DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1, applicant argued that object detection and classification functions in Nehmadi are not apparently based on the lidar data. Applicant furthered argued that Nehmadi does not apparently disclose using the lidar data to generate the object bounding boxes, nor to generate object motion predictions.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Despite of applicant’s argument, “lidar data” in argued claim is a base for target prediction. The argued claim limit neither “lidar data” alone to output object detection and classification, nor “lidar data” alone to generate object bounding box. Yet, Nehmadi does disclose:
[0087] The neural network 112 may be trained during a training phase. This may involve feedforward of data signals to generate the output and then the backpropagation of errors for gradient descent optimization. For example, in some embodiments, the neural network 112 may be trained by using a set of reference images and reference data about the objects and classes of objects in the reference images. That is to say, the neural network 112 is fed a plurality of reference images and is provided with the “ground truth” (i.e., is told what objects and classes of objects are in the reference images and where they appear in the reference images) so that the neural network 112 is trained to recognize (i.e., detect and classify) those objects in images other than the reference images such as the regions of interest supplied by the FLD unit 110. Training results in converging on the set of parameters 150.
[0095] The reference sensors 302 may be high-quality sensors that are able to produce accurate RGBDV images covering a wide range of driving scenarios, whereas the production sensors 304 may be lower-cost sensors more suitable for use in a commercial product or real-time environment. As such, the reference sensors 302 are sometimes referred to as “ground truth sensors” and the production sensors 304 are sometimes referred to as “high-volume manufacturing (HMV) sensors” or “test sensors”. In the case of lidar, for example, a lidar sensor that is used as a reference sensor may have a higher resolution, greater field of view, greater precision, better SNR, greater range, higher sensitivity and/or greater power consumption than a production version of this lidar sensor. To take a specific example, the set of reference sensors 302 may include a lidar covering a 360° field of view, with an angular resolution of 0.1°, and range of 200 m, whereas the set of production sensors 304 may include a lidar covering a 120° field of view, with an angular resolution of 0.5° and range of 100 m, together with a radar covering a 120° field of view, with an angular resolution 2° and a range of 200 m.
[0084] The indication of the location of one or more objects in a given image, as output by the neural network 112, may include bounding boxes within the image. Each bounding box may surround a corresponding object associated with an object descriptor. The bounding box may be a 2D bounding box or a 3D bounding box, for example. In other cases, the indication of the location of the one or more objects in the image may take the form of a silhouette, cutout or segmented shape.
Thus, said prior art is properly applied and maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nehmadi et al. (US2022/0335729) in view of Fowe (US2019/0187720) and Yang et al. (US2020/0210726).
To claim 1, Nehmadi teach a method comprising:
generating a set of auto-labeled training data using a first autonomous vehicle (AV) system having multiple sensor modalities (paragraph 0097, set of reference sensors 302 and/or set of production sensors 304 may include various combinations of sensors such as one or more lidar sensors and one or more non-lidar sensors), wherein the auto-labeled training data comprises:
a first set of non-lidar data associated with the first AV system (paragraphs 0094, 0097, production sensors 304 may comprises non-lidar sensors), and
one or more target predictions for the first set of non-lidar data, the one or more target predictions generated based at least on lidar data associated with the first AV system (paragraphs 0087, 0095, reference sensors 302 are referred to as ground truth; page 12 claim 27, reference sensor may be lidar sensor, wherein such scenario would result non-lidar being labeled/annotated/classified based on lidar data), the one or more target predictions comprising:
a bounding box for an object represented in the first set of sensor data (paragraph 0084, output by neural network may including bounding boxes within image), and a motion track of the object detection represented in the first set of sensor data (obvious in paragraph 0075, velocity or motion information); and
training, by the processing device and using the auto-labeled training data, an end-to-end perception model of a second AV system lacking a lidar sensor (obvious in paragraphs 0003-0004, objective is to harness advantages of neural networks using available vehicle-grade computing hardware and relatively economic sensors, such that lidar sensor may not be available such as paragraph 0097 showing lidar sensor being optional) to predict presence of one or more objects in a driving environment of the second AV system (Figs. 3A-B; 100, 300 of Fig. 9, two perception systems; Fig. 10; paragraph 0193, embodiments such as particular features, structures or characteristics may be combined in any suitable manner. Different embodiments shows that lidar and/or non-lidar signals may be applied in training and real-time utilization due to limited or available vehicle-grade computing hardware and relatively economic sensors, which combines the ease of use benefits of unsupervised learning with the accuracy and high performance of supervised learning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize instant claimed invention as one of implementation scenarios in view of embodiments of Nehmadi).
Although Nehmadi teach first AV system and second AV system being resided in the same vehicle, instant claim lacks clarification. Moreover, sharing labeled training data among different vehicles would be obvious in the art.
In furthering said obviousness, Fowe teach vehicles sharing labeled training data set (Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 0035-0036, 0070).
And, Yang teach training a deep neural network in a vehicle system to detect object, to classify the object, to track the object motion, and to generate bounding box on the object within captured image based on lidar data (abstract, Figs. 3A-B; paragraphs 0007-0010, 0040-0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Fowe and Yang into the method of Nehmadi, in order to improve object detection machine learning classifiers of computer vision system.
To claim 9, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach a system (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 17, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 2, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 1.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach further comprising: obtaining a second set of sensor data using the second AV system, wherein the second set of sensor data (304 of Fig. 9): comprises sensor data of the second plurality of sensor modalities (paragraph 0097), and characterizes one or more objects in a driving environment of the second vehicle; and processing, using the trained end-to-end perception model, the second set of sensor data to obtain one or more inference predictions associated with the one or more objects in the driving environment of the second AV system (as explained in response to claim 1 above, with teachings of Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang).
To claim 3, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 2.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the second set of sensors of the second vehicle comprises at least one camera sensor or at least one radar sensor (Nehmadi, paragraph 0097).
To claim 4, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 1.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the one or more target predictions are generated by one or more models trained using a set of manually-labeled training data (Nehmadi, paragraphs 0078, 0081, 0109, while detection operation may be unsupervised, it also means said detection operation may be supervised; and in initial training stage, and supervised training requires manually-labeled training data, which is also well-known in the art, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claim 6, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 1.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the one or more target predictions comprise at least one of: a bounding box for an object represented in the first set of sensor data, a type of the object detection represented in the first set of sensor data, or a motion track of the object detection represented in the first set of sensor data (Nehmadi, paragraphs 0084-0085).
To claim 7, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 1.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the second set of sensor data comprises at least some of the sensor data of the first set of sensor data (Nehmadi, Figs. 3A-B).
To claim 8, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 1.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the one or more target predictions are further based on: camera data associated with the first AV system, and radar data associated with the first AV system (Nehmadi, paragraph 0097, non-lidar sensors such as radar sensor and camera).
To claim 10, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 9.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the processing device is further configured to: obtain a second set of sensor data using the second AV system, wherein the second set of sensor data:
comprises sensor data of the second plurality of sensor modalities, and characterizes one or more objects in a driving environment of the second vehicle; and process, using the trained end-to-end perception model, the second set of sensor data to obtain one or more inference predictions associated with the one or more objects in the driving environment of the second AV system (as explained in response to claim 1 above, wherein training data are shared).
To claim 11, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 10.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the second set of sensors of the second vehicle comprises at least one camera sensor or at least one radar sensor (Nehmadi, paragraph 0097).
To claim 12, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 9.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the one or more target predictions are generated by one or more models trained using a set of manually-labeled training data (as explained in response to claim 4 above).
To claim 14, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 9.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the one or more target predictions comprise at least one of: a bounding box for an object represented in the first set of sensor data, a type of the object detection represented in the first set of sensor data, or a motion track of the object detection represented in the first set of sensor data (as explained in response to claim 6 above).
To claim 15, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 9.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the second set of sensor data comprises at least some of the sensor data of the first set of sensor data (as explained in response to claim 7 above).
To claim 16, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 9.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the one or more target predictions are further based on:
camera data associated with the first AV system, and radar data associated with the first AV systems (as explained in response to claim 8 above).
To claim 18, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 17.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining a second set of sensor data using the second AV system, wherein the second set of sensor data: comprises sensor data of the second plurality of sensor modalities, and characterizes one or more objects in a driving environment of the second vehicle; and processing, using the trained end-to-end perception model, the second set of sensor data to obtain one or more inference predictions associated with the one or more objects in the driving environment of the second AV system (as explained in response to claim 10 above).
To claim 19, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 17.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the second set of sensors of the second vehicle comprises at least one camera sensor or at least one radar sensor (as explained in response to claim 11 above).
To claim 20, Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach claim 17.
Nehmadi, Fowe and Yang teach wherein the one or more target predictions comprise at least one of: a bounding box for an object represented in the first set of sensor data, a type of the object detection represented in the first set of sensor data, or a motion track of the object detection represented in the first set of sensor data (as explained in response to claim 14 above).
Claim(s) 5, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nehmadi et al. (US2022/0335729) in view of Fowe (US2019/0187720), Yang et al. (US2020/0210726) and Cohen et al. (US2023/0054575).
To claims 5 and 13, Nehmadi, Yang and Fowe teach claims 1 and 9.
Despite lack of disclosure, wherein training the end-to-end perception model of the second AV system comprises: pre-training a base model using the set of auto-labeled training data; and
fine-tuning the pre-trained base model using at least one set of manually labeled training data would be an obvious-to-try scenario in teachings Nehmadi, Yang and Fowe.
In further said obviousness, Cohen teach machine learning in vehicle system, wherein perform supervised learning, unsupervised learning, semi-supervised learning (e.g., supervised pre-training followed by unsupervised fine-tuning, unsupervised pre-training followed by supervised fine-tuning, and/or the like), self-supervised learning, and/or the like (paragraph 0033), which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the method of Nehmadi, Yang and Fowe, in order to implement training by design preference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 August 31, 2026