DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen (GB 2,521,619.
In regards to claim 1, Allen teaches an electronic device (An apparatus, abstract), comprising: a carrier (302) configured to be stretchable (flexible, including stretchable, page 1, lines 25-27); a first electronic component (312, figure 3E) disposed over the carrier (302); and a structure (326) at least partially disposed within the carrier (302; figure 3D) and connected to the first electronic component (312), wherein the structure (326) is capable reducing displacement between the carrier (302) and the first electronic component (312) since it is embedded into the carrier (302.
In regards to claim 2, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the structure (326) is disposed under the first electronic component (312) (positioned below the plain in which the electronic device is positioned).
In regards to claim 3, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the structure (326) is disposed at a peripheral region (on the edge of) of the first electronic component (312) from a top view.
In regards to claim 4, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the structure (326) is connected to the first electronic component (312) through a conductive terminal (contact pads 314/316).
In regards to claim 5, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the conductive terminal includes a ground terminal or a dummy terminal (dummy components (702)).
In regards to claim 6, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a depth of the structure (326) in the carrier (302) is greater than a width of the structure (326) in a cross-sectional view (see figure 3E).
In regards to claim 7, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the carrier includes a first stretchable region not under the first electronic component and a second stretchable region (302, to the right and the left of the (312) supporting the first electronic component (312), the structure is disposed in the second stretchable region to constrain a strain of the second stretchable region (see figure 3E).
In regards to claim 8, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 7, further comprising: a second electronic component disposed over the carrier, wherein the carrier includes a third stretchable region supporting the second electronic component (claim 1 teaches one or more other carried electronic components), and the first stretchable region is disposed between the second stretchable region and the third stretchable region , wherein a strain of the third stretchable region is less than a strain of the first stretchable region when the carrier is stretched(abstract) (a combination of one or more rigid or thin-film based electronic components mounted on a flexible module (smaller than the flexible carrier substrate) which together make up the component with component contact pads.).
In regards to claim 9, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the carrier (302) includes a conductive element in the first stretchable region and configured to electrically connect the first electronic component and the second electronic component (a combination of one or more rigid or thin-film based electronic components mounted on a flexible module (smaller than the flexible carrier substrate) which together make up the component with component contact pads).
In regards to claim 11, Allen teaches an electronic device, comprising: a carrier (302) configured to be stretchable (flexible, including stretchable, page 1, lines 25-27); a first electronic component (312, figure 3E) disposed over the carrier (302); and a first structure (326) vertically extending (extending downward) in the carrier (302) and connected to the first electronic component (312), wherein the first structure (326) is capable to mitigate a stress from a strain of the carrier since it is positioned inside of the carrier.
In regards to claim 13, Allen teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the first structure (236) has different dimensions in a vertical direction (see figure 3E).
In regards to claim 16, Allen teaches An electronic device (An apparatus, abstract), comprising: a carrier (302) configured to be stretchable (flexible, including stretchable, page 1, lines 25-27); a first electronic component (312) disposed over the carrier (302) ; and a plurality of first structures (326, 328) disposed within the carrier (302) and under the first electronic component (312), wherein at least some of the plurality of first structures (326, 328) are capable to individually distribute a stress between the carrier (302) and the first electronic component (312) since they are embedded into the carrier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10, 12, 14, 15, 17-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attachment of the USPTO-892 form.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848