Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamawaki, S. (JP 2004023969 A) in view of Sakaki, et al. (US 20050028890 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamawaki discloses a magnetic circuit configuration component for a voice coil motor (see the title: “VOICE COIL MOTOR AND MAGNETIC DISK UNIT USING IT”), comprising:
a pair of yokes (yokes, annotated fig. 2a);
a pair of magnets (magnets, annotated fig. 2a) respectively provided in contact with inner surfaces of the pair of yokes; and
a support member (support, annotated fig. 2a) that maintains a gap (gap, annotated fig. 2a) between the pair of magnets and fixes the pair of yokes to each other, wherein
the magnet is a rare earth sintered magnet (para [0016]: “As the main magnets 22 to 28, for example, an R-Fe-B based sintered magnet such as NEOMAX-50 manufactured by Sumitomo Special Metals Co., Ltd. is used, and its thickness is about 1 mm to 3 mm.”), and the rare earth sintered magnet has a composition consisting of R, B, Fe (para [0016]: “As the main magnets 22 to 28, for example, an R-Fe-B based sintered magnet such as NEOMAX-50 manufactured by Sumitomo Special Metals Co., Ltd.”).
Yamawaki does not disclose: the sintered magnet having a surface on which coating is performed, the rare earth sintered magnet has a composition consisting of R of 28% to 34% by weight, Co of 2% or less by weight, B of 0.5% to 2% by weight, at least one type of element selected from Ni, Nb, Al, Ti, Zr, Cr, V, Mn, Mo, Si, Sn, Ga, Cu, and Zn as an additive of 2% or less by weight, and the balance of Fe with inevitable impurities, and
the coating has a multi-layer structure consisting of a metal plating layer and a metal oxide layer and/or a metal nitride layer in order from a rare earth sintered magnet side, the metal plating layer further has a multi-layer structure consisting of a copper plating layer and a nickel plating layer in order from the rare earth sintered magnet side, a total thickness of the metal plating layer and the metal oxide layer and/or the metal nitride layer is in a range of 3 μm to 80 μm, and a thickness of the metal oxide layer and/or the metal nitride layer is in a range of 0.01 μm to 2 μm.
Sakaki teaches a sintered magnet wherein the composition of R is 20-35 wt %, B is 0.2-8 wt %, at least one type of element selected from Ni, Nb, Al, Ti, Zr, Cr, V, Mn, Mo, Si, Sn, Ga, Cu, and Zn as an additive of up to 8% by weight, and the balance of Fe with inevitable impurities (“[0019] (4) A rare-earth sintered magnet composed of 20 to 35 wt % of a constituent R (R being one or more rare-earth element selected from among neodymium, praseodymium, dysprosium, terbium and holmium), up to 15 wt % cobalt, 0.2 to 8 wt % boron, and up to 8 wt % of one or more element selected from among nickel, niobium, aluminum, titanium, zirconium, chromium, vanadium, manganese, molybdenum, silicon, tin, gallium, copper and zinc as an additive, with the balance being iron and inadvertent impurities, which rare-earth sintered magnet is characterized by having on a surface thereof, either directly or over n metal-plating layers (n being an integer such that n.gtoreq.1), a metal oxide layer and/or a metal nitride layer.”) and
the coating has a multi-layer structure consisting of a metal plating layer and a metal oxide layer and/or a metal nitride layer (para [0019]: “rare-earth sintered magnet is characterized by having on a surface thereof, either directly or over n metal-plating layers (n being an integer such that n.gtoreq.1), a metal oxide layer and/or a metal nitride layer.”) in order from a rare earth sintered magnet side,
the metal plating layer further has a multi-layer structure (n-layers) consisting of a copper plating layer and a nickel plating layer in order from the rare earth sintered magnet side, a total thickness of the metal plating layer and the metal oxide layer and/or the metal nitride layer is in a range of 3 μm to 80 μm ( para [0033]: “the number of such layers may be set at 1 to 5 layers and, in the case of R.sub.2Fe.sub.14B-based magnets in particular, 2 to 5 layers. The number of layers is preferably selected on the basis of such considerations as the corrosion resistance required of the intended application. The metal-plating metal is preferably one or more selected from among copper, nickel, cobalt, tin, and alloys thereof. The plating thickness is preferably 1 to 100 .mu.m, and most preferably 1 to 50 .mu.m. Preferred multilayer platings include those composed of a copper bottom layer followed by one or more nickel layer, such as Cu--Ni, Cu--Ni--Ni, and Ni--Cu--Ni..”), and a thickness of the metal oxide layer and/or the metal nitride layer is in a range of 0.01 μm to 2 μm (para [0036]: “The above-mentioned layer of excellent hydrogen resistance is an oxide layer of the plating metal which has a thickness of preferably 0.1 to 100 .mu.m, and most preferably 0.1 to 20 .mu.m.”).
Sakaki states that introduced sintered magnets can withstand exposure to hydrogen for a long time (abstract: “Hydrogen embrittlement is prevented in Sm.sub.2Co.sub.17-based magnets and R.sub.2Fe.sub.14B-based magnets by metal plating the magnet, then carrying out heat treatment, or by forming a metal oxide or metal nitride layer on the metal plating layer or directly on the magnet itself.”)
To prevent hydrogen embrittlement, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the sintered magnet should additionally have the following characteristics: the sintered magnet having a surface on which coating is performed, the rare earth sintered magnet has a composition consisting of R of 28% to 34% by weight, Co of 2% or less by weight, B of 0.5% to 2% by weight, at least one type of element selected from Ni, Nb, Al, Ti, Zr, Cr, V, Mn, Mo, Si, Sn, Ga, Cu, and Zn as an additive of 2% or less by weight, and the balance of Fe with inevitable impurities, and
the coating has a multi-layer structure consisting of a metal plating layer and a metal oxide layer and/or a metal nitride layer in order from a rare earth sintered magnet side, the metal plating layer further has a multi-layer structure consisting of a copper plating layer and a nickel plating layer in order from the rare earth sintered magnet side, a total thickness of the metal plating layer and the metal oxide layer and/or the metal nitride layer is in a range of 3 μm to 80 μm, and a thickness of the metal oxide layer and/or the metal nitride layer is in a range of 0.01 μm to 2 μm.
Regarding claim 2, Yamawaki as modified in claim 1 by Sakaki discloses a voice coil motor comprising:
the magnetic circuit configuration component for a voice coil motor according to claim 1 (see the title, Yamawaki); and
a coil (coil, annotated fig. 2a) that is located in the gap between the pair of magnets (see annotated fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 3, Yamawaki as modified by Sakaki and discussed regarding claim 1 discloses a method for manufacturing a magnetic circuit configuration component for a voice coil motor, the method comprising:
forming a pair of plates consisting of a rare earth sintered magnet (implied) having a composition consisting of R (R is one or two or more types of rare earth elements selected from Nd, Pr, Dy, Tb, Ce, La, and Gd) of 28% to 34% by weight, Co of 2% or less by weight, B of 0.5% to 2% by weight, at least one type of element selected from Ni, Nb, Al, Ti, Zr, Cr, V, Mn, Mo, Si, Sn, Ga, Cu, and Zn as an additive of 2% or less by weight, and the balance of Fe with inevitable impurities (discussed regarding claim 1);
applying copper plating to surfaces of the pair of plates and applying nickel plating to the copper-plated surfaces to form metal plating layers (para [0075]: “Copper electroplating was carried out using a plating bath adjusted to concentrations of 60 g/L copper pyrophosphate, 240 g/L potassium pyrophosphate and 30 g/L potassium oxalate, and at a bath temperature of 40.degree. C. and a current density of 1.5 A/dm.sup.2. Next, nickel electroplating was carried out using a plating bath adjusted to concentrations of 40 g/L nickel chloride, 270 g/L nickel sulfate and 30 g/L boric acid, and at a bath temperature of 50.degree. C. and a current density of 2.0 A/dm.sup.2.”);
performing a heat treatment (required for forming oxidation, see the abstract) on the pair of plates on which the metal plating layers are formed to oxidize and/or nitride a metal of the metal plating layer, to form a metal oxide layer and/or a metal nitride layer, wherein a total thickness of the metal plating layer and the metal oxide layer and/or the metal nitride layer is in a range of 3 μm to 80 μm, and a thickness of the metal oxide layer and/or the metal nitride layer is in a range of 0.01 μm to 2 μm (discussed regarding claim 1);
respectively adhering a pair of yokes to the pair of plates on which the metal oxide layers and/or the metal nitride layers are formed (required to attach the magnets to the yokes to build the circuit); and
fixing the pair of yokes to each other with a support member such that the pair of plates adhered to the pair of yokes face each other and a gap is maintained between the pair of plates (implied to build the circuit).
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure listed on PTO-892.
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834