CTNF 18/679,151 CTNF 89815 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/01/2025 and 07/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-22-01 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “ a cool air source to the high temperature source ” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 3. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 4. Claim (s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being unpatentable by ALAN WARNICK et al. (US 2842738 A) (“ALAN WARNICK”) . PNG media_image1.png 942 868 media_image1.png Greyscale 5. Regarding claim 1, Walling teaches a capacitance probe (Fig.1 discloses a CAPACITANCE PROBE) for operating in high temperature environments (Fig.1 probe operates at lower temperatures, at temperatures in excess of 3000 F) , comprising: a center conductor (Fig 1 item 26 discloses col 2, lines 33-35: sensing electrode 26) having a face that is exposed to a high temperature source (Fig.1 probe operates at lower temperatures, at temperatures in excess of 3000 F) : a connection line (Fig 1 item 28 & 32 discloses col 3, lines 18-24: the coolant tubes made of metal serve as electrical connection) connected to the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26); a probe housing (Fig.1Item 11 discloses col 2, lines 11-12: outer jacket 1 of the probe); surrounding the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26); and the connection line (Fig.1 Item 28 & 32) , the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) defining an opening for exposing the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) to the high temperature source; and wherein the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) and the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) define at least one cooling channel (Fig 1 item 28 and 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26). and that passes through the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) to provide cooling air from a cool air source to the high temperature source (Fig.1 probe operates at lower temperatures, at temperatures in excess of 3000 F) to provide cooling (Fig 1 item 28 and 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity29 that is made in the electrode 26) to the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26). 6. Regarding claim 2, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 1, wherein the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) and the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) further comprise: wherein the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) and the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) define a horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) that runs substantially parallel to the face of the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) ; wherein the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) further defines a first vertical channel interconnecting the cool air source at a top of the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) to the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) and defines a second vertical channel interconnecting the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) to the high temperature source; and wherein the first vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28 or 32) the horizontal channel and the second vertical channel (Fig.1 Item 28 or 32) enables the cooling air to flow from the cool air source to the high temperature source through the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) to cool the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) . 7. Regarding claim 3, Walling teaches the c apacitance probe of claim 2, further comprising: wherein the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) further defines an opening on a side of the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) ; and a plug (Fig 1 item 33 discloses extensions 33 of these tubes will preferably be several feet of insulating material) for closing the opening on the side of the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) to prevent the cooling air from flowing out of the opening in the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) . 8. Regarding claim 4, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 1, wherein the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) and the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) further comprise: wherein the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) and the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) define a horizontal channel (Fig.1 Item 29) that runs substantially parallel to the face of the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) ; wherein the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) further defines a first vertical channel (Fig.1 Item 28) interconnecting the cool air source at a top of the probe housing to the horizontal channel (Fig.1 Item 29) ; wherein the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) defines a second vertical channel (Fig.1 Item 32) interconnecting the horizontal channel to the face of the center conductor; and wherein the first vertical channel (Fig.1 Item 28) , the horizontal channel (Fig.1 Item 29) and the second vertical channel (Fig.1 Item 32) enables the cooling air to flow from the cool air source to the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) to cool the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) . 9. Regarding claim 5, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 4, wherein the second vertical channel (Fig.1 Item 28 or 32) is offset from a center of the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) . 10. Regarding claim 6, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 1 further including: an electrical insulator (Fig.1Item 27 discloses the insulation 27); separating the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) from the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) ; and wherein the electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27) further includes openings through which at least one cooling channel passes (Fig.1 Item 28 or 32) . 11. Regarding claim 7, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 1 further including: a first electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27 left section) located next to the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) ; a second electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27 right section) located next to the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) ; a guard conductor (Fig.1& 4 Item 40) located between the first electrical insulator and the second electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27left and right section) ; and wherein the first electrical insulator, the second electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27) and the guard conductor (Fig.1 Item 40) further includes openings through which the at least one cooling channel passes (Fig.1 Item 28 or 32) . 12. Regarding claim 8, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 1, wherein the at least one cooling channel comprises a plurality of cooling channel, each of the plurality of cooling channels (Fig.1 Item 28 & 32) are equally separated around the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) . 13. Regarding claim 9, Walling teaches a capacitance probe (Fig.1 discloses a CAPACITANCE PROBE) for measuring clearances within a gas turbine engine ( Fig 1 item B discloses securing the probe in fixed relation to the shroud and the turbine blades, B) comprising: a center conductor ( Fig 1 item 26 discloses col 2, lines 33-35: sensing electrode 26) having a face that is exposed to a gas-path of the gas turbine engine ( Fig 1 item B discloses securing the probe in fixed relation to the shroud and the turbine blades, B) ; a connection line (Fig 1 item 28 & 32 discloses col 3, lines 18-24: the coolant tubes made of metal serve as electrical connection) ; connection circuitry for interconnecting the center conductor with the connection line (Fig.1 item 17 discloses coolant tubes electrical connection between the sensing electrode and the impedance matching element 17 ); a probe housing (Fig.1Item 11 discloses col 2, lines 11-12: outer jacket 1 of the probe) surrounding the center conductor ( Fig 1 item 26) , the connection line ( Fig 1 item 28 or 32) and the connection circuitry ( Fig 1 item 17) , the probe housing ( Fig 1 item 11) defining an opening for exposing the face of the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) to the gas-path of the gas turbine engine; wherein the center conductor ( Fig 1 item 26) and the probe housing ( Fig 1 item 11) define at least one horizontal channel (Fig 1 item cavity 29) that runs substantially parallel to the face of the face of the center conductor ( Fig 1 item 26) ; wherein the probe housing (Fig.1Item 11 discloses col 2, lines 11-12: outer jacket 1 of the probe) further defines at least one first vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28 and 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26). interconnecting a cool air source to provide cooling air at a top of the probe housing to the at least one horizontal channel (Fig 1 item cavity 29) and defines at least one second vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28 and 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26). interconnecting the at least one horizontal channel (Fig 1 item cavity 29) to the gas-path; and wherein the at least one first vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28 and 32) , the at least one horizontal channel and the at least one second vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28 and 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26) enables the cooling air to flow from the cool air source (Fig.1 probe operates at lower temperatures, at temperatures in excess of 3000 F) to the gas-path through the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item cavity 29) to cool the face of the center conductor (Fig 1 item 26) . 14. Regarding claim 10, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 9, further comprising: wherein each of the at least one horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) further define an opening on a side of the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) ; and a plug (Fig 1 item 33 discloses extensions 33 of these tubes will preferably be several feet of insulating material) for closing the opening on the side of the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) to prevent the cooling air from flowing out of the opening in the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) . 15. Regarding claim 11, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 9 further including: an electrical insulator (Fig.1Item 27 discloses the insulation 27); separating the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) from the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) ; and wherein the electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27) further includes openings through which at least one cooling channel passes (Fig.1 Item 28 or 32) . 16. Regarding claim 12, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 9 further including: a first electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27 left section) located next to the center conductor (Fig.1 Item 26) ; a second electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27 right section) located next to the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) ; a guard conductor (Fig.1& 4 Item 40) located between the first electrical insulator and the second electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27left and right section) ; and wherein the first electrical insulator, the second electrical insulator (Fig.1 Item 27) and the guard conductor (Fig.1 Item 40) further includes openings through which the at least one cooling channel passes (Fig.1 Item 28 or 32) . 17. Regarding claim 13, Walling teaches the capacitance probe of claim 9, wherein the at least one first vertical channel (Fig.1 Item 28) and the at least on second vertical channel (Fig.1 Item 32) are equally separated around the probe housing (Fig.1 Item 11) . 18. Regarding claim 14, Walling teaches a method for cooling a capacitance probe (Fig.1 discloses a CAPACITANCE PROBE) for measuring clearances within a gas turbine engine ( Fig 1 item B discloses securing the probe in fixed relation to the shroud and the turbine blades, B) , comprising: defining at least one cooling channel (Fig 1 item 28 or 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26). that passes through a center conductor (Fig 1 item 26 discloses col 2, lines 33-35: sensing electrode 26) and a probe housing (Fig.1Item 11 discloses col 2, lines 11-12: outer jacket 1 of the probe) of the capacitance probe; and providing cooling air from a cool air source (Fig.1 item top) to a high temperature source (Fig.1 item bottom Fig.1 probe operates at lower temperatures, at temperatures in excess of 3000 F), through at least one channel (Fig 1 item 28 or 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26). to provide cooling to a face of the center conductor (Fig 1 item 28 & 32 discloses col 3, lines 18-24: the coolant tubes made of metal serve as electrical connection) of the capacitance probe (Fig.1 discloses a CAPACITANCE PROBE) . 10 Regarding claim 15, Walling teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the step of defining the at least one cooling channel further comprise: defining a horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26). within the center conductor (Fig 1 item 26) that runs substantially parallel to the face of the face of the center conductor (Fig 1 item 26) ; defining a first vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28 or 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26) within the probe housing interconnecting the cool air source at a top of the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) to the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) ; and defining a second vertical channel (Fig 1 item 32 discloses col 2, lines 52-59: the coolant lines 28 and 32 bring coolant to and from the cavity 29 that is made in the electrode 26). within the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) interconnecting the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) to the high temperature source (Fig 1 item bottom) . 20. Regarding claim 16, Walling teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the step of providing further comprises providing the cooling air to flow from the cool air source (Fig 1 item top) to the high temperature source (Fig 1 item bottom) through the first vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28) , the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) and the second vertical channel to cool the face of the center conductor (Fig 1 item 26) . 21. Regarding claim 17, Walling teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the step of defining further comprise: defining a horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) within the center conductor (Fig 1 item 26) and the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) that runs substantially parallel to the face of the face of the center conductor (Fig 1 item 26) ; defining a first vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28 or 32) within the probe housing (Fig 1 item 11) interconnecting the cool air source at a top of the probe housing to the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) ; and defining a second vertical channel (Fig 1 item 28 or 32) within the center conductor (Fig 1 item 26) interconnecting the horizontal channel (Fig 1 item 29) to the face of the center conductor (Fig 1 item 26) . 22. Regarding claim 18, Walling teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the step of providing further comprises providing cooling air to flow from the cool air source (Fig.1Item top) to the face of the center conductor (Fig.1Item 26) to cool the face of the center conductor (Fig.1Item 26) . 23. Regarding claim 19, Walling teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the step of defining further comprises: defining a plurality of cooling channel (Fig.1Item 28 or 32)) ; and equally separating each of the plurality of cooling channels (Fig.1Item 28 or 32) around the probe housing (Fig.1Item 11) . 24. Regarding claim 20, Walling teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising preventing the cooling air from flowing out of an opening defined on a side of the probe housing (Fig.1Item 11) using a plug (Fig 1 item 33 discloses extensions 33 of these tubes will preferably be several feet of insulating material) to close the opening. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRENT J ANDREWS whose telephone number is (571)272-6101. The examiner can normally be reached 10am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Judy Nguyen can be reached at (571)272-2258. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 /NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 9 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 10 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 11 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 12 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 13 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/679,151 Page 14 Art Unit: 2858