DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/01/2025; 04/21/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant's Response to Election/Restriction filed on September 18, 2026. No claims amendment are made in the response filed on 09/18/2026.
The latest version of the claims is Claim Amendment filed on - 08/06/2024.
Claims 45-64 are currently pending, with claims 54-64 withdrawn.
Claims 45-53 are under examination. This is the first action on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 45 is objected to because of the following informalities:
• In claim 45, lines 3-4, "a second oligonucleotide strand hybridized to the first nucleotide strand" should read "a second oligonucleotide strand hybridized to the first oligonucleotide strand."
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the following species in the reply filed on September 18, 2026 is acknowledged:
Species of sequencing method: A) sequencing method using nick translation as shown in FIG. 5B (claim 45; consistent with FIG.1)1.
Applicant's traversal is on the ground that "the generic claim includes sufficiently few species that a search and examination of all the species at one time would not impose a serious burden on the Examiner." (Remarks, page 5).
This is not found persuasive. As noted in the restriction requirement, no claim is generic to the identified species (see Response to Election / Restriction Filed - 09/18/2026, page 3). Applicant's remarks refers to a generic claim but does not identify any claim that is generic to the species. Accordingly, Applicant's argument is not applicable to the restriction requirement as set forth and does not establish that the requirement is improper.
In this instant case, the requirement for species election is properly made.
As stated in the restriction requirement (mail date 07/29/2026), and reiterated here:
The species are independent or distinct because the different species recite separate characteristics of such species, and there is no disclosure of relationship between species (see MPEP § 806.04(b)). In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record. The species necessitate separate searches, leading to serious search and/or examination burden (see MPEP § 808.01(a)) because the Species of sequencing method reflect alternative method embodiments in the disclosure, requiring different steps and materials, resulting in separate searches.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: The species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species; and/or the species are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Therefore, these species in the species of method are directed to independent and patentably distinct inventions, and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if species election is not required. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 54-64 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Claims 45-53 are under consideration.
Priority
The priority date of the instant claims 45-51 is 05/31/2023, filling date of the US provisional application NO. 63/470,050.
Regarding claims 52-53, the earliest priority is 05/30/2024, the filling date of the instant U.S. nonprovisional application, because the instant application is the first to disclose a flap nuclease operably linked to a second protein, wherein the second protein comprises a "sequence-nonspecific DNA binding domain."
Claim Interpretation
In evaluating the patentability of the claims presented in this application, claim terms have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, as outlined in MPEP§ 2111.
For the purpose of applying prior art, the recitation "sequencing … as the primer is extended" in claim 45 is interpreted under BRI as sequencing that occurs during the course of primer extension. The language is construed as not require sequencing (e.g., detecting nucleotide incorporation to determine the template sequence) to occur simultaneously with primer extension. Rather, sequencing may occur at any time while the primer-extension process is ongoing.
For example, this interpretation encompasses sequencing-by-synthesis methods in which primer extension and detection occur in successive steps or cycles, such that the sequence is progressively determined as the primer is extended.
For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 45 recites “a free 3′ end of the primer.”
Under BRI and in light of the specification, a “free 3′ end” is interpreted as a 3’ end that is not attached or bound to a surface.
This interpretation is consistent with the specification. Para.[0052] describes a “surface oligonucleotide is attached through the surface at the 5′ end and has a free 3′ end.”
Similarly, para.[0093] describes an unbound template as “free.”
Accordingly, the term “free” within the claimed context is interpreted as referring to the absence of attachment or binding to a surface.
For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 45 recites “sequencing by synthesis,” which is not expressly defined in the application’s disclosure.
Accordingly, under BRI and based on the commonly understood meaning by one of ordinary skill in the art 2, “sequencing by synthesis” is interpreted as encompassing polynucleotide synthesis reactions in which the reaction products are measured to obtain nucleic acid sequence information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 45-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boutell 3(WO2023126457A1- Methods of nucleic acid sequencing using surface-bound primers; effective filing date December 28 2022; Published on 2023-07-06).
Regarding claim 45, Boutell teaches a nucleotide sequencing method comprising:
(a) providing a surface-bound double-stranded oligonucleotide complex (FIG. 5; [0203]-[0204]) comprising
a first oligonucleotide strand (FIG. 5, 20; [0204] “a first surface oligonucleotide 20”),
a second oligonucleotide strand hybridized to the first nucleotide strand (FIG. 5, 3O'b(c); [0204]), and
a primer hybridized to the first oligonucleotide strand (FIG. 5, 41; [0204] second surface primer 41),
wherein the first oligonucleotide strand has a 5′ end bound to a surface (FIG. 5, 20; [0204] “The first surface oligonucleotide 20 is bound to the surface 15 at its 5' end”), and
wherein a free 3′ end of the primer is hybridized to a nucleotide of the first oligonucleotide strand that is 3′ of a nucleotide of the first oligonucleotide strand to which a 5′ end of the second oligonucleotide strand is hybridized (FIG. 5; [00207], the primer 41 has a free, extendable 3’ end hybridized to the 3’ end of first surface oligonucleotide 20, which also hybridizes to the 5’ end of 3O'b(c) );
(b) extending the primer from the free 3′ end using the first oligonucleotide strand as a template and sequencing at least a portion of the first oligonucleotide strand via sequencing by synthesis as the primer is extended (FIG. 5; [00207], “[00207] In step R of FIG. 5, at least a portion of the first polynucleotide template 30a is sequenced as the first read region 31. Sequencing may include sequencing by synthesis where the second surface primer 41 is enzymatically extended in the 5 ' to 3 ' direction thereby creating a portion of a second polynucleotide template 30 'a that is complementary to the first polynucleotide template 30a.”); and
(c) nicking the second strand to remove a 5′ portion of the second strand before, during, or after one or more nucleotides are added to extend the primer in step (b) (FIG. 5; [00207], “In double stranded surface sequencing by nick translation, nucleotides on the strand ahead (cleaved fourth polynucleotide 3O'b(c)) of the growing first read region 31 are removed via nick translation”; see also [00211] –[00212]).
Regarding claim 46, Boutell teaches wherein the second strand is nicked in step (c) before, during, or after each nucleotide is added to extend the primer in step (b) ([00211] “for every SBS incorporation cycle where a nucleotide is added onto the growing read strand 31, a flap nuclease removes one or more nucleotide on the cleaved fourth polynucleotide 3O'b(c).”; [0203] "the flap nuclease having endonuclease or exonuclease activity recognizes a nick or break in a single strand of the double stranded DNA and introduces a nick in the nicked strand at a location 3' of the recognized nick or break").
Regarding claim 47, Boutell teaches wherein the second strand is nicked in step (c) after more than one nucleotide is added to extend the primer in step (b) ([00211] “ a flap nuclease may prevent the formation and/or remove an impeding strand flap (i.e., one or more nucleotides forming a single strand of DNA that has been displaced from the template strand)”; [00212] “ flap nuclease is added after a number of sequencing cycles”).
Regarding claim 48, Boutell teaches wherein nicking the second strand to remove a 5′ portion of the second strand comprises removing nucleotides and/or oligonucleotides from the second strand using a flap nuclease (FIG. 5; [00212] “After a predetermined number of SBS cycles where a flap has formed, a flap nuclease may be introduced to nick the cleaved fourth polynucleotide 3O'b(c) such that the displaced portion of the cleaved fourth polynucleotide 3O'b(c) is cleaved. ”).
Regarding claim 49, Boutell teaches FEN1 ([000210] FEN1).
Regarding claim 50, Boutell teaches wherein the flap nuclease is operably linked to a second protein ([00213] “a flap nuclease is operably linked to a DNA polymerase forming a polymerase-flap nuclease construct”).
Regarding claim 51, Boutell teaches wherein the second protein comprises a polymerase ([00213] “a flap nuclease is operably linked to a DNA polymerase forming a polymerase-flap nuclease construct”).
Regarding claims 52-53, they recite:
52. The method of claim 51, wherein the dsDNA binding domain comprises a sequence-nonspecific DNA binding domain.
53. The method of claim 52, wherein the DNA binding domain comprises Sso7d.
Claims 52-53 are anticipated by Boutell because they do not further distinguish the claimed method from the prior art.
Specifically, claims 52-53 further describe an alternative conditional limitation (e.g., a dsDNA binding domain) stemming from base claim 51, which requires only that one of the recited conditions be satisfied (e.g., "wherein the second protein comprises a polymerase or a dsDNA binding domain").
Claims 52-53 do not require the second protein to comprises a dsDNA binding domain. Rather, they merely further describe the dsDNA binding domain, which remains an alternative to "the second protein comprises a polymerase."
Since Boutell teaches the required "second protein comprises a polymerase" condition of claim 51, as discussed above, the descriptive limitations for another alternative condition recited in claims 52-53 are not required to be met. Accordingly, Boutell anticipates claims 52-53.
Double Patenting- Obvious Type
Claims 45-46 and 48-53 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 9-11 of copending Application No. 18/089,867 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the claims (filed on 08/07/2026) of the '867 application.
Instant claim 45 recites:
A nucleotide sequencing method comprising:
(a) providing a surface-bound double-stranded oligonucleotide complex (‘867 Application, claim 1) comprising
a first oligonucleotide strand (‘867 Application, claim 1, first polynucleotide template covalently bound to the 3' end of the first surface oligonucleotide, the first surface oligonucleotide bound to the surface at a 5' end),
a second oligonucleotide strand hybridized to the first nucleotide strand (‘867 Application, claim 2/1, fourth polynucleotide template complementary to the first polynucleotide template), and
a primer hybridized to the first oligonucleotide strand (‘867 Application, claim 1, second surface primer),
wherein the first oligonucleotide strand has a 5′ end bound to a surface (‘867 Application, claim 1, first polynucleotide template covalently bound to the 3' end of the first surface oligonucleotide, the first surface oligonucleotide bound to the surface at a 5' end), and
wherein a free 3′ end of the primer is hybridized to a nucleotide of the first oligonucleotide strand that is 3′ of a nucleotide of the first oligonucleotide strand to which a 5′ end of the second oligonucleotide strand is hybridized (‘867 Application, claim 2/1, the cleaved fourth polynucleotide template producing the second surface primer and a cleaved fourth polynucleotide template having a free 5' end and a free 3' end);
(b) extending the primer from the free 3′ end using the first oligonucleotide strand as a template and sequencing at least a portion of the first oligonucleotide strand via sequencing by synthesis as the primer is extended (‘867 Application, claim 1); and
(c) nicking the second strand to remove a 5′ portion of the second strand before, during, or after one or more nucleotides are added to extend the primer in step (b) (‘867 Application, claim 10, polymerase is operably linked to the flap nuclease in a polymerase-flap nuclease construct, as the polymerase-flap nuclease construct is positioned at 3’ end of the extension end and 5’ end of the cleaved fourth polynucleotide template, a skilled artisan would have readily understood that it is the 5’ end of fourth polynucleotide template that is nicked by the flap nuclease ).
Therefore, instant claim 45 is anticipated by claims 1-2 and 10 of the '867 application. Instant claims 48-53 are anticipated by claims 9-11 of the '867 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art
Below are relevant prior art not used in rejection but pertinent to the claims or disclosure.
Vijayan (US20170022553A1- Nucleic acid sequencing methods and systems; Published 2017-01-26) also teaches methods of sequencing of a surface-bound double-stranded oligonucleotide complex; see Example 10. Sequencing Double Stranded DNA by Nick Translation”;
Horn(US20150368626A1- Polymerase Compositions, Methods of Making and Using Same ; Published on 2015-12-24) also teaches flap nuclease linked to a polymerase.
Conclusion
Claim 45 is objected to; claims 45-53 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/TIAN NMN YU/Examiner , Art Unit 1681
1 Claims 54-64 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species B-E.
2 See Levy SE, Myers RM. Advancements in Next-Generation Sequencing. Annu Rev Genomics Hum Genet. 2016 Aug 31;17:95-115. doi: 10.1146/annurev-genom-083115-022413. Epub 2016 Jun 9. PMID: 27362342; page 98:
“sequencing-by-synthesis reaction in which the products of the reaction are measured to produce sequencing data… . Sequencing-by-synthesis reactions performed by Illumina, Ion Torrent, Pacific Biosciences, and Roche 454 platforms utilize a polymerase reaction, whereas the former Applied Biosystems SOLiD platform and the Polonator platform use a ligation-mediated synthesis. “
See also data-science-sequencing; Lecture 2: Basics of DNA & Sequencing by Synthesis; Thursday 11 January 2018; pages 6-7.
3 Boutell qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), because it has an effective filing date earlier than the effective filing date of the instant application. Boutell "names another inventor" (e.g. Jonathan Mark Boutell).