DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 6: “the polymer film not covering…” should read --- the first polymer film not covering… ---
Claim 15, line 16: “the polymer film not covering …” should read --- the second polymer film not covering … ---
Claim 18, line 1: “The method of any of claims 15…” should read --- the method of claim 15 … ---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "to form a polymer film" in line 5. There is already “a polymer film” introduced in claim 1 on which claim 5 depends, rendering it unclear if “to form a polymer film” refers to the previously recited polymer film element or a different “polymer film”. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “to form a polymer film” as --- to form the polymer film --- however, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise. Claims 6-7 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 5.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "to form a polymer film" in line 5. There is already “a polymer film” introduced in claim 10 on which claim 14 depends, rendering it unclear if “to form a polymer film” refers to the previously recited polymer film element or a different “polymer film”. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “to form a polymer film” as --- to form the polymer film --- however, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bohmer teaches a method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of depositing a phosphor layer (905) fig. 9C [0060] on a light emitting device (100) fig. 9B [0058] disposed on a top surface of a substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058], the method comprising:
disposing a polymer film (502) fig. 9B [0059] (photoresist) [0059] (in [0037], Bohmer explicitly discloses any suitable photoresist may be used, accordingly, Bohmer anticipates polymer photoresist because such resists are typically and commonly used in the relevant art) on (over) areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around (oriented around) the (top) periphery of the light emitting device (100), the polymer film (502) not covering a top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (100);
depositing phosphor particles (particles in 905 region) fig. 9C [0060] (905 is silicone material comprising phosphor particles [0060, 0062]) on the polymer film (502) and on the top surface (top of 100) of the light emitting device (100); and
removing [see fig. 9E, 0060] the polymer film (502), and any phosphor particles (portions of 905 overlapping 502 [0060]) disposed on it, from the top surface of the substrate (902) without removing phosphor particles (905/904) figs. 9C-9E [0059-0060] disposed on (directly over) the top surface of the light emitting device (100).
Regarding claim 2, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 1. Bohmer also teaches wherein the light emitting device (900/100) fig. 9E [0058-0059] comprises a microLED array [0009].
Regarding claim 10, Bohmer teaches a method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of depositing a phosphor layer (905) fig. 9C [0060] on a light emitting device (100) fig. 9B [0058] disposed on a top surface of a substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058], the light emitting device comprising an array (900) fig. 9A [0058] of LEDs (100) fig. 9A [0058] spaced apart from each other by lanes (903 in lane form relative to 100) figs. 9A-9B [0058], the method comprising:
disposing a polymer film (502) fig. 9B [0059] (photoresist) [0059] (in [0037], Bohmer explicitly discloses any suitable photoresist may be used, accordingly, Bohmer anticipates polymer photoresist because such resists are typically and commonly used in the relevant art) on (over) areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around (oriented around) the (top) periphery of the light emitting device (100) and over the lanes (903) in the array (900) of LEDs (100), the polymer film (502) not covering a top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (100);
depositing phosphor particles (particles in 905) fig. 9C [0060] (905 is silicone material comprising phosphor particles [0060, 0062]) on the polymer film (502) and on the top surface (top of 100) of the light emitting device (100); and
removing [see fig. 9E, 0060] the polymer film (502), and any phosphor particles (portions of 905 overlapping 502 [0060]) disposed on it, from the top surface of the substrate (902) and from over the lanes (903) in the array (900) of LEDs (100) without removing phosphor particles (905/904) figs. 9C-9E [0059-0060] disposed on (directly over) the top surface of the light emitting device (100).
Regarding claim 11, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 10. Bohmer also teaches wherein wherein the array (900) fig. 9A [0058] of LEDs (100) fig. 9A [0058-0059] is a microLED array [0009].
Regarding claim 15, Bohmer teaches a method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of depositing phosphors (in 905) of (positionally) different types on a light emitting device (collective 100s) fig. 9B [0058] disposed on (supported by) a top surface of a substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058], the light emitting device (100s) comprising an array (900) fig. 9A [0058] of LEDs (100) fig. 9A [0058] spaced apart from each other by lanes (903 in lane form relative to 100) figs. 9A-9B [0058], the method comprising:
disposing a first polymer film (left 502) fig. 9B [0059] (photoresist) [0059] (in [0037], Bohmer explicitly discloses any suitable photoresist may be used, accordingly, Bohmer anticipates polymer photoresist because such resists are typically and commonly used in the relevant art) on (over) areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around (oriented around) the (top) periphery of the light emitting device (comprising middle 100), over the lanes (903s) in the array of LEDs (between collective 100s), and (partially, directly) on top light emitting surfaces of a first group of the LEDs (Group I LED’s; see annotated fig. 9B below), the first polymer film (left 502) not covering top light emitting surfaces of a second group of the LEDs (Group II LED’s; see annotated fig. 9B below);
depositing phosphor particles (left phosphor particles in 905) fig. 9C [0060] (905 is silicone material comprising phosphor particles [0060, 0062]) of a first (left) type on (supported by) the first polymer film (left 502) and (partially) on the top light emitting surfaces of the second group of LEDs (left 905 material directly on left 2nd Group LED, see annotated fig. 9B below);
removing [see fig. 9E, 0060] the first polymer film (left 502), and any phosphor particles of the first type (left 905 particles) disposed on (directly on top of) it, from the top surface of the substrate (902), from over the lanes (903) in the array of LEDs (100s), and from the top light emitting surfaces of the first group of the LEDs (100’s in Group I; see annotated fig. 9B below) without removing phosphor particles of the first type (left 905 particles) disposed (partially) on the top light emitting surfaces of the second group of the LEDs (100’s in Group II; see annotated fig. 9B below);
disposing a second polymer film (right 502) fig. 9B [0059] (photoresist) [0059] on (over) areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around (oriented around) the (top) periphery of the light emitting device (comprising middle 100), over the lanes (903s) in the array of LEDs (between collective 100s), and over (above) top light emitting surfaces of the second group of the LEDs (Group II LED’s; see annotated fig. 9B below), the second polymer film (right 502) not covering top light emitting surfaces of the first group of the LEDs (Group I LED’s; see annotated fig. 9B below);
depositing phosphor particles (right phosphor particles in 905) fig. 9C [0060] (905 is silicone material comprising phosphor particles [0060, 0062]) of a second (right) type on (supported by) the second polymer film (right 502) and (partially) on the top light emitting surfaces of the first group of LEDs (right 905 material directly on right 1st Group LED, see annotated fig. 9B below);
removing [see fig. 9E, 0060] the second polymer film (right 502), and any phosphor particles of the second type (right 905 particles) disposed on (directly on top of) it, from the top surface of the substrate (902) and from over the lanes (903) in the array of LEDs (100s) without removing phosphor particles of the second type (right 905 particles) disposed (partially) on the top light emitting surfaces of the first group of the LEDs (100’s in Group I; see annotated fig. 9A below).
[AltContent: textbox (2nd Phosphor Type in this right area )][AltContent: textbox (1st Phosphor Type in this left area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
[AltContent: textbox (Light emitting device )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st Polymer Film)][AltContent: textbox (2nd Group of LEDs)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st Group of LEDs)][AltContent: textbox (2nd Polymer Film)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]Annotated figs. 9B-9E of Bohmer
Regarding claim 16, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 15. Bohmer also teaches wherein the array (900) fig. 9A [0058] of LEDs (100) fig. 9A [0058-0059] is a microLED array [0009].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1), as applied in claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Zheng (U.S. PG Pub No US2015/0204490A1) and Hernandez (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0091950A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 1. However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles in a solvent on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058] around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) fig. 9B [0058] and not on the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (100); and
curing the dispersion of polymer particles to form the polymer film (502) fig. 9B [0059] disposed on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around the periphery of the light emitting device (100).
Zheng teaches a method [see fig. 5, 0067] comprising:
depositing polymer particles (34 with 36 – each comprising particles) fig. 4 [0061, 0018, 0045] (may be polymer spheres [0018]) on (supported by) the areas of the top surface of the substrate (comprising 58) fig. 4 [0060] around the periphery of the light emitting device (56) fig. 4 [0057] and not on the top light emitting surface (top of 56) [0057] of the light emitting device (56) (34 with 36 disposed around sidewall periphery of light emitting device(s) 56 and not on top surface(s)); and
polymer particles (comprising particles of 34 and 36) to form the polymer film (34 with 36 film) fig. 4 [0018, 0061] disposed on (supported by) the areas of the top surface of the substrate (58) around the periphery of the light emitting device (56) (36 with 34 around sidewall periphery of device 56, on/ supported by top of substrate 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bohmer such that polymer particles of the particle film [0018, 0045, 0060] are selectively provided around lateral peripheries of the light emitting device(s) [0057] in order to promote an improved degree of light extraction [0016] though beneficial scattering [0018, 0059] by the polymer particles, as taught by Zheng.
However, Bohmer in view of Zheng (with reference to Zheng) does not explicitly disclose depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles (34 with 36 particles) in a solvent,
curing the dispersion of polymer particles (comprising particles of 34 and 36) to form the polymer film (34 with 36 film) [0018, 0061].
Hernandez teaches a method [see title, fig. 1, 0023] comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion (“NP dispersion”) fig. 1, step b [0055, 0062] of polymer particles (“particles” [0062, 0066]; could be “polymer spheres” 34 in Zheng [0018 Zheng]) in a solvent [0062],
curing (‘imprinting’) [0081-0088] the dispersion of polymer particles (NP dispersion) (dispersion may be provided with thermocuring resins intended to be cured [0072]) to form the polymer film (“microstructured film”) fig. 1 [0085-0088] (thermocuring resins [0072] of NP dispersion meant to be cured [0072] would be cured upon high pressure, thermal treatment and hardening of “imprinting” step [0081-0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer in view of Zheng to be provided, at least in part, in a stable dispersion [0055, 0066] with thermocuring resins [0072] in order to enhance the multifunctionality of the polymeric material by allowing the incorporation of additional types of polymer particles [0002-0003, 0008] and enhance control over mechanical properties [0009] of the treated [0055-0060] polymer material, as taught by Hernandez.
Regarding claim 12, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 10. However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles in a solvent on the areas of the top surface of the substrate around the periphery of the light emitting device, and not on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs; and
depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles in a solvent on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058] around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) fig. 9B [0058] and over the lanes (903s) figs. 9A-9B [0058] in LED array (100s), and not on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (100); and
curing the dispersion of polymer particles to form the polymer film (502) fig. 9B [0059] disposed on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) and over the lanes (903) in the array of LEDs (100s).
Zheng teaches a method [see fig. 5, 0067] comprising:
depositing polymer particles (34 with 36 – each comprising particles) fig. 4 [0061, 0018, 0045] (may be polymer spheres [0018]) on (supported by) the areas of the top surface of the substrate (comprising 58) fig. 4 [0060] around the periphery of the light emitting device (56) fig. 4 [0057] and over the lanes (gaps between 56s) [0057] in LED array (56s), and not on the top light emitting surfaces (tops of 56) [0057] of the LEDs (56s) (34 with 36 disposed around sidewall periphery of light emitting device(s) 56 and not on top surface(s)); and
polymer particles (comprising particles of 34 and 36) to form the polymer film (34 with 36 film) fig. 4 [0018, 0061] disposed on (supported by) the areas of the top surface of the substrate (58) around the periphery of the light emitting device (56) (36 with 34 around sidewall periphery of device 56, on/ supported by top of substrate 58) and over the lanes (gaps between 56s) in the array of LEDs (56s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bohmer such that polymer particles of the particle film [0018, 0045, 0060] are selectively provided around lateral peripheries of the light emitting device(s) [0057] in order to promote an improved degree of light extraction [0016] though beneficial scattering [0018, 0059] by the polymer particles, as taught by Zheng.
However, Bohmer in view of Zheng (with reference to Zheng) does not explicitly disclose depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles (34 with 36 particles) in a solvent,
curing the dispersion of polymer particles (comprising particles of 34 and 36) to form the polymer film (34 with 36 film) [0018, 0061].
Hernandez teaches a method [see title, fig. 1, 0023] comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion (“NP dispersion”) fig. 1, step b [0055, 0062] of polymer particles (“particles” [0062, 0066]; could be “polymer spheres” 34 in Zheng [0018 Zheng]) in a solvent [0062],
curing (‘imprinting’) [0081-0088] the dispersion of polymer particles (NP dispersion) (dispersion may be provided with thermocuring resins intended to be cured [0072]) to form the polymer film (“microstructured film”) fig. 1 [0085-0088] (thermocuring resins [0072] of NP dispersion meant to be cured [0072] would be cured upon high pressure, thermal treatment and hardening of “imprinting” step [0081-0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer in view of Zheng to be provided, at least in part, in a stable dispersion [0055, 0066] with thermocuring resins [0072] in order to enhance the multifunctionality of the polymeric material by allowing the incorporation of additional types of polymer particles [0002-0003, 0008] and enhance control over mechanical properties [0009] of the treated [0055-0060] polymer material, as taught by Hernandez.
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1), as applied in claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Zuo (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0330857A1) and Hernandez (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0091950A1).
Regarding claim 4, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 1. However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles in a solvent on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058] around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) fig. 9B [0058] and on the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (100);
removing the portion of the stable dispersion deposited on the top surface of the light emitting device (100); and
curing the remaining portion of the dispersion of polymer particles to form the polymer film (502) fig. 9B [0059] disposed on the areas of the top surface of the substrate around the periphery of the light emitting device (100).
Zuo teaches a method [see figs. 7K-7L, 0143-0144] comprising:
depositing polymer particles (particles of 426) fig. 7L [0144] on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (417) fig. 7K [0143] around the periphery of the light emitting device (425b) fig. 7K [0144] and on the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (425b) (426 polymer is first deposited over all of 417 and ‘covering’ tops of LED’s [0143-0144] prior to etching at intermediate stage between figs. 7K-7L [0144]);
removing the portion of the dispersion of polymer particles (426 particles) (underlined added for Examination purposes) deposited on the top surface of the light emitting device (425b) (‘etching the polymer 426’ to expose covered tops of LED 425b between figs. 7K-7L [0144]); and
curing [0144] the remaining portion of the dispersion of polymer particles [see fig. 7L, 0144] to form the polymer film (cured 426 film [0144]) disposed on (supported by) the areas of the top surface of the substrate (417) around the (sidewall) periphery of the light emitting device (425b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer such that the sidewalls of the light emitting elements (LED) are directly coated [0143-0144] by the cured polymer particles [0143-0144] of Zuo in order to improve the structural stability of coated LEDs [0144, 0149] to support their integration into vertical and horizontal structures [0013, 0145, 0149], as taught by Zuo.
However, Bohmer in view of Zuo (with reference to Zuo) does not explicitly disclose depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles (426 particles) in a solvent,
Hernandez teaches a method [see title, fig. 1, 0023] comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion (“NP dispersion”) fig. 1, step b [0055, 0062] of polymer particles (“particles” [0062, 0066]; could be “polymer spheres” 34 in Zheng [0018 Zheng]) in a solvent [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer in view of Zuo to be provided, at least in part, in a stable dispersion [0055, 0066] with thermocuring resins [0072] in order to enhance the multifunctionality of the polymeric material by allowing the incorporation of additional types of polymer particles [0002-0003, 0008] and enhance control over mechanical properties [0009] of the treated [0055-0060] polymer material, as taught by Hernandez.
Regarding claim 5, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 1.
However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles in a solvent on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058] around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) fig. 9B [0058 and on the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (100);
curing the dispersion of polymer particles to form the polymer film disposed on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) and on the top light emitting surface of the LEDs (100); and
removing the polymer film from the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (100) without removing the polymer film disposed on the top surface of the substrate (902) around the periphery of the light emitting device (100).
Zuo teaches a method [see figs. 7K-7L, 0143-0144] comprising:
depositing polymer particles (particles of 426) fig. 7L [0144] on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (417) fig. 7K [0143] around the periphery of the light emitting device (425b) fig. 7K [0144] and on the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (425b) (426 polymer is first deposited over all of 417 and ‘covering’ tops of LED’s [0143-0144] prior to etching at intermediate stage between figs. 7K-7L [0144]);
curing [0144] the dispersion of polymer particles [see fig. 7L, 0144] to form the polymer film (cured 426 film [0144]) disposed on (supported by) the areas of the top surface of the substrate (417) around the (sidewall) periphery of the light emitting device (425b) and on (supported by) the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (426 polymer is first deposited over all of 417 and ‘covering’ tops of LED’s [0143-0144] prior to curing [0144], followed by etching [0144] at intermediate stage between figs. 7K-7L [0144]); and
removing the polymer film (426) figs. 7K-7L [0143-0144]) from the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (425b) without removing the polymer film (426) disposed on the top surface of the substrate (147) around the periphery of the light emitting device (425b) (‘etching the polymer 426’ to expose covered tops of LED 425b between figs. 7K-7L [0144] – while maintaining portion of 426 around sidewalls of 425b LED in fig. 7L [0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer such that the sidewalls of the light emitting elements (LED) are directly coated [0143-0144] by the cured polymer particles [0143-0144] of Zuo in order to improve the structural stability of coated LEDs [0144, 0149] to support their integration into vertical and horizontal structures [0013, 0145, 0149], as taught by Zuo.
However, Bohmer in view of Zuo (with reference to Zuo) does not explicitly disclose depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles (426 particles) in a solvent,
Hernandez teaches a method [see title, fig. 1, 0023] comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion (“NP dispersion”) fig. 1, step b [0055, 0062] of polymer particles (“particles” [0062, 0066]; could be “polymer spheres” 34 in Zheng [0018 Zheng]) in a solvent [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer in view of Zuo to be provided, at least in part, in a stable dispersion [0055, 0066] with thermocuring resins [0072] in order to enhance the multifunctionality of the polymeric material by allowing the incorporation of additional types of polymer particles [0002-0003, 0008] and enhance control over mechanical properties [0009] of the treated [0055-0060] polymer material, as taught by Hernandez.
Regarding claim 13, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 10. However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles in a solvent on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058] around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) fig. 9B [0058], on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (100), and over the lanes (903s) figs. 9A-9B [0058] in the array of LEDs (100s);
removing the portion of the stable dispersion deposited on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (100); and
curing the remaining portion of the dispersion of polymer particles to form the polymer film (502) fig. 9B [0059] disposed on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) and over the lanes (903s) in the array of LEDs (100s).
Zuo teaches a method [see figs. 7K-7L, 0143-0144] comprising:
depositing polymer particles (particles of 426) fig. 7L [0144] on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (417) fig. 7K [0143] around the periphery of the light emitting device (425b) fig. 7K [0144] and on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s), and over the lanes (gaps adjacent between 425, 402, 422) figs.7L [0143-0144] in the array of LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s) [0143] (426 polymer is first deposited over all of 417 and ‘covering’ tops of LED’s [0143-0144] prior to etching at intermediate stage between figs. 7K-7L [0144]);
removing the portion of the dispersion of polymer particles (426 particles) (underlined added for Examination purposes) deposited on the top surfaces of the LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s) (‘etching the polymer 426’ to expose covered tops of LED 425b between figs. 7K-7L [0144]); and
curing [0144] the remaining portion of the dispersion of polymer particles [see fig. 7L, 0144] to form the polymer film (cured 426 film [0144]) disposed on (supported by) the areas of the top surface of the substrate (417) around the (sidewall) periphery of the light emitting device (425b) and over the lanes (gaps adjacent between 425, 402, 422) figs.7L [0143-0144] in the array of LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s) [0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer such that the sidewalls of the light emitting elements (LED) are directly coated [0143-0144] by the cured polymer particles [0143-0144] of Zuo in order to improve the structural stability of coated LEDs [0144, 0149] to support their integration into vertical and horizontal structures [0013, 0145, 0149], as taught by Zuo.
However, Bohmer in view of Zuo (with reference to Zuo) does not explicitly disclose depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles (426 particles) in a solvent,
Hernandez teaches a method [see title, fig. 1, 0023] comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion (“NP dispersion”) fig. 1, step b [0055, 0062] of polymer particles (“particles” [0062, 0066]; could be “polymer spheres” 34 in Zheng [0018 Zheng]) in a solvent [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer in view of Zuo to be provided, at least in part, in a stable dispersion [0055, 0066] with thermocuring resins [0072] in order to enhance the multifunctionality of the polymeric material by allowing the incorporation of additional types of polymer particles [0002-0003, 0008] and enhance control over mechanical properties [0009] of the treated [0055-0060] polymer material, as taught by Hernandez.
Regarding claim 14, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 10. However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles in a solvent on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058] around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) fig. 9B [0058], on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (100), and over the lanes (903s) figs. 9A-9B [0058] in the array of LEDs (100s);
curing the dispersion of polymer particles to form the polymer film disposed on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (902) around the periphery of the light emitting device (100), on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (100), and over the lanes (903s) figs. 9A-9B [0058] in the array of LEDs (100s); and
removing the polymer film from the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (100) without removing the polymer film disposed on the top surface of the substrate (902) around the periphery of the light emitting device (100) and over the lanes (903) in the array of LEDs (100s).
Zuo teaches a method [see figs. 7K-7L, 0143-0144] comprising:
depositing polymer particles (particles of 426) fig. 7L [0144] on the areas of the top surface of the substrate (417) fig. 7K [0143] around the periphery of the light emitting device (425b) fig. 7K [0144], on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s), and over the lanes (gaps adjacent between 425, 402, 422) figs.7L [0143-0144] in the array of LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s) [0143] (426 polymer is first deposited over all of 417 and ‘covering’ tops of LED’s [0143-0144] prior to etching at intermediate stage between figs. 7K-7L [0144]);
curing [0144] the dispersion of polymer particles [see fig. 7L, 0144] to form the polymer film (cured 426 film [0144]) disposed on (supported by) the areas of the top surface of the substrate (417) around the (sidewall) periphery of the light emitting device (425b), on the top light emitting surfaces of the LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s), and over the lanes (gaps adjacent between 425, 402, 422) figs.7L [0143-0144] in the array of LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s) [0143] (426 polymer is first deposited over all of 417 and ‘covering’ tops of LED’s [0143-0144] prior to curing [0144], followed by etching [0144] at intermediate stage between figs. 7K-7L [0144]); and
removing the polymer film (426) figs. 7K-7L [0143-0144]) from the top light emitting surface of the light emitting device (425b) without removing the polymer film (426) disposed on the top surface of the substrate (147) around the periphery of the light emitting device (425b) and over the lanes (gaps adjacent between 425, 402, 422) figs.7L [0143-0144] in the array of LEDs (425s, 402s, 422s) [0143] (‘etching the polymer 426’ to expose covered tops of LED 425b between figs. 7K-7L [0144] – while maintaining portion of 426 around sidewalls of 425b LED in fig. 7L [0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer such that the sidewalls of the light emitting elements (LED) are directly coated [0143-0144] by the cured polymer particles [0143-0144] of Zuo in order to improve the structural stability of coated LEDs [0144, 0149] to support their integration into vertical and horizontal structures [0013, 0145, 0149], as taught by Zuo.
However, Bohmer in view of Zuo (with reference to Zuo) does not explicitly disclose depositing a stable dispersion of polymer particles (426 particles) in a solvent,
Hernandez teaches a method [see title, fig. 1, 0023] comprising:
depositing a stable dispersion (“NP dispersion”) fig. 1, step b [0055, 0062] of polymer particles (“particles” [0062, 0066]; could be “polymer spheres” 34 in Zheng [0018 Zheng]) in a solvent [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer in view of Zuo to be provided, at least in part, in a stable dispersion [0055, 0066] with thermocuring resins [0072] in order to enhance the multifunctionality of the polymeric material by allowing the incorporation of additional types of polymer particles [0002-0003, 0008] and enhance control over mechanical properties [0009] of the treated [0055-0060] polymer material, as taught by Hernandez.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1) modified by Zuo (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0330857A1) and Hernandez (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0091950A1), as applied in claim 5 above, and further in view of Kwon (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0411795A1).
Regarding claim 6, Bohmer in view of Zuo and Hernandez teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 5. Bohmer in view of Zuo and Hernandez (with reference to Hernandez) also teaches and the solvent [applied at step b, fig. 1, 0062] is water [0062] (water may be used as solvent for particles [0062]).
However, Bohmer in view of Zuo and Hernandez does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer particles are particles of natural rubber.
Kwon teaches a method [see title, fig. 2, 0094] wherein the polymer particles (710 particles) fig. 2 [0099-01000] are particles of natural rubber [0100].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bohmer in view of Zuo and Hernandez such that the polymer particles at least partially comprise natural rubber [0099-0100] because of the material’s favorable photohardening [0099-0100] and adhesive strength [0100] properties, as taught by Kwon.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1) modified by Zuo (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0330857A1), Hernandez (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0091950A1), and Kwon (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0411795A1), as applied in claim 6 above, and further in view of Yu (U.S. PG Pub No US20080274424A1).
Regarding claim 7, Bohmer in view of Zuo, Hernandez, and Kwon teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 6. Bohmer in view of Zuo, Hernandez, and Kwon (with reference to Hernandez) does not explicitly disclose wherein the stable dispersion comprises alkaline cross-linking agents.
Yu teaches a method [see title] wherein the stable dispersion comprises alkaline cross-linking agents (cross-linking agents may be combined with one or more alkaline soluble resin/polymers [0030-0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stable dispersion of Bohmer in view of Zuo, Hernandez, and Kwon to further comprise cross-linking agents combined with alkaline-soluble resin [0030-0033] in order to selectively enhance the composition of the polymer so as to improve lubricity, adhesion, and enhance general integrity and resilience properties of the formed product [0030-0033], as taught by Yu.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1), as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Iwakura (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0259916A1).
Regarding claim 8, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 1. However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose comprising depositing a dielectric coating on the phosphor particles (particles in 905 region) fig. 9C [0060] (905 is silicone material comprising phosphor particles [0060, 0062]) after depositing the phosphor particles (particles in 905) on the polymer film (502) fig. 9B [0059] and before removing the polymer film (502) from the top surface of the substrate (902) fig. 9B [0058], the dielectric coating binding the phosphor particles (particles in 905) to each other.
Iwakura teaches a method (of making 600) fig. 12C [0139, 0142] comprising depositing a dielectric coating (7e) fig. 12C [0142] on (supported by) the phosphor particles (particles in 4) fig. 12C [0142] after depositing [0142] the phosphor particles (in 4) on the polymer film (3) fig. 12 [0056] and before removing (before apparent subsequent removal of) the polymer film (3) from the top surface of the substrate (2B) fig. 12C [0115-0116], the dielectric coating (7e) binding the phosphor particles (particles in 4) to each other (by applying non zero weight-pressure to surface of 4, 7e binds particles in 4 together).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bohmer to include the formation of the dielectric coating(s) [0142] of Iwakura on the phosphor-particle comprising material(s) [0142] in order to selectively enhance the transmission and reflection of particular colors of light [0143] so as to desirably enhance light output efficiency [0143], as taught by Ikakura.
Regarding claim 9, Bohmer in view of Ikakura teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 8. Bohmer in view of Ikakura (with reference to Ikakura) also teaches comprising depositing the dielectric coating (7e) fig. 12C [0142] using an atomic layer deposition process [0142 Ikakura].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1), as applied in claim 15 above, in view of Windisch (U.S. PG Pub No US2015/0034980A1).
Regarding claim 17, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 15. However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the first (left) type and the second (right) type of phosphors is a green phosphor type and the other of the first (left) type and the second (right) type of phosphors is a red phosphor type.
Windisch teaches a method (of forming 51) fig. 5 [0089] wherein one of the first (left) type and the second (right) type of phosphors is (at least in part) a green phosphor type (left and right halves of 53 material both comprise green phosphor type particles [0089]) and the other of the first (left) type and the second (right) type of phosphors is a red phosphor type (left and right halves of 53 material both comprise red phosphor type particles [0089]) (silicone resin 53 comprising phosphor particles [0089] comprises mix [0081] of red and green phosphor particles [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bohmer such that the phosphor layer(s) comprises a mix of both red and green phosphor particles [0081, 0089] in order to improve the mixing of colors [0003-0004] so as to better color rendering qualities [0003] of the LED system [0003-0005], as taught by Windisch.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1), as applied in claim 15 above, in view of Hernandez (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0091950A1).
Regarding claim 18, Bohmer teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 15. However, Bohmer does not explicitly disclose wherein the first polymer film (left 502) fig. 9B [0059] and the second polymer film (right 502) fig. 9B [0059] are formed from stable dispersions of polymer particles in a solvent.
Hernandez teaches a method [see title, fig. 1, 0023] wherein the first polymer film (represented by left microstructured film) fig. 1 [0023, 0030] and the second polymer film (represented by right microstructured film) fig. 1 [0023, 0030] are formed stable dispersions (“NP dispersion”) fig. 1, step b [0055, 0062] of polymer particles (“particles” [0062, 0066 Hernandez] – [0059] of Bohmer teaches polymer material) in a solvent [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer particles of Bohmer to be provided, at least in part, in a stable dispersion [0055, 0066] with thermocuring resins [0072] in order to enhance the multifunctionality of the polymeric material by allowing the incorporation of additional types of polymer particles [0002-0003, 0008] and enhance control over mechanical properties [0009] of the treated [0055-0060] polymer material, as taught by Hernandez.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1) modified by Hernandez (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0091950A1), as applied in claim 18 above, and further in view of Kwon (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0411795A1).
Regarding claim 19, Bohmer in view of Hernandez teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 18. Bohmer in view of Hernandez (with reference to Hernandez) also teaches and the solvent [applied at step b, fig. 1, 0062] is water [0062] (water may be used as solvent for particles [0062]).
However, Bohmer in view of Hernandez does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer particles are particles of natural rubber.
Kwon teaches a method [see title, fig. 2, 0094] wherein the polymer particles (710 particles) fig. 2 [0099-01000] are particles of natural rubber [0100].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bohmer in view of Hernandez such that the polymer particles at least partially comprise natural rubber [0099-0100] because of the material’s favorable photohardening [0099-0100] and adhesive strength [0100] properties, as taught by Kwon.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohmer (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0212270A1) modified by Hernandez (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0091950A1) and Kwon (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0411795A1), as applied in claim 19 above, and further in view of Yu (U.S. PG Pub No US2008/0274424A1).
Regarding claim 20, Bohmer in view of Hernandez and Kwon teaches the method [see figs. 9A-9E, 0058-0060] of claim 19. However, Bohmer in view of Hernandez and Kwon (with reference to Hernandez) does not explicitly disclose wherein the stable dispersion [0055-0062] comprises alkaline cross-linking agents.
Yu teaches a method [see title] wherein the stable dispersion comprises alkaline cross-linking agents (cross-linking agents may be combined with one or more alkaline soluble resin/polymers [0030-0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stable dispersion of Bohmer in view of, Hernandez and Kwon to further comprise cross-linking agents combined with alkaline-soluble resin [0030-0033] in order to selectively enhance the composition of the polymer so as to improve lubricity, adhesion, and enhance general integrity and resilience properties of the formed product [0030-0033], as taught by Yu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature methods of forming polymer materials applicable to polymers in light emitting element arrays.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 07/23/2026