image comprising the first distance and the second distance with an image of stored bond process data using a machine learning model.
However, Wang teaches a bond measurement device (abstract) including wherein determining the contour comprises comparing an image comprising the first distance and the second distance with an image of stored bond process data using a machine learning model (paragraph [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Wang by including wherein determining the contour comprises comparing an image comprising the first distance and the second distance with an image of stored bond process data using a machine learning model in order to recognize defects quickly and accurately.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hellmann as applied to claims 1 and 5 or 1 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/0344197 A1), hereinafter “Chang”.
Regarding claim 6, Kim is silent regarding based on the first position of the bond front, changing a parameter of the plurality of vacuum nozzles.
However, Chang teaches a bonding measuring system (abstract, Figs. 4A-5A) including based on the first position of the bond front, changing a parameter of the plurality of vacuum nozzles (ref 442; paragraphs [0050], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including based on the first position of the bond front, changing a parameter of the plurality of vacuum nozzles in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Regarding claim 7, Kim is silent regarding wherein changing the parameter comprises: modifying a vacuum pressure associated with one of the vacuum nozzles; modifying a release time associated with one of the vacuum nozzles; modifying a selection of one of the vacuum nozzles for applying the vacuum pressure; or modifying a release sequence of one of the vacuum nozzles.
However, Chang teaches a bonding measuring system (abstract, Figs. 4A-5A) including wherein changing the parameter comprises: modifying a vacuum pressure associated with one of the vacuum nozzles; modifying a release time associated with one of the vacuum nozzles; modifying a selection of one of the vacuum nozzles for applying the vacuum pressure; or modifying a release sequence of one of the vacuum nozzles (paragraphs [0051], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including wherein changing the parameter comprises: modifying a vacuum pressure associated with one of the vacuum nozzles; modifying a release time associated with one of the vacuum nozzles; modifying a selection of one of the vacuum nozzles for applying the vacuum pressure; or modifying a release sequence of one of the vacuum nozzles in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Regarding claim 8, Kim is silent regarding based on the first position of the bond front, changing a release rate of the second wafer from the second platen.
However, Chang teaches a bonding measuring system (abstract, Figs. 4A-5A) including based on the first position of the bond front, changing a release rate of the second wafer from the second platen (paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including based on the first position of the bond front, changing a release rate of the second wafer from the second platen in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Regarding claim 9, Kim is silent regarding based on the first position of the bond front, generating a feedforward control signal for indicating a corrective action to be performed for a subsequent direct bonding process.
However, Chang teaches a bonding measuring system (abstract, Figs. 4A-5A) including based on the first position of the bond front, generating a feedforward control signal for indicating a corrective action to be performed for a subsequent direct bonding process (paragraphs [0050]-[0055], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including based on the first position of the bond front, generating a feedforward control signal for indicating a corrective action to be performed for a subsequent direct bonding process in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches determining a contour of the bond front based on the first position of the bond front (paragraph [0043]); but is silent regarding while propagating the bond front, further collecting, using a vertical optical sensor disposed in the second platen, a vertical displacement between the second wafer and the second platen, wherein determining the contour further comprises using the vertical displacement.
However, Chang teaches a bonding measuring system (abstract, Figs. 4A-5A) including while propagating the bond front, further collecting, using a vertical optical sensor disposed in the second platen (ref 416, paragraph [0054]), a vertical displacement between the second wafer and the second platen, wherein determining the contour further comprises using the vertical displacement (paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including while propagating the bond front, further collecting, using a vertical optical sensor disposed in the second platen, a vertical displacement between the second wafer and the second platen, wherein determining the contour further comprises using the vertical displacement in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hellmann as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 2021/0005475 A1), hereinafter “Lim”.
Regarding claim 13, Kim is silent regarding wherein the one or more first optical sensors comprise Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensors.
However, Lim teaches a device for measuring bonding propagation (abstract, Fig. 2) including wherein the one or more first optical sensors comprise Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensors (paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the teaching of Lim by including wherein the one or more first optical sensors comprise Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensors as Kim merely teaches the specifics of measuring a bond front, but is silent to the type of distance sensor used. Kim contemplates that other elements or embodiments can be used, paragraph [0109]. One would use the sensor of Lim as it is a common type of distance measurement sensor to perform the measurement.
Claims 14, 16, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hellmann as applied to claim 11 or 11 and 18 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/0344197 A1), hereinafter “Chang”.
Regarding claim 14, Kim is silent regarding one or more second optical sensors disposed in the second platen, the second optical sensors being configured to collect one or more vertical displacements between the second wafer and the second platen while the bond front propagates.
However, Chang teaches a device for measuring bonding propagation (abstract, Fig. 4C, 6A) including one or more second optical sensors disposed in the second platen, the second optical sensors being configured to collect one or more vertical displacements between the second wafer and the second platen while the bond front propagates (paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including one or more second optical sensors disposed in the second platen, the second optical sensors being configured to collect one or more vertical displacements between the second wafer and the second platen while the bond front propagates as Kim merely teaches the specifics of measuring a bond front, but is silent to the type of distance sensor used. Kim contemplates that other elements or embodiments can be used, paragraph [0109]. One would use the sensor of Chang as it is a common type of distance measurement sensor to perform the measurement.
Regarding claim 16, Kim is silent regarding wherein the second optical sensors are arranged at different radial angle at a same radial location.
However, Chang teaches a device for measuring bonding propagation (abstract, Fig. 4C, 6A) including wherein the second optical sensors are arranged at different radial angle at a same radial location (as shown in Fig. 4C, paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including wherein the second optical sensors are arranged at different radial angle at a same radial location in order to detect displacement symmetrically, to determine if there are any irregularities.
Regarding claim 17, Kim is silent regarding wherein the second optical sensors are arranged at multiple radial locations at multiple radial angles.
However, Chang teaches a device for measuring bonding propagation (abstract, Fig. 4C, 6A) including wherein the second optical sensors are arranged at multiple radial locations at multiple radial angles (as shown in Fig. 4C, paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including wherein the second optical sensors are arranged at multiple radial locations at multiple radial angles in order to detect displacement symmetrically, to determine if there are any irregularities.
Regarding claim 19, Kim is silent regarding wherein the second platen comprises a vacuum chuck comprising a plurality of vacuum zones, the program comprising instructions to determine a release time for each of the plurality of vacuum zones based on the propagation data.
However, Chang teaches a device for measuring bonding propagation (abstract, Fig. 4C, 6A) including wherein the second platen comprises a vacuum chuck comprising a plurality of vacuum zones, the program comprising instructions to determine a release time for each of the plurality of vacuum zones based on the propagation data (paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including wherein the second platen comprises a vacuum chuck comprising a plurality of vacuum zones, the program comprising instructions to determine a release time for each of the plurality of vacuum zones based on the propagation data in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hellmann as applied to claims 11 and 14 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 2021/0005475 A1), hereinafter “Lim”.
Regarding claim 15, Kim is silent regarding wherein the second optical sensors comprise Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensors.
However, Lim teaches a device for measuring bonding propagation (abstract, Fig. 2) including wherein the second optical sensors comprise Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensors (paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the teaching of Lim by including wherein the second optical sensors comprise Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensors as Kim merely teaches the specifics of measuring a bond front, but is silent to the type of distance sensor used. Kim contemplates that other elements or embodiments can be used, paragraph [0109]. One would use the sensor of Lim as it is a common type of distance measurement sensor to perform the measurement.
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0013643 A1), hereinafter “Kim”, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2022/0344197 A1), hereinafter “Chang”.
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a method for controlling a direct bonding process (abstract, Figs. 1, 5-7), the method comprising:
aligning a second wafer (ref 210, paragraph [0019]) disposed in a second platen (ref 110) over a first wafer (ref 220, paragraph [0019]) supported by a first platen (ref 120);
striking the second wafer to initiate propagation of a bond front between the first wafer and the second wafer (via ref 130, paragraph [0016]); and
measuring a rate of bond front propagation (paragraphs [0047], [0103]); and
Kim is silent regarding during the propagation of the bond front, performing a control loop cycle, one cycle of the control loop cycle comprising: based on the measured rate of bond front propagation, generating a control signal to change a release rate of the second wafer from the second platen.
However, Chang teaches bonding measuring system (abstract, Figs. 4A-5A) including during the propagation of the bond front, performing a control loop cycle, one cycle of the control loop cycle comprising (Fig. 9, refs 1030, 1040, 1050): based on the measured rate of bond front propagation, generating a control signal to change a release rate of the second wafer from the second platen (paragraphs [0050]-[0055], [0065], ref 1050).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including during the propagation of the bond front, performing a control loop cycle, one cycle of the control loop cycle comprising: based on the measured rate of bond front propagation, generating a control signal to change a release rate of the second wafer from the second platen in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches wherein the second platen comprises a vacuum nozzle (paragraph [0056]), but is silent regarding a plurality of vacuum nozzles and wherein the control signal comprises information to change a vacuum pressure associated with one of the vacuum nozzles, a release time associated with one of the vacuum nozzles, a selection of one of the vacuum nozzles for applying the vacuum pressure, or a release sequence of one of the vacuum nozzles.
However, Chang teaches a plurality of vacuum nozzles (Fig. 4A, ref 442, paragraph [0050]) and wherein the control signal comprises information to change a vacuum pressure associated with one of the vacuum nozzles, a release time associated with one of the vacuum nozzles, a selection of one of the vacuum nozzles for applying the vacuum pressure, or a release sequence of one of the vacuum nozzles (paragraphs [0051], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including a plurality of vacuum nozzles and wherein the control signal comprises information to change a vacuum pressure associated with one of the vacuum nozzles, a release time associated with one of the vacuum nozzles, a selection of one of the vacuum nozzles for applying the vacuum pressure, or a release sequence of one of the vacuum nozzles in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Chang, as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Hellmann et al. (US 2015/0354953 A1), hereinafter “Hellmann”.
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches optically measuring the rate of bond front to a plane between the first wafer and the second wafer (paragraphs [0044]-[0047], [0101]-[0102]) but is silent regarding wherein measuring the optically measuring a horizontal distance of the location to a first optical sensor aligned to emit a light beam parallel to a plane on the location, the control signal being generated based on the horizontal distance.
However, Hellmann teaches a laser sensor (abstract, Figs. 1A,B) wherein measuring the optically measuring a horizontal distance of the location to a first optical sensor aligned to emit a light beam parallel to a plane on the location (paragraph [0023]).
Furthermore, Chang teaches a bonding measuring system (abstract, Figs. 4A-5A) including the control signal being generated based on the horizontal distance. (paragraphs [0050]-[0055], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang and Hellman by including wherein measuring the optically measuring a horizontal distance of the location to a first optical sensor aligned to emit a light beam parallel to a plane on the location, the control signal being generated based on the horizontal distance in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Regarding claim 22, Kim is silent regarding wherein the one cycle of the control loop cycle further comprises optically measuring, using a second optical sensor, a vertical distance between the second wafer and the second platen, wherein the control signal is determined based on both the horizontal distance and the vertical distance.
However, Chang teaches wherein the one cycle of the control loop cycle further comprises optically measuring, using a second optical sensor (Fig. 4A, ref 416, paragraph [0054]), a vertical distance between the second wafer and the second platen (paragraph [0054]), wherein the control signal is determined based on both the horizontal distance and the vertical distance (paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kim with the teaching of Chang by including wherein the one cycle of the control loop cycle further comprises optically measuring, using a second optical sensor, a vertical distance between the second wafer and the second platen, wherein the control signal is determined based on both the horizontal distance and the vertical distance in order to modulate the pressure during bonding, preventing defects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hayashi (US 9586391) teaches a bonding device including a sensor to measure a bonding distance.
Gabriel (US 2008/02850059) teaches a vertical sensor in a bonding device.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877