DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 11/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/25/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cooling device” in claims 1-3; “separating device” in claims 1, 9-11, and 13-14; “conveying device” in claim 3; “capturing device” in claims 8-10 and 13; “impact unit” in claim 12; “first translation driving unit” in claim 13; “second translation driving unit” in claim 13; and “rotation unit” in claim 13.
The limitation “cooling device” recites the generic placeholder “device” coupled with the functional modifier “cooling” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 120, shown in figure 5, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “separating device” recites the generic placeholder “device” coupled with the functional modifier “separating” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 140, shown in figure 6, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “conveying device” recites the generic placeholder “device” coupled with the functional modifier “conveying” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 110, shown in figure 4A, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “capturing device” recites the generic placeholder “device” coupled with the functional modifier “capturing” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 130, shown in figure 3, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “impact unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “impact” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 141, shown in figure 7A, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “first translation driving unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “driving” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 132, shown in figure 6, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “second translation driving unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “driving” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 133, shown in figure 6, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “rotation unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “rotation” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 134, shown in figure 6, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cooled glass cover" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “a position corresponding to the cooling device” in lines 3-4, but does not define a manner of correspondence, as this could require being above, below, on, adjacent, in, or any number of correspondences.
Claim 13 recites “a rotation unit” in line 12, which is not defined. Reciting the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “rotation” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed, the limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, applicant does not disclose a structure of a rotation unit by which this function may be performed, only a box 134 in the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3. 9-10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIELER et al. (US 11,051,441).
Regarding claim 1, WIELER teaches a cooling device 120 and a separating device 140 (fig. 1B; col. 9, lines 29-38 and 46-58). The materials claimed only limit the structure insofar as the apparatus must be capable of working upon the material. Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 2, WIELER teaches the cooling device can supply cooling fluid (col. 24; line 57 – col. 25, line 3).
Regarding claim 3, WIELER teaches a conveying device (col. 8, lines 14-20).
Regarding claim 9, WIELER teaches a capturing device 1820 and impact separating device (col. 44, line 66 – line 6; col. 45, lines 49-58).
Regarding claim 10, the capture device of WIELER is functionally capable of performing the function claimed.
Regarding claim 14, WIELER teaches a collection zone receptacle 2208 (col. 46, lines 22-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIELER as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of TRAN et al. (US 6,203,621).
Regarding claim 4, WIELER teaches a conveyor and carrier tray fixed to the conveyor (col. 23, line 62 – col. 24, line 2), but does not teach that the conveyor comprises a belt and drive roller. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a belt and drive roller as the conveyor because such was a common, well-known means of conveyance in the art at the time of the invention. One example of such is disclosed by TRAN, which teaches conveying glass to various processing locations via a belt and drive roller (col. 3, lines 2-7).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIELER.
Regarding claim 13, WIELER teaches the capture device comprises a rotation unit and a robotic arm that can clamp a device, move in three dimensions, and transfer a device (col. 25, lines 15-30), but does not explicitly describe plural translation units. However, it would have been obvious to utilize multiple drives to move the robot arm, as is nearly always the case in the prior art at the time of the invention, and duplication of apparatus components has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 11-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: similar cooling delamination apparatuses are disclosed by CHANG et al. (US 2025/0100267), ADAMS et al. (US 2024/0123723), JOUDON et al. (US 2022/0143766), RUJANAVECK et al. (US 11,157,043), BLOHOWIAK et al. (US 2020/0331253), BAE et al. (US 2019/0210351), and WALDSMITH (US 5,448,817). The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest such an apparatus wherein the carrier tray has at least one second recess connected to a side of the device accommodating first recess; or wherein the separating device further comprises an impactor that can impact a glass cover of a held device laminate.
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745