DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (6,294,439), hereinafter Sasaki in view of Masuko et al. (10,784,165), hereinafter Masuko, and Sekiya (2004/0072388).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches a manufacturing method for manufacturing a plurality of chips by dividing a workpiece with a plurality of intersecting streets set thereon, the manufacturing method substantially as claimed except for the limitation in the bolded texts comprising:
a cutting step of cutting one surface of the workpiece by a cutting blade 24 to thereby form cut grooves 22 along the streets, the cut grooves having peripheral surfaces between each of the plurality of chips and a groove bottom having a tip; and
a grinding step (grinding tool 28) of grinding another surface on a side opposite to the one surface of the workpiece to thereby thin the workpiece to a finish thickness of reaching the cut grooves and to divide the workpiece into the plurality of chips, after the cutting step is carried out,
wherein the cut grooves are formed such that the groove bottom has flat surfaces inclined relative to the peripheral surfaces, the flat surfaces connecting the respective peripheral surfaces and the tip of the groove bottom, and, in the grinding step, a tip of the groove bottom is ground before any other portion of the cut groove.
See Figs. 8, 9 and 11; and col. 9, lines 32-40.
Sasaki teaches that the grind step can stop between the tip of the groove and the thickness of the finished chip which is region B. When region B is partially ground, the bottom of the groove is tapered in in the same manner as the claimed invention. However, to the degree the Applicant would argue that to stop the grinding process in the B region is not obvious to one skilled in the art, the following alternate rejection is provided.
Masuko teaches a method of manufacturing chip comprising a cutting step for making grooves 20 having a tapered bottom (20a). See Fig. 1E and 4. The tapered bottom of the grooves generates a flared bottom of finished chips (Fig. 4). Masuko further teaches that the flared end bottom of the finished chips would space out the finished chips during transporting which reduces collision among the chips which leads to quality improvement of the chips. See col. 4, lines 53-63.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Sasaki such that the grind step is stopped in region B to form the finished chips having a flared bottom as taught by Masuko for spacing out the finished chips during transporting which reduces collision among the chips which leads to quality improvement of the chips.
Sasaki does not teach “wherein the cut grooves are formed such that the groove bottom has flat surfaces inclined relative to the peripheral surfaces, the flat surfaces connecting the respective peripheral surfaces and the tip of the groove bottom”.
Sekiya teaches the art equivalent of a groove having a V shaped tip (19B) and a groove having a U shaped tip (19A) in making grooves on a semiconductor chip. See Figs. 7 and 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make V-shaped tip in Sasaki since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious to one skilled in the art. See MPEP. 2144.06.
Regarding claim 2, the depths of the grooves being greater than the finished thickness of the finished chips are best seen in Fig. 9 in Sasaki.
Regarding claim 3, the blade reducing its thickness toward its tip as evidenced in section B of the grooves. See Fig. 9 in Sasaki.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the modified method of Sasaki discloses the claimed invention except for the angle of the tip of the groove between 120-160 degrees. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the angle of the tip of the groove between 120-160 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (6,294,439), hereinafter Sasaki in view of Masuko et al. (10,784,165), hereinafter Masuko, and Sekiya (2004/0072388) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Martin (2021/0082760).
The modified method of Sasaki teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the cutting blade having one inclined surface.
Martin teaches grooves on a chip having a V-shape 17 and half V-shape 67, and corresponding blades (10, 12) for making those types of groove. See 3B and 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a half V-shape blade as taught by Martin to run twice on a groove to make a V-shaped groove instead of changing a new blade to reduce blade installation time.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (6,294,439), hereinafter Sasaki in view of Masuko et al. (10,784,165), hereinafter Masuko, Genda et al. (2005/0106782), hereinafter Genda.
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki teaches a manufacturing method for manufacturing a plurality of chips by dividing a workpiece with a plurality of intersecting streets set thereon, the manufacturing method comprising:
a cutting step of cutting one surface of the workpiece by a cutting blade 24 to thereby form cut grooves 22 along the streets, the cut grooves having peripheral surfaces between each of the plurality of chips and a groove bottom having a tip: and
a grinding step (grinding tool 28) of grinding another surface on a side opposite to the one surface of the workpiece to thereby thin the workpiece to a finish thickness of reaching the cut grooves and to divide the workpiece into the plurality of chips, after the cutting step is carried out,
wherein, in the cutting step, the cutting blade is caused to cut into each street a plurality of times with a cutting-in depth and a cutting-in position varied using the same cutting blade, and, in the grinding step, a tip of the groove bottom is ground before any other portion of the cut groove.
See Figs. 8, 9 and 11; and col. 9, lines 32-40.
Sasaki teaches that the grind step can stop between the tip of the groove and the thickness of the finished chip which is region B. When region B is partially ground, the bottom of the groove is tapered in in the same manner as the claimed invention. However, to the degree the Applicant would argue that to stop the grinding process in the B region is not obvious to one skilled in the art, the following alternate rejection is provided.
Masuko teaches a method of manufacturing chip comprising a cutting step for making grooves 20 having a tapered bottom (20a). See Fig. 1E and 4. The tapered bottom of the grooves generates a flared bottom of finished chips (Fig. 4). Masuko further teaches that the flared end bottom of the finished chips would space out the finished chips during transporting which reduces collision among the chips which leads to quality improvement of the chips. See col. 4, lines 53-63.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Sasaki such that the grind step is stopped in region B to form the finished chips having a flared bottom as taught by Masuko for spacing out the finished chips during transporting which reduces collision among the chips which leads to quality improvement of the chips.
Sasaki does not teach “wherein, in the cutting step, the cutting blade is caused to cut into each street a plurality of times with a cutting-in depth and a cutting-in position varied using the same cutting blade.”
Genda teaches that a semiconductor substrate is fragile and could be damaged by a cutting blade. Genda further teaches a single cutting tool 725 being run multiple times to make a single groove on the substrate. See Fig. 11 and para. [0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a small blade to run multiple times on a single groove in a width direction and a depth direction for forming a grove with a tip to reduce stress on the substrate which may cause damage to the substrate.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (6,294,439), hereinafter Sasaki in view of Masuko et al. (10,784,165), hereinafter Masuko, Genda et al. (2005/0106782), hereinafter Genda as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Norimoto (2019/0122928).
Regarding claim 8, the modified method of Sasaki teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for stepped grooves on the substrate.
Norimoto teaches a wafter processing method comprising the step of making stepped grooves on a substrate. See Fig. 4.
The grooves having a V-shaped tip and the grooves having a stepped tip are art equivalents known in the semiconductor making art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the stepped groves on the substrate in the modified method of Sasaki since it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious to one skilled in the art. See MPEP. 2144.06.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Sekiya reference is introduced to teach a V-shaped tip of a groove.
Genda reference is introduced to the use of a single cutting tool running multiple times to make a groove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724