Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8, Applicant describes Lee’s reinforcing boundary pattern 50 physically contacts the circuit pattern 20. As such, Applicant alleges that Lee does not teach “a first reinforcement pattern. . . physically separated from the first wiring pattern” as recited in independent claims 1 and 16. Therefore, Applicant alleges that claim 1 is allowable over Kyozuka in view of Lee.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s line of reasoning and conclusion because Kyozuka teaches the limitation: “a first reinforcement pattern. . . physically separated from the first wiring pattern” (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; reinforcing metal layer 22A is physically separated from the power supply pattern 29).
Lee is relied on to teach the limitation: the reinforcement pattern “to be spaced apart from an edge of the cavity”.
Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In addition, Applicant argument is based on construing Lee’s circuit pattern 20 as the claimed “first circuit pattern.” Under this construction, Lee’s reinforcing boundary pattern 50 physically contacts the circuit pattern 20.
However, Lee discloses circuit pattern 40 and wiring layer 240, either of which can be construed as the claimed “first circuit pattern.” Under this construction, Lee’s reinforcing boundary pattern 50 does not physically contact either the circuit pattern 40 or the wiring layer 240.
Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Kyozuka” (US 2023/0300987) in view of “Lee” (US 2022/0151061).
Regarding claim 1, Kyozuka discloses 1. A circuit board, comprising: a substrate having a first surface and a second surface facing each other, including an insulating layer disposed between the first surface and the second surface, and having a cavity penetrating in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; solder resist layer 30);
a first wiring pattern embedded in the insulating layer on the first surface to enable signal transmission (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; power supply pattern 29);
and a first reinforcement pattern embedded in the insulating layer on the first surface, disposed around the cavity, and physically separated from the first wiring pattern (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; reinforcing metal layer 22A is physically separated from the power supply pattern 29).
Kyozuka does not disclose the reinforcement pattern to be spaced apart from an edge of the cavity.
Lee discloses the reinforcement pattern to be spaced apart from an edge of the cavity (Fig. 1, [0036]; reinforcing pattern 50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kyozuka’s circuit board with Lee’s reinforcing pattern in order to prevent or delay a crack in the circuit pattern that may occur, as suggested by Lee at [0040].
Regarding claim 2, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka discloses 2. The circuit board of claim 1, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern includes metal (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; reinforcing metal layer 22A).
Regarding claim 3, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka discloses 3. The circuit board of claim 1, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern is electrically isolated (Fig. 1, [0037] the reinforcing metal layer 22 is separated from the power supply pattern 29).
Regarding claim 4, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka discloses 4. The circuit board of claim 1, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern is covered with the insulating layer (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; reinforcing metal layer 22A and solder resist layer 30).
Kyozuka does not disclose the reinforcement pattern is not exposed to the cavity.
Lee discloses the reinforcement pattern is not exposed to the cavity (Fig. 1, [0036]; reinforcing pattern 50).
Regarding claim 5, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka discloses 5. The circuit board of claim 1, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern has the same height as the first wiring pattern (Fig. 1, [0037] the reinforcing metal layer 22 and the power supply pattern 29 have the same height).
Regarding claim 6, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka discloses 6. The circuit board of claim 1, wherein: the first wiring pattern is spaced apart from the first reinforcement pattern in a direction away from the cavity (Fig. 1, [0037] the power supply pattern 29 is apart from the reinforcing metal layer 22 away from the cavity).
Regarding claim 11, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka discloses 11. The circuit board of claim 1, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern includes a plurality of reinforcement pads spaced apart from each other along the edge of the cavity (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 12, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka discloses 12. The circuit board of claim 1, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern is configured to continuously connect along the edge of the cavity and surround the cavity (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka discloses 13. The circuit board of claim 1, wherein: the cavity includes four sides, and the first reinforcement pattern includes reinforcement pads disposed on each of the four sides (Fig. 10).
Claims 7-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyozuka in view of Lee and “Hsu” (US 2008/0151518).
Regarding claim 7, Kyozuka in view of Lee discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Kyozuka does not disclose the limitations of claim 7.
Lee discloses a second wiring pattern disposed on the insulating layer on the second surface to enable signal transmission; and a via embedded in the insulating layer and connecting the first wiring pattern and the second wiring pattern to each other (Fig. 1, [0045]; via hole 60 and land patterns 62).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kyozuka’s circuit board, as modified by Lee, with a second reinforcement pattern and second wiring pattern, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Furthermore, Hsu, Fig. 2, [0006] and [0013], teaches the circuit board is structurally reinforced by the plurality of the metal layers so as to enhance the bending strength of the circuit board structure.
Regarding claim 8, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 7, above.
Kyozuka discloses 8. The circuit board of claim 7, wherein: the reinforcement pattern protrudes above the surface to have the same height as the wiring pattern (Fig. 1, [0037] the reinforcing metal layer 22 and the power supply pattern 29 have the same height).
Kyozuka does not disclose the second reinforcement pattern and the second wiring pattern.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kyozuka’s circuit board, as modified by Lee and Hsu, with a second reinforcement pattern and second wiring pattern, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Furthermore, Hsu, Fig. 2, [0006] and [0013], teaches the circuit board is structurally reinforced by the plurality of the metal layers so as to enhance the bending strength of the circuit board structure.
Regarding claim 9, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 7, above.
Kyozuka discloses 9. The circuit board of claim 7, wherein: the wiring pattern is spaced apart from the reinforcement pattern in a direction away from the cavity (Fig. 1, [0037] the power supply pattern 29 is apart from the reinforcing metal layer 22 away from the cavity).
Kyozuka does not disclose the second reinforcement pattern and the second wiring pattern.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kyozuka’s circuit board, as modified by Lee and Hsu, with a second reinforcement pattern and second wiring pattern, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Furthermore, Hsu, Fig. 2, [0006] and [0013], teaches the circuit board is structurally reinforced by the plurality of the metal layers so as to enhance the bending strength of the circuit board structure.
Regarding claim 10, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 7, above.
Kyozuka does not disclose the limitations of claim 10.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kyozuka’s circuit board, as modified by Lee and Hsu, to arrange the second reinforcement pattern overlapping the first reinforcement pattern since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Such an arrangement would have required routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 14, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 7, above.
Kyozuka discloses 14. The circuit board of claim 7, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern extends from the first surface and into the insulating layer (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 15, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Kyozuka does not disclose the limitations of claim 14.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kyozuka’s circuit board, as modified by Lee and Hsu, to arrange the second reinforcement pattern offset from the first reinforcement pattern since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Such an arrangement would have required routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 16, Kyozuka discloses 16. An electronic device package, comprising: a substrate having a first surface and a second surface facing each other, including an insulating layer disposed between the first surface and the second surface, and having a cavity penetrating in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; solder resist layer 30);
a first wiring pattern embedded in the insulating layer on the first surface to enable signal transmission (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; power supply pattern 29);
a first reinforcement pattern embedded in the insulating layer on the first surface, disposed around the cavity, and physically separated from the first wiring pattern (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; reinforcing metal layer 22A is physically separated from the power supply pattern 29);
a redistribution layer disposed on the first surface of the substrate (Fig. 15, [0137], [0143]; interconnect layer 112).
Kyozuka does not disclose the reinforcement pattern to be spaced apart from an edge of the cavity and an electronic device accommodated in the cavity and connected to the redistribution layer.
Lee discloses the reinforcement pattern to be spaced apart from an edge of the cavity (Fig. 1, [0036]; reinforcing pattern 50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kyozuka’s circuit board with Lee’s reinforcing pattern in order to prevent or delay a crack in the circuit pattern that may occur, as suggested by Lee at [0040].
Hsu discloses an electronic device accommodated in the cavity and connected to the redistribution layer (Fig. 2, [0026]; semiconductor chip 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kyozuka’s circuit board, as modified by Lee, with Hsu’s chip in order to embed an electronic component into a packaged substrate so as to conform with the trend of miniaturization, as suggested by Hsu at [0002].
Regarding claim 17, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 16, above.
Kyozuka discloses 17. The electronic device package of claim 16, further comprising: an insulating protective layer disposed between the first surface of the substrate and the redistribution layer to cover the first reinforcement pattern (Fig. 15, [0138]; insulating layer 123).
Regarding claim 18, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 16, above.
Kyozuka discloses 18. The electronic device package of claim 16, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern is electrically isolated (Fig. 1, [0037] the reinforcing metal layer 22 is separated from the power supply pattern 29).
Regarding claim 19, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 16, above.
Kyozuka discloses 19. The electronic device package of claim 16, wherein: the first reinforcement pattern is covered with the insulating layer (Fig. 5B, [0070]-[0071]; reinforcing metal layer 22A and solder resist layer 30).
Kyozuka does not disclose the reinforcement pattern is not exposed to the cavity.
Lee discloses the reinforcement pattern is not exposed to the cavity (Fig. 1, [0036]; reinforcing pattern 50).
Regarding claim 20, Kyozuka in view of Lee and Hsu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 16, above.
Kyozuka discloses 20. The electronic device package of claim 16, wherein: the first wiring pattern is spaced apart from the first reinforcement pattern in a direction away from the cavity (Fig. 1, [0037] the power supply pattern 29 is apart from the reinforcing metal layer 22 away from the cavity).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee, US 2022/0151061 (a secondary reference in the present 103 rejection) teaches all limitations of claims 1 and 16.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847