DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant’s communication filed 31 May 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11, 14-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zenou et al. (US 20200350275 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zenou et al.
Regarding claim 1, Zenou et al. teaches a bridge structure that extends between a contact pad a printed circuit board (PCB) at a conductive trace of the PCB and a contact pad of a component disposed on the PCB, the bridge structure comprising:
a first ultra-violet (UV) curable polymer layer (20) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 20) extending from a top surface of the conductive trace (14) at the PCB (10) contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 33: PCB 10 comprises circuit board traces and contact pads 14);
a second UV curable polymer layer (24) extending from the first UV curable polymer layer (20) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 24 formed on supporting layer 20) opposite the PCB (10) contact pad (14), the second UV curable polymer layer (24) being formed on the first UV curable polymer layer (20) after the first UV curable polymer layer (20) is cured with UV illumination (Fig. 4A, views ii, iv, and vi and paragraph 34: supporting layer 24 is formed on supporting layer 20 after the UV curing of supporting layer 20 is performed);
a third UV curable polymer layer (28) extending from the second UV curable polymer layer (24) opposite the first UV curable polymer layer (20) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 28 formed on supporting layer 24), the third UV curable polymer layer (28) extending to a top surface of the component (12) at the component contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 33: the electronic components 12 have their own connectors 14), the third UV curable polymer layer (28) being formed on the second UV curable polymer layer (24) after the second UV curable polymer (24) layer is cured with the UV illumination (Fig. 4A, views ii, iv, and vi and paragraph 34: supporting layer 28 is formed on supporting layer 24 after the UV curing of supporting layer 24 is performed), wherein the first UV curable polymer layer (20), the second UV curable polymer layer (24), and the third UV curable polymer (28) layer have a stepwise configuration extending between the PCB contact pad (14) and the component contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A); and
a conductive interconnect (58) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 40: conductive material 58 formed on the support materials 20, 24, 28) on each of the first UV curable polymer layer (20), the second UV curable polymer layer (24), and the third UV curable polymer layer (28), wherein the first UV curable polymer layer (20), the second UV curable polymer layer (24), and the third UV curable polymer layer (28) form a loop configuration between the PCB contact pad (14) and the component contact pad (14) (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 1, wherein the first UV curable polymer layer (20) is formed at an edge of the PCB (10) and the third UV curable polymer layer (38) is formed at an edge of the component (12) such that the bridge structure (20, 24, 28) extends between the edge of the PCB (10) at the PCB (10) top surface and the component (12) edge at the component (12) top surface (see Figs. 5 and 6A-B and paragraph 40: the supporting layers 20, 24, and 28 and conductive layer 58 are formed on the top surface of the PCB 10 close to the edge and proceed from the surface of PCB 10 to the edge and upper surface of component 12).
Regarding claim 3, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 2, wherein the conductive interconnect (28) extends beyond the first UV curable polymer layer (20), over a portion of the PCB (10), and contacts the PCB contact pad (14) and the conductive interconnect (58) extends beyond the third UV curable polymer layer (28), over a portion of the component (12), and contacts the component contact pad (14) (see Fig. 6A: the conductive layer 58 extends over the upper surfaces of PCB 10 and chip 12 to cover the contact pads 14 of each).
Regarding claim 4, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 1, wherein the first UV curable polymer layer (20) is formed on a top surface of the PCB contact pad (14) and the third UV curable polymer layer (28) is formed on a top surface of the component contact pad (14) such that the bridge structure (20, 24, 28) extends from the PCB contact pad (14) top surface to the component contact pad (14) top surface (Figs. 4A-B and 5 and paragraphs 33-34: the support layer 20 is formed on the upper surface of pad 14 on PCB 10 and the support layer 28 is formed on upper surface of the pad 14 on electronic component 12).
Regarding claim 5, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 1, wherein the conductive interconnect (58) is formed from conductive ink printed on the bridge structure (20, 24, 28) (see paragraph 40: the conductive material 54 that forms the interconnect 58 is formed by a LIFT printing process, which involves a metallic ink).
Regarding claim 6, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 1, wherein the first UV curable layer (20) is formed on a top surface of the PCB conductive trace (14) and extends away from the PCB conductive trace (14) top surface (Figs. 4A-B and 5 and paragraphs 33-34: the support layer 20 is formed on the upper surface of pad 14 on PCB 10) where the third UV curable polymer layer (28) is higher than the first UV curable polymer layer (20) and the bridge structure (20, 24, 28) loops upwardly between the PCB (10) top surface and the component (12) top surface (see Figs. 4A and 5).
Regarding claim 9, Zenou et al. teaches a bridge structure that extends between a contact pad a printed circuit board (PCB) at a conductive trace of the PCB and a contact pad of a component disposed on the PCB, the bridge structure comprising:
a first layer (20) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 20) extending from a top surface of the conductive trace (14) at the PCB contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 33: PCB 10 comprises circuit board traces and contact pads 14);
a second layer (24) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 24 formed on supporting layer 20) extending from the first layer (20) opposite the PCB contact pad (14), the second layer (24) being formed on the first layer (20);
a third layer (28) extending from the second layer (24) opposite the first layer (20) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 28 formed on supporting layer 24), the third layer (28) extending to a top surface of the component (12) at the component contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 33: the electronic components 12 have their own connectors 14), the third layer (28) being formed on the second layer (24), wherein the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28) have a stepwise configuration extending between the PCB contact pad (14) and the component contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A); and
a conductive interconnect (58) on each of the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28), wherein the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28) form a loop configuration between the PCB contact pad (14) and the component contact pad (14) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 40: conductive material 58 formed on the support materials 20, 24, 28).
Regarding claim 11, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 9, wherein each of the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28) are formed with an ultraviolet (UV) curable polymer layer (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: layers 20, 24, and 28 are formed by UV curing).
Regarding claim 14, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 9, wherein the first layer (20) is formed on a top surface of the PCB conductive trace (14) and extends away from the PCB conductive trace (14) top surface (Figs. 4A-B and 5 and paragraphs 33-34: the support layer 20 is formed on the upper surface of pad 14 on PCB 10) where the third layer (28) is higher than the first layer (20) and the bridge structure (20, 24, 28) loops upwardly between the PCB (10) top surface and the component (12) top surface (see Figs. 4A and 5).
Regarding claim 15, Zenou et al. teaches a bridge structure that extends between a contact pad a printed circuit board (PCB) at a conductive trace of the PCB and a contact pad of a component disposed on the PCB, the bridge structure comprising:
a first layer (20) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 20) extending from a top surface of the conductive trace (14) at the PCB contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 33: PCB 10 comprises circuit board traces and contact pads 14);
a second layer (24) extending from the first layer (20) opposite the PCB contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 24 formed on supporting layer 20), the second layer (24) being formed on the first layer (20);
a third layer (28) extending from the second layer (24) opposite the first layer (20) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: UV-cured supporting layer 28 formed on supporting layer 24), the third layer (28) extending to a top surface of the component (12) at the component contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A and paragraph 33: the electronic components 12 have their own connectors 14), the third layer (28) being formed on the second layer (24), wherein the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28) have a stepwise configuration extending between the PCB contact pad (14) and the component contact pad (14) (Fig. 4A); and
a conductive interconnect (58) on each of the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 40: conductive material 58 formed on the support materials 20, 24, 28).
Regarding claim 16, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 15, wherein the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28) form a loop configuration between the PCB contact pad (14) and the component contact pad (14) (see Figs. 4A and 5).
Regarding claim 17, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 15, wherein the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28) have a linear configuration between the PCB contact pad (14) and the component contact pad (14) (see Figs. 4A and 5).
Regarding claim 18, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 15, wherein each of the first layer (20), the second layer (24), and the third layer (28) are formed from one of a thixotropic ink or an ultraviolet (UV) curable polymer layer (Fig. 4A and paragraph 34: layers 20, 24, and 28 are formed by UV curing).
Regarding claim 20, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 15, wherein the first layer (20) is formed on a top surface of the PCB conductive trace (14) and extends away from the PCB conductive trace (14) top surface (Figs. 4A-B and 5 and paragraphs 33-34: the support layer 20 is formed on the upper surface of pad 14 on PCB 10) where the third layer (28) is higher than the first layer (20) and the bridge structure (20, 24, 28) loops upwardly between the PCB (10) top surface and the component (12) top surface (see Figs. 4A and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 12-13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zenou et al. in view of Allen et al. (GB 2521619 A), hereinafter referred to as Allen et al.
Regarding claim 7, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 1, but does not teach that the PCB includes a cavity and the component is disposed in the cavity such that the first UV curable polymer layer is planar with the third UV curable polymer layer and the bridge structure loops between the first UV curable polymer layer and the third UV curable polymer layer.
Allen et al. does teach that the PCB (102) includes a cavity (108) and the component (112) is disposed in the cavity (108) such that the first UV curable polymer layer is planar with the third UV curable polymer layer and the bridge structure loops between the first UV curable polymer layer and the third UV curable polymer layer (Allen et al. Fig. 1E and page 13, paragraphs 1-2: component 112 is disposed in cavity 108 such that the ends of the interconnects 126, 128 are coplanar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the PCB of Zenou et al. with the component in a cavity such that the first and third UV curable layers are coplanar as taught by Allen et al. because the configuration, including the cavity and curved interconnect, of Allen et al. reduces stress on the interconnect (Allen et al. abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 1, but does not teach that an airgap is formed underneath the bridge structure.
Allen et al. does teach that an airgap (130, 132) is formed underneath the bridge structure (126, 128) (Allen et al. Fig. 1E and page 13, paragraphs 1-2: airgaps 130, 132 formed under the interconnects 126 and 128, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the bridge structure of Zenou et al. with an airgap as taught by Allen et al. because the airgaps of Allen et al. reduce stress on the interconnects (Allen et al. abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 1, but does not teach that the PCB includes a cavity and the component is disposed in the cavity such that the first layer is planar with the third layer and the bridge structure loops between the first layer and the third layer.
Allen et al. does teach that the PCB (102) includes a cavity (108) and the component (112) is disposed in the cavity (108) such that the first layer is planar with the third layer and the bridge structure loops between the first layer and the third layer (Allen et al. Fig. 1E and page 13, paragraphs 1-2: component 112 is disposed in cavity 108 such that the ends of the interconnects 126, 128 are coplanar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the PCB of Zenou et al. with the component in a cavity such that the first and third layers are coplanar as taught by Allen et al. because the configuration, including the cavity and curved interconnect, of Allen et al. reduces stress on the interconnect (Allen et al. abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 9, but does not teach that an airgap is formed underneath the bridge structure.
Allen et al. does teach that an airgap (130, 132) is formed underneath the bridge structure (126, 128) (Allen et al. Fig. 1E and page 13, paragraphs 1-2: airgaps 130, 132 formed under the interconnects 126 and 128, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the bridge structure of Zenou et al. with an airgap as taught by Allen et al. because the airgaps of Allen et al. reduce stress on the interconnects (Allen et al. abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 15, but does not teach that the PCB includes a cavity and the component is disposed in the cavity such that the first layer is planar with the third layer and the bridge structure loops between the first layer and the third layer.
Allen et al. does teach that the PCB (102) includes a cavity (108) and the component (112) is disposed in the cavity (108) such that the first layer is planar with the third layer and the bridge structure loops between the first layer and the third layer (Allen et al. Fig. 1E and page 13, paragraphs 1-2: component 112 is disposed in cavity 108 such that the ends of the interconnects 126, 128 are coplanar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the PCB of Zenou et al. with the component in a cavity such that the first and third layers are coplanar as taught by Allen et al. because the configuration, including the cavity and curved interconnect, of Allen et al. reduces stress on the interconnect (Allen et al. abstract).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zenou et al. in view of Roys et al. (US 20090047477 A1), hereinafter referred to as Roys et al.
Regarding claim 10, Zenou et al. teaches the bridge structure of claim 9, but does not teach that each of the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer are formed with a thixotropic ink.
Roys et al. does teach that each of the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer are formed with a thixotropic ink (Roys et al. paragraphs 6 and 8: the ink has a thixotropic filler material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first, second, and third layers of Zenou et al. from a thixotropic ink as taught by Roys et al. because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
/JOHN B FREAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847