Attorney Docket Number: 142348-0603
Filling Date: 5/30/24
Priority Date: 06/06/23
Inventor: Houck
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cok (US 7,402, 951 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Cok discloses an emitter (Figs. 13. 16, col. 3, lines 1-60, col. 4 lines 1-60), comprising: a light emission region 14 configured to emit light associated with a first optical spectrum (OLED); a light emission surface 38 (col. 10, line 50); and an optical element 22, 24, 26 disposed on the light emission surface 38, wherein: a first surface 22 of the optical element, which contacts the light emission surface 38, is configured to reflect light associated with the first optical spectrum, a second surface of the optical element 26, opposite the first surface of the optical element 22, is configured to absorb light associated with a second optical spectrum (Inherent, claim does not specify wavelength), and at least one aperture 25 is formed in the optical element.
Regarding claim 9, Cok discloses the emitter of claim 1, wherein the optical element 22, 24, 26 is an optical thin film (claim does not specify how thin it is).
Regarding claim 10, Cok discloses the emitter of claim 1, wherein the at least one aperture 25 has one of a: a round shape, or a polygonal shape (Fig. 15a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok (US 7,402, 951 B2) in view of Chua et al (US 7,714,340 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Cok does not explicitly disclose the emitter of claim 1, wherein the optical element comprises a plurality of layers, wherein: at least one layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a metal material; and at least one other layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a dielectric material.
However, Chua discloses the optical element comprises a plurality of layers 114, 116 (Fig. 3, col. 4, lines 1-65), wherein: at least one layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a metal material 116 (claim 3); and at least one other layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a dielectric material 112 (claim 1).
Chua teaches the above modification is used to improve device efficiency of the device (col. 1, lines 5-10). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Cok optical element material with Chua optical element material as suggested above to improve device efficiency of the device (col. 1, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 13, Cok does not explicitly disclose the optical device of claim 12, wherein each optical element comprises a plurality of layers, wherein: at least one layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a metal material; and at least one other layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a dielectric material.
However, Chua discloses wherein each optical element comprises a plurality of layers 114, 116 (Fig. 3, col. 4, lines 1-65), wherein: at least one layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a metal material 116 (claim 3); and at least one other layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a dielectric material 112 (claim 1).
Chua teaches the above modification is used to improve device efficiency of the device (col. 1, lines 5-10). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Cok optical element material with Chua optical element material as suggested above to improve device efficiency of the device (col. 1, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 17, Cok does not explicitly disclose the wafer of claim 16, wherein each optical element comprises a plurality of layers, wherein: at least one layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a metal material; and at least one other layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a dielectric material.
However, Chua discloses wherein each optical element comprises a plurality of layers 114, 116 (Fig. 3, col. 4, lines 1-65), wherein: at least one layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a metal material 116 (claim 3); and at least one other layer, of the plurality of layers, includes at least a dielectric material 112 (claim 1).
Chua teaches the above modification is used to improve device efficiency of the device (col. 1, lines 5-10). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Cok optical element material with Chua optical element material as suggested above to improve device efficiency of the device (col. 1, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 3, Cok discloses the emitter of claim 1, wherein the second optical spectrum is at least partially co-extensive with the first optical spectrum (obvious to have multiple spectrum 14).
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok (US 7,402, 951 B2) in view of Wortman et al (US 2002/0141194 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Cok does not explicitly disclose the emitter of claim 1, wherein the first surface of the optical element is configured to reflect at least a threshold percentage of light associated with the first optical spectrum, wherein the threshold percentage is greater than or equal to at least one of: 50%, 75%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99%, or 99.5%.
However, Wortman discloses reflection at normal incidence (Paras. 43, 44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the first surface of the optical element is configured to reflect at least a threshold percentage of light associated with the first optical spectrum, wherein the threshold percentage is greater than or equal to at least one of: 50%, 75%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99%, or 99.5% for improving brightness (Para. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Cok does not explicitly disclose the emitter of claim 4, wherein the first surface of the optical element is configured to reflect at least the threshold percentage of light associated with the first optical spectrum when the light impinges on the first surface at an incidence angle that is less than an incidence angle threshold, wherein the incidence angle threshold is less than or equal to at least one of:
5 degrees, 10 degrees, 15 degrees, 25 degrees, 35 degrees, 50 degrees, 60 degrees, or 75 degrees.
However, Wortman discloses reflection at normal incidence (Paras. 43, 44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the first surface of the optical element is configured to reflect at least the threshold percentage of light associated with the first optical spectrum when the light impinges on the first surface at an incidence angle that is less than an incidence angle threshold, wherein the incidence angle threshold is less than or equal to at least one of: 5 degrees, 10 degrees, 15 degrees, 25 degrees, 35 degrees, 50 degrees, 60 degrees, or 75 degrees for improving brightness (Para. 10).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok (US 7,402, 951 B2) in view of Nagarajan et al (5,760,939).
Regarding claim 11, Cok does not explicitly disclose the emitter of claim 1, wherein the optical element has a maximum junction temperature within a temperature range from 85 degrees Celsius to 150 degrees Celsius.
However, Nagarajan discloses the optical element has a maximum junction temperature within a temperature range from 85 degrees Celsius to 150 degrees Celsius (Col. 10, claims 43-53). Nagarajan teaches the above modification is used to reduce noise of the device (col. 1, lines 13-20). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cok structure with Nagarajan junction temperature as suggested above to reduce noise of the device (col. 1, lines 13-20).
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok (US 7,402, 951 B2) in view of Chua et al (US 7,714,340 B2) and further in view of Hamam et al (9,057,830).
Regarding claim 6, Cok does not explicitly disclose the emitter of claim 1, wherein the second surface of the optical element is configured to absorb at least a threshold percentage of light associated with the second optical spectrum, wherein the threshold percentage greater than or equal to at least one of: 50%, 75%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99%, or 99.5%.
However, Hamam discloses the second surface of the optical element is configured to absorb at least a threshold percentage of light associated with the second optical spectrum, wherein the threshold percentage greater than or equal to at least one of: 50%, 75%, 85%, 90%, 95%, 99%, or 99.5% (col. 6, lines 14-40, incident electromagnetic radiation).
Hamam teaches the above modification is used to improve conversion (col. 4, lines 46-47). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Cok reflective surface with Hamam reflective surface as suggested above to improve conversion (col. 4, lines 46-47).
Regarding claim 7, Hamam further discloses the emitter of claim 6, wherein the second surface of the optical element is configured to absorb at least the threshold percentage of light associated with the second optical spectrum when the light impinges on the second surface at an incidence angle that is less than an incidence angle threshold, wherein the incidence angle threshold is less than or equal to at least one of:
5 degrees, 10 degrees, 15 degrees, 25 degrees, 35 degrees, 50 degrees, 60 degrees, or 75 degrees 3 (col. 6, lines 14-40, incident electromagnetic radiation).
Claim(s) 8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok (US 7,402, 951 B2) in view of Bugaud et al (US 2004/0141676 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Cok does not explicitly disclose the emitter of claim 1, wherein the first optical spectrum has a spectral width greater than or equal to at least one of: 25 nanometers (nm), 30 nm, 35 nm, or 40 nm.
However, Bugaud discloses the first optical spectrum has a spectral width greater than or equal to at least one of: 25 nanometers (nm), 30 nm, 35 nm, or 40 nm (Para. 303). Bugaud teaches the above modification is used to obtain particular spectrum (Para. 303).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cok structure with Bugaud spectrum as suggested above to obtain particular spectrum (Para. 303).
Regarding claim 14, Cok does not explicitly disclose the optical device of claim 12, wherein the first optical spectrum has a spectral width greater than or equal to at least one of: 25 nanometers (nm), 30 nm, 35 nm, or 40 nm.
However, Bugaud discloses the first optical spectrum has a spectral width greater than or equal to at least one of: 25 nanometers (nm), 30 nm, 35 nm, or 40 nm (Para. 303). Bugaud teaches the above modification is used to obtain particular spectrum (Para. 303).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cok structure with Bugaud spectrum as suggested above to obtain particular spectrum (Para. 303).
Regarding claim 19, Cok does not explicitly disclose the wafer of claim 16, wherein the first optical spectrum has a spectral width greater than or equal to at least one of: 25 nanometers (nm), 30 nm, 35 nm, or 40 nm.
However, Bugaud discloses the first optical spectrum has a spectral width greater than or equal to at least one of: 25 nanometers (nm), 30 nm, 35 nm, or 40 nm (Para. 303). Bugaud teaches the above modification is used to obtain particular spectrum (Para. 303).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cok structure with Bugaud spectrum as suggested above to obtain particular spectrum (Para. 303).
Claim(s) 12, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok (US 7,402, 951 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Cok discloses an optical device (Figs. 13, 15), comprising: a plurality of emitters 14, 36 (col. 8, lines 1-10); a plurality of optical elements 22, 24, 26 respectively disposed on light emission surfaces of the plurality of emitters 14, 36, wherein for each optical element 22, 24, 26: a first surface of the optical element 22, that is disposed on a light emission surface of an emitter 14, 36, is configured to reflect light associated with a first optical spectrum (inherent); a second surface of the optical element 26 is configured to absorb light associated with a second optical spectrum (inherent); and at least one aperture 25 is formed in the optical element 22, 24, 26.
Cok does not explicitly disclose the first optical spectrum and second optical spectrum. However, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to emit one spectrum from the LED device and absorbing layer will absorb some of the light for intended purposes.
Regarding claim 16, Cok discloses a wafer (Figs. 13, 15), comprising: a plurality of emitters 14, 36; a plurality of optical elements 22, 24, 26 respectively disposed on the plurality of emitters 14, 36, wherein for each optical element 22, 24, 26: a first surface of the optical element 22, that is disposed on a surface of an emitter 14, is configured to reflect light associated with a first optical spectrum (inherent); a second surface of the optical element 26 is configured to absorb light associated with a second optical spectrum (inherent); and at least one aperture 25 is formed in the optical element 22, 24, 26.
Cok does not explicitly disclose first optical spectrum and second optical spectrum. However, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to emit one spectrum from the LED device and absorbing layer will absorb some of the light for intended purposes.
Regarding claim 18, Cok discloses wafer of claim 16, wherein each emitter 14 is configured to emit light associated with the first optical spectrum 22.
Regarding claim 20, Cok discloses wafer of claim 16, wherein each emitter is a light-emitting diode (LED) 14.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok (US 7,402, 951 B2) in view of Hamam et al (9,057,830).
Regarding claim 15, Cok does not explicitly disclose the optical device of claim 12, wherein the second optical spectrum includes a wavelength range from 380 to 780 nanometers.
However, Cok discloses all structural limitations as claimed in claim 12.
Also, Hamam discloses claimed optical spectrum and the threshold percentage (col. 6, lines 14-40, incident electromagnetic radiation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the second optical spectrum includes a wavelength range from 380 to 780 nanometers for intended purposes.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817