Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Response to Amendment and Reconsideration” filed on 4/20/2026 has been considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and an action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0006239), in view of Safak et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0385160), and further in view of Glasgo et. al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0337232).
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 20, Robinson teaches:
receiving, transaction data for a transaction completed by a mobile device of a user; (Transaction identifier registration may occur during user enrollment in BAS 100 or subsequent to enrollment. If AS 106 is a point of sale, the user may register a transaction identifier during or after a transaction, [26, 34], receive transaction information generates by a POS, [54]).
responsive to receiving the transaction data, triggering a tracker component of the system to perform, in real-time as the transaction is completed, operations (Transaction information may be received as a transaction transpires or at a subsequent time. For example, transaction information may be received as each item is scanned or after all items have been scanned, [39]
comprising: determining whether an item of the transaction is to be categorized into a tracker category; (a user may select an option at AS 106 to activate or deactivate the transaction categorization feature, [44]) and categorizing the item of the transaction into the tracker category in response to determining that the item of the transaction is to be categorized into the tracker category (if the transaction information is travel-related, the system may request a transaction identifier to categorize the transaction as business or personal, [44], The system may categorize transactions automatically based on the received transaction information, [45]);
receiving feedback indicating revision to a categorization for the item of the transaction, (receiving categorization request from user, [56]),
based on the feedback, triggering an update to one or more category rules associated with the item such that subsequent transactions…are automatically categorized or excluded, (previously registered transaction identifiers may be used to categorize transaction information, [58]),
and responsive to an event, triggering a record component of the system to generate or update a transaction record for the tracker category, (once transaction information has been classified, the categorized data is recorded, [48]).
Robinson does not explicitly disclose, however Safak teaches
configuring a mobile device to present and append a mobile identifier that authenticate an identity of a user to transaction data at a point-of-sale terminal by providing a smart wallet mobile system to the mobile device, (A “Consumer Device Cardholder Verification Method” (CDCVM) is a type of Cardholder Verification Method where the cardholder uses his or her mobile device to verify his or her identity for a transaction… Locally-verified CDCVM is a CDCVM entered on, and validated by, the consumer's device. For example, a locally-verified CDCVM may be a device PIN, pattern, password or biometric methods (such as a fingerprint data, iris scan data, and/or facial recognition data). These methods are commonly associated with a device unlock process and are validated on, for example, the cardholder's mobile device… cryptogram generated by the consumer's mobile device is sent to the merchant's POS terminal by using NFC communications (or by use of a scanner to scan a barcode, or other wireless communications technology, such as Bluetooth, magnetic induction… he consumer selects to pay with QR code, the mobile device generation module (or mobile wallet application/web wallet application/SRC supported website) then generates a QR code which is displayed on the consumer device display screen 106. The merchant then uses a camera component or scanner (not shown) of a merchant POS 210 to scan the consumer generated QR code which is displayed on the display screen 106 of the consumer device 102… after the user provides the mobile PIN when/if requested, then the mobile device generates 422 or 426 a cryptogram, and transmits 440 a response to the POS terminal 324 that includes the cryptogram and transaction data. The POS terminal 324 would then complete the transaction 442 via business as usual (BAU) processing [27, 31, 52, 54-55, 58, 81-84],
the transaction data including the mobile identifier appended by the mobile device that provides identity authentication that the user completed transaction, ([27], consumers to consent to a payment transaction by confirming the transaction amount and requiring entry of a customer verification method (CVM) for a card present transaction, [53], the POS terminal 302 would then complete the transaction 442 via business, [81]), Note: the cryptogram conveys the result of cardholder verification and is used in completing the same transaction. Safak therefore connects the authenticated user with the completed transaction.
the transaction data being received by the mobile device via wireless communication with the point-of-sale terminal, (cryptogram generated by the consumer's mobile device is sent to the merchant's POS terminal by using NFC communications (or by use of a scanner to scan a barcode, or other wireless communications technology, such as Bluetooth, [55, 117]),
the transaction record indicates that the transaction record was verified using the mobile identifier, (cardholder verification data, [52], CVM entry information may be provided in the cryptogram. The POS terminal 324 would then complete the transaction 442 via business as usual (BAU) processing, [82], (velocity checks performed and passed/CVM entry successful) may be provided to the backend system in the application cryptogram, [84]
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the Robinson’s record-generation process, to implement Safak’s mobile verification, in order to prevent fraud, [4]).
Robinson does not explicitly teach receiving, by a smart wallet system, record trigger event. However, Glasgo teaches device-based location triggers are utilized to facilitate validation of a commercial transaction. In particular, a transaction is deemed valid if determined to be performed while the wireless device is at a proper location, FIG. 8 depicts a device-based trigger from a wireless phone attempting to perform a given electronic wallet transaction, [87-90].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the Robinson’s record-generation process, to employ even-based-triggers and smart wallet device, as taught by Glasgo, in order to enable dynamic updating and context validation of transaction records, [35].
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Robinson teaches in response to a submission trigger event, submit the transaction record to a third-party system, third-party system to process the transaction record, Fig, 1, [17]. Glasgo teaches mobile wallet system transmitting records to payment networks, Fig, 8-10.
Regarding claim 3, Robinson teaches transaction record, Fig, 4 and Safak teaches transaction generation followed by transmission, [37].
Regarding claims 4-5, Robinson does not explicitly teach, however, Glasgo teaches the record trigger event comprises a location detected via a sensor of the mobile device, the smart wallet system is a smart wallet mobile system operating on the mobile device, [87-90].
Regarding claim 6-7, Robinson teaches determining that the item of the transaction should be categorized in a second tracker category; and in response to determining that the item should be categorized in the second tracker category, categorizing the item in the second tracker category; determining that a second item of the transaction should be categorized; and in response to determining that the second item of the transaction should be categorized, categorizing the second item into one of the tracker category or a second tracker category, [45].
Regarding claim 9, Robinson teaches determining whether the item of the transaction is to be categorized based on item-level information comprising at least a merchant category code MCC or a stock keeping unit SKU, (Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code [45].
Regarding claim 10, Robinson teaches causing display of the transaction record on the mobile device; and receiving either a confirmation of or a revision to the transaction record, [41].
Regarding claim 11, Robinson teaches the smart wallet system is configured to track and categorize transactions performed using a plurality of different payment instruments, [12]. Glasgo teaches smart wallet system.
Regarding claim 12, Robinson teaches the record trigger event comprises the categorizing of the item into the tracker category, Fig. 4,
Regarding claim 13, Robinson teaches generating the tracker category via a user interface presented on the mobile device, the generating including receiving one or more inputs via one or more drop-down menus or fields presented on the user interface that indicate the tracker category and associated rules for categorization, [56, 62].
Regarding claim 15, Robinson does not explicitly teach, however, Safak teaches the record trigger event comprises a time-based trigger selected from a scheduled time, a calendar date, recurring intervals, [13].
Regarding claim 16, Robinson does not explicitly disclose, however, Glasgo teaches wherein the mobile identifier comprises one of a mobile driver’s license, a mobile passport or a mobile visa, [9].
Claims 8, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson, Safak and Glasgo combination and further in view of Rengarajan et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0403691).
Regarding claims 8, 14, 19, Robinson but does not explicitly disclose wherein triggering the update to the one or more category rules us performed by a machine learning component of the smart wallet system that based on the feedback determines a change to the one or more category rules , automatically generating, by the smart wallet system, the tracker category in response to the receiving of the transaction data, the automatically generating being based on machine-learning based on at least past transaction data and a past tracker category.
However, Rangarajan teaches automatically predict transaction class for a transaction of interest, according to some embodiments of the present invention, generating the classifier comprises training, by the computing device, a machine learning model for predicting transaction classes, The computer-implemented system also includes a data processing module configured to (i) tokenize the preprocessed historical data portion for each transaction class to generate a plurality of tokens for each transaction class, the heuristic layer can be periodically updated to include new/revised rules, data for the transaction of interest and its predicted class can be stored in the library of historical data for future prediction usage. [5-6, 26-27].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the Robinson’s record-generation process to employ Machine learning based rule refinement, as taught by Rangarajan, in order to improve accuracy and reduce manual corrections. [2].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Safak reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MILENA RACIC/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627