DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments filed on 06/16/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that:
Kelselman does not teach maintaining, on a database, a plurality of first encryption keys associated with field types and selecting from those keys based on field type.
McCorkindale does not teach the claimed tokenization workflow in which an electronic document includes a token replacing the value and the client device transmits a request comprising a user identifier and the token.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees, and submits that:
As discussed in the Non-Final Rejection dated 03/24/2026, McCorkindale is said to implicitly disclose the limitations “maintaining, by the first service, on a database, a plurality of first encryption keys” and “selecting, by the first service, from the plurality of first encryption keys, a first encryption key” ([0045][0048], encryption of sensitive information fields are encrypted using symmetric (triple DES) or asymmetric (private/public) keys). It was also admitted in the Non-Final Rejection that McCorkindale does not explicitly disclose the “plurality of first encryption keys associated with a plurality of field types” and “selecting a first encryption key based on a field type of the field”. So, Kelselman is brought in to cure these deficiencies of McCorkindale, because Kelselman discloses plurality of first encryption keys associated with a plurality of field types (at least [0006][0007][0033][0038], cryptographic keys associated with different types of data). As such, it is not just Kelselman, but rather, the combination of McCorkindale and Kelselman that discloses the limitation argues above.
McCorkindale discloses a multifunction device (MFD) (at least figure 1, element 102). Besides being able to print documents, the MFD is also able to communicate the documents to other entities via at least electronic mail (at least [0024]). For instant, the MFD electronically communicates/sending document identification (electronic document) which corresponds to redacted document to mobile device (client device) (at least [0055]). The document identification with the redacted document is being equated to the recited “token”, because the redacted document replaces at least one sensitive data field with a redacted field. McCorkindale also discloses when the mobile device (client device) wants to view the redacted sensitive data field, the mobile device sends device identification and document identification, so that it can be determined whether recovering of the redacted sensitive data field is permitted (at least [0038]-[0040]). As such, contrasting to the Applicant’s arguments, McCorkindale discloses the limitation argues above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCorkindale et al. (US 2013/0272523 A1-hereinafter McCork) and in view of Kelselman et al. (US 2019/0147170 A1-hereinafter Kelselman).
Regarding claim 1, McCork discloses a method of controlling access to values in electronic documents, comprising:
receiving, by a first service, an electronic document comprising a plurality of values associated with a corresponding plurality of fields to be provided to at least one of a plurality of client devices (at least figure 1, elements 114, 122 & 124; [0024] [0027][0042][0055], document ID/document which comprises a plurality of fields is received at the multifunction device (MFD));
identifying, by the first service, from the electronic document, a field of the plurality of fields associated with a corresponding value of the plurality of values is to be encrypted (at least figure 2, [0043][0045]-[0047], i.e.: sensitive information is identified by the MFD and is to be encrypted);
maintaining, by the first service, on a database, a plurality of first encryption keys (at least figure 1, component 108, figure 2, step 220, [0045], it’s implied that the MFD maintains a plurality of keys used to encrypt sensitive data);
selecting, by the first service, from the plurality of first encryption keys, a first encryption key (at least figure 2, step 220, [0045][0048], it’s implied that a key is selected to encrypt the sensitive information);
generating, by the first service, a token using the value and the first encryption key for the field (at least [0027][0032], i.e.: encrypted sensitive information/ redacted document is generated), the first encryption key associated with a second encryption key on a second service to control access to the value (at least [0040][0048][0056], i.e.: a key used to encrypt at MFD, associates with a key used to decrypt at server); and
sending, by the first service to a client device of the plurality of client devices, the electronic document comprising the token replacing the value associated with the corresponding field (at least figure 3, step 308, [0024][0055], the document ID/document which comprises the redacted document is transmitted to the mobile device), wherein the client device is configured to transmit a request comprising a user identifier and the token to the second service to determine whether to recover the value (at least [0040][0057], the mobile device transmits a request comprising device identification associated with the mobile device and the document ID/document to the server to determine whether to decrypt encrypted sensitive information).
McCork does not explicitly disclose the plurality of first encryption keys associated with a plurality of field types, and selecting a first encryption key based on a field type of the field.
However, Kelselman discloses a plurality of first encryption keys associated with a plurality of field types (at least [0006]-[000733][0038], cryptographic keys associated with different types of data), and selecting a first encryption key based on a field type of the field (at least [0038], a cryptographic key is derived/selected based on information about a type of data to be encrypted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature discloses by Kelselman into the method of McCork to enhance the security level of the method.
Regarding claim 2, McCork and Kelselman disclose the method of claim 1. McCork and Kelselman also obviously disclose receiving, by the first service, from the second service, the plurality of first encryption keys associated with the plurality of field types to encrypt values in electronic documents (McCork-at least [0045], key to encrypt sensitive data is at MFD, and key to decrypt encrypted sensitive data is at server. As such, when encryption algorithm used is public/private key, it is implied that the server communicated the public key to the MFD to use to encrypt the sensitive data; Kelselman-at least [0006]-[000733][0038], cryptographic keys associated with different types of data).
Regarding claim 3, McCork and Kelselman disclose the method of claim 1. McCork also discloses identifying, by the first service, from the electronic document, a second field of the plurality of fields associated with a corresponding second value of the plurality of values is not to be encrypted (at least figure 5A & 5B, [0043]-[0044], field that is determined not sensitive is identified, thus does not need to be encrypted); and
maintaining, by the first service, the corresponding second value associated with the second field in the electronic document (at least figure 5C, field that is determined as not sensitive is maintained/is not redacted or encrypted).
Regarding claim 4, McCork and Kelselman disclose the method of claim 1. McCork also discloses removing, by the first service, storage of the token from the first service, responsive to sending the electronic document to the client device (at least [0051], the document ID/document which includes redacted areas is sent/removed from the MFD and sent to client device).
Regarding claim 5, McCork and Kelselman disclose the method of claim 1. McCork also discloses identifying the field further comprises identifying the field as associated with sensitive information to be encrypted from the electronic document (at least [0043]-[0046], sensitive information is identified and is to be encrypted).
Regarding claim 6, McCork and Kelselman disclose the method of claim 1. McCork and Kelselman also disclose generating the token further comprises generating the token to include: (i) a first portion identifying the first key used to generate the token (McCork-at least [0048], the redacted area includes a first portion that identifies key used to encrypt redacted copy) and (ii) a second portion identifying the field type of the field associated with the value (McCork-at [0045][0047], sensitive field least).
Regarding claim 7, McCork and Kelselman disclose the method of claim 1. McCork also discloses sending the electronic document further comprises sending the electronic document to cause an application on the client device to display the electronic document including an indication of the value associated with the corresponding field as encrypted (at least [0065]-[0067], unredacted image/ document is displayed via display of the mobile device).
Regarding claim 11, McCork discloses the method of claim 8. McCork also discloses accessing, by the first service, a database to retrieve a second encryption key associated with a field type to decrypt tokens in electronic document (at least figure 1, component 108, figure 2, step 220, [0045], the server access its database to retrieve decryption information associated with a plurality of field type to decrypt redacted/encrypted area of documents); and
selecting, by the first service, from the plurality of second encryption keys (at least [0037][0057], a decryption information is selected to decrypt the encrypted sensitive information), the second encryption key to generate the value based on the field type identified by the token (at least [0037][0066], decryption information is used to decrypt encrypted sensitive information).
McCork does not explicitly disclose the plurality of first encryption keys associated with a plurality of field types, and selecting a first encryption key based on a field type of the field.
However, Kelselman discloses a plurality of first encryption keys associated with a plurality of field types (at least [0006]-[000733][0038], cryptographic keys associated with different types of data), and selecting a first encryption key based on a field type of the field (at least [0038], a cryptographic key is derived/selected based on information about a type of data to be encrypted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature discloses by Kelselman into the method of McCork to enhance the security level of the method.
Regarding claim 12, McCork discloses the method of claim 8. McCork also discloses keys are generated from either the MFD or the server, and the keys generated are provided to the other of the MFD or the server to encrypt sensitive information in electronic documents (at least [0046][0048], i.e.: MFD uses key generated to encrypt sensitive data).
McCork does not explicitly disclose generating a first plurality of encryption keys and the first plurality of keys for encrypting values of the corresponding plurality of field types in electronic documents.
However, Kelselman discloses a plurality of first encryption keys are generated and used for encrypting values of corresponding plurality of field types (at least [0006]-[000733][0038], cryptographic keys associated with different types of data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature discloses by Kelselman into the method of McCork to enhance the security level of the method.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Claims 8-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCorkindale et al. (US 2013/0272523 A1-hereinafter McCork).
Regarding claim 8, McCork discloses a method of providing access to values in electronic documents, comprising:
receiving, by a first service from a client device of a plurality of client devices, a request identifying ([0037][0056][0063], a request from mobile device is received at server identifies) (i) a user identifier associated with the client device ([0037][0051][0065], a user associates with device ID) and (ii) a token associated with a field of a plurality of fields of an electronic document (at least a redacted/ encrypted area), the token included by a second service into the electronic document using a first encryption key associated with a field type of a plurality of field types for the field (at least figures 1, 5C & 5D, [0046], sensitive information is redacted/encrypted into the document by multi-function device (MFD));
identifying, by the first service, from the plurality of field types, the field type of the field based on at least a portion of the token (at least [0065], type or content of sensitive data is identified by the server);
determining, by the first service, that the client device is permitted to access a value associated with the token based on the user identifier and the field type in accordance with a policy, the policy identifying a respective permission for each of the plurality of client devices to access the plurality of field types (at least [0065], type and amount of sensitive data made available to client device depends on or more permission levels);
generating, by an application at the mobile device, the value using a second encryption key for the field type, the second encryption key associated with the first encryption key on the second service (at least [0037]-[0039], key used to decrypt encrypted/redacted area corresponds to the key used to encrypt the sensitive information at the MFD); and
sending, by the app to the client device, the value to replace the token in the electronic document, wherein the client device is configured to present the electronic document with the value replacing the token (at least [0039][0067], decrypted sensitive information replaces the redacted/encrypted area).
McCork does not explicitly disclose the generating and sending are being done by the first service.
However, McCork discloses the first service has the decryption information to decrypt encrypted/redacted areas (at least [0037], decryption information is stored at server). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decrypt the encrypted sensitive information at the server, then send the sensitive information which has been decrypted to the mobile device to allow the decryption to be performed at either side, while still ensuring that the sensitive information is only provided to authorized entity.
Regarding claim 9, McCork discloses the method of claim 8. McCork also discloses determining, by the first service, that the client device is restricted from access to the value generated from the token based on the user identifier (at least figure 4, [0064]-[0065], access restriction is determined based on identification of mobile device requesting access); and
sending, by the first service, to the client device, an indication that the value associated with the token is restricted from provision (at least figure1, step 162, figure 4, step 408 & 410, [0064], access denied is sent to mobile device).
Regarding claim 10, McCork discloses the method of claim 8. McCork also discloses determining, by the first service, that the client device is permitted partial access to the value associated with the token based on the user identifier (at least [0065], amount of sensitive data made available is determined); and sending, by the first service, a portion of the value to partially replace the token in the electronic document (at least [0039][0067] & see obvious reason in claim 1 above, amount of decrypted sensitive information replaces the redacted/encrypted area)).
Regarding claim 13, McCork discloses the method of claim 8. McCork also discloses receiving the request further comprises receiving the request to recover the value, responsive to an application on the client device detecting an interaction with the token on the electronic document (at least [0057][0058], encrypted sensitive information scanned by app on the mobile device is decrypted).
Regarding claim 14, McCork discloses the method of claim 8. McCork also discloses sending the value further comprises sending the value to cause an application on the client device to (i) remove an indication of the value associated with the corresponding field as encrypted (at least [0058][0066], encrypted sensitive information is decrypted) and (ii) display the value instead of the token on the electronic document (at least [0058][0066], decrypted sensitive information is displayed).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHY ANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438