DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 01/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are rejected. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musuvathi et al. (US 20180367550 A1), hereafter Musuvathi in view of Zafar (US 12155742 B1) and further in view of Holub et al. (US 12289323 B1), hereafter Holub.
Regarding claim 1, Musuvathi teaches a method, comprising:
obtaining, by at least one processor, a plurality of data packets transmitted over a network corresponding to network operation activity parameters for a first time interval and a second time interval, the plurality of data packets transmitted by at least a first system, wherein the plurality of data packets includes at least one first data packet corresponding to the first time interval and at least one second data packet corresponding to the second time interval ([0006] a number of data packets received in a defined period of time (e.g., five seconds, ten seconds, thirty seconds, a minute, three minutes. Examiner note: In this paragraph, Musuvathi teaches that data packets received in each defined period of time corresponds to the claimed “data packets corresponding to the first time interval and second time interva));
determining, by the at least one processor, a plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the second time interval based on the plurality of data packets, each feature corresponding to execution of a protocol by the first system ([0006] A data instance comprises feature data for a feature set. The feature set can be defined by the system for security and detection of attacks. Thus, the feature set can include individual features, values for which are collected. The features can be related to data traffic information);
in accordance with a detection of the potential cyberattack, generating, by the at least one processor, an embedding based at least in part on the detected change and the plurality of feature values and an encoder ([0004] For example, the label (embedding) can indicate whether previously received data traffic is associated with a known cyber attack or not. Consequently, based on the labels associated with the data instances, the model can tune (e.g., update) its parameters via machine learning, where [0006] the packet data received in a period of time);
determining, by the at least one processor, that at least one data packet of the plurality of data packets is involved in a cyberattack based on the embedding ([0097] a set of local model parameters for a local model is computed via stochastic gradient descent (SGD) based on a training data subset that includes data instances of the feature set and a label indicating whether received data traffic comprises a known cyber attack); and
in accordance with a determination that the at least one data packet is involved in the cyberattack, causing, by the at least one processor, an execution of a remedial protocol in association with the first system ([0013] The system can then implement a remedial action to mitigate any damaging effects that results from the cyber attack).
Musuvathi does not explicitly teach
detecting, by the at least one processor, a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval;
an encoder, the encoder configured to generate the embedding based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval.
Zafar teaches
an encoder, the encoder configured to generate the embedding based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval (col. 6, lines 45-49, during preprocessing, the system may identify time-related features in the dataset, such as timestamps or temporal contexts. The system may convert time-related features into a suitable format for input into an artificial intelligence model. This may involve encoding timestamps as numerical values, converting temporal contexts into embeddings, or using time-related metadata for document retrieval. The system may also modify the model architecture to accept input embeddings that include time-related features).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Musuvathi disclosure, input is generated associate with time period, as taught by Zafar. One would be motivated to do so to identify the causes of past performance issues, and improving security by spotting unusual traffic patterns that could indicate cyber threats.
Musuvathi and Zafar do not explicitly teach
detecting, by the at least one processor, a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval;
Holub teaches
detecting, by the at least one processor, a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval (col. 9, lines 55-60, newly discovered attack patterns may periodically be added to the attack patterns (first time and second time intervals); col. 16, lines 13-17, FIG. 9 is a block diagram illustrating an example computer system that can be used to implement one or more portions of a cyberattack monitoring system configured to detect successful attacks based on subsequent benign actions (a change) of an attacker following an initial attack);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Musuvathi and Zafar disclosure, detecting a change in data to detect a cyberattack, as taught by Holub. One would be motivated to do so to apply an evaluation function to detect attack patterns in the log and determine (e.g. based on a threshold) particular client actions that correspond to an attempted attack.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Musuvathi, Zafar, and Holub teach all limitations of parent claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein the second time interval is at least in part earlier than the first time interval (col. 14, lines 13-28, tags indicating the start and end times of an event, the duration of a process, or the frequency of data collection intervals). Temporal tags may also include additional attributes or metadata describing the temporal characteristics of the data. This could include tags indicating the time zone, time resolution, periodicity, or temporal context of the data), and
wherein determining the plurality of feature values based on the plurality of data packets comprises:
determining the plurality of feature values based on the at least one second data packet and the at least one second data packet (col. 23, lines 63-67, model 400 may take inputs and provide outputs. The inputs may include multiple datasets such as a training dataset and a test dataset. Each of the plurality of datasets may include time series data, annotated time series data, temporal tags, weights, time-shifts).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Musuvathi and Holub disclosure, network data in different time period, as taught by Zafar. One would be motivated to do so to identify the causes of past performance issues, and improving security by spotting unusual traffic patterns that could indicate cyber threats.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Musuvathi, Zafar, and Holub teach all limitations of parent claims 2, 9, and 16, wherein Musuvathi further teaches the encoder is a transformer encoder ([0047] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating examples of a remedial action that can be taken in response to a model 402 determining that the likelihood (e.g., a probability, value) of illegitimate data traffic associated with a cyber attack exceeds a threshold 404), and
wherein generating the embedding based on the plurality of feature values and the transformer encoder comprises:
providing, by the at least one processor, the plurality of feature values to be input to the transformer encoder and cause the transformer encoder to generate an output, and obtaining, by the at least one processor, the embedding based on the generation of the output of the transformer encoder ([0047] Given a new data instance provided as input to the model, the model can provide an output and the output can be compared to the threshold).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Musuvathi, Zafar, and Holub teach all limitations of parent claims 2, 9, and 16, wherein Musuvathi further taches determining that the at least one data packet of the plurality of data packets is involved in the cyberattack comprises:
providing, by the at least one processor, the embedding to be input to a prediction head and cause the prediction head to generate an output ([0028] The model described herein can be configured for use in association with security systems configured to detect a cyber attack. That is, the model can be used to predict a likelihood of illegitimate data traffic that is associated with a cyber attack), and
obtaining, by the at least one processor, data associated with a probability that the at least one data packet of the plurality of data packets is involved in the cyberattack based on the generation of the output of the prediction head ([0047] Given a new data instance provided as input to the model 402, the model 402 can provide an output (e.g., a likelihood or probability value) and the output can be compared to the threshold 404. When the comparison yields that the computed outcome exceeds the threshold 404, a security system deduces that computing infrastructure is likely under attack).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Musuvathi, Zafar, and Holub teach all limitations of parent claims 4, 11, and 18, wherein Musuvathi further teaches determining that the at least one data packet of the plurality of data packets is involved in the cyberattack comprises:
comparing, by the at least one processor, the probability that the at least one data packet of the plurality of data packets is involved in the cyberattack with a threshold probability ([0013] For instance, the likelihood can be associated with probability value (e.g., 95%) and can be compared to a probability threshold (e.g., 90%, 80%, etc.) established by the system or set by a computing infrastructure administrator for security and detection purposes);
determining, by the at least one processor, that the probability satisfies the threshold probability ([0013] Using the likelihood computed by a model as an output, the system is configured to determine whether the likelihood satisfies, or exceeds, a threshold); and
determining that the at least one data packet of the plurality of data packets is involved in the cyberattack based on determining that the probability satisfies the threshold probability ([0013] The system can then implement a remedial action to mitigate any damaging effects that results from the cyber attack).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Musuvathi, Zafar, and Holub teach all limitations of parent claims 1, 8, and 15, wherein Musuvathi further teaches determining the plurality of feature values based on the plurality of data packets comprises:
determining, by the at least one processor, that one or more dependencies involved in generating at least one feature value is not satisfied ([0004] the label can indicate whether previously received data traffic is associated with a known cyber attack or not); and
determining, by the at least one processor, an alternative feature value based on one or more of: a default feature value or one or more different feature values ([0128] determine, using the global model and the new data instance of the feature set, the likelihood of the illegitimate data traffic that is associated with the cyber attack).
Regarding claim 8, Musuvathi teaches a system, comprising: one or more processors configured to:
obtain a plurality of data packets transmitted over a network corresponding to network operation activity parameters for a first time interval and a second time interval, the plurality of data packets transmitted by at least a first system, wherein the plurality of data packets includes at least one first data packet corresponding to the first time interval and at least one second data packet corresponding to the second time interval ([0006] a number of data packets received in a defined period of time (e.g., five seconds, ten seconds, thirty seconds, a minute, three minutes. Examiner note: In this paragraph, Musuvathi teaches that data packets received in each defined period of time corresponds to the claimed “data packets corresponding to the first time interval and second time interval));
determine a plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the second time interval based on the plurality of data packets, each feature corresponding to execution of a protocol by the first system ([0006] A data instance comprises feature data for a feature set. The feature set can be defined by the system for security and detection of attacks. Thus, the feature set can include individual features, values for which are collected. The features can be related to data traffic information);
in accordance with a detection of the potential cyberattack, generate an embedding based at least in part on the detected change and the plurality of feature values and an encoder ([0004] For example, the label (embedding) can indicate whether previously received data traffic is associated with a known cyber attack or not. Consequently, based on the labels associated with the data instances, the model can tune (e.g., update) its parameters via machine learning, where [0006] the packet data received in a period of time);
determine that at least one data packet of the plurality of data packets is involved in a cyberattack based on the embedding ([0097] a set of local model parameters for a local model is computed via stochastic gradient descent (SGD) based on a training data subset that includes data instances of the feature set and a label indicating whether received data traffic comprises a known cyber attack); and
in accordance with a determination that the at least one data packet is involved in the cyberattack, cause an execution of a remedial protocol in association with the first system ([0013] The system can then implement a remedial action to mitigate any damaging effects that results from the cyber attack).
Musuvathi does not explicitly teach
detect a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval;
an encoder, the encoder configured to generate the embedding based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval.
Zafar teaches
an encoder, the encoder configured to generate the embedding based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval (col. 6, lines 45-49, during preprocessing, the system may identify time-related features in the dataset, such as timestamps or temporal contexts. The system may convert time-related features into a suitable format for input into an artificial intelligence model. This may involve encoding timestamps as numerical values, converting temporal contexts into embeddings, or using time-related metadata for document retrieval. The system may also modify the model architecture to accept input embeddings that include time-related features).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Musuvathi disclosure, input is generated associate with time period, as taught by Zafar. One would be motivated to do so to identify the causes of past performance issues, and improving security by spotting unusual traffic patterns that could indicate cyber threats.
Musuvathi and Zafar do not explicitly teach
detect a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval;
Holub teaches
detect a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval (col. 9, lines 55-60, newly discovered attack patterns may periodically be added to the attack patterns (first time and second time intervals); col. 16, lines 13-17, FIG. 9 is a block diagram illustrating an example computer system that can be used to implement one or more portions of a cyberattack monitoring system configured to detect successful attacks based on subsequent benign actions (a change) of an attacker following an initial attack);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Musuvathi and Zafar disclosure, detecting a change in data to detect a cyberattack, as taught by Holub. One would be motivated to do so to apply an evaluation function to detect attack patterns in the log and determine (e.g. based on a threshold) particular client actions that correspond to an attempted attack.
Regarding claim 15, Musuvathi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions there on that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
obtain a plurality of data packets transmitted over a network corresponding to network operation activity parameters for a first time interval and a second time interval, the plurality of data packets transmitted by at least a first system, wherein the plurality of data packets includes at least one first data packet corresponding to the first time interval and at least one second data packet corresponding to the second time interval ([0006] a number of data packets received in a defined period of time (e.g., five seconds, ten seconds, thirty seconds, a minute, three minutes));
determine a plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the second time interval based on the plurality of data packets, each feature corresponding to execution of a protocol by the first system ([0006] A data instance comprises feature data for a feature set. The feature set can be defined by the system for security and detection of attacks. Thus, the feature set can include individual features, values for which are collected. The features can be related to data traffic information);
in accordance with a detection of the potential cyberattack, generate an embedding based at least in part on the detected change and the plurality of feature values and an encoder ([0004] For example, the label (embedding) can indicate whether previously received data traffic is associated with a known cyber attack or not. Consequently, based on the labels associated with the data instances, the model can tune (e.g., update) its parameters via machine learning, where [0006] the packet data received in a period of time);
determine that at least one data packet of the plurality of data packets is involved in a cyberattack based on the embedding ([0097] a set of local model parameters for a local model is computed via stochastic gradient descent (SGD) based on a training data subset that includes data instances of the feature set and a label indicating whether received data traffic comprises a known cyber attack); and
in accordance with a determination that the at least one data packet is involved in the cyberattack, cause an execution of a remedial protocol in association with the first system ([0013] The system can then implement a remedial action to mitigate any damaging effects that results from the cyber attack).
Musuvathi does not explicitly teach
detect a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval;
an encoder, the encoder configured to generate the embedding based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval.
Zafar teaches
an encoder, the encoder configured to generate the embedding based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval (col. 6, lines 45-49, during preprocessing, the system may identify time-related features in the dataset, such as timestamps or temporal contexts. The system may convert time-related features into a suitable format for input into an artificial intelligence model. This may involve encoding timestamps as numerical values, converting temporal contexts into embeddings, or using time-related metadata for document retrieval. The system may also modify the model architecture to accept input embeddings that include time-related features).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Musuvathi disclosure, input is generated associate with time period, as taught by Zafar. One would be motivated to do so to identify the causes of past performance issues, and improving security by spotting unusual traffic patterns that could indicate cyber threats.
Musuvathi and Zafar do not explicitly teach
detect a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval;
Holub teaches
detect a change indicative of a potential cyberattack based on the plurality of feature values from the first time interval and the plurality of feature values from the second time interval (col. 9, lines 55-60, newly discovered attack patterns may periodically be added to the attack patterns (first time and second time intervals); col. 16, lines 13-17, FIG. 9 is a block diagram illustrating an example computer system that can be used to implement one or more portions of a cyberattack monitoring system configured to detect successful attacks based on subsequent benign actions (a change) of an attacker following an initial attack);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Musuvathi and Zafar disclosure, detecting a change in data to detect a cyberattack, as taught by Holub. One would be motivated to do so to apply an evaluation function to detect attack patterns in the log and determine (e.g. based on a threshold) particular client actions that correspond to an attempted attack.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musuvathi (US 20180367550 A1) in view of Zafar (US 12155742 B1) in view of Mishra (US 20230098508 A1) and further in view of Holub (US 12289323 B1).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Musuvathi, Zafar, and Holub teach tall limitations of parent claims 1 and 8, Musuvathi does not explicitly teach wherein determining the plurality of feature values based on the plurality of data packets comprises:
determining, by the at least one processor and for the first time interval and the second time interval, at least one of:
a minimum feature value,
an average feature value,
a maximum feature value,
a minimum aggregate feature value,
a mean aggregate feature value, or
a maximum aggregate feature value, and
Mishra teaches
determining, by the at least one processor, the plurality of feature values based on at least one of the minimum feature value, the average feature value, the maximum feature value, the minimum aggregate feature value, the mean aggregate feature value, or the maximum aggregate feature value ([0029] The attack stage feature may be determined as number of attack stages hit by the office/total number of attack stages. The detection type feature may be determined as number of detection types hit by the office/total number of detection types. A total score may be determined as sum (event scores)/max (sum (event scores) of all devices in an office).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Musuvathi disclosure, feature types are determined based on the max score features value, as taught by Mishra. One would be motivated to do so to detect occurrence of different types of network threats and prevent them from affecting performance and security of the computer networks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458