DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 13 recites “the destressing structure further includes a second groove that extends into the first surface of the molding compound” despite ‘a second groove’ already being introduced in claim 11 upon which claim 13 depends, which therefore creates a lack of clarity as to which groove is being referred to in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0253370 A1 to Lin (hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a device, comprising:
a molding compound including a first surface (molding compound 46 having first surface; Fig. 5A; paragraph [0023]);
a conductive structure within the molding compound, the conductive structure including a second surface exposed from the first surface (electrical connector 44 and associated under-bump metal UBM 42 are buried within compound 46 and having second surface exposed through first surface; Fig. 5A; paragraph [0023]); and
a destressing structure of the molding compound, the destressing structure including: a first groove extending into the first surface of the molding compound, the first groove extending at least partially around the second surface of the conductive structure (compound 46 having first recess 52 extending into first surface and around side of second surface of UBM/connector 42, 44; Fig. 5A; paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the groove extends fully around the second surface of the conductive structure (first and second recesses 52 extend around entirety of UBM/connector 42, 44; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses a method, comprising:
forming a molding compound on a sidewall of a conductive structure and exposing a first surface of the conductive structure transverse to the sidewall of the conductive structure from a second surface of the molding compound (forming molding compound 46 along side of electrical connector 44 and associated under-bump metal UBM 42, where compound 46 exposes first surface of UBM/connector 42, 44 transverse to side of UBM/connector 42, 44 from a second surface of the compound 46; Fig. 5A; paragraph [0023]); and
forming a destressing structure within the molding compound, forming the destressing structure includes: forming a first groove extending into second surface of the molding compound and extending at least partially around the first surface of the conductive structure (compound 46 having first recess 52 extending into second surface and around first surface of UBM/connector 42, 44; Fig. 5A; paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses the method of claim 7, wherein forming the first groove includes utilizing a laser (laser cutting to form recesses 52; paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses the method of claim 7, wherein forming the destressing structure within the molding compound occurs when forming the molding compound by utilizing a molding compound tool patterned with respective portions corresponding to the destressing structure (mold 57 may be used to form recesses 52 when compound 46 is still in the process of curing; paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising forming a second groove extending into the second surface of the molding compound, and the second groove being spaced apart from the first groove (second recess 52 extending into second surface of compound 46 and spaced apart form first recess 52; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses a device, comprising:
a molding compound including a first surface (molding compound 46 having first surface; Fig. 5A; paragraph [0023]);
a conductive structure within the molding compound, the conductive structure including a second surface exposed from the first surface (electrical connector 44 and associated under-bump metal UBM 42 are buried within compound 46 and having second surface exposed through first surface; Fig. 5A; paragraph [0023]); and
a destressing structure of the molding compound, the destressing structure including: a first groove extending into the first surface of the molding compound, the first groove extending at least partially around the second surface of the conductive structure (compound 46 having first recess 52 extending into first surface and around side of second surface of UBM/connector 42, 44; Fig. 5A; paragraph [0023]); and
a second groove extending into the first surface of the molding compound, the second groove extending at least partially around the second surface of the conductive structure, and the second groove being in closer proximity to the second surface of the conductive structure than the first groove (second recess 52 extending into first surface and around side of second surface of UBM/connector 42, 44 while being closer to second surface than first recess 52; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 12, Lin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein: the conductive structure includes a sidewall transverse to the second surface of the conductive structure; and the second groove is between the sidewall of the conductive structure and the first groove (UBM/connector 42, 44 comprises sidewall transverse to second surface, where second recess 52 disposed between the sidewall and first recess 52; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Lin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the destressing structure further includes a second groove that extends into the first surface of the molding compound, the second groove extends at least partially around the second surface of the conductive structure, and the second groove is between the first groove and the conductive structure (second recess 52 extending into first surface and around side of second surface of UBM/connector 42, 44 while being between UBM/connector 42, 44 and first recess 52; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the first groove and the second groove extend fully around the second surface of the conductive structure (first and second recesses 52 extend around entirety of UBM/connector 42, 44; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein: the first groove has a first depth; and the second groove has a second depth substantially equal to the first depth (first and second recesses 52 have substantially the same depth after compound 46 cures; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the destressing structure further includes a protrusion portion of the molding compound that is between the first groove and the second groove (portion of compound 46 between first and second recesses 52 forms protrusion; Figs. 5A, 6).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses the device of claim 17, wherein the protrusion portion fully separates the first groove from the second groove (portion of compound 46 between first and second recesses 52 forms protrusion; Figs. 5A, 6).
Regarding claim 19, Lin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein: the conductive structure includes a sidewall transverse to the second surface of the conductive structure; and the second groove is offset from the sidewall of the conductive structure (UBM/connector 42, 44 comprises sidewall transverse to second surface, where second recess 52 may be disposed separate from UBM/connector 42, 44; Fig. 5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin.
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: the conductive structure further includes a sidewall transverse to the second surface of the conductive structure (UBM/connector 42, 44 comprises sidewall transverse to second surface; Fig. 5A); the first groove is adjacent to the sidewall of the conductive structure and exposes a first region of the sidewall of the conductive structure (second recess 52 may be disposed adjacent a side of UBM/connector 42, 44 and a first region of side of UBM/connector 42, 44 is exposed through compound 46; Fig. 5A); and the molding compound is directly adjacent to the sidewall of the conductive structure and covers a second region of the sidewall of the conductive structure (compound 46 is directly adjacent to and covers a second region of side of UBM/connector 42, 44; Fig. 5A).
Lin fails to explicitly disclose the first groove being directly adjacent to the sidewall.
However, Lin already discloses the first groove being adjacent to and in very close proximity to the sidewall (see Figs. 5A and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin in this manner in order to potentially provide more effective stress/strain relief at the interface with the metallic conductive structure where stress/strain is expected to be higher, better accommodation of local deformation of the conductive structure, and reduced risk of delamination and cracking of the fully cured molding compound. Further, such a configuration is not novel in the art as evidenced by US 2020/0365494 A1 to Truhitte et al. (trench 265 in encapsulant 250 directly adjacent conductive structures; Fig. 2d) and US 6,469,369 B1 to Lee (mold groove 160 disposed adjacent conductive structure; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the first groove includes: a first portion with a first depth adjacent to the sidewall of the conductive structure, the first portion exposing the first region of the sidewall of the conductive structure (first portion of first recess 52 may be disposed adjacent a side of UBM/connector 42, 44 and a first region of side of UBM/connector 42, 44 is exposed through compound 46; Fig. 5A); and a second portion with a second depth directly adjacent to the first portion, the second depth being greater than the first depth, and the second portion being separated from the sidewall of the conductive structure by the first portion (second portion of second recess 52 may be defined to be disposed directly adjacent first portion with a depth greater than first portion and disposed separate from side of UBM/connector 42, 44 by first portion; Fig. 5A).
Lin fails to explicitly disclose the first portion being directly adjacent to the sidewall.
However, Lin already discloses the first portion being adjacent to and in very close proximity to the sidewall (see Figs. 5A and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin in this manner in order to potentially provide more effective stress/strain relief at the interface with the metallic conductive structure where stress/strain is expected to be higher, better accommodation of local deformation of the conductive structure, and reduced risk of delamination and cracking of the fully cured molding compound. Further, such a configuration is not novel in the art as evidenced by US 2020/0365494 A1 to Truhitte et al. (trench 265 in encapsulant 250 directly adjacent conductive structures; Fig. 2d) and US 6,469,369 B1 to Lee (mold groove 160 disposed adjacent conductive structure; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses the device of claim 4, wherein: the first portion has a first width; and the second portion has a second width that is greater than the first width (first portion of first recess 52 can be defined to have a width less than the second portion; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses the device of claim 4, wherein: the first portion has a first width; and the second portion has a second width that is different than the first width (first portion of first recess 52 can be defined to have a width different than the second portion; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein: the first groove has a first depth (first recess 52 having first depth; Fig. 5A).
Lin fails to explicitly disclose the second groove has a second depth different from the first depth.
However, Lin discloses the molding compound 46 curing to create mechanical stress therein and further discloses the recesses 52 being formed prior to fully curing the compound 46 (see paragraphs [0023] and [0026]), which will create variations in the depth of recesses 52 due to chemical shrinkage, mechanical stresses, and partial viscoelasticity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin in this manner in order to account for the natural curing process of epoxies which inherently creates variation in dimensions of structures formed into the epoxy.
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses the device of claim 11, wherein: the conductive structure includes a sidewall transverse to the second surface of the conductive structure (UBM/connector 42, 44 comprises sidewall transverse to second surface; Fig. 5A); the second groove is adjacent to the sidewall of the conductive structure and exposes a first region of the sidewall of the conductive structure (second recess 52 may be disposed adjacent a side of UBM/connector 42, 44 and a first region of side of UBM/connector 42, 44 is exposed; Fig. 5A); and the molding compound covers a second region of the sidewall of the conductive structure (compound 46 covers a second region of side of UBM/connector 42, 44; Fig. 5A).
Lin fails to explicitly disclose the second groove being directly adjacent to the sidewall.
However, Lin already discloses the second groove being adjacent to and in very close proximity to the sidewall (see Figs. 5A and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin in this manner in order to potentially provide more effective stress/strain relief at the interface with the metallic conductive structure where stress/strain is expected to be higher, better accommodation of local deformation of the conductive structure, and reduced risk of delamination and cracking of the fully cured molding compound. Further, such a configuration is not novel in the art as evidenced by US 2020/0365494 A1 to Truhitte et al. (trench 265 in encapsulant 250 directly adjacent conductive structures; Fig. 2d) and US 6,469,369 B1 to Lee (mold groove 160 disposed adjacent conductive structure; Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2020/0365494 A1 to Truhitte et al. and US 6,469,369 B1 to Lee each discloses semiconductor package structures having mold grooves directly adjacent conductive structures.
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818