Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 08/04/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foster, U.S. Patent 6,818,973.
Foster shows the invention as claimed including an electronic device, comprising:
Peripheral first leads (180 or 80), each peripheral first lead having lateral sides, a top side, and a bottom side (see, for example, fig. 6);
Interior second leads 68, each interior second lead having lateral sides, a top side, and a bottom side;
A first package structure (for example, 94) extending on the top sides of the peripheral first leads, the top sides of the interior second leads, upper first portions of the lateral sides of the interior second leads, and the first package structure exposing one lateral side of each of the peripheral first leads; and
A second package structure (see portion of package structure 94 between peripheral first leads and interior second leads) extending laterally around lower second portions of the lateral sides of the interior second leads, the second package structure exposing the bottom side of each of the peripheral first leads, the second package structure exposing one lateral side of each of the peripheral first leads, the second package structure exposing the bottom side of each of the interior second leads (see figs. 3-6 and col. 3-line 61 to col. 8-line 13).
With respect to dependent claim 2, note that Foster discloses a semiconductor die (for example, 86) electrically connected to one of the peripheral first leads and to one of the interior second leads.
As to dependent claim 3, note that Foster discloses wherein the peripheral first leads and the interior second leads are of the same material (see fig. 6).
Concerning dependent claim 4, note that Foster discloses wherein the second package structure extends to a bottom side of the electronic device (again, see fig. 6).
With respect to dependent claim 8, note that Foster discloses wherein a semiconductor die is attached to one of the interior second leads and the one of the interior second leads is configured to extract heat from the semiconductor die (see col. 10-lines 22-35).
As to independent claim 10, note that Foster additionally discloses a circuit board including a conductive feature (see, for example, col. 12-line 63 to col. 13-line 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, U.S. Patent 6,818,973 in view of Dlugokecki, US Patent 5,318,926.
Foster is applied as above and additionally discloses where the package structures comprise encapsulant materials but does not expressly disclose where the first and second package structures include epoxy molding compound. Dlugokecki discloses encapsulant materials comprising epoxy molding compounds (see col. 4-line 51 to col. 5-line 13). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Foster so as to include epoxy molding compounds as encapsulant materials since Dlugokecki shows epoxy materials to be suitable encapsulation materials.
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, U.S. Patent 6,818,973 in view of Juskey et al., U.S. Patent 5,371,404.
Foster is applied as above but does not expressly disclose where the semiconductor die is a semiconductor flip-chip. Juskey et al. discloses where a semiconductor die 16 is flip chip bonded to the remaining structure (see col. 3-lines 47-65). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Foster so as to comprise a semiconductor flip-chip because Juskey shows this as a suitable method in which semiconductor dies are formed in packaging structures.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, U.S. Patent 6,818,973 in view of Kummerl et al., US Patent 12,364,052.
Foster is applied as above but does not expressly disclose a wire bond connected between a semiconductor die and one of the interior second leads. Kummerl et al. discloses a wire bond 420 connected between a semiconductor die 416 and a die pad 412 which is an interior lead (see, for example, fig. 4 and col. 5, lines 20-43). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Foster so as to comprise the claimed wire bond as suggested by Kummerl et al. because the claimed wire bond is shown by Kummerl et al. to be a suitable method of electrical connection.
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster, U.S. Patent 6,818,973.
Foster is applied as above but does not expressly disclose the particular configuration of the interior second leads. However, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists because the configuration of the claimed interior second leads is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ho et al., US 2026/0123456 discloses a semiconductor die that is wire bonded to peripheral leads (see, for example, fig. 1).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
October 13, 2026