DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 17, in the reply filed on 7/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 18 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/6/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 5. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1, 2, 11 – 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Qi et al. (CN113510747, hereinafter Qi – See IDS dated 3/18/26).
Regarding claim 1, Qi discloses an apparatus comprising inserting a distal end of a guide tube 11 into an interior of a powerplant 8, the powerplant comprising a component within the interior of the powerplant; bending a flexible section of the guide tube within the interior of the powerplant; passing an inspection scope 13 longitudinally through a bore of the guide tube and abutting a head of the inspection scope against a surface of the component, the head of the inspection scope comprising an actuator 7, and the distal end of the guide tube spaced from the surface of the component; inducing vibrations in the component using the actuator; and measuring a vibratory response in the component excited by the vibrations using a sensor to provide sensor data (See Figs. 1, 2 and 7, See Pg. 6, Paras. 6 and 7 and Pg. 7, Paras. 1 – 3). Regarding claim 2, the flexible section of the guide tube is bent within the interior of the powerplant such that the distal end of the guide tube faces an inspection location on the surface of the component; and the head of the inspection scope is abutted against the surface of the component at the inspection location (See Fig. 7). Regarding claim 11, the guide tube 11 extends longitudinally along a centerline to the distal end of the guide tube, and the centerline along the flexible section of the guide tube is straight during the inserting (See Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, the guide tube 11 comprises a length of tubing; and the flexible section of the guide tube comprises a section of the length of tubing with one or more relief cuts (See Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, the inspection scope is removed from the guide tube following the measuring; and the flexible section of the guide tube is straightened within the interior of the powerplant following the removal (See Fig. 3b).
Regarding claim 14, the head of the inspection scope 13 further comprises the sensor 7 (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, a defect internal to the component is detected using the sensor data (See Pg. 2, Para. 5 and Pg. 7, Para. 3).
Regarding claim 17, the powerplant is installed with an aircraft during the inserting, the bending, the passing, the inducing and the measuring (See Pg. 2, Para. 5 and Pg. 7, Para. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
9. Claims 3 – 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi in view of Graham (2020/0114528 – See IDS dated 3/18/26). Regarding claim 3, Qi discloses an apparatus comprising inserting a distal end of a guide tube 11 into an interior of a powerplant 8, the powerplant comprising a component within the interior of the powerplant; bending a flexible section of the guide tube within the interior of the powerplant; passing an inspection scope 13 longitudinally through a bore of the guide tube and abutting a head of the inspection scope against a surface of the component, the head of the inspection scope comprising an actuator 7, and the distal end of the guide tube spaced from the surface of the component; inducing vibrations in the component using the actuator; and measuring a vibratory response in the component excited by the vibrations using a sensor to provide sensor data (See Figs. 1, 2 and 7, See Pg. 6, Paras. 6 and 7 and Pg. 7, Paras. 1 – 3). Qi fails to disclose that the guide tube extends longitudinally along a centerline to the distal end of the guide tube, and the guide tube includes a first rigid section, a second rigid section and the flexible section of the guide tube; the flexible section of the guide tube is connected longitudinally along the centerline between the first rigid section and the second rigid section; and the centerline along the first rigid section is angularly offset from the centerline along the second rigid section by an offset angle following the bending. However, Graham discloses an apparatus comprising a guide tube 106 that extends longitudinally along a centerline to a distal end of the guide tube, the guide tube including a first rigid section, a second rigid section and a flexible section, the flexible section connected longitudinally along the centerline between the first rigid section and the second rigid section; and the centerline along the first rigid section is angularly offset from the centerline along the second rigid section by an offset angle following the bending (See Figs. 1 and 2, See Pg. 6, Para. 0117 and Pg. 7, Paras. 0130 and 0132). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004). Regarding claim 4, Qi fails to disclose that the centerline along the first rigid section is parallel with the centerline along the second rigid section during the inserting. However, in Graham, the centerline along the first rigid section is parallel with the centerline along the second rigid section during the inserting (See Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004). Regarding claim 5, Qi fails to disclose that the offset angle is an obtuse angle that is less than one-hundred and eighty degrees. However, in Graham, the offset angle is an obtuse angle that is less than one-hundred and eighty degrees (See Pg. 7, Paras. 0130 and 0132). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004). Regarding claim 6, Qi fails to disclose that the offset angle is a right angle. However, in Graham, the offset angle is a right angle (See Pg. 7, Paras. 0130 and 0132). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004). Regarding claim 7, Qi fails to disclose that the offset angle is an acute angle. However, in Graham, the offset angle is an acute angle (See Pg. 7, Paras. 0130 and 0132). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004). Regarding claim 8, Qi fails to disclose that a monolithic body comprises the first rigid section, the second rigid section and the flexible section of the guide tube. However, in Graham, the monolithic body 11 comprises the first rigid section, the second rigid section and the flexible section of the guide tube (See Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004). Regarding claim 9, Qi fails to disclose that a first guide is connected to the first rigid section; a first control cable extends through the first guide and is connected to the second rigid section; and the bending comprises pulling the first control cable to decrease a length of a section of the first control cable that extends between the first rigid section and the second rigid section. However, in Graham, a first guide 110 is connected to the first rigid section; a first control cable 118C extends through the first guide and is connected to the second rigid section; and the bending comprises pulling the first control cable to decrease a length of a section of the first control cable that extends between the first rigid section and the second rigid section (See Fig. 13, Pg. 9, Para. 0147). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004). Regarding claim 10, Qi fails to disclose unbending the flexible section of the guide tube within the interior of the powerplant following the measuring; wherein a second guide is connected to the first rigid section; wherein a second control cable extends through the second guide and is connected to the second rigid section, and the first control cable and the second control cable are arranged to opposing sides of the guide tube; and the unbending comprises pulling the second control cable to decrease a length of a section of the second control cable that extends between the first rigid section and the second rigid section. However, in Graham, unbending the flexible section of the guide tube within the interior of the powerplant following the measuring; wherein a second guide 110 is connected to the first rigid section; wherein a second control cable 118B extends through the second guide and is connected to the second rigid section, and the first control cable and the second control cable are arranged to opposing sides of the guide tube; and the unbending comprises pulling the second control cable to decrease a length of a section of the second control cable that extends between the first rigid section and the second rigid section (See Fig. 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004). Regarding claim 16, Qi fails to disclose that the powerplant comprises a turbine engine; and the component is configured as a rotor disk. However, in Graham, the powerplant comprises a turbine engine 200 (See Fig. 20) and the component is configured as a rotor disk 224 (See Fig. 20, See Pg. 14, Para. 0189). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Qi according to the teachings of Graham for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device may allow for a user to reach remote locations within an environment in a more cost-efficient manner (See Graham, Pg. 1, Para. 0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to ‘
applicant's disclosure.11. Koetsch et al. (2025/0369927) disclose inspecting a powerplant component using an actuator sensor stack. Chen et al. (2025/0369930) disclose an inspection scope with vibration isolator for transducer. Carlozzi et al. (2025/0369928) disclose a preload device for an electronic inspection scope. Koetsch et al. (2025/0369931) disclose filtering out background noise from measurement data during defect inspection. Breault et al. (2025/0369825) disclose an actuatable inspection probe for non-destructive inspection. Stusse et al. (2025/0347659) disclose inspecting an internal powerplant component using an inspection scope. Stusse et al. (2025/0347590) disclose inspecting an internal powerplant component using an inspection scope. Stusse et al. (2025/0347660) disclose inspecting an internal powerplant component using an inspection scope. Freiberg et al. (2025/0347662) disclose a method for inspecting a powerplant component using an inspection scope. Herring et al. (2025/0341496) disclose inspecting an internal powerplant component using adhered inspection devices. Chen et al. (2025/0314620) disclose inspecting an internal powerplant component using a piezoelectric device. Chen et al. (2025/0314557) disclose inspecting an internal powerplant component using a piezoelectric device. Trivedi et al. (2021/0102870) disclose an insertion apparatus for use with rotary machines. Trivedi et al. (10,884,232) disclose an insertion apparatus including a rigidizable body. Diwinsky et al. (2019/0383158) disclose probe motion compensation.12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 8/8/26