DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/31/2024, 12/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chai et al (US 2021/0097919; hereinafter Chai).
Regarding claim 16, Figs 1, 4 and 7 of Chai discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (1; Fig 3; ¶ [0026]);
a first light emitting emitter (23; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]);
a second light emitter (22; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]) having a different peak wavelength (Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) than that of the first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]); and
a third light emitter (21; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) and configured to emit a third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]) having a different peak wavelength (Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) than that of the second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]);
wherein a luminous intensity (¶ [0054]) of the third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]) is higher (¶ [0054]) than a luminous intensity of the first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]); and
wherein a luminous intensity (¶ [0054]) of the second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]) is higher (¶ [0054]) than the luminous intensity of the third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 19, Figs 1, 4 and 7 of Chai discloses the first light emitting emitter (23; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) is configured to emit blue light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]), the second light emitter (22; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) is configured to emit green light (Green light; ¶ [0054]) and the third light emitter (21; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) is configured to emit red light (Red light; ¶ [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al (US 2021/0097919; hereinafter Chai) in view of Kim et al (US 2015/0228867; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Figs 1, 4 and 7 of Chai discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (1; Fig 3; ¶ [0026]);
a first light emitting emitter (23; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) and configured to emit a first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]);
a second light emitter (22; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) and configured to emit a second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]) having a longer peak wavelength (Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) than that of the first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]); and
a third light emitter (21; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) and configured to emit a third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]) having a longer peak wavelength (Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) than that of the second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]);
wherein a luminous intensity (¶ [0054]) of the third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]) is higher (¶ [0054]) than a luminous intensity of the first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]); and
wherein a luminous intensity (¶ [0054]) of the second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]) is higher (¶ [0054]) than the luminous intensity of the third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]).
However Chai does not expressly disclose a circuit and a first/second/third light emitters are electrically connected to the circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Figs 2 and 10 of Kim discloses a substrate comprising a circuit (113a/113b/111a/111b/112a/112b; Fig 10; ¶ [0052]) and a first/second/third light emitters (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]) are electrically connected to the circuit.
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a substrate comprises a circuit as the driving unit is configured to drive the light emitting module (¶ [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Chai in view of Kim (Fig 10 of Kim in particular) discloses the circuit (113a/113b/111a/111b/112a/112b; Fig 10; ¶ [0052]) includes pads (113a/113b; Fig 10; ¶ [0049]) and at least one of the pads (113a/113b; Fig 10; ¶ [0049]) is electrically connected to the first light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]), the second light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]) and the third light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Chai in view of Kim (Fig 10 of Kim in particular) discloses a number of the pads (113a/113b; Fig 10; ¶ [0049]) is larger than a number of light emitters (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 4, Chai in view of Kim (Fig 10 of Kim in particular) discloses a bonding layer (¶ [0049]) disposed between at least one of the pads (113a/113b; Fig 10; ¶ [0049]) and at least one of the first light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]), the second light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]) or the third light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that bonding layer is disposed between the pads and the light emitters in order to provide a conductive adhesive to contact the electrodes of the light emitters to the pads (¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Chai does not expressly disclose the first light emitter includes a resin layer covering a region of the first light emitter.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 10 of Kim discloses the first light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]) includes a resin layer (140; Fig 10; ¶ [0067]) covering a region of the first light emitter (Fig 10).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a resin layer is formed that covers a region of the first light emitter as the resin layer encapsulates the light emitting diode and protects the chip from moisture and heat (¶ [0066]).
Regarding claim 7, Chai in view of Kim as modified above in claim 6 (Fig 10 of Kim in particular) discloses a side surface of the resin layer (140; Fig 10; ¶ [0067]) comprises a region inclined at an angle of 90 degrees or less (Fig 10) with respect to upper surface of the resin layer.
Regarding claim 8, Chai in view of Kim as modified above in claim 6 (Fig 10 of Kim in particular) discloses a side surface of the resin layer (140; Fig 10; ¶ [0067]) comprises a region inclined at an angle of 60 degrees or less (Fig 10) with respect to upper surface of the resin layer.
Regarding claim 10, Figs 1, 4 and 7 of Chai discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (1; Fig 3; ¶ [0026]);
a first light emitting emitter (23; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]);
a second light emitter (22; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]) having a different peak wavelength (Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) than that of the first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]); and
a third light emitter (21; Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) and configured to emit a third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]) having a different peak wavelength (Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) than that of the second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]);
wherein a luminous intensity (¶ [0054]) of the third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]) is higher (¶ [0054]) than a luminous intensity of the first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]); and
wherein a luminous intensity (¶ [0054]) of the second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]) is higher (¶ [0054]) than the luminous intensity of the third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]).
However Chai does not expressly disclose a circuit and a first/second/third light emitters are electrically connected to the circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Figs 2 and 10 of Kim discloses a substrate comprising a circuit (113a/113b/111a/111b/112a/112b; Fig 10; ¶ [0052]) and a first/second/third light emitters (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]) are electrically connected to the circuit.
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a substrate comprises a circuit as the driving unit is configured to drive the light emitting module (¶ [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Figs 1, 4 and 7 of Chai discloses the second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]) having a longer peak wavelength (Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) than that of the first light (Blue light; ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, Figs 1, 4 and 7 of Chai discloses the third light (Red light; ¶ [0054]) having a longer peak wavelength (Fig 7; ¶ [0054]) than that of the second light (Green light; ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, Chai does not expressly disclose the second light emitter includes a resin layer covering a region of the second light emitter.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 10 of Kim discloses the second light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]) includes a resin layer (140; Fig 10; ¶ [0067]) covering a region of the second light emitter (Fig 10).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a resin layer is formed that covers a region of the second light emitter as the resin layer encapsulates the light emitting diode and protects the chip from moisture and heat (¶ [0066]).
Regarding claim 14, Chai in view of Kim as modified above in claim 13 (Fig 10 of Kim in particular) discloses a side surface of the resin layer (140; Fig 10; ¶ [0067]) comprises a region inclined at an angle of 90 degrees or less (Fig 10) with respect to upper surface of the resin layer.
Regarding claim 15, Chai in view of Kim as modified above in claim 13 (Fig 10 of Kim in particular) discloses a side surface of the resin layer (140; Fig 10; ¶ [0067]) comprises a region inclined at an angle of 60 degrees or less (Fig 10) with respect to upper surface of the resin layer.
Regarding claim 17, Chai does not expressly disclose the substrate includes a circuit that includes pads and at least one of the pads is electrically connected to the first/second/third light emitters.
In the same field of endeavor, Figs 2 and 10 of Kim discloses a substrate comprising a circuit (113a/113b/111a/111b/112a/112b; Fig 10; ¶ [0052]) and the circuit (113a/113b/111a/111b/112a/112b; Fig 10; ¶ [0052]) includes pads (113a/113b; Fig 10; ¶ [0049]) and at least one of the pads (113a/113b; Fig 10; ¶ [0049]) is electrically connected to the first light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]), the second light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]) and the third light emitter (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a substrate comprises a circuit as the driving unit is configured to drive the light emitting module (¶ [0024]) and pads provide electrical connectivity between light emitters and the circuit.
Regarding claim 18, Chai in view of Kim (Fig 10 of Kim in particular) discloses a number of the pads (113a/113b; Fig 10; ¶ [0049]) is larger than a number of light emitters (120; Fig 10; ¶ [0048]).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al (US 2021/0097919; hereinafter Chai) in view of Kim et al (US 2015/0228867; hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of He (US 2020/0033658; hereinafter He).
Regarding claim 5, Chai in view of Kim does not expressly disclose the substrate includes a light transmitting material.
In the same field of endeavor, He discloses a substrate can comprise light transmitting materials such as glass (¶ [0042]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a substrate includes a light transmitting material such as glass for the purpose of using well known and suitable materials known in the art for forming substrates (¶ [0042]).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al (US 2021/0097919; hereinafter Chai) in view of Kim et al (US 2015/0228867; hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Morishita (US 2013/0057593; hereinafter Morishita).
Regarding claim 9, Chai in view of Kim does not expressly disclose a luminous intensity ratio of the third light emitter, the second light emitter and the first light emitter is adjusted to be close to 3:6:1.
In the same field of endeavor, Morishita discloses luminous intensity of red light: luminous intensity of green light: luminous intensity of blue light is set to be roughly 3:7:1 (¶ [0078]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a luminous intensity ratio of the third light emitter, the second light emitter and the first light emitter is adjusted to be close to 3:6:1 as taught by Morishita in order to achieve efficient color mixing (¶ [0078]).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al (US 2021/0097919; hereinafter Chai) and further in view of Morishita (US 2013/0057593; hereinafter Morishita).
Regarding claim 20, Chai in view of Kim does not expressly disclose a luminous intensity ratio of the third light emitter, the second light emitter and the first light emitter is adjusted to be close to 3:6:1.
In the same field of endeavor, Morishita discloses luminous intensity of red light: luminous intensity of green light: luminous intensity of blue light is set to be roughly 3:7:1 (¶ [0078]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a luminous intensity ratio of the third light emitter, the second light emitter and the first light emitter is adjusted to be close to 3:6:1 as taught by Morishita in order to achieve efficient color mixing (¶ [0078]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al (US 8963178)
Kim et al (US 2014/0339584)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817