Priority
Current application, US Application No. 18/680,577, is filed on 05/31/2024.
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the application filed on 02/29/2024. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the phrase “within from” in “selecting a signal peak of interest within from the component response signals” should be replaced with “within” (side note: use this if the peak is located inside that group of signals) or “from” (side: use this if you are choosing or extracting the peak out of that group) or with an appropriate phase because the phrase ”within from” are grammatically incorrect due to combining two prepositions that contradict each other’s directional meaning.
The phrase “identify the signal peak of interest as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise” should be replaced with “identify the signal peak of interest whether the signal peak is associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise” or with an appropriate signal for clarity.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In par. [0003 and 0014], the phrase “within from” in “selecting a signal peak of interest within from the component response signals” should be replaced with “within” (side note: use this if the peak is located inside that group of signals) or “from” (side: use this if you are choosing or extracting the peak out of that group) or with an appropriate phase because the phrase ”within from” are grammatically incorrect due to combining two prepositions that contradict each other’s directional meaning.
The phrase “identify the signal peak of interest as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise” should be replaced with “identify the signal peak of interest whether the signal peak is associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise” or with an appropriate signal for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
As per claims 1 and 11, claims recite “the presence or absence” in “inspecting a component for the presence or absence of a defect”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
The limitation “using the complex plane representation, identify the signal peak of interest as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise” is ambiguous because relationships among a complex plane representation for the signal peak, a physical characteristic of the component and a signal noise are not clearly described in the specification and the physical characteristic of the component and the signal noise are mutually exclusive. For the sake of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “using the complex plane representation, identify the signal peak of interest whether the signal peak is associated with a physical characteristic of the component or with signal noise” according to the specification, which discloses the resultant transducer response signals represented in a complex plane provides information that facilitates distinguishing an actual signal peak from signals ‘e.g., a false peak or a hump’ attributable to noise (see specification –higher SNR, little signal damping, low damping, distinguishing an actual signal peak from signals … attributable to noise [0040]).
As per claims 1 and 16, the limitation “within from” in “selecting a signal peak of interest within from the component response signals” is ambiguous because limitation ”within from” are grammatically incorrect due to combining two prepositions that contradict each other’s directional meaning. For the sake of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “from” as the next limitation “the signal peak of interest within a sub band of the frequency band” describes the signal peak is within the sub band of the frequency band, explicitly showing the relationship “within” between the signal peak and the frequency band.
As per claims 4 and 5, the limitation “respective looped configuration” is ambiguous because parent claims 1-3 recite a single complex plane corresponding to a single signal peak. For the sake of examination, the word “respective” is ignored to be consistent with the parent claims.
As per claims 4, 11 and 17, the limitation/term “a degree of circularity” is ambiguous because the specification is not clear whether the degree of circularity means the size of the circle or the angle of circle from the beginning and ending of the circle lines except merely reciting the limitation/term (see specification – a degree of circularity [0006, 0008, 0013, 0015, 0017]), failing to clearly define the limitation/term.
As per claims 2-10, 12-15 and 17-20, claims are also rejected because base claims 1, 11 and 16 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative claim 1 recites:
“A method of inspecting a component for the presence or absence of a defect, (1.A) comprising:
using a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sensing the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component, and producing component response signals within a frequency band representative of the second signals; (1.B)
selecting a signal peak of interest within from the component response signals, the signal peak of interest within a sub band of the frequency band; (1.C)
processing the component response signals within the sub band, the processing including converting the component response signals within the sub band into complex numbers and producing a complex plane representation using the complex numbers; (1.D)
and using the complex plane representation, identify the signal peak of interest as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise. (1.E)”.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (Process - Method).
Under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exception. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations), and mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion).
For example, highlighted limitations/steps (1.C)-(1.E) are treated by the Examiner as belonging to Mathematical Concept grouping or a combination of Mathematical Concept and Mental Process groupings as the limitations include Mathematical Calculations, or show Mathematical Relationship or require Mental evaluations/judgements.
The remaining limitations are interpreted as mathematical calculation.
Next, under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
The above claims comprise the following additional elements: (Side Note: duplicated elements are not repeated)
In Claim 1: “A method of inspecting a component for the presence or absence of a defect”, and “using a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sensing the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component, and producing component response signals within a frequency band representative of the second signals”;
In Claim 16: “An inspection system for a component within a gas turbine engine, the component comprising a solid metallic material”, “a transducer having a signal transmitter and a signal receiver”, “a controller in communication with the signal transmitter, the signal receiver, and a non-transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed cause the controller to:” and “control the signal transmitter to transmit a first signal into the component comprising the solid metallic material; control the signal receiver to sense the component for a second signal resulting from the first signal being transmitted into the component, and to produce response signals within a frequency band representative of the second signals”;
As per claim 1, the additional element in the preamble “A method of inspecting a component for the presence or absence of a defect” is not a meaningful limitation because the limitation simply links the method with the abstract idea, i.e. inspecting a component for the presence or absence of a defect. The limitations/steps “using a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sensing the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component, and producing component response signals within a frequency band representative of the second signals” represent standard signal/data collection steps in the art and only add insignificant extra solution activities to the judicial exception.
As per claim 16, the additional element in the preamble “An inspection system for a component within a gas turbine engine, the component comprising a solid metallic material” is not a meaningful limitation because the limitation simply links the system with the abstract idea, i.e. inspecting a component, and the limitations/elements “a component within a gas turbine engine, the component comprising a solid metallic material” is not particular in the art.
The limitations/elements “a transducer having a signal transmitter and a signal receiver” represent standard signal/data measurement sensor/tool in the art and they are not particular.
The limitations/elements “a controller in communication with the signal transmitter, the signal receiver, and a non-transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed cause the controller to:” represent standard subcomponents of a general computer and they are not particular in the art.
The limitations/steps “control the signal transmitter to transmit a first signal into the component comprising the solid metallic material; control the signal receiver to sense the component for a second signal resulting from the first signal being transmitted into the component, and to produce response signals within a frequency band representative of the second signals” represent standard signal/data stimulation and collection steps in the art and only adds insignificant extra solution activities to the judicial exception.
In conclusion, the above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements as a whole do not reflect an improvement to the computer technology or other technology or technical field, and, therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. No particular machine or real-world transformation are claimed. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
Under Step 2B analysis, the above claims fail to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as shown in the prior art of record.
The limitations/elements listed as additional elements above are well understood, routine and conventional steps/elements in the art according to the prior art of record. (See AM, OD, Venu, Zhang and others in the list of prior art cited below)
Claims 1-20, therefore, are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvarenga Marinelli (US 11429900 B1), hereinafter ‘AM’ in view of O'Donnell (US 20170176393 A1), hereinafter ‘OD’ and Venugopal (S. Venugopal, and et al, "Exploiting Phase Fluctuations to Improve Machine Performance Monitoring," in IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering, vol. 4, no. 2, pp. 153-166, April 2007), hereinafter ‘Venu’ best understood by the examiner.
As per claim 1, AM discloses
A method of inspecting a component for the presence or absence of a defect, (methods for detecting an error condition in a mechanical machine [col 1 line 7-10, line 51-52]) comprising:
sensing the component for second signals (mechanical work … transformation of energy, electrical, thermal or mechanical [col 1 line 15-17]) a sensor device detects vibrations [col 1 line 53-56]) and
producing component response signals within a frequency band representative of the second signals; (A frequency representation of the vibration data is generated in a frequency spectrum [col 2 line 6-7]).
However, AM is silent regarding using a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sensing the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component.
OD discloses using a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sensing the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component. (A pulsed laser beam is directed towards a … structure, A number of wide-band ultrasonic signals are formed in the … structure when radiation of the pulsed laser beam is absorbed by the … structure. A moving window is applied to each of the plurality of ultrasonic A-scans to form windowed signals. A frequency measurement is determined within the windowed signals for each of the plurality of ultrasonic A-scans [0016])
OD is in the same art of inspecting a mechanical structure (inspection … to performing … inspection on a … structure [0003], manufacturing aircraft, vehicles, and other structures, inspection of parts used to form these structures is often performed to determine whether the parts will have desired parameters for a desired performance of the part [0005]) as AM.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of AM in view of OD to use a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sense the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components. (see AM - identify mechanical problems sufficiently early to avoid costly repairs, there is an ongoing need for improved systems and methods to detect problems that occur in mechanical machines [col 1 line 20-47]) (see OD - In manufacturing aircraft, vehicles, and other structures, inspection of parts used to form these structures is often performed to determine whether the parts will have desired parameters for a desired performance of the part. Additionally, the structures and parts are inspected as part of normal maintenance when the aircraft, vehicles, and other structures are in use [0005]).
AM further discloses selecting a signal peak of interest within from the component response signals, the signal peak of interest within a sub band of the frequency band; (number of peaks in the frequency representation are selected [col 2 line 4-15], for each of a plurality of points in the frequency representation , a modulus of a magnitude and phase of the respective point , to generate modulus data , and selects N peaks in the frequency representation based on the modulus data [col 10 line 11-15])
processing the component response signals within the sub band, the processing including converting the component response signals within the sub band into complex numbers; (for each of a plurality of points in the frequency representation, a modulus of a magnitude and phase of the respective point, to generate modulus data , [col 10 line 11-15], magnitude and phase of complex numbers [col 11 line 6-8])
and using the complex numbers, identify the signal peak of interest as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise. (selects N peaks in the frequency representation based on the modulus data [col 10 line 11-15], sorts the highest peaks, magnitude and phase of complex numbers [col 11 line 6-8], identifies a pattern … indicating an error condition, identifies a pattern associated with an error condition [col 11 line 45-50], wear, corrosion, obstructions, blockages, misalignments, unbalances, structural or rotating looseness, and other issues that may cause a failure or a risk condition [col 1 line 21-24]).
However, AM fails to explicitly recite the complex plane representation.
Venu discloses the use of complex plane representation for the monitored vibration signal and identify the signal peak of interest as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise (signal-processing techniques for machine monitoring utilized the FFT … where the machine vibration signals could be analyzed, using statistical methods, such as … peak value [pg. 154 left col par. 2], signal-processing technique that introduces “aligned-phase angles” … for signals and noise, complex plane, detect faults as they develop, and to monitor the machine’s performance as they grow [pg. 156 right col par. 3 – pg. 157 right col par. 3, Fig. 2])
Venu is also concerned about machine performance monitoring (see Venu – machine condition monitoring [abs, pg. 153 right col par 2]) like the combined prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the combined prior art in view of Venu to produce a complex plane representation using the complex numbers and, using the complex plane representation, identify the signal peak of interest as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components.
As per claim 2, AM, OD and Venu disclose claim 1 set forth above.
Venu already discloses the step of identifying the signal peak of interest as associated with the physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise includes evaluating the complex plane representation (signal-processing techniques for machine monitoring utilized the FFT … where the machine vibration signals could be analyzed, using statistical methods, such as … peak value [pg. 154 left col par. 2], signal-processing technique that introduces “aligned-phase angles” … for signals and noise, complex plane, detect faults as they develop, and to monitor the machine’s performance as they grow [pg. 156 left col par. 3 – right col par. 4, Fig. 2]).
As per claim 16, AM discloses
An inspection system for a component within a gas turbine engine, (systems … for detecting an error condition in a mechanical machine [col 1 line 7-10], any type of mechanical machine, turbine [col 4 line [col 4 line 29-34, claims 2 and 8], implying gas turbine engine is included) the component comprising a solid metallic material, (compressor, a motor, turbine, pump, bearing … gearbox [col 4 line 26-34, Fig. 1], component of machine [col 9 line 19-20]) the system comprising:
a signal receiver; (sensor [abs, col 1 line 53-54]) and a controller in communication with the signal receiver, and a non-transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed cause the controller to: (sensor device, processor, memory [col 4 line 40-47, Fig. 2])
However, AM is silent regarding a transducer having a signal transmitter and a signal receiver and the controller to control the signal transmitter to transmit a first signal into the component comprising the solid metallic material.
OD discloses a transducer having a signal transmitter and a signal receiver (ultrasound testing … non-destructive testing, transmitting sound waves through test objects … aircraft part or structure [0007], using a transducer … send sound waves into a test object and detect response to the sound waves [0008], implying transducer having a signal transmitter and the signal receiver) and to transmit a first signal into the component comprising the solid metallic material; (A pulsed laser beam is directed towards a … structure, A number of wide-band ultrasonic signals are formed in the … structure when radiation of the pulsed laser beam is absorbed by the … structure. A moving window is applied to each of the plurality of ultrasonic A-scans to form windowed signals. A frequency measurement is determined within the windowed signals for each of the plurality of ultrasonic A-scans [0016])
OD is in the same art of inspecting a mechanical structure (inspection … to performing … inspection on a … structure [0003], manufacturing aircraft, vehicles, and other structures, inspection of parts used to form these structures is often performed to determine whether the parts will have desired parameters for a desired performance of the part [0005]) as AM.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of AM in view of OD to use a transducer having a signal transmitter and a signal receiver and use the controller to control the signal transmitter to transmit a first signal into the component comprising the solid metallic material and to control the signal receiver to sense the component for a second signal resulting from the first signal being transmitted into the component with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components.
AM in view of OD and Venu disclose the remaining limitations as shown in claim 1 above.
Claims 3-5, 9-11, 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AM in view of AM, OD, Venue and Zhang (CN 116900817 B) best understood by the examiner.
As per claim 3, AM, OD and Venu disclose claim 2 set forth above.
The set forth combined prior art is silent regarding determining whether the complex plane representation is a looped configuration.
Zhang discloses evaluating vibration frequency signal in the complex plain includes looped configuration (vibration, frequency, complex domain [pg. 4 line 13-24], resonance frequency , vibration, complex plane [pg. 8 line 4-19], quality of the ultrasonic processing is sensitive to the variation of the amplitude, so monitoring the state of the tool in real time and controlling the stability of the amplitude is crucial to improving the vibration performance of the transducer [pg. 2 line 24-31], impedance circle model, variation of the impedance circle with load [pg. 6 line 30-pg. 7 line 2, Figs 2-4], showing loop configuration related to the vibration signal control, the pattern of the resistance and reactance of the resonant system in the complex plane is circular, which is called impedance circle [pg. 8 line 25-26]).
Zhang is in the same mechanical machine condition monitoring art as the combined prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the combined prior art in view of Zhang to determine whether or not the complex plane representation is a looped configuration while evaluating the complex plane representation with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components.
As per claim 4, AM, OD, Venu and Zhang disclose claim 3 set forth above.
Zhang further discloses determining a degree of circularity associated with a respective looped configuration (impedance circle model, variation of the impedance circle with load [pg. 6 line 30-pg. 7 line 2, Figs 2-5], showing loop configuration with various degree of circularity related to the vibration signa control, the diameter of the impedance circle [pg. 2 line 24-31, pg. 11 line 25-26], equivalent to degree of circularity of the lopped configuration in the complex plane).
As per claim 17, AM, OD and Venu disclose claim 16 set forth above.
The set forth combined prior art is silent regarding determining whether the complex plane representation is a looped configuration, and determine a degree of circularity of the complex plane representation if the complex plane representation is a looped configuration.
Zhang discloses evaluating vibration frequency signal in the complex plain includes looped configuration (vibration, frequency, complex domain [pg. 4 line 13-24], resonance frequency , vibration, complex plane [pg. 8 line 4-19], quality of the ultrasonic processing is sensitive to the variation of the amplitude, so monitoring the state of the tool in real time and controlling the stability of the amplitude is crucial to improving the vibration performance of the transducer [pg. 2 line 24-31], impedance circle model, variation of the impedance circle with load [pg. 6 line 30-pg. 7 line 2, Figs 2-4], showing loop configuration related to the vibration signal control, the pattern of the resistance and reactance of the resonant system in the complex plane is circular, which is called impedance circle [pg. 8 line 25-26]), and determining a degree of circularity associated with a respective looped configuration (impedance circle model, variation of the impedance circle with load [pg. 6 line 30-pg. 7 line 2, Figs 2-5], showing loop configuration with various degree of circularity related to the vibration signa control, the diameter of the impedance circle [pg. 2 line 24-31, pg. 11 line 25-26], equivalent to degree of circularity of the lopped configuration in the complex plane ).
Zhang is in the same mechanical machine condition monitoring art as the combined prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the combined prior art in view of Zhang to determine whether or not the complex plane representation is a looped configuration while evaluating the complex plane representation and determine a degree of circularity of the complex plane representation if the complex plane representation is a looped configuration with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components.
As per claims 5 and 18, AM, OD, Venu and Zhang disclose claims 4 and 17 set forth above.
Zhang further discloses identifying the signal peak as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise is based on the degree of circularity of the respective looped configuration. (obtaining the real-time resonance frequency … through characteristic … calculation and curve fitting, the ultrasonic processing quality is precisely controlled without using the force sensor [pg. 2 line 1-9], how to ensure the stability of the processing quality caused by the cutter state in the processing process has become the key problem [pg. 2 line 21-23], the diameter of the impedance circle [pg. 2 line 24-31, pg. 11 line 25-26], equivalent to degree of circularity of the lopped configuration in the complex plane, variation of the impedance circle with load [pg. 6 line 30-pg. 7 line 2, Figs 2-5], showing loop configuration with various degree of circularity related to the vibration signa control).
As per claim 11, AM discloses
A method of inspecting a component for the presence or absence of a defect, (methods for detecting an error condition in a mechanical machine [col 1 line 7-10, line 51-52]) comprising:
sensing the component for second signals (mechanical work … transformation of energy, electrical, thermal or mechanical [col 1 line 15-17]) a sensor device detects vibrations [col 1 line 53-56]) and
producing component response signals within a frequency band representative of the second signals; (A frequency representation of the vibration data is generated in a frequency spectrum [col 2 line 6-7]).
However, AM is silent regarding using a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sensing the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component.
OD discloses using a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sensing the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component. (A pulsed laser beam is directed towards a … structure, A number of wide-band ultrasonic signals are formed in the … structure when radiation of the pulsed laser beam is absorbed by the … structure. A moving window is applied to each of the plurality of ultrasonic A-scans to form windowed signals. A frequency measurement is determined within the windowed signals for each of the plurality of ultrasonic A-scans [0016])
OD is in the same art of inspecting a mechanical structure (inspection … to performing … inspection on a … structure [0003], manufacturing aircraft, vehicles, and other structures, inspection of parts used to form these structures is often performed to determine whether the parts will have desired parameters for a desired performance of the part [0005]) as AM.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of AM in view of OD to use a transducer to interrogate a component comprising a solid metallic material by transmitting first signals into the component and sense the component for second signals resulting from the first signals being transmitted into the component with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components. (see AM - identify mechanical problems sufficiently early to avoid costly repairs, there is an ongoing need for improved systems and methods to detect problems that occur in mechanical machines [col 1 line 20-47]) (see OD - In manufacturing aircraft, vehicles, and other structures, inspection of parts used to form these structures is often performed to determine whether the parts will have desired parameters for a desired performance of the part. Additionally, the structures and parts are inspected as part of normal maintenance when the aircraft, vehicles, and other structures are in use [0005]).
AM further discloses screening a plurality of signal peaks within the component response signals within a frequency band, the screening including: selecting a signal peak of interest within from the component response signals, the signal peak of interest within a sub band of the frequency band; (number of peaks in the frequency representation are selected [col 2 line 4-15], for each of a plurality of points in the frequency representation, a modulus of a magnitude and phase of the respective point , to generate modulus data, and selects N peaks in the frequency representation based on the modulus data [col 10 line 11-15])
processing the component response signals within the sub band, the processing including converting the component response signals within the sub band into complex numbers; (for each of a plurality of points in the frequency representation, a modulus of a magnitude and phase of the respective point, to generate modulus data, [col 10 line 11-15], magnitude and phase of complex numbers [col 11 line 6-8])
and using the complex numbers, identify the signal peak of interest as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise. (selects N peaks in the frequency representation based on the modulus data [col 10 line 11-15], sorts the highest peaks, magnitude and phase of complex numbers [col 11 line 6-8], identifies a pattern … indicating an error condition, identifies a pattern associated with an error condition [col 11 line 45-50], wear, corrosion, obstructions, blockages, misalignments, unbalances, structural or rotating looseness, and other issues that may cause a failure or a risk condition [col 1 line 21-24]).
However, AM fails to explicitly recite the complex plane representation.
Venu discloses the use of complex plane representation for the monitored vibration signal (the machine vibration signals could be analyzed, using statistical methods, such as … peak value [pg. 154 left col par. 2], signal-processing technique that introduces “aligned-phase angles” … for signals and noise, complex plane, [pg. 156 right col par. 3 – [g. 157 right col par. 3, Fig. 2]).
Venu is also concerned about machine performance monitoring (see Venu – machine condition monitoring [abs, pg. 153 right col par 2]) like the combined prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the combined prior art in view of Venu to produce a complex plane representation using the complex numbers with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components.
However, the combined prior art is silent regarding determining whether or not the complex plane representation is a looped configuration and determining a degree of circularity of the complex plane representation if the complex plane representation is a looped configuration.
Zhang discloses vibration frequency signal in the complex plain include looped configuration and determine a degree of circularity (vibration, frequency, complex domain [pg. 4 line 13-24], resonance frequency , vibration, complex plane [pg. 8 line 4-19], the pattern of the resistance and reactance of the resonant system in the complex plane is circular, which is called impedance circle [pg. 8 line 25-26], the diameter of the impedance circle [pg. 2 line 24-31, pg. 11 line 25-26], equivalent to degree of circularity of the lopped configuration in the complex plane, impedance circle model, variation of the impedance circle with load [pg. 6 line 30-pg. 7 line 2, Figs 2-4], showing loop configuration with various degree of circularity related to the vibration signa control) and
identifying the signal peak as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise using the degree of circularity. (obtaining the real-time resonance frequency … through characteristic … calculation and curve fitting, the ultrasonic processing quality is precisely controlled without using the force sensor [pg. 2 line 1-9], On the basis of ensuring the stability of the ultrasonic processing effect by the stable current and stable amplitude, the cutter abrasion state is monitored by monitoring the stable current and stable amplitude voltage of the energy converter in real time, and the ultrasonic processing quality is precisely controlled without using the force sensor. Furthermore, the invention further claims an ultrasonic processing quality control system for monitoring the abrasion of the cutter so as to use the ultrasonic processing quality control method for monitoring the abrasion of the cutter [pg. 5 line 5-19], can effectively increase the tracking speed of resonance frequency [pg. 9 line 22-29]).
Zhang is in the same mechanical machine condition monitoring art as the combined prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the combined prior art in view of Zhang to determine whether or not the complex plane representation is a looped configuration and determine a degree of circularity of the complex plane representation if the complex plane representation is a looped configuration with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components.
As per claims 9 and 15, AM, OD, Venu and Zhang disclose claims 4 and 11 set forth above.
Zhang discloses determining a cutter abrasion state by monitoring the stable current and stable amplitude voltage of the energy converter in real time and by controlling the ultrasonic processing quality. ([pg. 2 line 6-8]) and showing the processing quality control is determined by a diameter of the impedance circle, which is equivalent to a degree of the complex plane looped circles. ([pg. 2 line 26-27, pg. 11 line 25-26, pg. 12 line 3011, Fig. 5]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the combined prior art in view of Zhang to determine a defect degree of severity value based on the degree of circularity associated with the respective looped configuration with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components.
As per claim 10, AM, OD, Venu and Zhang disclose claim 9 set forth above.
Zhang further discloses the key parameter determination for the processing quality, e.g. amplitude of … processing, diameter of impedance circle, is based on the experiment, which is equivalent to empirical (experiment [pg. 2 line 24-31, pg. 4 line 13-15]).
As per claim 20, AM, OD and Venu and Zhang disclose claim 16 set forth above.
The set forth combined prior art is silent regarding determining a defect degree of severity value based on the degree of circularity associated with the respective looped configuration.
Zhang discloses determining a cutter abrasion state by monitoring the stable current and stable amplitude voltage of the energy converter in real time and by controlling the ultrasonic processing quality. ([pg. 2 line 6-8]) and showing the processing quality control is determined by a diameter of the impedance circle, which is equivalent to a degree of the complex plane looped circles. ([pg. 2 line 26-27, pg. 11 line 25-26, pg. 12 line 3011, Fig. 5]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when invention is filed before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the combined prior art in view of Zhang to determine a defect degree of severity value based on the degree of circularity associated with the respective looped configuration with a rationale to identify mechanical problems in advance for mitigating the risk of mechanical failure by accurately monitoring error conditions of mechanical components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 12-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As per claims 6, 12 and 19, the closest prior art, AM, OD, Venu and Zhang, either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious limitations
“the step of identifying the signal peak of interest as associated with a respective physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise utilizes a degree of circularity threshold value” in combination with other limitations.
Zhang discloses identifying the signal peak as associated with a physical characteristic of the component or associated with signal noise based on the degree of circularity of the respective looped configuration. (obtaining the real-time resonance frequency … through characteristic … calculation and curve fitting, the ultrasonic processing quality is precisely controlled without using the force sensor [pg. 2 line 1-9], how to ensure the stability of the processing quality caused by the cutter state in the processing process has become the key problem [pg. 2 line 21-23], the diameter of the impedance circle [pg. 2 line 24-31, pg. 11 line 25-26], equivalent to degree of circularity of the lopped configuration in the complex plane), but fails to explicitly recite utilizing a degree of circularity threshold value.
As per claims 7-8 and 13-24, claims are also allowable because base claims 6 and 12 are allowable.
Notes with regard to Prior Art
The prior arts made of record below are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and the claims.
Jimenez-Galan (Álvaro Jiménez-Galán, and et al-circular laser fields: the role of Rydberg states," Opt. Express 25, 22880-22896, 2017), hereinafter ‘JG’ recites harmonics and degree of circularity ([pg. 15 par 2-1 from the bottom, Fig, 7-8]).
Contact Information
/DOUGLAS KAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857