DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s application 18/680,460 filed on May 31, 2024 in which claims 1 to 24 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on May 31, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS), filed on May 31, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein has been considered by the Examiner.
Notation
References to patents will be in the form of [C:L] where C is the column number and L is the line number. References to pre-grant patent publications will be to the paragraph number in the form of [xxxx].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2012/0319233 (Feilchenfeld).
Regarding claim 1 Felichenfeld discloses at annotated Figure 29 a semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate, 10 [0053], including a bipolar junction transistor (BJT) region, as annotated and shown as ‘B’ in Figure 2 [0055], and a complementary field effect transistor (CFET) region, as annotated and shown as ‘C’ in Figure 2 [0055];
a pad layer, 51 described as silicon oxide at [0055], over the semiconductor substrate in the BJT region, as shown;
a dielectric layer, 52 described as silicon nitride at [0055] over the etch stop layer in the BJT region, as shown;
a BJT on the semiconductor substrate in the BJT region, e.g. 30 is the collector, 60 is the base and 91 is the emitter, at least a first portion of the BJT, as shown, being in an opening through the pedestal dielectric layer and the etch stop layer, as annotated and shown, at least a second portion of the BJT further being over the pedestal dielectric layer, as annotated and shown; and
a field effect transistor (FET), as annotated and described at [0054], on the semiconductor substrate in the CFET region, as shown.
Feilchenfeld does not explicitly teach the pad 51 is an etch stop layer. However Examiner takes the position that silicon oxide has the properties of being an etch stop layer. For example, in a (very old) LOCOS process, silicon nitride on a pad oxide was patterned using a plasma process, i.e. stopping the etch on the silicon dioxide pad followed by field oxidation, i.e. local oxidation of silicon. Likewise pad 52 appears to have the structure of a pedestal dielectric layer. Accordingly, Examiner takes the position that pad 51 and pad 52 have the structure and properties of an etch stop layer and a pedestal dielectric layer and so meet the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2 the prior art fails to disclose the device of claim 1, further comprising an oxidation layer on the semiconductor substrate in the BJT region, the etch stop layer being over the oxidation layer.
Regarding claim 3 the prior art fails to disclose the device of claim 1, wherein: the BJT comprises: a collector layer on the semiconductor substrate, the collector layer being in the opening through the pedestal dielectric layer and the etch stop layer; a base layer on the collector layer, the base layer being over the pedestal dielectric layer; and an emitter layer on the base layer.
Claims 4-8 depend directly or indirectly on claim 3 and are allowable on that basis.
Claims 9-24 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9 the prior art fails to disclose a method, comprising: forming a gate layer over a semiconductor substrate in a bipolar junction transistor (BJT) region and a complementary field effect transistor (CFET) region; patterning the gate layer into a gate electrode of a field effect transistor (FET) in the CFET region; forming a first etch stop layer conformally over the semiconductor substrate in the BJT region and the CFET region and over the gate electrode; forming a collector layer on the semiconductor substrate and in an opening through the first etch stop layer in the BJT region; forming a base layer on the collector layer and at least partially over the first etch stop layer; and forming an emitter layer on the base layer.
Claims 9-19 depend directly or indirectly on claim 9 and are allowable on that basis.
Regarding claim 20 the prior art fails to disclose a method, comprising: forming a gate layer over a semiconductor substrate in a bipolar junction transistor (BJT) region and a complementary field effect transistor (CFET) region; patterning the gate layer in the CFET region into a gate electrode of a field effect transistor (FET) in the CFET region; forming a first etch stop layer conformally in the CFET region and the BJT region, the first etch stop layer being along a side of the gate electrode and over the gate electrode; forming a collector layer on the semiconductor substrate and through an opening in the first etch stop layer in the BJT region; forming a material of a base layer over the collector layer and over the first etch stop layer; forming a material of an emitter layer over the base layer; patterning the material of the emitter layer into the emitter layer in the BJT region; and patterning the material of the base layer into the base layer in the BJT region.
Claims 21-24 depend directly or indirectly on claim 20 and are allowable on that basis.
Conclusion
/J.E. Schoenholtz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893