DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “generally” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the actuator being generally horizontal renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 2-17 are rejected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 10-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 2020/0072763) in view of Qing et al. (CN 110250112).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh discloses a mobile workstation for automated insect farming (Abstract), wherein the mobile workstation comprises: a displacement system configured to move the mobile workstation by mechanical cooperation with a guiding system of an associated insect farming installation (moving cart 30 with pinion gears 340 in association with rails 20; Figures 1 and 2),
at least one active system configured to perform at least one action onto a substrate (discharge unit 50 and plow 40),
an actuation system comprising an actuator operably coupled to the active system to move the active system between (i) an extended position in which the active system engages the substrate and (ii) a retracted position in which the active system is held outside of the substrate (Figures 8, 10, and 12; “When the length of the elevating cylinder that forms the elevating member 540
increases, the blade 510 descends vertically and is placed on the upper part of the bottom plate 110 of the breeding tray 10, as shown in FIG. 7.” Paragraph [0124]) the actuator being arranged generally horizontally relative to the plane of the substrate (Figures 3 and 6).
Oh fails to explicitly disclose a control system configured to control the mobile workstation, the mobile workstation being alimented by at least one source of energy; and wherein the at least one active system comprises a ploughing system.
However, Qing teaches a similar mobile workstation for cultivation (Figure 1) comprising a control system configured to control the mobile workstation (control module Paragraphs [0015-0016]), the mobile workstation being alimented by at least one source of energy (Paragraphs [0013] and [0034]); and wherein the at least one active system comprises a ploughing system (plow 9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the mobile workstation of Oh, with the control system and energy source of Qing, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the user to more easily control the movements of the workstation necessary for efficient work, and to have modified the active system of Oh, with the ploughing system of Qing, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the substrate can be thoroughly broken up and mixed for healthy growth of the biological material.
Regarding Claim 5, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation, wherein the at least one active system comprises a substrate removal system configured to remove the substrate (blade 510, medium 3; Figures 1 and 8), and wherein the actuation system is configured to place the substrate removal system alternatively in an active condition in which the substrate removal system is configured to remove the substrate and a passive condition in which the substrate removal system is configured to remain outside the substrate (Figures 8, 10, and 12; “By rotating the bottom plate 110 in the vertical direction, the blade 510 can be moved up and down in a vertical state.” Paragraph [0108]).
Regarding Claim 7, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation, wherein the at least one active system comprises a substrate displacement system configured to move the substrate (blade 510; Figures 7 and 8), and wherein the actuation system is configured to place the substrate displacement system alternatively in an active condition in which the substrate displacement system is configured to move the substrate and a passive condition in which the substrate displacement system is configured to remain outside the substrate (Figures 8, 10, and 12; “When the length of the elevating cylinder that forms the elevating member 540 increases, the blade 510 descends vertically and is placed on the upper part of the bottom plate 110 of the breeding tray 10, as shown in FIG. 7.” Paragraph [0124]).
Regarding Claim 8, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1.
Oh fails to disclose the mobile workstation, wherein the mobile workstation comprises an energy reserve stock configured to provide energy to move the mobile workstation and/or an actuation system.
However, Qing teaches the mobile workstation, wherein the mobile workstation comprises an energy reserve stock configured to provide energy to move the mobile workstation and/or an actuation system (battery Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the mobile workstation of Oh, with the energy reserve of Qing, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the workstation is able to maintain operations consistently throughout its schedule.
Regarding Claim 10, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation, further comprising a connection system (supply unit 70; Figure 5) configured to be connected to at least one of an external source of energy, air and liquid (“Food waste sludge may be made by mixing food waste powder and water, and the supply unit 70” Paragraph [0088]) through at least one of an electrical cable, a compressed air-pipe, and a liquid line (supply line 720; Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 10. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation, further comprising a distribution system (hose 720) configured to distribute at least one of energy, air and liquid (fluid insect food Paragraph [0087]) from the connection system to one or more systems of the mobile workstation (Paragraph [0091]; Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 12, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation, further comprising a pusher (blade 510, medium 3; Figures 1 and 8) and wherein the actuation system is configured to place the pusher alternatively in an active condition in which the pusher is configured to move part of the substrate into and outside of a container of the automated farming installation, and a passive condition in which the pusher is configured to stay outside of the substrate (Figures 8, 10, and 12; “By rotating the bottom plate 110 in the vertical direction, the blade 510 can be moved up and down in a vertical state.” Paragraph [0108]).
Regarding Claim 13, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation, wherein the mobile workstation does not comprise any reservoir for holding of any of eggs, larvae, insects, liquid, water, cleaning water, humidifying water, food, nutrients, substrate or mixture thereof (Figures 1 and 6-16; the medium 3 is on the bottom plate 110).
Regarding Claim 17, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation, wherein the actuation system is configured to pivot the ploughing system between the extended position and the retracted position (Figures 6 and 7 show pivoting).
Regarding Claim 14, Oh as modified by Qing an automated farming installation comprising a continuous profiled container configured to receive substrate (breeding tray 10; medium 3; Figures 1 and 4), the mobile workstation according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and a guiding system configured to mechanically cooperate with the displacement system of the mobile workstation (moving rail 20; Figure 1).
Claims 2-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 2020/0072763) in view of Qing et al. (CN 110250112) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sabeg et al. (US 2020/0323173).
Regarding Claim 2, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1.
Oh fails to disclose the mobile workstation, further comprising at least one sensor configured to measure at least one parameter of at least one of the substrate and air surrounding the substrate, and wherein the at least one active system comprises a resource release system configured to release at least one vital resource upon activation based on monitoring of the at least one parameter.
However, Qing teaches the mobile workstation, further comprising at least one sensor configured to measure at least one parameter of at least one of the substrate and air surrounding the substrate (humidity sensor and temperature sensor Paragraph [0015]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the workstation of Oh with the sensor of Qing, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the conditions are optimal for healthy growth of the biological material.
Additionally, Sabeg teaches an insect rearing system wherein the at least one active system comprises a resource release system configured to release at least one vital resource upon activation based on monitoring of the at least one parameter (“adjust a humidity level output of the at least one air conditioning unit in response to feedback from the humidity sensor,” Paragraph [0014]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the active system of Oh, with the humidifier of Sabeg, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the insects have a proper environment to ensure healthy growth.
Regarding Claim 3, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 2.
Oh fails to disclose the mobile workstation, wherein the at least one sensor is positioned on a portion of the mobile workstation that is configured to move from above the substrate to inside the substrate.
However, Qing teaches the mobile workstation, wherein the at least one sensor is positioned on a portion of the mobile workstation that is configured to move from above the substrate to inside the substrate (“a humidity sensor and a temperature sensor may be provided on the plowing device” Paragraph [0015]; the plowing device is configured to move up and down vertically via driving device 8; Paragraphs [0026] and [0031]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the workstation of Oh, with the sensor attached to the active system of Qing, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the conditions within the substrate are optimal for healthy growth of the biological material.
Regarding Claim 6, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1.
Oh fails to disclose the mobile workstation, wherein the at least one active system comprises a humidification system.
However, Sabeg teaches an insect rearing system wherein the at least one active system comprises a humidification system (“adjust a humidity level output of the at least one air conditioning unit in response to feedback from the humidity sensor,” Paragraph [0014]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the active system of Oh, with the humidifier of Sabeg, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the insects have a proper environment to ensure healthy growth.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 2020/0072763) in view of Qing et al. (CN 110250112) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Bolard (EP 3968476)
Regarding Claim 4, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation, wherein the displacement system comprises a motor (driving motor 351) and at least one driving wheel connected to the motor (driving rotating body 352), and configured for mechanical cooperation with the guiding system of the insect farming installation; the motor being configured to rotate the driving wheel in both rotational directions (Figures 6-12) and
Oh fails to disclose wherein the displacement system comprises an engine and wherein the control system is configured to deliver signals to activate rotation of the driving wheel in both rotational directions.
However, Bolard teaches a similar mobile workstation wherein a displacement system (compensation trolly 8) comprises an engine (engine 81) and at least one driving wheel connected to the engine (pinion 82; Figure 3; Paragraph [0069]) wherein the control system is configured to deliver signals to activate rotation of the driving wheel in both rotational directions (Paragraphs [0082] and [0091]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor and wheel of Oh, with the engine and signals of Bolard, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help increase the efficiency of the system, and allow the controller to more easily operate the workstation.
Regarding Claim 15, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 14.
Oh fails to disclose the automated farming installation, further comprising a lift system configured to vertically move the mobile workstation from one level comprising the continuous profiled container to another level comprising another continuous profiled container.
However, Bolard teaches an automated farming installation, further comprising a lift system configured to vertically move the mobile workstation from one level comprising the continuous profiled container to another level comprising another continuous profiled container (lift system 5; “lift system 5 is provided to vertically lift a mobile workstation 6.” Paragraph [0057]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the farming system of Oh, to have multiple levels with a lift as taught by Bolard, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to decrease the amount of space used within the installation, and help increase the overall efficiency.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 2020/0072763) in view of Qing et al. (CN 110250112) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 115399296)
Regarding Claim 9, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 1. Oh further discloses the mobile workstation wherein the actuation system is configured to place the active system alternatively in an active condition in which the active system is configured to clean the container and a passive condition in which the active system is configured to stay outside of the container (Figures 8, 10, and 12; “When the length of the elevating cylinder that forms the elevating member 540 increases, the blade 510 descends vertically and is placed on the upper part of the bottom plate 110 of the breeding tray 10, as shown in FIG. 7.” Paragraph [0124]).
Oh fails to disclose wherein the at least one active system comprises a brush configured to clean a substrate-receiving container of the farming installation, and
However, Wang discloses a similar insect farming system wherein the at least one active system comprises a brush configured to clean a substrate-receiving container of the farming installation (“the excrement cleaning track is equipped with a cleaning brush for cleaning the bottom of the bee box” Page 5 Paragraph 1 of translation),
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the active system of Oh, with the brush as taught by Wang, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help provide sanitary conditions and a healthy environment for the insects to grow in.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 2020/0072763) in view of Qing et al. (CN 110250112) and Bolard (EP 3968476) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (WO 2022/041303).
Regarding Claim 16, Oh as modified teaches the mobile workstation of claim 15.
Oh fails to disclose then automated farming installation, wherein the lift system is configured to move substrate from a substrate supply to a continuous profiled container.
However, Xu teaches an automated farming installation, wherein the lift system is configured to move substrate from a substrate supply to a continuous profiled container (“the combined harvesting and feeding device further includes an insect feed adding device installed on the frame of the harvesting and feeding combination device, and a feed adding device lifting device for raising and lowering the insect feed adding device.” Page 3 Paragraph 8 of translation “The insect feed adding device 430 adds larvae feed to the breeding box 100.” Page 8 Paragraph 1 of translation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the farming system of Oh, to have multiple levels with a lift as taught by Xu, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to decrease the amount of space used within the installation, and help increase the overall efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Previously used reference Oh (KR 2020/0072763) in combination with other previously used references teach the currently presented claims as amended, as discussed in the current rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642